PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Marzoni's Brick Oven and Brewing Company - Duncansville, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 23, 2014 @ 09:17 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Duncansville > Marzoni's Brick Oven and Brewing Company
Marzoni's Brick Oven and Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Marzoni's Brick Oven and Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 75 / 100
170 Patchway Road
Duncansville, PA 16648
United States
(814) 695-1300
Listed Since: December 2003
Last Updated: August 2007
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Duncansville, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
29 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Mon 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Tue 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Wed 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Thu 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Fri 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Sat 11:00AM - 11:00PM

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) U.S. Hotel
2) Knickerbocker Tavern
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Carriage House Bed & Breakfast
2) Hoenstine's
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) SUPER 8 ALTOONA PA
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Blair County Courthouse
2) Highland Hall
3) Leap-the-Dips
4) Royer, Daniel, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Argonne Cafe
2) B R Grannas Catering Inc
3) Blue & White Snack Bar
4) Capitol Hotel
5) Chip N Dale's
6) D'Ottavio Italian House
7) Dave's Dream Restaurant
8) Gianni's Italian Eatery Inc
9) Gianni's Pizza Express
10) Jack Hammers Sandwich Co
11) Jack Hammers Sandwich Co
12) Mountain Top Dairy
13) Old Canal Inn
14) Original Italian Pizza
15) Orwig Inc
16) Shan Nicole's
17) St Drogo Cafe
18) U S Hotel Restaurant & Tavern
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A So So Lousy Lousy
Called ahead, "No problem, we can seat a party of six right away". After an hour drive, arrive to find out right away means an hour. BUT, we're told 20 min. every 20 minutes. Too upset and hungry to try the beer. Got the wrong food after being split up into two small (2 person) tables for six people. Next to the extremely hot oven and noisy kitchen. On the runway for the staff to get to and fro. With a gaggle of loose kids screaming their heads off.

NEVER AGAIN...AND DONT TRUST THEM!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from T. T., Armagh, PA
(12/20/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Grew up in Altoona, get back often to see family, so I guess I'm partial. I love brick oven pizza, they do it well. Good beers, brewed onsite, always enjoy a large lager, and the blueberry that I had recently was very good. Small town brew pub, trying to compete, I think they do OK. Now get me a spot in Harrisburg! We've got the Lancaster Brewing Co (LBC) down here. They brew it in downtown lancaster, but are opening restaurants featuring their beers, fresh out of the brew house. I see nothing wrong with that. Go Marzoni's, that Hoss's in Hummelstown is needing updated!! hint hint.....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from AJ AJ, harrisburg, PA
(06/20/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
I made it for Happy Hour on December 26. The beer was good, not great. The Avalance IPA was good. Best of all, it was a great deal. My brother and I drank several beers, 12-oz glasses so we could sample more, and the bill came to $10. I went back later for dinner with the kids, and the food was pretty good. Overall, worth a visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Bocchetti Mark Bocchetti, McLean, VA
(01/06/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The Harrisburg Patriot News reports there will be two Marzoni's coming to the capital area...

http://www.pennlive.com/news/patriotnews/index.ssf?/base/news/1177555212192180.xml&coll=1

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill and Tara Bill and Tara, Harrisburg, PA
(04/26/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
I found one of my all-time favorite stouts here -- the heavy roasted taste carries well on the palate -- not overpowering but just right. Didn't try the others once I fell in love with the stout.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Lutz Bob Lutz, Murrysville, PA
(08/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Made my 2nd and 3rd visits to Marzoni's on Saturday 7/1 for a late dinner and again for lunch on Monday 7/3. My only other time here was in July 2005. So this review is for my 2 most recent visits last weekend. 8 different beers on tap. 6 which are always on as well as 2 rotating seasonals. I got into the Avalanche IPA pretty hard on the 7/1 visit. Liked it so much that I ended up having 4 Imperial pints. The brewmaster told me that it had 120 IBUs and I think 6.9 ABV. Luckily it was only a short walk across the parking lot to find my lodging for the night. I ordered a meatball grinder for my dinner which was good. Dani the bartender was efficient but I was somewhat disappointed that she never followed up to ask how my meal was or that she never thanked me for the 30% PLUS tip that I handed her when settling my tab. Jo the bartender that was working Monday afternoon was much more professional and I would rate the service I received from her as excellent. Other comments on Marzoni's: Probably the cleanest brewpub I have ever been in...absolutely spotless! Liked the classic rock music feed in the bar area... great beer drinking music. They also have an excellent unpublicized Happy Hour which I unfortunately was unable to take advantage of because I only found out about it when I asked if they ran one. Overall Marzoni's is one great brewpub and I hope to spend many more hours in there next summer when I'm in the area again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim S. Jim S., Wayland, NY
(07/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
I am a mug club member at this establishment. They are very customer oriantated and have a wonderful selection of food. Thier beer is very good with a few selections theat are to die for. If anyone is ever in the area I recoment that you stop in and try thier food and beer. You wont be disappionted.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Shannon Jr. Michael Shannon Jr., Hollidaysburg, PA
(06/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
The Mai Bock was great, but I really enjoyed the Weissbock - a truly unique beer. I had to take a growler of this home! The avalanche IPA was as good as usual. The people that work here always seem to be nice and Bill Kroft is one of the best people around.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bill caraway bill caraway, pittsburgh, PA
(05/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
There is no better way to cook a pizza than a brick oven. Really enjoyed the food. The beer was good, although the light lager was a bit of a disappointment. Good selection with 6 regular beers and 2 rotating seasonals. Suggest that the seasonals be included in the sampler, and that a beer menu for reference be left on the table so people could keep it fresh in mind what they are sampling. The IPA and Stout more than made up for it. Would definitely visit again next time I am in Altoona.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Johnson Dave Johnson, Sharpsville, PA
(09/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great
I previously wrote a review on 12/29/03 stating that the beers needed some work on. I went back on 4/24/05 and tried the Maibock and Pale Ale, both of which were very tasty. The Maibock had a deep robust golden hue -- very creamy and nicely balanced. I also had a very small sample of the Saisson and Stout. The stout, this time, had a very nice head and rich chocolate flavor and the Saisson was very well done, too. I am very impressed with the progress this brewpub has made with their beers since my last visit. Keep up the great work!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from A. Mishock A. Mishock, State College, PA
(04/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Joined the "mug club" last year and have visited at least monthly since. Very pleased with beer quality - just had their Scottish Ale which was excellent and Saisson which was perfect for the first nice day of spring we've had. Food has always been excellent, but the menu could use a little bit of a 'junmp start' to make it more varied and interesting.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Fred H. Schellenberg Fred H. Schellenberg, Windber, PA
(04/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
Nice place, not a bad price for the sampler. LIke the taste of all but one. Had a long drive so was unable to drink more.They need a better sign to show the location. I drove right by the place when I was heading east on 22. After getting gas and coming back west on 22 saw a big sign to let me know where it was located. Will return when in the area again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from james horton james horton, cambridge springs, PA
(04/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Have visited Marzoni's twice and they have improved the quality of their beers from the first visit to the second. Hoping they will continue to improve. I found the beers to be tasty, but lacking a signature taste or beer. Nothing jumps out. I would recomend this resturant to locals and people visiting the area. The food was good. Alway support your local brewer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Cramer David Cramer, Boalsburg, PA
(04/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Stopped in just long enough to have a short Pale Ale -- nicely done, not overly-hopped -- and a taste of the Weizenbock -- much better than the Weizen, and sneakily high in ABV. Two nice beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(02/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy So So
Located in a stand alone building off the Plank St exit of I-99. (Turn left off the exit, 2.5 mi, on the left) I add the directions solely due to the reason for the "lousy" service rating. (Rick, my bartender, merits a "good" or "great") Was coming through the area and wanted to stop by. I called for directions and waited in the cold for the THIRD person to get on the phone to help me. And then the directions were wrong anyway!!! There is NO excuse for whichever phone is to be answered first not having simple directions nearby. The beer is unremarkable, but the IPA and Anniversary Ale were kind of nice. Wings were okay, but nothing special. Wouldn't stop again, unless I saw some excellent reviews to give me reason for a return.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(11/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Good
Food was good, staff was very friendly. Beer sampler was worth the cost as the samples were large enough for 2 or 3 people to have an adequate taste. We were staying in the area and went back 3 times in one week.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review franklin, PA
(06/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I found out last July that this place was due to open sometime in the fall...Couldn't wait...a brewpub just 15 miles from home! I drove by every day in November until, one day, they were open! Beer was good from the start...reasonably priced and a variety of styles. They tend to run a little high in alcohol for the drive home...and some of the styles should be served at something higher than ice cold temperature. The food started off barely average, but has progressed in recent months to Great! We stop by 2 or 3 times a week for beer, and a couple times a month to eat.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rodge Rodge, Williamsburg, PA
(06/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Good Great
open only 8 months and the beer quality is this good!? great stopover on my way to state college. 8 beers on tap, including two seasonals. had the sampler that only included six, so had to forgo the the typical american lite lagers, which isnt my forte anyways. but the ipa was adequately hopped and balanced. add an alt, stout, and a couple of ambers, and heffeweize to the mix and you will find that they are true to the brewing styles. not any particular standouts nor major deviations, so you should be very pleased ordering your favorite style. so many good styles and only in operation such a short time, i only expect even greater things from this place.

as far as the layout, great place to watch a game. the bar design is almost exact to "red brick station" in whitemarsh, md if you have ever been there. large, rectangular bar, with drop down console with tvs all the way around.

didn't sample the food, but it looked good, and with the brick oven, who could go wrong!?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ric Kempton Ric Kempton, Annapolis, MD
(04/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Sounds like someone might have been allergic to beer - they do use it in some of their cooking. I noticed the reviewer did not even mention the "beer" which I found to be pretty darn good in my only visit and the food was great as well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Fred H. Schellenberg Fred H. Schellenberg, Windber, PA
(03/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Lousy Lousy Lousy
I took a relative to this restaurant on 3/22/04. This was one of the worst experiences I have ever had. The service was appallingly slow. No one came to refill drinks, check to see if our food was satisfactory, etc. One of us ordered barbequed chicken, got violently ill at home that night, and was diagnosed with food poisoning the next day. When I telephoned Eric, the manager at Marzoni's, he was totally uninterested, Do not eat here!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Wilmington, DE
(03/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Good Good Awesome! Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Elizabethtown, PA
(03/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Great Good
This is a new start here in the area. Brewmeister is a guy who you to do it at home, but hehas transitioned well to commercial market of breweries. They are serving a half-decent Irish Red Ale for the month of March. Food has a little to be desired, but it is something that they continue to work on. Sandwiches are good, but still need a little more creativity on the menu items. Great staff- hardworking and looking to please the customer. Overall, I would say worth the trip to this part of PA.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Hollidaysburg, PA
(03/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Great
It is now 6 6oz. beers for $4.75 They are planning a Red Ale in March 2004. I'd like to see a Bitter.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review ALtoona, PA
(03/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
If you like bitter beer and good wood-fired pizza, then Marzoni's is the place to visit. The IPA is great and the extra-cheese pizza very good and a great value. So glad to have a brew pub is our area. We visit a couple times a month.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Smiths The Smiths, Tyrone, PA
(02/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great
Well worth the stop!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(01/29/2004)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.41 seconds) 09:17:27 54.196.189.229, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS