PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


On Tap Sports Cafe - Birmingham, AL
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 26, 2014 @ 03:55 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > AL > Birmingham > On Tap Sports Cafe
On Tap Sports Cafe Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
On Tap Sports Cafe
Overall: Great    Score: 75 / 100
727 29th Street South
Birmingham, AL 35233
United States
(205) 320-1225
Listed Since: January 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Birmingham, AL
Beer Guide for Alabama

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
8 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(12 within 5 miles)
1) Back Forty Beer Company
(1 mile)

2) 5 Points Grill was Mill Bakery, Eatery, Brewery
(1 mile)

3) Cellar Beer Garden
(1 mile)

4) Dave's Pub
(1 mile)

5) Zydeco
(1 mile)

6) Mellow Mushroom
(1 mile)

7) The J. Clyde
(1 mile)

8) Avondale Brewing Company
(2 miles)

9) Barking Kudu
(3 miles)

10) Good People Brewing Company
(4 miles)

11) Slice
(4 miles)

12) Fox and Hound Pub and Grille
(6 miles)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ALTA VISTA HOTEL AND SUITES
2) BEST WESTERN CARLTON SUITES
3) BEST WESTERN MEDICAL CENTER IN
4) BIRMINGHAM SOUTHWEST DRURY IN
5) COMFORT INN BIRMINGHAM
6) DAYS INN BIRMINGHAM
7) DAYS INN BIRMINGHAM AIRPORT
8) EMBASSY SUITES BIRMINGHAM
9) FAIRFIELD HOMEWOOD BIRMINGHAM
10) HAMPTON INN BHM MTN BROOK
11) HO JO EXPRESS INN BIRMINGHAM
12) HOMEWOOD COURTYARD
13) HOMEWOOD TOWNEPLACE SUITES
14) LA QUINTA INN & STES. HOMEWOOD
15) MICROTEL INN
16) PICKWICK HOTEL AND SUITES
17) RADISSON HOTEL BIRMINGHAM
18) RED ROOF BIRMINGHAM
19) RESIDENCE INN BIRMINGHAM
20) SHERATON BIRMINGHAM
21) STUDIOPLUS BIRMINGHAM WILDWOOD
22) SUPER 8 HOMEWOOD BIRMINGHAM AR
23) THE TUTWILER, A WYNDHAM HOTEL
24) VILLAGER LODGE BIRMINGHAM
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Age-Herald Building
2) Agee House
3) Alabama Penny Savings Bank
4) Alabama Theatre
5) Arlington
6) Avalon
7) Birmingham, Railway, Light and Power Building
8) Blessed Sacrament Academy
9) Bottega Favorita
10) Bradshaw House
11) Brown, Dr. A. M., House
12) Caldwell-Milner Building
13) Claridge Manor Apartments
14) Crittenden Building
15) Downtown Birmingham Historic District (Boundary Increase)
16) Downtown Birmingham Historic District (Boundary Increase)
17) Downtown Birmingham Retail and Theatre Historic District (Boundary Increase)
18) Dr. Pepper Syrup Plant
19) Empire Building
20) Enslen House
21) Episcopal Church of the Advent
22) Exclusive Furniture Shop
23) Fire Station No. 10
24) Fire Station No. 11
25) Fire Station No. 12
26) Fire Station No. 15
27) Fire Station No. 22
28) Fire Station No. 3
29) Fire Station No. 6
30) First Christian Church Education Building
31) First National-John A. Hand Building
32) First Presbyterian Church
33) First United Methodist Church
34) Fox Building
35) Gaston, A.G., Building
36) Gleissner, John D. and Katherine, Lustron House
37) Hanover Court Apartments
38) Heaviest Corner on Earth
39) Highland Plaza Apartments
40) Hotel Redmont
41) Ideal Department Store Building
42) Jefferson County Courthouse
43) Kress, S. H., and Company Building
44) Lakeview School
45) Loveman, Joseph, & Loeb Department Store
46) Lustron House on Columbiana Road
47) Manchester Terrace
48) McAdory Building
49) Nabers, Morrow and Sinnige, Building
50) Orlando Apartments
51) Powell School
52) Quinlan Castle
53) Ridgely Apartments
54) Saint Andrew's Episcopal Church
55) Second Presbyterian Church
56) Sixteenth Street Baptist Church
57) St. Paul's Catholic Church
58) Steiner Bank Building
59) Stonecroft
60) U.S. Post Office
61) Vulcan
62) Waters Building
63) Watts Building
64) West End Masonic Temple
65) Whilldin Building
66) Wimberly-Thomas Warehouse
67) Windham Construction Office Building
68) Woodlawn City Hall
69) Woodward Building
70) Wright, Bernice L., Lustron House
71) Zinszer's Peter, Mammoth Furniture House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 11th Avenue Grill
2) 22nd Street Jazz Cafe & Brew
3) 5 Points Grill Bakery & Brwry
4) 5th Avenue Coffee House Corp
5) Al's Deli & Grill
6) Amba Restaurant
7) Annabelle & Lulu's Mdtrrnn
8) Anthony's Restaurant
9) Arby's
10) Arman's At Park Lane
11) Assagio
12) Atrium Cafe
13) Avery's Cafe
14) B & A Warehouse
15) Back Alley Restaurant
16) Bahama Wings & Soul Food
17) Bailey's Pub
18) Banana Joe's
19) Barking KUDU
20) Bell Bottoms
21) Billy's
22) Bogue's Restaurant
23) Bombay Cafe
24) Bombay Pub
25) Bottega Cafe
26) Bottega Italian Restaurant
27) Brick Room
28) Browdy's
29) Burger King
30) Burly Earl
31) Cafe De France & Catering
32) Cafe Dupont
33) Cafe Forum
34) Cafe' Ciao
35) Cameo Cafe
36) Canteen Corp
37) Cantina
38) Captain D's Seafood Restaurant
39) Carlile's Barbecue
40) Carlile's Cafe
41) Casey's Sports Grill
42) Catering Creations
43) Chan Lees
44) Chaos
45) Char-House Foods
46) Chaser's Sports Bar
47) Chez Fon Fon
48) Chez Lulu
49) Chick-Fil-A
50) China Moon
51) Chris Z's
52) Church's Chicken
53) Church's Chicken
54) Ciao Italian Restaurant
55) Club 729
56) Club Red
57) Club South
58) Cobb Lane Restaurant
59) Coffee Shoppe
60) Corretti Catering
61) Cosmo's Pizza
62) Courtney's Restaurant
63) Cracker Jack
64) Crape Myrtle's Cafe
65) Cue & Brew
66) Curin West
67) Curry In A Hurry Inc
68) Dave's Pub
69) Dawson's Burgers Wings & Fries
70) De Vinci's Pizza
71) Dick's Place
72) Domino's Pizza
73) Donnelly House & Gardens
74) Doodles Muffulettas Po-Boys
75) Dreamland Bar-B-Que
76) Dt's Sports Bar & Grill
77) Dugan's
78) Egg Roll Express
79) Exotic Wings & Things
80) Fat Sam's Sub Station
81) Fife's Restaurant
82) Fish Market Restaurant
83) Forest Park Deli & Catering
84) G Restaurant
85) Garage Cafe
86) Giuseppe's Cafe
87) Gli Food Svc
88) Golden Bird Restaurant
89) Golden Rule Bar-B-Q
90) Goofy Scoop Ice Cream
91) Green Acres Cafe
92) Grille At The Tutwiler
93) Grumps
94) Gus's Hot Dogs
95) Halfshells Oyster Bar & Grill
96) High Note Lounge Cafe
97) Highland Coffee Catering
98) Highlands Bar & Grill
99) Hogies Hog Dogs & Deli
100) Homewood Gourmet
101) Hosie Barbecue & Fish
102) Hot & Hot Fish Club
103) Innisfree Pub
104) Irish Deli
105) Italia Express
106) Jack's
107) Jamin Carribbean Restaurant
108) Jim Davenport's Pizza Palace
109) Jimmy's Hot Dogs
110) Jimmy's Hot Dogs & Burgers
111) Joe-Joe's Downtown
112) John's Restaurant
113) Johnny Rockets
114) Juniper
115) Kabob & Curry Restaurant
116) KLUB Abrakadabra
117) La Jara's Mexican Grill
118) La Paree
119) La'vase Fine Food
120) La-Cocina Mexican Foods Rstrnt
121) Lakeview Grill
122) Lakeview Oyster House Inc
123) Lecifers
124) Leonard's Bar Bq & Burger Hut
125) Leonard's Page 1 Banquet Room
126) Little Island Cafe
127) Los Amigos Mexican Restaurant
128) Los Angeles Restaurant
129) Lucy's Coffee & Tea
130) Lunch Box Express
131) Lyric Hot Dog & Burgers
132) M & M Barbecue
133) Magic City Dining Room
134) Magic City Grill
135) Mancha Mexican Foods
136) Marylin's Deli & Dogs
137) Mc Alisters Gourmet Deli
138) Mc Donald's
139) Mc Donald's
140) Mc Donald's
141) Mc Donald's
142) Mc Donald's
143) Mc Donald's
144) Mexico Lindo
145) Mike's Hot Dogs
146) Mill Bakery Eatery & Brewery
147) Milo's Hamburgers
148) Mrs Winner's Chicken & Biscuit
149) Mrs Winner's Famous Recipe
150) Mrs Winner's Sneaky Petes
151) Nelson Brother's Cafe
152) New China Town Restaurant Inc
153) New York Bagel Cafe & Deli
154) Niki's Restaurant
155) O T's Sports Grill
156) Original Pancake House
157) Our Place
158) P T's Sports Grill
159) Panda Buffet
160) Papa John's Pizza
161) Papas Delicious Food
162) Park Place Cafe
163) Pat James Full Moon Bbq
164) Pete's Famous Hot Dogs
165) Peyton Place Restaurant
166) Phil's Famous Hotdogs
167) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
168) Preston's
169) Purple Onion Deli & Grill
170) Purple Onion Deli & Grill
171) R-3 Cafe
172) Rally's Hamburgers Inc
173) Ranelli's Deli & Cafe
174) Red Lobster Restaurant
175) Rib Shack
176) Rib-It-Up
177) Rising Sun
178) Rocky's Pizza & Subs
179) Roly Poly Of Alabama
180) Roly Poly Of Alabama
181) Ruby House
182) Ruby Tuesday
183) Ruby Tuesday
184) Ruth's Chris Steak House
185) Sabor Latino
186) Sakura Japanese Restaurant
187) Sam's Super Samwiches
188) Sarris
189) Sarvac's Cafeteria Menu Line
190) Scott's Koneys
191) Shoney's Restaurant
192) Sidewalk Cafe
193) Silvertron Cafe
194) Sneaky Pete's Hot Dogs
195) Sneaky Pete's Hot Dogs
196) Sneaky Pete's Hot Dogs
197) Sneaky Pete's Hot Dogs
198) Sneaky Pete's On Highland
199) Social Grill Cafeteria
200) Sol Y Luna
201) Sol's Hot Dogs
202) Sophia's Deli & Catering
203) Southbridge Deli
204) Southside Cafe
205) Steak-Out
206) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
207) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
208) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
209) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
210) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
211) Summit Club
212) Surin West
213) T G's Lounge
214) T J's Barbeque
215) Taco Bell
216) Taco Bell
217) Taj India
218) Ted's Old Hickory Restaurant
219) Toby's
220) Tony's Terrific Hot Dogs
221) Tracy's
222) Tutwiler Restaurant
223) Veranda
224) Wall St Deli
225) Wall Street Deli
226) Wall Street Deli
227) Wall Street Deli
228) Wall Street Deli
229) Wellington's Bistro
230) Wendy's
231) Wendy's
232) Wendy's
233) Wild Root Cafe
234) Yarbrough Co Inc
235) Zaden's Burgers & Fries
236) Zydeco
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Lousy So So
Been going here for many years. The one on HWY 280/Valleydale is pathetic now. Food is still decent, bar food, what do you expect, but the servers are terrible. They hardly wait on you, don't make you feel welcomed, and are completely uptight. It's a sports bar, and they don't know or talk about sports, instead, they preach about their religion, and if you disagree or are genuinely curious, they get mad and ask you to leave. Worthless place. This was a wonderful place a year plus ago, but not any longer. Several bad recent trips yield this.

Oh, in addition... they disliked me because I was sober tonight. They thought I was drunk, and all I had was water. Please, do yourselves a favor, and take your money elsewhere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Josh Du Pre Josh Du Pre, Birmingham, AL
(08/21/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
I have been an On Tap regular at all three locations since 1999. Even through an ownership change, the integrity of the food, service and beer remained unwavering. I have never received anything but the best of service in any of their locations, and plan to happily patronize them for many years to come! Thanks to all past, present & future On Tap employees for the great times!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joey Arata Joey Arata, Gulf Shores, AL
(06/16/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Awesome! Lousy Lousy Lousy
They actually called the police for an eight dollar tab. The food was cold and won't even melt butter. The waitress had poor customer service and not acceptive of customer complaints.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shameka Shameka, Birmingham, AL
(02/20/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Great
I travel to Alabama a lot for business and usually stay around the Inverness area and I have to say that On Tap is one of the most laid back places I've been to. The food is pub grub and above average than a chain. I had a wrap and it was average. I could go to some fast food places and pay $6.50 for a sandwich but I would much rather go here and get a beer along with it. If your looking for a 5 star dinner this isn't the place (for teh first guy who posted). However, if you want a beer selection and good service this is your place.

The service was great! Charlie, a very nice young lady bartender, shook my hand introducing herself and was prompt and polite. If your looking for a GREAT beer and a laid back local pub type atmosphere come on in!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Franklin, TN
(05/14/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Poor man's market??? I thought poor men brown baged their lunch. I think your rant about the prices are a bit extreme. When food costs go up it cost more to eat out, that's just the way it is. And by the way have you noticed all the upgrades (new TV's, NTN equipment, remodeled bathrooms, etc..) around there lately? Costly, I'm sure but long overdue.

It's still cheaper to have a good meat and 3 lunch at On Tap than pretty much anywhere else in the area, not to mention YUMMY! One thing I must agree with though is the observation about the recent lapse in servce at Riverchase. Seems to me they may be somewhat understaffed.

Fortunately I'm one of those people who don't get in trouble for taking extra time at lunch but a lot of people are'nt so lucky. I'm going to let someone at On Tap, who might be able to do something about it, know the service issue needs to be addressed. Maybe anyone else who has experienced this problem should too. They have a website.

Still, in my opinion the problem is not nearly bad enough to give up my favorite, beef tips and rice, lunch. Worth that extra 10-15 minutes it takes to get these days (to me anyway). I would order ahead and carry out if I had to. LOVE THAT STUFF!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pelham, AL
(02/28/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Wow, that other guy is a cheapo. If he's complaining about paying a buck fifty for tea (with free refills), he must not get out of the house much! My friends and I go to On Tap after work about two or three times a week... the food is great, the waitresses and bartenders all know us by now and treat us like family, and the beer selection is unrivaled (in Alabama, at least!). They have $2 draft beers on Thursday nights (it gets a littly busy, but it's worth it for a $2 pint of Guinness!)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Birmingham, AL
(02/22/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
I just moved to Birmingham and was looking for a local place where a 30-something could just come after work, hang out with some friends, have a beer, and watch some sports. Well, a co-worker of mine took me to On Tap Sports Cafe at Riverchase (apparently there are three locations in the Birmingham-area). First I loved the beer selection, especially the micro-brew selection. I'm sure like most of you, we can all appreciate a good micro-brewed beer from the tap...and they had something like 62 on tap. That caught my attention pretty quick. Additionally, the screens were really big & they even had screen in the booths we were sitting out. The menu was large, though I'm a simple wing man...they were great. Overall, I enjoyed On Tap Sports Cafe. If you like a real pub atmosphere I think you might too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Slidell, LA
(08/07/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Once upon a time in a shopping center not too far away there was a Sports Bar named On Tap. Being that they weren’t too far from where I worked at the time and they had a variety of items on the menu, including some home cooked meal type daily lunch specials, my co-workers and I started frequenting this establishment quite often. When I say often I mean at least two times sometimes three times a week. We received very good service most of the time because one of the waitresses recognized us and knew what we wanted. At this time I could go in there and get an order of 10 Wings and fries with celery for $5.75 and because the waitress recognized us at regulars she rarely charged us for tea so it was a pretty good deal.

Well one day the price went up to $6.25 which again is not bad for all I got. Ok, here is where the deal starts to go south. The waitress says to us one day, “I have to start charging for tea because they are cracking down on us.” Well when a glass of tea is $1.50 that brings the price of lunch right up to about $10 with tip. That is a little pricey for just 10 Wings and fries. Not too much longer after that the deal changed to celery and if you wanted fries it was an extra dollar. That just about pushed me over the edge because as most of us know, John ain’t about to put a piece of celery in his mouth and I only wanted the fries to start with.

I stopped going there very often and when I did I opted out of the tea and went with water to try and offset the rate of inflation. At some point along the way our waitress moved on to bigger and better things like going to school and getting a real job, no offense to any of you who may have been servers before. When she was gone the good service went with her. It started taking forever to get our order. Sometimes we would sit there 10 minutes before anyone would even take our order and the wings took a while to cook anyway. At this point we rarely went there anymore and only went when we had a severe craving for wings.

During the time we weren’t going very often the price went up to $6.49 for the wings which just made us wonder why we ever came in there at all especially with the service getting slower all the time and the attitude of the servers and even some of the management leaving much to be desired. Along came a break, or so I thought. I received a coupon book with coupons in it for On Tap. The coupon read “Enjoy one complimentary lunch or dinner entrée of your choice with the purchase of another at equal or greater cost. Up to $11.99 value.” Ok so if I buy one thing of wings I can get another free right? Well the first time we go to use this coupon they claim that it was wrong and it’s only good up to $6.00. Well that’s not what it said on the coupon but it wasn’t worth arguing over so $6.00 it is. That means the second wings only cost 49 cents. Twenty wings for $6.99…not too bad. Things are looking good again, only we forgot about the lousy service and you couldn’t even go there and eat them and get back to work in an hour. Ok, plan B. We’ll just call them in for pickup and skip the drink and tip less since they didn’t really serve us and it will be a good deal again. That worked one time.

All of this leads me to today. Maybe if I had called it in and presented the coupon at pickup it would have worked, but when I got there and placed my order to go and showed him the coupon he said we can’t do that on to-go orders. Again, nowhere on the coupon does it state this but all the sudden that’s the way it is. So I said “Whatever make them for here” then and I ended up ordering a tea while I waited 15 minutes to get my order. When I got the ticket it was for 20 wings at $12.95 and a tea. He said he would take the $6 off when I handed him my card. So he goes to fix the bill and gets the manager over there. I hear them talking back and forth and over hear him saying “Yeah, he tried to get two orders of 10 to go and I told him we couldn’t do that.” When I get my check back they had changed it from 20 wings to two orders of 10 at $6.99 each. The price has gone up 50 more cents so for those of you keeping score that’s now almost $7 for 10 wings and no fries. The moral of this story is please don’t give On Tap any of your business. I still think they have awesome wings and I will miss them but I don’t think I will ever go there again and it’s all because of attitude and pricing themselves out of a poor man’s market.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review birmingham, AL
(08/27/2004)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.733 seconds) 15:55:22 54.224.53.192, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS