PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Ciao! - Carnegie, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 22, 2014 @ 06:48 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Carnegie > Ciao!
Ciao! Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Ciao!
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 81.4 / 100
131 East Main Street
(in the Mall Plaza area)
Carnegie, PA 15106
United States
(412) 276-9914
Listed Since: November 2003
Last Updated: October 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Carnegie, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Ciao!
10 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(8 within 5 miles)
1) Paddys' Pour House
(0 mile)

2) Wright's Seafood Inn
(0 mile)

3) Sharp Edge Creekhouse
(2 miles)

4) Mad Mex
(2 miles)

5) The Hop House Wood Fired Food and Ale
(2 miles)

6) Mad Mex South
(4 miles)

7) Burgh's Pizza and Wing Pub
(5 miles)

8) Pittsburgh Bottleshop Cafe
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Victoria House Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERISUITES PITTSBURGH AIRPORT
2) BRIDGESTREET LINCOLN POINTE
3) COMFORT INN BRIDGEVILLE
4) COMFORT INN PITTSBURGH
5) COMFORT INN PITTSBURGH AIRPORT
6) COMFORT INN STEUBENVILLE PIKE
7) COUNTRY INN AND SUITES
8) ECONO LODGE PITTSBURGH
9) EXTENDEDSTAY CARNEGIE
10) HAMPTON INN PITTS GRNTREE
11) HAWTHORN PITTSBURGH
12) KNIGHTS INN BRIDGEVILLE PA
13) RADISSON PITTSBURGH GREENTREE
14) RAMADA INN PITTSBURG SOUTH
15) RED ROOF PITTSBURG SO AIRPORT
16) STUDIOPLUS PITTSBURGH AIRPORT
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Campbell Building
2) Carnegie, Andrew, Free Library
3) Frew, John, House
4) Langley High School
5) McKees Rocks Bridge
6) Neville House
7) Oakdale Public School
8) Walker-Ewing Log House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Abraham Mendoza Restaurant
2) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
3) Bahama Breeze
4) Barb's Country Junction Cafe
5) Bishop's Bar & Grill
6) Bob's
7) Buca Di Beppo
8) Buzz Coffee House
9) Cantley's
10) Caribou Coffee
11) Chick-Fil-A
12) Chick-Fil-A
13) Circle Inn
14) Cold Stone Creamery
15) Corner Table Restaurant
16) Cump's
17) Dairy Queen
18) Dairy Queen
19) Doug's Deli Mart Inc
20) Fat Jimmy’s Famous Italian
21) Fatburger
22) Frank Zagari
23) GCS Service
24) Gladco Enterprises Inc
25) Grab N Go
26) Great Steak & Potato Co
27) Heidelway Bar & Restaurant
28) Houlihan's
29) Java Hut
30) Jeff & Geri's
31) Joe's Crab Shack
32) Johnny's Pizza Express Rstrnt
33) King's Family Restaurant
34) Krispy Kreme Doughnuts
35) Little Tokyo
36) Long John Silver's
37) Mad Mex
38) Mary'S' Place
39) Max Orient
40) Mc Donald's
41) Mc Donald's
42) Minero's Pizza
43) MMMM Pizza
44) Moe's Southwest Grill
45) Nazcar's
46) Noble Manor Deli
47) North Park Clubhouse
48) Oasis Restaurant
49) Olive Garden Italian Rstrnt
50) Original Pizza Works
51) P K's Cafe Inc
52) Pandolfo Market Cafe
53) Pizza Cafe
54) Pizza Milano
55) Pizza Outlet
56) Pizza Torino
57) Porto Fino Pizzaria & Gyro
58) Porto Fino Pizzaria & Gyro
59) Presto Hotel
60) Qdoba Mexican Grill
61) Raya's Pizzeria
62) Raya's Pizzeria Headquarters
63) Red Bull Inn Of Roninson
64) Red Hots Cafe
65) Red Lobster
66) Red Onion Grill
67) Rita's Italian Ice
68) Rockefellers Grille
69) Rossi Pizzeria
70) Rullo's Bar & Grill
71) Sammie Alexanders
72) Sammy's Place
73) Sarafino's Pasta & Pizza
74) Smokey Bones Bbq
75) Starbucks
76) Starbucks
77) Steak 'n Shake
78) Stratmore Street Cafe Inc
79) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
80) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
81) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
82) Talotta's West Main Inn
83) Tastee Freez
84) TGI Friday's
85) Third Street Cafe
86) Tony Lukes Beef & Beer
87) Trombetta's Place
88) Ugly Dog Saloon
89) Villa Pizza
90) Vocelli Pizza
91) Vocelli Pizza
92) Wheel Wedge Cheese House Ii
93) Wright's Seafood Inn
94) Y-Not Saloon
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Food sucks,too expensdive ild rather spend my time at a casino.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sara Mop Sara Mop, carnegie, PA
(09/02/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Great
IF YOU WANT TO MEET NICE PEOPLE AND EAT GREAT FOOD YOU MUST GO TO CIAO....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BRUCE BRUCE, PITTSBURGH, PA
(01/21/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
For a truly unique dining experience, and one that will always meet expectations, Ciao is the place to go. I was there over the weekend & they had a dunkel franzikaner on draft, which is most rare and one of my favorite beers. the draft selection does shift quite a bit, but always a good stock of imports/micros on hand. The food here is also very good, from sandwiches to the pasta.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from kyle kyle, pittsburgh, PA
(02/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
This is a great local place. Yes it could be brighter and could use a coat of paint but it is so "unchain restaurant" which it is delightful. Owner is very friendly and very knowledgeable about food and drink.

I was there on a Saturday night and the entire bar area was filled - both bar seats and tables. The small weeknight crowds aren't specific to this restaurant - I think that people in this town don't go out as much as they should. Or they're stupid enough to be lined up to eat microwaved food at the Olive Garden. We were warned that it might be a little slow because a large party had ordered right as we came in but once we smelled the food, we knew we were staying. We munched on some bread and enjoyed our drinks.

Great Lakes Dortmunder on tap was excellent. Very good Rosenblum Zin for me. Grilled calamari appetizer was as good as Lidia's.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review pittsburgh, PA
(02/19/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I visited Ciao! today for lunch with a good friend. We both were surprised to see the large bar to the left as we walked through the door. When asked whether we'd like to be seated in the smoking or non-smoking section, we chose the non-smoking section and were escorted into the back dining area which was sort of homey, and reminiscent of someone's dining area in an old home, or part of an old Italian lady's house. The atmosphere was somewhat lacking with the issuance of styrofoam plates, as well as plastic baskets lined with wax paper to present their food. However I'm getting ahead of myself.

We were seated, and an older, Italian guy came to ask for our drink orders and to tell us about the specials of the day. I was a bit freaked out, at first, as both of us had special diets. I am a vegan, and my friend is a vegetarian. The menu for the day, as well as the specials were literally oozing with meat and cheese, which kind of frightened both of us, but I'm quite used to that sort of thing, having been a vegan for quite a few years now.

I told the waiter / owner(?) about our diets, and explained that none of the specials / menu items had anything at all to offer us. He was EXTREMELY polite, and went out of his way to make suggestions that were both vegetarian and vegan that could be made instead of the meat items. He even went so far as to identify me as a VEGAN! (Something that's lacking quite a bit in many restaurants -- Many servers have absolutely no idea what a vegan even is... and no -- it's not someone from Las Vegas, or the planet Vega).

I enjoyed a portabella sandwich with roasted red peppers and eggplant, while my friend enjoyed some vegetarian ravioli. My sandwich also came with some to DIE for (if not a bit greasy) zucchini fritters.

Overall, the food was good... the ambiance may have been a bit lacking, but the wait staff was attentive and friendly, and willing to make modifications for special diets which really makes me feel great about a place. If you can get past the styrofoam plates, and the lack of atmosphere, as well as the slightly high prices, you're bound to enjoy Ciao! I can imagine that it would be a great place to get your buzz -- AND your grub on!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pittsburgh, PA
(04/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Just an informative post here... you can now get growlers of East End Brew at Ciao - filled fresh while you wait!

Cheers, Scott East End Brewing

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Smith Scott Smith, pittsburgh, PA
(08/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Caio Has the best food and drinks this side of Italy. The owners are very friendly, so friendly in fact you will think you are eating with family. So if you are in or near Carnegie PA, stop in to Ciao, You won't be sorry!!!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bruce Jaffe Bruce Jaffe, Pittsburgh, PA
(06/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I spoke with Nick at Ciao! this week. Bad news for Carnegie, beyond the half-block fire from last week - Ciao! is going to be closing it's Carnegie location and moving the business to Robinson Township along Stubenville Pike/Route 60.

Hey when I stopped in there were two other patrons the whole part of the evening I was there. Carnegie people just aren't supporting their local restaurants. The local leadership/government isn't helping foster new and continuing businesses in the boro either - Ciao's! had planned to open the second floor for parties and outdoor patio dining in the front- those ideas were shot down by Carnegie boro- where they wanted Ciao to add an elevator. An elevator - a very expensive idea and one that would have put a large dent in the space available.

The planned closing will happen end of December 2005 and the Robinson location will open in February 2006 according to Nick.

The new Robinson Township location will be much larger and have seating for 125 people. They are going to continue to push the micros and good imports and expect to have 14-beers on tap at the new location and probably a larger selection of micros in the coolers.

You can expect the same low-priced Italian meals at the new location as well as small-plate tapas-like offerings - but at a low price and healthy size.

I am looking forward to the new location where I expect Ciao! will be received with open arms and a large crowd of loyal diners.

The few of us still alive in Carnegie will miss the convienent location and walking distance bonus.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paris lundis paris lundis, Pittsburgh, PA
(10/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great
I happened to be in the Carnegie area and took Paris' recommendation to heart. Ciao is a nice little restaurant where I had a very nice tortellini bolognese and insalata mista, which is a good change for a beer bar. For the beer - 7 taps with 5 micros, Yuengling and Coors. The bottle selection number somewhere between 25-30 selections (and these are rotated I was told). My comment isn't about Ciao being in need of a coat of paint, but rather the fact that there seemed to be only 3 people out in the whole of Carnegie. Given the environment these guys operate in ( a dead 'main' street), I'm giving them kudos for effort and an awesome for the beer selection.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Padgett Michael Padgett, New York, NY
(03/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Good
Ciao! has been in Carnegie as long as I can remember. My mother use to bring me random Italian food from there almost weekly.

Ciao! is close to post office along Main Street in Carnegie - next to the large parking lot facing the post office. So parking is readily available- unlike many other bar locations.

At night time the place can be easy to miss as the interior is low lighting and aside from one or two small backlit window boxes there isn't much shooting out at you.

Now let's talk about what makes this place a gem...

The beer selection is loaded with Victory, Dogfish and Troegs products to name a few. They started with a large import selection - and that still exists. They recently hosted a dinner with a beer emphasis - so take note.

Food wise, things are affordable if you choose right. A good fresh selection of Italian dishes throughout and a wider selection of bar/grill type foods.

Service wise, I believe the owner was tending bar - I could be wrong - he also served us and preped our meals - the guy sure was hustling.

Now where I thought Ciao! could improve and defintely attract new folks to their establishment:

There is that issue with signage and lighting- it's a big one. Also, the interior seating is basically banquet style chairs and odd tables - very orange and woody and 1970's. Wallpaper is old and crumbling and the paint is dreary. It gives you that dirty feeling.

The bathrooms are bar bones and need updating- the handrying towel roll sagging from use and smack dab in the sink and the old school urinal that actually sits lower than floor level - yep things that give enough of you the creeps.

All and all, Ciao! is a pretty neat nook. As a bar, it's classier than the other stuff in and near Carnegie and their beer selection is major in these parts. The food is above average, fresh and made to order. A little paint, brightening and cleaning and this place could be a reservation only place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paris paris, Pittsburgh, PA
(11/25/2003)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.349 seconds) 18:48:16 54.235.16.159, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS