PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Hops Haven Brew Haus - Sheboygan, WI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 30, 2014 @ 04:52 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > WI > Sheboygan > Hops Haven Brew Haus
Hops Haven Brew Haus Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Hops Haven Brew Haus
Overall: Great    Score: 74.4 / 100
1327 North 14th Street
Sheboygan, WI 53081
United States
(920) 457-4677
Listed Since: October 2003
Last Updated: November 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Sheboygan, WI
Beer Guide for Wisconsin

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Hops Haven Brew Haus
19 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Mon CLOSED
Tue 04:00PM - 02:00AM
Wed 04:00PM - 02:00AM
Thu 04:00PM - 02:00AM
Fri 04:00PM - 02:30AM
Sat 01:00PM - 02:30AM

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Highlander Pub
(0 mile)

2) Horse and Plow
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Brownstone Inn
2) English Manor Bed & Breakfast
3) Lake View Mansion B & B
4) Rochester Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BAYMONT INN & SUITES SHEBOYGAN
2) BEST VALUE INN PARKWAY
3) HARBOR WINDS HOTEL
4) INN ON WOODLAKE
5) SELECT INN FOUNTAIN PARK
6) SLEEP INN AND SUITES
7) SUPER 8 SHEBOYGAN WI
8) THE AMERICAN CLUB
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) American Club
2) Balzer, John, Wagon Works Complex
3) Blackstock, Thomas M. and Bridget, House
4) Cole Historic District
5) Foeste, Henry Store, Building
6) Friendship House
7) Garton Toy Company
8) Imig, Henry and Charles, Block
9) Jung Carriage Factory
10) Jung Shoe Manufacturing Company Factory
11) Kohler, John Michael, House
12) Roth, Henry and Henriette, House
13) Sheboygan County Courthouse
14) Sheboygan Post Office
15) Sheboygan Theater
16) Taylor, David, House
17) Third Ward School
18) Thomas, I. C., Drug Store
19) Wolff--Jung Company Shoe Factory
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Ada's
2) Adlia Bistro
3) American Family Buffet
4) Armory Bar
5) Aztec Bar
6) Biro Restaurant & Wine Bar
7) Blue Lite
8) Blue Point Wine & Tapas Bar
9) Braveheart Pub
10) Brick's Log Cabin
11) Bump's
12) Burps's
13) Caffe KITA
14) Chili's Grill & Bar
15) Copper Penny Cafe
16) Cops & Robbers
17) Cousins Subs
18) Crossroads
19) Cruisers Route 43
20) Curtis Gabrielse
21) Dairy Queen
22) Denny's Bar
23) Domino's Pizza
24) El Camino
25) Emmer's
26) End Zone
27) Evergreen
28) Finer Things In Life
29) Four Of A Kind
30) Garden Cafe Family Restaurant
31) George Michael's
32) Gina's Essenhaus
33) Golden Chopsticks
34) Gosse's-The Northwestern House
35) Handle Bar Saloon
36) Harbor Lights Tavern
37) Harmony Bar
38) Highlander Pub
39) Hill Farm Restaurant Inc
40) Ink Cafe
41) Jumes Caterers
42) K & D Standard Hall
43) Kaddyshack
44) Kfc
45) Kiku Of Tokyo
46) LA Nena
47) Legend Larry's Wings & Things
48) Little Caesars Pizza
49) Little Caesars Pizza
50) M T Wine Glass
51) Ma Bell's
52) Mc Donald's
53) Mc Donald's
54) Meyer's Lakeview Pub
55) Meyer's Westside Lanes
56) Mother Hubbard's
57) Mr Glen's
58) Mueller's Bar
59) Niche Bar & Grill
60) Northwestern House
61) O's
62) Old Smokehouse Grill
63) On The House
64) Over Under
65) Papa Murphy's Take 'N' Bake
66) Penn Avenue Pub
67) Perkins Family Restaurant
68) Pit Stop Pizza
69) Pit Stop Pizza
70) Pizza Hut
71) Pizza Hut
72) Pork & Beans
73) Quizno's Classic Subs
74) Quiznos Sub
75) Robbie Boy's Cocktail Bar
76) Rose Garden
77) Ruby Tuesday
78) Rupp's At Riverdale
79) Sandee's
80) Sbarro The Italian Eatery
81) Scenic Bar & Restaurant
82) Sheboygan's Family Restaurant
83) Skip'Er Inn
84) Skybox Sports Pub & Grille
85) Sly's Midtown Saloon
86) Speak Easy
87) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
88) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
89) Susche Super Bar
90) Taco Bell
91) Tappers
92) Taqueria Rancho Grande
93) Terese's Bar
94) Terry's
95) Theo's Pizza & Catering
96) Thi Cafe
97) Upper Room Christian Coffee Hs
98) Vreeke's
99) Wendy's
100) What's Up
101) Who's Inn
102) Wild Side
103) Wonderful World
104) Z Spot Espresso & Coffee
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy So So Lousy Lousy
The food is overpriced for what it is. The beer selection is lame and they don't have spotted cow. The help, if that's the proper word, is rude and unfriendly;. Incompetent is too generous a word. Pity.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Kabul, AF
(09/12/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A Good So So
My wife and I tried one each. I got a pale that tasted like funky homwbrew and my wife got a black cherry that was decent but the more we drank of it, it started tasting like cough syrup. Based on these two, we did not stay to try more. Service was good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Fines Patrick Fines, Temple Hills, MD
(09/09/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Good
Our group came in for my friend Chrissy's birthday party. We were only going to start there then go bar hopping and food, Ect. Well they served good food and had Industrial Strength DJ Service in to perform for the night. We never left. Danced our asses off and got smashed.(took a cab) We hope Jeff and Eric(Djs) are there again. Total fun, definately goin back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Cameron Cameron , Plymouth, WI
(09/08/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
they had 8 beers, 1 of which is a seasonal. tried 3 of the beers and really enjoyed the undertones in the beer. Combine that with the food, it was a real treat. the old factory feel to the building was well preserved. The staff was very attentive and willing to take a few to discuss the different brews. I would recommend this to anyone stopping in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Oostburg, WI
(09/07/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Great Great
I am a Sheboygan native and a "regular" of the bar, although I must admit that means once a month at most. I LOVE the food, the pizza is always great, and for a home-made bar pizza that feeds 2 for under 10 bucks, forget about it! After the no-smoking legislation goes into effect, I will take my family there for meals, without ANY question about cleanliness. Regarding that, I don't know how much of the observations were true, but remember this establishment is in a 80 year old factory that sat empty many years before being turned into Hopps Haven, and that will initially cause issues. I was there last week with not a dust bunny or crawly to be seen. Also, originally they used plastic furniture, but that has since been replaced with wooden tables, benches, and stools, hardy and comfortable. I call myself a "regular" there because it is the ONLY bar in Sheboygan I go to anymore, and trust me, I CRAWLED through most of them. I just wish they had a lighter american style beer that they made on tap...........

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Scott, Sheboygan, WI
(06/21/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy N/A Good So So
I was excited by the review of this but the reality was extrememly disappointing. Beer was less than exciting -all low gravity basic beers

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review indianapolis, IN
(10/19/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I'm sitting outside Hopp Haven. Absolutly sucks that they don't open till 4pm. Should have called first.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nate Hrabosky Nate Hrabosky, Racine, WI
(08/29/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A N/A So So
I used to work here! I would have to agree with a previous comment about the dirty floors and plastic tables. I know for a fact that the floors were mopped only 5 times in a year and a half! I'm not sure what their cleaning schedule is now but I'm sure it hasn't changed much. I would never eat anything at this establishment because I found and captured a cockroach on the back bar in Nov. 2007, at that time I asked the owner several times to get an exterminator (He didn't, infact he ignored me and denies up and down that I gave him the live cockroach to dispose of). As for the beers I think the IPA is gross but many regulars love it. I love the seasonals. I get along with all the bartender and customers. Most people are friendly. The building itself needs some serious repairs since several areas leak water into the bar and the plaster is pealing from the wall in the ladies room. This is a good bar to start out the night at, with a good selection of House Brews. They lack domestic beers on tap and some popular choices like rolling rock and MGD.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Sheboygan, WI
(04/30/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Good Awesome!
I love Hopp's, but wrote this review mainly in response to the man from Missouri who wrote that it's "out of the way". Been to Sheboygan much, sir? Hopp's is located on one of Sheboygan's busiest and most traveled streets. I could understand why someone who wasn't from the area might think it's a deserted area of town, but that's really as busy as it gets.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Sheboygan, WI
(04/09/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So So So So So
The food is okay, the floors are always dirty. I've only been here a few times but they sure have a cleaning problem. I know, I know it's a bar but if I order food I want to at least think that it's a clean environment. What is up with the plastic furniture??? It is filthy and talk about cheap looking.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Henderson, NV
(02/28/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good So So So So
Yes, they have food finally, but it's not awesome. It's too crowded on Saturday to even get service, let alone find a place to sit and enjoy a meal. They need to figure out what they want to be: a nice place to visit or a nuthouse. Right now, they are somewhere in between. Far too often, the place is bedlam. And they are raising their prices again. A can of Guiness at Sam's club costs 90 cents. 90 cents to come all the way across the sea. And here? $3.25 or more for a beer that doesn't have to travel even a mile. Uh huh. It's just not a good value for your money. The bartenders are often owly and not friendly.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review plymouth, WI
(02/19/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
As of February 2008, Hops Haven has food, and not only is it healthy, but it tastes awesome! By far and large my favorite bar in Sheboygan.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mondaywarrior Mondaywarrior, Sheboygan, WI
(02/09/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
I tried the triple h and the IPA enjoyed them both left a great flavor. Very nice inside, open, lots of stained wood very inviting. Have been in the bussiness long enough that they should have food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Todd, Sheboygan Falls, WI
(05/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
The IPA IS INCREDIBLE. BIG ON THE HOPS. HUGE ON THE HOPS. EXCELLENT PRICES DURING THE 4-7 HAPPY HOUR AND ALL DAY SUNDAY. SMART CROWD ON FRIDAYS, NEEDS FOOD! NO FOOD! USUALL Y HAVE A PITCHER AND BRING 2 GRAWLERS BACK HOME. FRESH. OUTSTANDING. IF GOING THROUGH SHEBOYGAN (COW TOWN) THIS IS THE ONLY PLACE FOR QUALITY BREW.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lucky Jim Lucky Jim, sheboygan, WI
(02/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
This is a fantastic place. I had the IPA and the Hefe. Both were as good as I have had. I took home a growler of the Hefe. This joint is way underrated and underappreciated. I think it is only a matter of time before they get the recognition they deserve. Go out of your way to get here, it is worth the trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Rob, romeoville, IL
(01/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
No food. Tried all the beers. OK. Kind of a seedy place in an out-of-the-way spot. Pub is in an old warehouse. Huge place but empty. Bartender and the few patrons were nice enough but all seemed like high school dropouts. At least they have the good taste for some real beer. OK by me.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Seven Nike Seven Nike, St. Louis, MO
(09/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good
Nice selection of beers but they lacked character. Nothing too exciting in the 8 brews we tasted. The bar was bare at 9 PM with all the other patrons drinking bottled big brewery beer. What is that about?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Susan Susan, La Jolla, CA
(07/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Sheboygan, WI
(11/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
This is the place Jeff Kolar has moved his Port Washington operation to since parting ways with the original PW location. The Port Washington brands being sold at retail retain the new, while his new brews will be monickered Hops Haven.
I found the place the weekend they had opened in an old sock factory. Nice airy rooms with a lot of the original wood flooring (and what had to be torn out was made into the tables. The kitchen wasn't installed yet, so nothing to do but drink beer. They had five brews available, plus two guest taps and some canned "lites" for the ladies. Their Pier 96 lager is about the best American lager I've found yet. Also worthwhile is the "Triple H" Hefeweisen, with a less "in your face" hefe style than normal. The Old Port Porter is excellent too, and as a base for the Black Cherry Porter, it balances the fruit nicely. A friendly place with a nice "mom and pop" feel to it, in a nice little town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark McDermott Mark McDermott, Park Forest, IL
(07/27/2003)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.492 seconds) 16:52:17 54.80.19.102, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS