PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Remedy was Ray's Marlin Beach Bar and Grill - Pittsburgh , PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 17, 2014 @ 12:47 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Pittsburgh > Remedy was Ray's Marlin Beach Bar and Grill
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: Beer Bar
Remedy was Ray's Marlin Beach Bar and Grill
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 81.1 / 100
5121 Butler Street
Pittsburgh , PA 15201
United States
(412) 781-6771
Listed Since: January 2004
Last Updated: January 2008
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Pittsburgh , PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Remedy was Ray's Marlin Beach Bar and Grill
10 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 11:30AM - 90:0PM
Mon 11:30AM - 10:00PM
Tue 11:30AM - 10:00PM
Wed 11:30AM - 10:00PM
Thu 11:30AM - 10:00PM
Fri 11:30AM - 11:00PM
Sat 11:30AM - 11:00PM

alternatives
(69 within 5 miles)
1) Pittsburgh Brewing Company
(0 mile)

2) The Church Brew Works
(0 mile)

3) New Amsterdam
(0 mile)

4) Bloomfield Bridge Tavern
(1 mile)

5) Brillobox
(1 mile)

6) Lot 17
(1 mile)

7) Harris Grill
(2 miles)

8) Pittsburgh Deli Company
(2 miles)

9) Bites and Brews
(2 miles)

10) Salt of the Earth
(2 miles)

11) Point Brugge Cafe
(2 miles)

12) Casbah Mediterranean Kitchen and Wine Bar
(2 miles)

13) Mad Mex
(2 miles)

14) Sharp Edge Beer Emporium
(2 miles)

15) Red Room Cafe and Lounge
(2 miles)

16) Kelly's Bar and Lounge
(2 miles)

17) India Garden
(2 miles)

18) Aspinwall Grille
(2 miles)

19) Spice Cafe, Global Bar and Grill
(2 miles)

20) Fuel and Fuddle
(2 miles)

21) Mad Mex
(2 miles)

22) Sidelines Bar and Grill
(2 miles)

23) Gooski's
(2 miles)

24) Eleven
(2 miles)

25) Meat and Potatoes
(2 miles)

26) Market Street Ale House
(3 miles)

27) Gene's Last Chance
(3 miles)

28) Kaya
(3 miles)

29) Six Penn Kitchen
(3 miles)

30) Bella Sera Urban Trattoria
(3 miles)

31) Roland's Seafood Grill
(3 miles)

32) Cioppino
(3 miles)

33) Grille On Seventh was Seventh Street Grille
(3 miles)

34) Mullaney's Harp and Fiddle Irish Pub
(3 miles)

35) The Parlour
(3 miles)

36) Bru Lounge
(3 miles)

37) Pennsylvania Brewing Company aka Penn Brewery
(3 miles)

38) Frank and Jerry's Bier Haus
(3 miles)

39) Monterey Pub
(3 miles)

40) Finnigan's Wake
(3 miles)

41) Max's Allegheny Tavern
(3 miles)

42) East End Brewing Company
(3 miles)

43) Jimmy Tsang's Chinese Restaurant
(3 miles)

44) Squirrel Hill Cafe aka The Cage
(3 miles)

45) Bangkok Balcony
(3 miles)

46) ScrapYard Brewing Company
(4 miles)

47) S Bar
(4 miles)

48) Z-Lounge was Zythos
(4 miles)

49) Hot Metal Grille
(4 miles)

50) Smokin' Joe's
(4 miles)

51) Fat Head's South Shore Saloon
(4 miles)

52) UUBU6
(4 miles)

53) Piper's Pub
(4 miles)

54) Double Wide Grill
(4 miles)

55) Claddagh Irish Pub
(4 miles)

56) Birmingham Bridge Tavern
(4 miles)

57) Hofbrauhaus Pittsburgh
(4 miles)

58) Dish Osteria and Bar
(4 miles)

59) Tiki Lounge
(4 miles)

60) Cafe Allegro Restaurant and Espresso Bar
(4 miles)

61) The Smiling Moose
(4 miles)

62) Copper Kettle Brewing Company / Hough's
(4 miles)

63) Grandview Saloon
(5 miles)

64) Packs and Dogs
(5 miles)

65) D's Six Packs and Dogz
(5 miles)

66) The Map Room
(5 miles)

67) Trenta Cocktail Lounge
(5 miles)

68) Burgatory Bar
(6 miles)

69) Beer Nutz Bottle Shop
(6 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Appletree Bed & Breakfast
2) Inn on the Mexican War Streets
3) Le Domanine
4) Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast
5) Priory Inn
6) Victoria House Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN UNIVERSITY CENTER
2) BRIDGESTREET LINCOLN NORTH SHOR
3) HILTON PITTSBURGH
4) MORNING GLORY INN
5) OMNI WILLIAM PENN
6) RAMADA PLAZA SUITES
7) RENAISSANCE PITTSBURGH HOTEL
8) RESIDENCE INN PITTSBURGH
9) SHERATON STATION SQUARE HOTEL
10) SUNNYLEDGE BOUTIQUE HOTEL
11) THE PRIORY HOTEL
12) THE WESTIN CONVENTION CENTER
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) 109--115 Wood Street
2) Allegheny County Courthouse and Jail
3) Allegheny High School
4) Allegheny Post Office
5) Allerdice, Taylor, High School
6) Alpha Terrace Historic District
7) Armstrong Tunnel
8) Armstrong Tunnel
9) Arsenal Junior High School
10) Baxter High School
11) Bayard School
12) Bedford School
13) Beechwood Elementary School
14) Beltzhoover Elementary School
15) Bindley Hardware Company Building
16) Birmingham Public School
17) Boggs Avenue Elementary School
18) Bost Building
19) Bridge in Shaler Township
20) Buhl Building
21) Burke Building
22) Butler Street Gatehouse
23) Byers-Lyons House
24) Byrnes & Kiefer Building
25) Carnegie Free Library of Allegheny
26) Colfax Elementary School
27) Connelly, Clifford B., Trade School
28) Conroy Junior High School
29) Consolidated Ice Company Factory No. 2
30) Dilworth Elementary School
31) Dollar Savings Bank
32) Duquesne Incline
33) East Liberty Market
34) Eberhardt and Ober Brewery
35) Emmanuel Episcopal Church
36) Evergreen Hamlet
37) Ewart Building
38) Fifth Avenue High School
39) Firstside Historic District
40) Fort Pitt Elementary School
41) Fortieth Street Bridge
42) Foster School
43) Frick Building and Annex
44) Frick, Henry Clay, Training School for Teachers
45) Fulton Building
46) Fulton Elementary School
47) Gardner-Bailey House
48) Greenfield Elementary School
49) Hartley-Rose Belting Company Building
50) Heathside Cottage
51) Henderson-Metz House
52) Highland Building
53) Highland Towers Apartments
54) Hoene-Werle House
55) Homestead High-Level Bridge
56) Homestead Pennsylvania Railroad Station
57) House at 200 West North Avenue
58) Houses at 2501-2531 Charles Street
59) Houses at 838-862 Brightridge Street
60) Houses at 838-862 Brightridge Street
61) Hunt Armory
62) Kaufmann's Department Store Warehouse
63) Knoxville Junior High School
64) Larimer School
65) Latimer School
66) Lawrence Public School
67) Lemington Elementary School
68) Letsche Elementary School
69) Liberty Bridge
70) Liberty School No. 4, Friendship Building
71) Lightner, Isaac, House
72) Lincoln Elementary School
73) Linden Avenue School
74) Longfellow School
75) Madison Elementary School
76) Main Building, U.S. Bureau of Mines
77) McCleary Elementary School
78) Monongahela Incline
79) Moreland-Hoffstot House
80) Morse, Samuel F. B., School
81) Ninth Street Bridge
82) Oakland Public School
83) Old Heidelberg Apartments
84) Osterling, Frederick J., Office and Studio
85) Park Place School
86) Pennsylvania Railroad Bridge
87) Pennsylvania Railroad Bridge
88) Pennsylvania Railroad Station
89) Pennsylvania Railroad Station-Wilkinsburg
90) Perry High School
91) Phipps Conservatory
92) Phipps--McElveen Building
93) Pittsburgh & Lake Erie Railroad Station
94) Pittsburgh Athletic Association Building
95) Prospect Junior High and Elementary School
96) Reymer Brothers Candy Factory
97) Rodef Shalom Temple
98) Rotunda of the Pennsylvania Railroad Station
99) Schenley High School
100) Schiller Elementary School
101) Scott, James, House
102) Sellers House
103) Seventh Street Bridge
104) Shadyside Presbyterian Church
105) Singer, John F., House
106) Sixteenth Street Bridge
107) Sixth Street Bridge
108) Smithfield Street Bridge
109) Snyder, William Penn, House
110) Soldiers and Sailors Memorial Hall
111) South Side High School
112) South Side Market Building
113) South Tenth Street Bridge
114) Springfield Public School
115) St. Boniface Roman Catholic Church
116) St. John the Baptist Ukranian Catholic Church
117) St. Nicholas Croatian Church
118) St. Stanislaus Kostka Roman Catholic Church
119) Stanley Theater and Clark Building
120) Sterrett Sub-District School
121) Tuberculosis Hospital of Pittsburgh
122) Union Trust Building
123) US Post Office and Courthouse--Pittsburgh
124) Washington Vocational School
125) Westinghouse High School
126) Whitehill-- Gleason Motors
127) Wightman School
128) William Penn Hotel
129) Woods, John, House
130) Woolslair Elementary School
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A J's Lounge
2) Abay Ethiopian Cuisine
3) Adrian's Pizza
4) Alexander's Pasta Express
5) Angelo's Pizzeria
6) Anna Misiaszek
7) Anthon's Restaurant & Bakery
8) Armand's Bar
9) Arsenal Public House
10) Atria's Restaurant & Tavern
11) Avanti Uno
12) Bar Millvale
13) Barbs Country Kitchen
14) Baum Vivant
15) Bellini Mediterranean Cuisine
16) Bikki
17) Bill's Tavern
18) Bloomfield Distributing Co
19) Bloomfield Sandwich Shop
20) Boo's Inc
21) Boston Market
22) Bottles Pub
23) Break-N-Eat Ind Caterers
24) Buffalo Blues
25) Burger King
26) Cafe Bellas
27) Cafe Sam
28) Cafe Soiree
29) Cafe Zinho
30) Calabria's Italian Restaurant
31) Candlelight Lounge Inc
32) Cappy's Cafe'
33) Capri Pizza
34) Casbah
35) Charlie Bly's Tavern
36) Charlie's
37) China House
38) China Inn
39) China Lin
40) China Palace Chinese Rstrnt
41) Cignas' Restaurant & Lounge
42) City Cafe
43) Club Havana
44) Coca Coffee Lounge
45) Coffee Tree Roasters
46) Coge Inc
47) Common Grounds Coffee House
48) Copper Pot Catering
49) Coyote Cafe
50) Cozumel
51) Cracker Barrel
52) Crazy Cones Ice Cream
53) Crepes Parisiennes
54) Cump's Super Sub
55) Damico's Place
56) De More's Pizza
57) Del's Bar & Restaurant
58) Dinette
59) Doc's Place
60) Dockside Cafe
61) Domino's Pizza
62) Duranti's Park Plaza Rstrnt
63) Eddie's Restaurant
64) El Dolce Cafe
65) Elbow Room
66) Enrico Biscotti Co
67) Ernies Diner
68) Fajita Grill
69) Flash's Ii
70) Flora's Grill & Grocery
71) Flora's Restaurant & Catering
72) Foundry Aleworks Inc
73) Frank's Pizza Shop
74) Frankie's Extra Long
75) G M Dog'n Burger Shoppe
76) Gator's Saloon
77) Gene's Last Chance
78) Geno's Restaurant and Big Belly Deli
79) Girasole
80) Girasole
81) Good Time Bar
82) Gran Canal Caffe
83) Grant Bar Inc
84) Graziano's Pizzeria
85) Grub Hut Restaurant
86) Hambone's
87) Happy Day Lounge Inc
88) Happy Family Restaurant
89) Hardee's
90) Harris Grill
91) Hermies Gyros
92) Houlihan's
93) Hub's Pub
94) India Palace Cuisine
95) J Harris Grill
96) Jens Juice Joint
97) Jimmy Tsang's Chinese Rstrnt
98) JJF Inc
99) Johnny's Coffee Shop
100) Johnny's Place
101) Just Cousins
102) JVS Tavern
103) Kar Hing Chinese Foods
104) Kate & Allie's Cafe & Catering
105) Kelly's Bar & Lounge
106) Kfc
107) Kfc
108) Khalil's Ii
109) Kim's Coffee Shop
110) Kim's Place
111) Kopec's
112) La Feria
113) La Filipiniana Teody's
114) Lamarca Floral & Cappucino Emp
115) Laverne's Diner
116) Le Perroquet
117) Linda's Family Kitchen
118) Lombardozzi Restaurant
119) Lorigan Street Bar
120) Lot 17 Bar & Grill
121) Luna Bar & Grill
122) Mama Rosa
123) Mama Rosa & Daughter
124) Mark's Place
125) Mason Jar
126) Max & Erma's
127) Mc Donald's
128) Mezzanotte Cafe
129) Midtown Tavern
130) Miyoshi Japanese Bistro
131) Monte Cello's
132) Moonlight Express
133) More' Restaurant
134) Morning Glory Coffeehouse
135) My Thai Restaurant
136) New Way Gourmet
137) New York New York Inc
138) Nico's Recovery Room
139) Nied's Hotel
140) Nirvana Deli
141) Nooners
142) Nova Cafe
143) Oh Yeah! Ice Cream and Coffee Company
144) Om Shiva Hookah Lounge
145) Orient Kitchen
146) Oriental Wok
147) P & G Diner
148) Pamela's
149) Panda Village Chinese Rstrnt
150) Panera Bread
151) Pap's & Us
152) Papa John's Pizza
153) Partner's
154) Pasta Piatto
155) Penn Main Cafe
156) Peoples Restaurant
157) Pesaro's Pizza
158) Pho Minh
159) Pita Garden
160) Pittsburgh Deli Co
161) Pizza Hut
162) Pizza Hut
163) Pizza Italia
164) PIZZUTTI'S Restaurant
165) Pleasure Bar & Restaurant
166) Quiznos Sub
167) Quiznos Sub
168) Ray's Marlin Beach Bar & Grill
169) Rhodesia Bey Restaurant
170) Rice King
171) Ritters Diner Inc
172) River Moon Cafe
173) Rocky's Restaurant & Catering
174) Roger's Bar
175) Ron's Pizza Palace
176) Rose Room Restaurant
177) Rotelli The Water Works
178) Round Corner Cantina
179) Salac's Inc
180) Salpietro Restaurant
181) Sammy's Famous Corned Beef
182) Sausalido
183) Scoops Plus
184) Seasons Pizza & Cafe
185) Seven Cee's
186) Shady Grove
187) Shadyside Saloon
188) Sharp Edge Bar & Restaurant
189) Si Senor Intl
190) Sidelines Bar & Grill
191) Silky's Pub
192) Soba Lounge
193) Soiree Catering
194) Sonny's Tavern Inc
195) South Avis Inn
196) Spaghetti Warehouse
197) Spak Brothers
198) Sree's Foods
199) Starbucks
200) Starbucks
201) Starbucks
202) Starr's Lunch Counter
203) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
204) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
205) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
206) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
207) Sufak's Round Corner Hotel
208) Sunnyledge Boutique Hotel
209) Supreme Pizza
210) Sushi Too
211) Sweeney Irish Pub
212) Taco Bell
213) Tai Pei Chinese Restaurant
214) Taste Of India
215) Tasty Chinese Restaurant
216) Tea Lightful LLC
217) Teabags
218) Temperanceville Tavern
219) Tessaro's
220) Thai Cuisine
221) Thai Place Cafe
222) Thai Place Restaurant
223) The Quiet Storm
224) Thirsty's Restaurant & Saloon
225) Thunderbird Cafe
226) Toro's Ribs & Brew
227) Tram's Kitchen
228) Trolls Restaurant
229) Twisters Soft Serve Ice Cream
230) Umi Japanese Restaurant
231) Union Grill
232) Union Grill 2
233) Unique Pizza Factory
234) Upstairs Saloon
235) Urban Fusion Cafe
236) Vecenie's Distributing Co
237) Vermont Flatbread Co
238) Vi's Sweet Treats
239) Village Pizza
240) Vince's Pizzeria
241) Vocelli Pizza
242) Walnut Grill
243) Wendy's
244) Wendy's
245) White House Inn
246) Whitey's Place
247) William Penn Tavern
248) Young Bin Kwan Restaurant
249) Your Inner Vagabond
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Lots of changes here. They still have great beer. Not a huge tap selection but 6 to 8 good options. Nice list of bottles too. I like the fact that they supply a beer menu. What good is it to have 50 beers if you don't know what they are?

The menu has been cut back. Most of it is sandwiches and salads. I think there were 9 entrees and 4 of those were pasta. We had a burger and steak sandwich and both were excellent.

There seems to be a move toward organic and locally grow items.

The owner is always around and makes an effort to make sure everything is going well. I get the impression that everything on the menu is worth a try. Service on my visit was very good.

I think you can still smoke there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pittsburgh, PA
(10/02/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Ray's has a new owner. This is a great place to eat and have a good beer. The new owners have high standards to live up to. Good luck.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pittsburgh, PA
(01/14/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
I found this place while searching Pittsburgh for places that serve a local microbrew. One of the great things I learned on my search is that people who care about the beer they serve also care about the food. Ray’s is no exception, they have a good selection of beers but I would go back even if it wasn’t the case. The food is worth a return trip if you are interesting in something other than the usual bar fare. While they have great specials and an interesting base menu there is something for everyone here. Great fish dishes and in the summer, the owner fires up a barbeque grill in back of the place and cooks delicious burgers and chicken. Also of importance are the two owners. I don’t know then well but they make you feel welcome and are people that I would like to see do well

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pittsburgh, PA
(12/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
The beer: draft Kostritzer Maibock, one I'd never seen or even heard of, deliciously fresh and simply perfect. The food: Jacked and stacked meatloaf sammich with garlic mashed spuds, would have been perfect if the gravy had been a bit less sharp, but pretty darned good as it was. The Service: Attitudinal, attentive, experienced. The Vibe: pure Ray's. Seek this place out, and enjoy yourself.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(01/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
I highly recommend a visit to Ray's if you are in the area. Great food, friendly, eclectic staff, an owner who is always on-premise and a funky atmosphere make this one of my favorite places in Pittsburgh.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kimberly Booth Kimberly Booth, Pittsburgh, PA
(08/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
What to say...Ray's is rare, if not unique, in its character, and I love it. Fun, campy, multi-culti, smart, comfortable, friendly, beer-aware, and the food, the food rocks. Ray's is somewhat crippled by a small keg-room (they have 8 taps and hope to upgrade that as much as possible), but they've compensated with an excellent bottle selection. The upstairs rooms also sport full bars, and look like a hipster's basement. When this joint is hopping, it must be insane...in a good way. Definitely high on my list for a return visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(08/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Great Great Great Great
Stopped here last night to check it out. I liked the place, small, but cozy, and they have an upstairs made into a dining area. Lots of potential - if this place was on the Southside it'd do a lot of business. It was easy to get to, the service was great, the selection of beer was on really good. I had a Yard's Love Stout and a Rogue Morimoto Hazelnut Brown ($6). They had quite a few Belgian beers, Sam Smiths, and various other quality microbrew bottles in their fridges. I had the Turkey Yacht sandwich as well, and it was GOOD! Very filling. I'd recommend this place to anyone going out to that area. Follow Liberty out towards Church Brew Works, turn on 34th, right onto Butler and keep going for a while. Plenty of parking around the area too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from sean sean, Pittsburgh, PA
(03/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Great Great Awesome! Great
I recently stopped at Ray's with a friend who claimed the place was a nice change of pace. It was the middle of the afternoon, the time of day I normally do not like to eat out. Usually during the 2-4PM slot is when most places are trying to ready themselves for the dinner crowd and is slightly less than attentive. Not so here...

I walked in and instantly felt like I had found a place to spend my hard earned in the future....keep in mind I had not eaten a thing yet or even was seated. This place is just what the Pittsburgh hum-drum overpriced, chain, self-important for the sake of bringing in the money joints should be concerned with. If folks only knew what they were getting at those places. The P&L (profit-loss) driven climate of most of the eateries most of my friends and family enjoy is cause for concern.

Ray's is a great experience to the core. No one aspect of my visit was overlooked.. the folks are friendly (not just the usual smiling-give me your money fakes I am seeing more all the time, but genuine happy to meet you and learn more about you type of people}. I learned that the woman who waited on us is half of the husband & wife team. She was a pleasant gal, who was a big part of what made my trip so different and interesting. She was very involved in every aspect of the place and it showed.

She started by giving us the specials of the day. There were a number of interesting mixes of flavors for the choosing. A little something for everyone. I chose the tripple decker turkey yacht (or similarly named). As it turns out this was a great choice. What at first seemed to be the ordinary turkey club turned out to be a wonderful surprise. While starting with the usual club rule of 3 slices of bread and some thin slices of turkey, the similarities end there. The sandwich had some sort of fruit mayo, and another thin layer of a mayo, spicy brown mustard type mixture. These were a great mix of flavors. Add the apple bacon and you've got yourself one very tasty sandwich. Sure beats any club I have ever eaten. This was served with a large portion of what I must describe as the tastiest fries I've ever eaten...really. They were cooked to a dark brown, not overcooked, just cooked right. This gave them a much richer potato flavor. This may sound stange to go off about some regular old fries...but that's just it..at Ray's everything I saw was a step or two beyond the norm.

Listen, do yourself a favor if you are in the general area of Lawrenceville (heck take a drive...it's worth it). Stop by Ray's Marlin Beach Bar and Grill. Also worthy of note..this is not the usual beach themed joint. It's much more diverse and eclectic than that. Aside from a hint of coastal flair, and a number of menu items leaning that way..this is far from the boardwalk type beach spot.

So if you want to have a meal with a little change from the Friday's or Applebee's type fare..Try Ray's and like me may find a new place to willingly spend your hard earned.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Emo Mongo Emo Mongo, Pittsburgh, PA
(03/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I felt I should append my long review since Ray's has recently undergone some additional growth worth noting.

All the good stuff I said last time- well that stuff continues.

Ray's now has a coin to play pool table in the room next to the main bar on the first floor. Dining is done on the second floor which is also rich feasting for the eyes. It's a second floor large flight walkup so if stairs challenge you stay at the main bar and enjoy things from there. The second floor has interesting wall decorations, cool with in-touch paint colors and some tables made from old signs. There is a decent sized bar on the second floor so drinks are just a few steps away.

On Saturdays they have a lounge on the third floor which was just opened about a week ago. It has a true alternative 80s theme - I'd expect to hear Depeche Mode, Siouxsie and Banshees and The Cure to name a few. The third floor lounge has interesting design touches as well...

Ray's continues to impress. I am becoming a regular. This is certainly now my favorite eatery with good beer in the Pittsburgh metro area. My taste can't be wrong. Last Friday a 9:00pm visit landed me at the bar for about 20 minutes while a table became available. I wish I could photocopy Ray's and put one in other needing neighborhoods. Pittsburgh could use the improvement.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paris lundis paris lundis, Pittsburgh, PA
(03/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good Great
I spent a lazy frigid Friday evening stuffed in Ray's, as the real dining seating was all full and the bar crowd was mingling well. Ray's is a rather new addition to Pittsburgh's rather dull, meat focused, very formal(read expensive and dull) or very crappy (read chains, junkfood and imitation Italian).

Lawrenceville, (the neighborhood where Ray's is located) unfortunately, only recently seems to garnered any positive press and attention. Also unfortunate is the type of business and business owner invading a pristine working community of Lawrenceville - this place is full of charm in it's left alone state. The great increase of 'I work there but live far away' and the inflation of property values through questionable valued rehab is driving Lawrenceville into a new different sorry state.

--Well don't tell the folks at Ray's this. Ray's is a prime example for all the Grant Street politicians grasping for straws about what Pittsburgh needs and about what real development is. All the local politicians ought to spend an evening at Ray's examining the real soul of Pittsburgh. Real development is respecting the neighborhood and reviving a lifeless building and providing a useful and cherished space that the neighbors can frequent and are proud of.

The kind table, cleared from personal belongings of the very petite and well liked co-owner Keri Fisher allowed me the space to sample a bit of what Ray's is all about. Instantly when seated I had a keen view of the bar back area, trinket notables for sale area and the long aisle of tables and bar stools. I then realized this place is something special. Ray's suceeds in mixing vintage old-Ray's-bar discoloration and original fixtures with more modern elements. Yet this is all done without lots of polish and sparkly stuff. It's certainly best described as ecelectic.

The patrons were a widely varied bunch, some hyper intellectual university personalities with some walking locals plus all the odd and ends and nearly extinct population types Pittsburgh seems to have otherwise caused to flee to 'better' cities.

Now onto the food and beverages...

Ray's stocks a pretty hefty beer selection when it comes to micros - much to my surprise. They had all my usuals - Victory, Troegs, Stone. They probably carry 30 if not more micros and some nifty imports. Applause please for their ambitious and varied tastes.

Ray's Marlin Beach & Grille name leads you to say what about the fish? This isn't a fishery, but they do have several fish items on the menu. They seem to take pride in their fish and when we tried ordering a specific fish item we found it was not available and there had been a shortage in getting the fish fresh.

See that's the part where I say wow! Fresh fish and a shortage? You don't rush to get the frozen stuff in? Filler? That's the really down to earth honesty that is Ray's. Best part is they tell you why, they don't leaving you grasping for explanations or leave you with a lousy dish of otherwise normal Pittsburgh fare.

I downed an appetizer, plus some very good seasoned fries (nice and thick) and a fine vegetarian burger...

Indeed this place is sensible, the waitstaff is concerned and attentative and overall the prices are rather affordable.

The only problem I can see and I experienced is Ray's might be too much of a good thing. Too much demand can equal need to expand or some obvious problems in orders (I never received my salad - but paid for it).

I hope to see Ray's, this new revitalized replacement of a neighborhood bar that probably existed at least 50 years before this new version, go on to exist and thrive for another 50 years.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paris lundis paris lundis, Pittsburgh, PA
(02/02/2004)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.626 seconds) 12:47:01 54.205.254.108, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS