PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Barking Dog Alehouse - Seattle, WA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 27, 2014 @ 08:13 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > WA > Seattle > Barking Dog Alehouse
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: Beer Bar
Barking Dog Alehouse
Overall: Good    Score: 70 / 100
705 NW 70th Street
Seattle, WA 98117
United States
(206) 782-2974
Listed Since: January 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Seattle, WA
Beer Guide for Washington

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
17 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(58 within 5 miles)
1) Tigertail
(0 mile)

2) Flip Side Tavern
(1 mile)

3) Old Pequliar
(1 mile)

4) Maritime Pacific Brewing
(1 mile)

5) Tractor Tavern
(1 mile)

6) People's Pub
(1 mile)

7) Jolly Roger Taproom
(1 mile)

8) Anthony's Homeport
(1 mile)

9) Old Town Alehouse
(1 mile)

10) Four B's
(1 mile)

11) Hale's Ales Brewery and Pub
(1 mile)

12) Ray's Boathouse
(1 mile)

13) Gilligan's Brewing Company
(1 mile)

14) Conor Byrne Pub
(1 mile)

15) Smith and Maki's Tavern
(2 miles)

16) Globe
(2 miles)

17) Sully's Snow Goose Saloon
(2 miles)

18) Elysian Brewing Company - TangleTown
(2 miles)

19) George and Dragon Pub
(2 miles)

20) Six Degrees - Green LAke
(2 miles)

21) Fremont Brewing
(2 miles)

22) Naked City Brewing Company
(2 miles)

23) Two Beers Brewing Company
(2 miles)

24) Uber Tavern
(2 miles)

25) Duck Island Ale House
(2 miles)

26) Prost!
(2 miles)

27) Norm's Eatery and Ale House
(2 miles)

28) Kangaroo and Kiwi Pub
(2 miles)

29) El Camino
(2 miles)

30) Pillagers Pub
(2 miles)

31) 74th Street Ale House
(2 miles)

32) Dubliner
(2 miles)

33) Santa Fe Cafe Phinney Ridge
(2 miles)

34) Dad Watsons
(2 miles)

35) Park Pub
(2 miles)

36) Red Door Alehouse
(2 miles)

37) Pacific Inn Pub
(2 miles)

38) Fabulous Buckaroo Tavern
(2 miles)

39) Mulleady's Irish Pub
(3 miles)

40) Murphy's Pub
(3 miles)

41) Triangle Tavern
(3 miles)

42) Monkey Pub
(3 miles)

43) Buckley's on Queen Anne
(3 miles)

44) Hoyt's Pub
(4 miles)

45) Dexter and Hayes Pulic House
(4 miles)

46) Feierabend
(4 miles)

47) Latitude 47í
(4 miles)

48) McMenamins Queen Anne Hill
(4 miles)

49) T.S. McHugh's
(4 miles)

50) Revolution Bar and Grill
(4 miles)

51) Stix Billiards and Brewhouse
(4 miles)

52) Jabu's Pub
(4 miles)

53) Nickerson Street Saloon
(4 miles)

54) Rain City Pub and Grill
(4 miles)

55) Paragon Bar and Grill
(4 miles)

56) Hilltop Alehouse
(4 miles)

57) Roanoke Park Place
(5 miles)

58) Blue Star Cafe and Pub
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) A Bed & Breakfast NW Rsrvtn
2) Bacon Mansion
3) Bed & Breakfast on Broadway
4) Capital Hill Inn
5) Challenger Charter
6) Challenger Tugboat
7) Chelsea Station on the Park
8) College Inn Guest House
9) Densmore House
10) Dibble House
11) Gaslight Inn
12) Green Gables Guesthouse
13) Gypsy Arms Bed & Breakfast
14) Hill House Bed & Breakfast
15) Inn of Twin Gables
16) Inn Services NW
17) Lake Union Bed & Breakfast
18) Landes House
19) Mildred's Bed & Breakfast
20) Queen Anne Hill B & B
21) Roberta's Bed Breakfast
22) Salisbury House
23) Seattle Bed & Breakfast Assn
24) Seattle Yachting & Tours
25) Shafer-Baillie Mansion
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN EVERGREEN INN
2) BEST WESTERN EXECUTIVE INN
3) BEST WESTERN LOYAL INN
4) BEST WESTERN UNIVERSITY TOWER
5) COMFORT SUITES SEATTLE CENTER
6) CONTINENTAL INN
7) DAYS INN SEATTLE DOWNTOWN
8) EVERSPRING INN
9) EXTENDEDSTAY SEATTLE NORTHGATE
10) HAMPTON INN & SUITES-DOWNTOWN
11) HOMEWOOD SUITES BY HILTON
12) INN AT QUEEN ANNE
13) LA QUINTA INN/SUITES DOWNTOWN
14) MARQUEEN HOTEL
15) MEDITERRANEAN INN
16) OAKWOOD SEATTLE
17) QUALITY INN & SUITES SEATTLE
18) RAMADA INN UNIV DISTRICT N
19) SEATTLE LAKE UNION COURTYARD
20) SILVER CLOUD INN - LAKE UNION
21) SPRINGHILL SUITES SEATTLE DTWN
22) TRAVELODGE - CITY CENTER
23) TRAVELODGE BY THE SPACE NEEDLE
24) UNIVERSITY INN
25) UNIVERSITY PLAZA HOTEL
26) VAGABOND INN SEATTLE
27) WATERTOWN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) ADVENTURESS
2) Aurora Avenue Bridge
3) Aurora Avenue Bridge
4) Ballard Bridge
5) Ballard Carnegie Library
6) Ballard-Howe House
7) Boeing, William E., House
8) Chelsea Family Hotel
9) Church of the Blessed Sacrament, Priory, and School
10) Cobb Building
11) Cornish School
12) Cowen Park Bridge
13) De La Mar Apartments
14) Dunn Gardens
15) DUWAMISH
16) El Rio Apartment Hotel
17) Ferry, Pierre P., House
18) Fire Station No. 18
19) First Methodist Protestant Church of Seattle
20) Fremont Bridge
21) Fremont Building
22) Hill, Samuel, House
23) Immanuel Lutheran Church
24) Interlake Public School
25) Leary, Eliza Ferry, House
26) Merrill, R. D., House
27) Parsons, William, House
28) PIRATE (R-Class Sloop)
29) Queen Anne Club
30) Queen Anne Public School
31) SCHOONER MARTHA
32) Seattle Public Library
33) Seattle Public Library
34) Seattle Public Library
35) Seattle Public Library
36) Seattle, Chief of the Suquamish, Statue
37) Showboat Theatre
38) Shuey, Henry Owen, House
39) University Bridge
40) VIRGINIA V
41) Volker, William, Building
42) W. T. PRESTON (snagboat)
43) Wagner Houseboat
44) Wallingford Fire and Police Station
45) WAWONA (schooner)
46) West Point Light Station
47) Wilke Farmhouse
48) Ye College Inn
49) ZODIAC (schooner)
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 206 Pizza
2) 24th Avenue
3) 7 Arts Cafe Boats & Gifts
4) 74th Street Ale House
5) A & W Family Restaurant
6) A Pizza Mart
7) Acorn Eatery & Bar
8) Andre's Pizza
9) Anne's Teriyaki
10) Anthony's Homeport
11) Arita Restaurant
12) Azteca Mexican Restaurant
13) Azteca Restaurant
14) Backstage
15) Bad Albert's Tap & Grill
16) Baithouse
17) Ballard Firehouse Food Co
18) Ballard Grill & Alehouse
19) Ballard Smoke Shop
20) Baranof Restaurant
21) Barking Dog Alehouse
22) Beach House At Shilshole
23) Bento Sushi
24) Bick's Broadview Amer Grill
25) Bistro On 24th
26) Bit Saloon Grill & Night Club
27) Bizz Buzz Box
28) Blazes Broiler
29) Borge's Place
30) Boss Flame Broiler
31) Bright Street Grill
32) Buen Gusto
33) Burger King
34) Burger King
35) Burgermaster
36) Burk's Cafe-Creole & Cajun
37) Burrito Loco
38) Cafe Besalu
39) Canal
40) Caregiver Connection Inc
41) Carmelita
42) Centerfolds
43) Charlie's Bar & Grill
44) Chef Hope Sandler/Sandler & Co
45) Chef's Food Express
46) China Jade Restaurant
47) Choice Deli & Grocery
48) Cocina Esperanza
49) Coffee Hut
50) Coffee Time Mobile Catering
51) Conor Byrne Pub
52) Copper Gate Tavern
53) Cornucopia
54) Crash Landing Pizza
55) Damn Dog Espresso
56) Dandelion Cafe
57) Denny's
58) Dick's Drive-In Restaurant
59) Dish
60) Domino's Pizza
61) Duffy's
62) El Ranchon
63) Ernie B's
64) Fan Tan Fanny's
65) Festivities Garden Cafe
66) Fiesta Mexicana
67) Foodz Catering
68) Forum Center
69) Georgia's Greek Deli
70) Ginger Tree
71) Godfather's Pizza
72) Golden City Restaurant
73) Gonzales Concession
74) Goofy's
75) Gorditos Healthy Mexican Food
76) Gordo's
77) Gourmet Latte
78) Graces Kitchen
79) Grand # 1 Chinese Buffet
80) Great American Catering
81) Greenwood Cheers
82) Greenwood Mandarin Restaurant
83) Guardsman Tavern
84) Guido's Pizza
85) Hall's Mister Bar-B-Que
86) Harvey's Tavern & Pizza Ktchn
87) Hattie's Hat Restaurant
88) Hiram's At The Locks
89) Honey I'm Home
90) India Bistro
91) Inn Bin Restaurant
92) Ivar's Seafood Bar
93) Jack In The Box
94) Jack's 24 Hour Kitchen
95) Javabean Inc Ballard
96) Jet City Improv
97) Johnny's Restaurant
98) Kabab House
99) Kfc
100) Kismet
101) La Botana
102) La Piazza
103) La Romantica
104) Lani Kai Restaurant & Lounge
105) Le Gourmand Restaurant
106) Library Cafe
107) Little Coney
108) Lockspot Cafe
109) Lombardi's Cucina Of Ballard
110) Louie's Cuisine Of China
111) Mae's Phinney Ridge Cafe
112) Magic Dragon Restaurant
113) Maharaja Cuisine Of India
114) Manna Smoked Bar Bq
115) Market Street Urban Grill
116) Market Street Wine & Cheese
117) Mc Donald's
118) Mc Donald's
119) Mc Donald's
120) Mc Grath's Restaurant
121) Mori Japanese Restaurant
122) Mr Gyros
123) Oishii Teriyaki
124) Palermo Gourmet Pizza & Pasta
125) Papa John's Pizza
126) Pasta Bella
127) Peoples Pub
128) Pete's Egg Nest
129) Phad Thai Restaurant
130) Philly's Submarine Sandwich
131) Pig 'n Whistle
132) Pizza Hut
133) Pizza Hut
134) Pizza Time
135) Portage Bay Cafe
136) Rasa Malaysia
137) Ray's Boathouse Catering
138) Ray's Cafe
139) Reading Gaol Pub & Grill
140) Red Mill Burgers
141) Restaurante Michoacan
142) Rickshaw Restaurant & Lounge
143) Romio's Commissary
144) Rosita's Mexican Restaurant
145) Sam's Sushi Bar & Grill
146) Santa Fe Cafe
147) Scooter's Burgers
148) Skipper's Seafood 'n Chowder
149) Stalk Exchange The Resturant
150) Stumbling Goat
151) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
152) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
153) Sundowner Restaurant & Lounge
154) Sunhill Teriyaki Restaurant
155) Sunny Teriyaki
156) Sunny Teriyaki
157) Taco Bell
158) Taco Del Mar
159) Taco Del Mar
160) Taco Time
161) Taki's Pizza & Pasta
162) Tarasco Mexican Restaurant
163) Teriyaki First
164) Teriyaki Stop
165) Thai Cafe
166) Thai Siam Restaurant
167) The Hi-Life
168) Toshi's Teriyaki
169) Totem House Fish & Chips
170) Val's Cafe
171) Vera's Restaurant
172) Vietnam Restaurant
173) Wendy's
174) Wing Dome
175) Woodland Park Inn Restaurant
176) Yankee Grill & Roaster
177) Yanni's
178) Zeek's Pizza
179) Zesto's Burger & Fish House
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Barking Dog hits the nail on the head! These guys provide a great service at a great price. The atmosphere is warm and friendly, the food is delicious and the beer is expansive.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Seattle, WA
(03/21/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Great family restaurant and great menu with great beer. And, we can walk to it. I like the recently expanded menu too, with more veggie options. Have been going there since it opened and it never disappoints.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Scott, Seattle, WA
(04/24/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Lousy So So
I live nearby, too, and rarely go to Barking dog. It's way too slow, way too echoey (that beautiful hard concrete floor, bare walls, bare tables, they all bounce the sound around) and a bit overpriced. It's disappointing because I want to like it, I was looking forward to having a neighborhood pub I could hang out at. But I just never feel comfortable enough to hang out. It's a shame.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from terri terri, Seattle, WA
(02/15/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Awesome! Lousy Good
I agree that the service is pretty slow, but the lobster bisque is so incredible that I keep coming back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Seattle, WA
(12/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Lousy So So
We live near Barking Dog and we really want to like it. We have tried going for breakfast, dinner and just drinks. Unfortunately, after about 8 times dining there we keep arriving at the same conclusion: this place doesn't care about good service. I wonder if they discuss this at employee meetings... "Hey, Tina, how can I further alienate the customer?" "Well, Joebob, I like to throw the napkins down at the customer after they've asked for them and silently stalk off." or "How many times did your customer have to come to you to get their drinks or the bill?" "Three times! That's nothing, mine had to ask another server!" Anyway you get the picture. It's a real bummer cause this place has potential for perfection, if they could just get some real service. A sidenote--if you've seen High Fidelity, you have an idea of the service there. Some people are treated ok, if they fit whatever niche the waiters approve. If you cross their invisible line though, watch out, or thinly veiled hostility will ensue.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Karen D Karen D, Seattle, WA
(05/06/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good So So So So
This place seems to be hit or miss. The 1st time I went (Friday night) everything was great, including the service. The second time I went (Sunday lunch) the food was just OK and the service was terrible. Lunch took 1-1/2 hours...over 10 minutes just to get a menu, food took forever, and waitress never once checked on us. I had to hunt her down to get the bill. I doubt I'll be going back, there are just too many other places that I enjoy in town. Sad, because it is a pretty cool place with good beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Seattle, WA
(01/30/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So Good Great
I'd like to add a bit of sanity to the reviews. If you find the wildly strong emotions from the previous reviewers normal, then you might want to ignore this. However, if you tend to not have violently strong emotions to an eating establishment,as I do, read on. The beer selection here is probably the best in Seattle. A nice Northwest selection that you don't find elsewhere. When you're tired of Mac & Jack's, Sierra Nevada, and Mirror Pond (beers I love by the way) and you want something different, this is the place to go. Same goes for wine. Tired of Columbia Crest and Hogue, this place has some nice off the beaten track options. Scotch Whisky too. Everything said about the food is true. It's disappointing, but I don't always go to a pub to eat. As for service, I haven't noticed anything amiss so I guess that means the service is pretty standard.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Daranee Daranee, Seattle, WA
(12/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Can't say enough good things about this place. Dunno about the knocks on the service; waitresses have sat down with us, told us their life stories, made us worry they were coming over later and we hadn't vacuumed. I'm not kidding, either. The Ahi+wasabi salad is fantastic, good lobster bisque, vietnamese sandwich (yes, they call it that), solid pizzas, highly adequate philly cheesesteak, great specials, totally decent pastas. Awesome scotches, always good belgians (and served in proper glasses, no less), always good local micros on draft. Too much pressboard, cheesy decor, some ass-biting hard chairs/benches, some cheesy customers overly affected by the mirror. But, man, I *love* this place and there's always something that bugs a curmudgeon like me. I almost didn't post for the sake of crowd control.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Tom, Seattle, WA
(04/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Lousy Lousy
This place is owned and operated by the same two miserable, unhappy aggressive people that own Freds Rivertown Alehouse in Snohomish. Good food, good beer, but incredibly bad wait staff that must get their attutudes from the ogres that run the place. Why waste your money and time here- go somewhere where they will appreciate it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review seattle, WA
(02/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Finally, all three things came together; beer, food and service. I have been here numerous times and for some reason things did not seem to gel. This time was different. Even though the place was busy, service was great. That may be the key. They have a nice selection of Belgian drafts and a great selection of Belgian bottles.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(02/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Great
The last reviewer must not have been to the Barking Dog recently. Pizzas and food in general has always been amazingly good when I've been there (and that's alot). This pub seems to always be busy, but I have never, ever been dissapointed with the service. I give it a 10 all around!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Seattlle, WA
(01/29/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
Save your time and money as THE BARKING DOG is howling to be put out of his misery! Go to one of the other true pubs in Seattle's north end or one of its many great restaurants. This place only survives because it is truly the only establishment in a quiet residential neighborhood deemed a "restaurant" and can therefore offer hard liquor or beer and still allow customers to bring infants, toddlers and children. Too bad the food is awful, parents deserve more.

We gave it The Barking Dog 3 tries because of its location and advertising, but it failed miserably in the pub food category on each occasion. The pizza's crust was actually like cardboard and the toppings and taste were below any chain home delivery type, and worse than some frozen supermarket pies. The appetizer platter was equally disappointing. This dish was served with extremely tiny portions, including a bit of salmon, a few grapes, a minutia of tapanade and just 3 small, single slices of mediocre bread on which to spread everything, even though we had 4 people and were obviously sharing a snack. When we asked for some more bread for the spreads, the slow, sloppy waiter grunted and brought 1 more single slice! The 3rd strike was a French Dip sandwich served with an exceptionally small amount of meat, bread not fit for dipping and overly salted au jus.

AVOID this overpriced place unless you have no taste buds and you seek out small children crying, and toddlers reaching for things on your table, while eating BAD food and enduring untimely POOR service. By the way, the atmosphere is not particularly pub-like: the contemporary hardback chairs and furnishings look more like a cold lobby bar in an airport hotel; nothing charming, warm, particularly comfortable or interesting except the color of the wood. The barking dog is obviously barking for more, not sleeping in peace after a satisfying bite and a fine pour.

If you're in this neighborhood, hit the Reading Gaol Pub & Grill just a couple of blocks south or Hale’s Ales a mile south instead.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kibby Sheigh Kibby Sheigh, Seattle, WA
(01/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Lousy So So
I've been to the Barking Dog 6 or 7 times now, on different nights of the week. And while beer (and scotch) selection are great, and the food is shockingly good for a pub, they just can't compensate for the conisstently lousy service. Staff is slow, no matter the time of day or day of week, and never exceptionally nice to make up for it. On one occasion, a server was outright rude. So, while i love the food and beer/liquor menu, I just can't keep going there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review seattle, WA
(01/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great So So Good
Beer selection and quality were great. Food is very good. The only detraction is the slowness of the service. On a day that was not very busy, the server found other places to be or wished to be.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(07/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good So So
The fact that they advertise 10 oz pours of Belgian beer at high prices and only give a shy .25 liter pour (less than 8-1/2 oz.) is a big turn off. Get twice as much Chimay at Stumbling Monk for the same price.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Seattle, WA
(07/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A So So So So So So
The servers were not so attentive, and that detracted from a true neighborhood feel. I prefer the 74th St or Prost in the Phinney neighborhood. Sorry, Barking Dog...get your servers to be a bit more friendly, then I'll return.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gin Gin, Seattle, WA
(06/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
21 beers on tap, 15 of them local craft beers, 5 belgians and 1 cask. I will certainly go back for lunch or dinner, the menu looked very interesting.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Dave, Tumwater, WA
(02/23/2004)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.276 seconds) 08:13:36 54.83.230.7, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS