PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Central City Brewing Company - Surrey, BC
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 21, 2014 @ 03:03 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > BC > Surrey > Central City Brewing Company
Central City Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Central City Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 75 / 100
13450 102 Avenue
Surrey, BC V3T
Canada
(604) 582-6620
Listed Since: January 2004
Last Updated: August 2010
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants


Beer Guide for British Columbia

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
16 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun 10:00AM - 12:00AM
Mon 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Tue 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Wed 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Thu 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Fri 11:00AM - 01:00AM
Sat 12:10AM - 01:00AM

alternatives
(15 within 5 miles)
1) Black Bear
(0 mile)

2) Messrs. Maguire
(0 mile)

3) The Generous Squire
(0 mile)

4) The Generous Squire
(0 mile)

5) Sail & Anchor Pub Brewery
(0 mile)

6) Tanglehead Brewing Company
(0 mile)

7) Echuca Brewing Company
(0 mile)

8) Buffalo Brewery
(0 mile)

9) Bintara Brewery
(0 mile)

10) Grand Ridge Brewery
(0 mile)

11) Blue Palms Brewhouse
(0 mile)

12) Dead Frog Brewery
(0 mile)

13) Cervecería Modelo
(0 mile)

14) Streich's Brewing Company
(0 mile)

15) Specific Gravity Pizza and Bottle
(0 mile)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 21 Federal Restaurant
2) American Seasons Restaurant
3) Arno's Main Street Grill
4) Atlantic Cafe
5) Black-Eyed Susan's
6) Boarding House
7) Bosun's Bistro
8) Brant Point Grill
9) Caffe Bella Vita
10) Cambridge Street
11) Cap'n Tobey's Chowder House
12) Centre Street Bristro
13) Chancellor's Restaurant
14) Chanticleer Inn
15) Company Of The Cauldron
16) Demarco Restaurant
17) Downyflake Restaurant
18) Espresso Cafe
19) Fareground Restaurant
20) Fifty Six Union
21) Flying Fish Inc
22) Fog Island Cafe
23) Food For Here & There
24) Galley On Cliffside Beach
25) Hen House
26) Henry's Sandwiches
27) Jared Coffin House
28) Joe's Broad Street Grill
29) Juice Guys
30) Lucky Express
31) Mac's Place At Children's Bch
32) Nantucket Lobster Trap
33) Oran Mor
34) Pearl
35) Pizza Joint
36) Provisions
37) Quaker House
38) Rope Walk Inc
39) Rose & Crown
40) Rotary Restaurant
41) Sea Grille
42) Sfoglia Restaurant
43) Shack
44) Ship's Inn
45) Something Natural
46) Straight Wharf Restaurant
47) Stubbys
48) Sushi By Yoshi
49) Tacos Tacos
50) Tavern
51) Tokyo Tapas
52) Vincent's Italian Restaurant
53) West Creek Cafe
54) White Dog Cafe
55) Woodbox Inn
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
The food was terrible. Chicken strips and hamburger was overcookd. The serivce was less then friendly and very rude and abrupt. This is a brew pub and if you ask for a pitcher other then what they brew, they are very condescending. Many things order but not deliverd. ie juice, gravy etc. The pub was under some renovations, but had a nice ambiance to it. Our server never followed up after food was served to see if we needed anything else. She just did not seem to care and pub was not busy. We have been there before but with the decline in service and quality of food we would not go back again

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review surrey, BC
(02/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Good Good Good
While I give it a thumbs up for opening up a brew pub in an area/location which may not be best, this may be the reason the beer samples were below what I would have expected. The brewmaster here has a big reputation for making truly fine ales [Sailor Hagars], but it must be that management here has pulled the reins back on his potential to make mostly forgetfull beers, those easily accepted by uneducated palates, that just want a beer buzz and nothing else. Food and service are about the same as you will find at any other place along the King George strip. But for beer, sorry, but just average swill.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Surrey, BC
(01/22/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Awsome atmosphere, go in every thursday night after our home games at North Surrey, and are welcomed by the lovely girls serving. Always a blast!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Surrey, BC
(12/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good So So Good
We attended on a Thursday night and the place was not crowded at all. We had a large group of 10 and were placed in an area where we could enjoy ourselves without worrying about the neighbours. We all agree that the beer is what would make us come back. My chicken wrap was cold in the middle and I couldn't find our waitress as she was a little non-existent to send it back. Most of my friends indicated their meal was good. Apart from a cold meal and average service I would still go back. The pale ale was so smooth. The lager had just a little bite with a great after-taste. The place was really clean and nice decor. It would have been a nice touch for the person taking the reservation to ask if we had been there before. We had a lot of people who were confused with the parking as you cannot park in the parking lot across the street. Park by Zellers and walk up or park in the back, underground by Subway and walk through the food court and take a left.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from L. Tanner L. Tanner, Langley, BC
(12/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I'm sorry Gord! Did I hurt your feelings? You seem be a little defensive!? Is there a reason for this? You'll do just fine!!!

You've suggested that this is a reputable online site, with all do respect, how do you know how reputable it is! It's only a venue for people writing comments and opinions. One can make an opinion on how reputible it is. If you don't approve maybe you should seek another venue to "vent" instead of calling people liars! To appease myself I did a little digging around and yes you are right in one respect, that he was indeed a partner in the MJB and maybe he still is, I honestly don't know. He was also, however, an employee of MJB, where in fact, he was fired, regardless of what you were told or heard.

By the way Gord, I'm not sure how "good" your understanding of english language is but it is clear that I only quoted what the waitress said! Whether it's true or not I found out for myself. you should do the same! Cheers

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jack jack, vancouver, BC
(08/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
The place is big, but looks great! Servers are good looking, food was great and beer was great. Found out brewer is Gary Lohin from Sailer Haggart's (when it was a brew pub) on the North Shore. He has lots of awards!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from S. Lunn S. Lunn, Vancouver, BC
(07/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
Just went with Friends, This place is BIG needs more people but given where it is will do well. Love the beer, good choice in servers, good food. Great Patio

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jenn Jenn, Surrey, BC
(06/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
I actually use to work with the owner/manager and he wasn't fired from Yaletown Brew Pub because he use to be a partner in it! He sold out to open something on his own, so get your facts together before writing BS on a reputable on line information site! I bet you never even talked to him!! Emm??

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gord Gord, Surrey, BC
(06/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
These guys have a lot of talent, just walk in and take a look. The very best of luck. Love that wally's Wheat.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dennis Dennis, Surrey, BC
(04/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good
This place is HUGE. Visited them in the middle of the afternoon & there was literally nobody there. Stayed long enough to have couple of beers & visit breifly with the brewer, (he worked at Sailor Hagars before they quit brewing). The wheat and pale ale were both very good. I had never been to Surrey before, the bartender commented about Surrey having a bad reputation, later that night a bartender in Vancouver said that Surrey was the car theft capital of North America. None the less I would go back again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Dave, Tumwater, WA
(03/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good
This place is HUGE. Visited them in the middle of the afternoon & there was literally nobody there. Stayed long enough to have couple of beers & visit breifly with the brewer, (he worked at Sailor Hagars before they quit brewing. The wheat and pale ale were both very good. I had never been to Surrey before, the bartender commented about Surrey having a bad reputation, later that night a bartender in Vancouver said that Surrey was the car theft capital of North America. None the less I would go back again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Dave, Tumwater, WA
(03/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Your 100% right!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jack oback jack oback, vancouver, BC
(02/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Lousy Lousy
The food was undercooked and I talked to the general manager/owner of the place and he said," I own the place I can cook it anyway I want"! I couldn't believe the arrogance. One of the watress' said he used to work for Yaletown Brewery (Mark James), another brew pub in Vancouver and was FIRED. Now I see why! I feel bad for Colin James to getting mixed up with a place like that. The location is horrible by the way with lots and lots of crime.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Vancouver, BC
(02/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good So So
I can't rate it highly as it's pretty disorganized. They advertise big events but refuse to allow any advance planning, like taking reservations for tables (they seem big on having people stand up, which is not popular when their target audience is baby boomers). They're also in a bad location (whalley = home of the crack whores). It's a nice place but they just don't seem to give a sh#% about customers. Apparently there was a lot of $ invested in it, and it looks like they will lose it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ted mcnicol ted mcnicol, White Rock, BC
(02/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Awesome!
i saw colin james there and understand its newly opened, wow did they ever do a great job on the place and people seemed very pleased please support this venue as surrey really needs a place like this with class and quality i was also amazed at the quality of the beer, i had a stout and it was one of the best ever,, i mean it !! equal or better than guiness and they didnt put it in one of those phoney heavy glasses that disguises how LITTLE beer was in the glass,,hats off to you for pouring a real beer !

congrats to the people there and all the best of luck in the future

regards G Scott

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from g g, vancouver, BC
(01/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This place is absolutely amazing!!!! Beer, food, service, entertainment and atmosphere, this place has it all. It's awesome that there is finally a great place to go for a drink and hang-out in Surrey.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ryan Morris Ryan Morris, Surrey, BC
(01/12/2004)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.716 seconds) 15:03:01 54.145.182.50, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS