PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Flour City Brewing, Incorporated - Rochester, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 28, 2014 @ 09:55 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Rochester > Flour City Brewing, Incorporated
Flour City Brewing, Incorporated Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Flour City Brewing, Incorporated
Overall: Great    Score: 72.4 / 100
869 East Henrietta Road
Rochester, NY 14623
United States
(585) 424-4677
Listed Since: May 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Rochester, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Flour City Brewing, Incorporated
24 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(16 within 5 miles)
1) The Distillery
(0 mile)

2) MacGregor's Grill and Tap Room
(0 mile)

3) J. B. Quimby's Public House
(0 mile)

4) Jeremiah's Tavern
(3 miles)

5) Monty's Krown
(3 miles)

6) Elmwood Inn
(3 miles)

7) Distillery
(3 miles)

8) Tap and Mallet
(3 miles)

9) Jeffrey's Bar
(3 miles)

10) Abilene Bar and Lounge
(5 miles)

11) Acme Bar and Pizza
(5 miles)

12) Monty's Korner
(5 miles)

13) California Rollin' Sushi Bar
(5 miles)

14) Salinger's Bar and Grill
(5 miles)

15) Monty's Korner
(5 miles)

16) Old Toad
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) A Bed & Breakfast At Dartmouth
2) Bed & Breakfast-428 MT Vernon
3) Edward Harris House B & B Inn
4) Executive Manor
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) CLARION RIVERSIDE HOTEL
2) COMFORT INN CENTRAL
3) COMFORT SUITES ROCHESTER
4) COUNTRY INN STES ROCHESTER S
5) COURTYARD ROCHESTER BRIGHTON
6) DAYS HOTEL ROCHESTER
7) DAYS INN ROCHESTER DOWNTOWN
8) DAYS INN ROCHESTER THRUWAY
9) EXTENDEDSTAY HENRIETTA
10) HAMPTON INN ROCHESTER SOUTH
11) HOMEWOOD SUITE HENRIETTA
12) HYATT REGENCY ROCHESTER
13) INN ON BROADWAY
14) PARK PLAZA ROCHESTER AIRPORT
15) RED ROOF ROCHESTER HENRIETTA
16) RIT INN AND CONFERENCE CENTER
17) SUPER 8 HENRIETTA
18) WELLESLEY INN ROCHESTER SOUTH
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Andrews Street Bridge
2) Anthony, Susan B., House
3) Bevier Memorial Building
4) Brick Presbyterian Church Complex
5) Brown, Adam, Block
6) Campbell-Whittlesey House
7) Chamber of Commerce
8) Child, Jonathan, House & Brewster-Burke House Historic District
9) City Hall Historic District
10) Court Exchange Building--National Casket Company
11) Court Street Bridge
12) Cox Building
13) East High School
14) Edwards Building
15) Ely, Hervey, House
16) Emmanuel Presbyterian Church
17) English Evangelical Church of the Reformation and Parish House
18) Erie Canal: Second Genesee Aqueduct
19) Federal Building
20) First National Bank of Rochester--Old Monroe County Savings Bank Building
21) First Presbyterian Church
22) First Universalist Church
23) Gannett Building
24) Granite Building
25) Hagaman, David, House
26) Hinchey, Franklin, House
27) House at 235--237 Reynolds Street
28) Immaculate Conception Roman Catholic Church Complex
29) Immanuel Baptist Church
30) Lehigh Valley Railroad Station
31) Little Theatre
32) Main Street Bridge
33) Michaels--Stern Building
34) National Company Building
35) Naval Armory--Convention Hall
36) Nazareth House
37) O'Kane Market and O'Kane Building
38) O'Kane Market and O'Kane Building
39) Old Stone Warehouse
40) Our Lady of Victory Roman Catholic Church
41) Powers Building
42) Reynolds Arcade
43) Rochester City School #24
44) Rochester Savings Bank
45) Rundel Memorial Library
46) Sibley Triangle Building
47) St. Joseph Roman Catholic Church and Rectory
48) St. Mary's Roman Catholic Church and Rectory
49) State Street Historic District
50) University Club
51) Wallace, Timothy, House
52) Warner, H. H., Building
53) Washington Street Rowhouses
54) Watts, Ebenezer, House
55) Wilder Building
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A Plus Pizza Parlor
2) Abbott's Frozen Custard
3) Abid's Delicatessen
4) Al's Meadows
5) All Seasons Svc
6) Amiel's Subs
7) Apollo
8) Arby's
9) Arby's
10) Arigato Restaurant
11) Atlanta Bread Co
12) Barnstormers Pub
13) Bazil's Restaurant
14) Big Mini Food Mart Deli & Cafe
15) Bill's Snack Bar
16) Bob's Diner
17) Boston Market
18) Brandani's Pizza
19) Buffalo Wild Wings
20) Bugaboo Creek
21) Burger King
22) Burger King
23) Burger King
24) Burger King
25) Burger King
26) Centre Ice
27) Centre Ice Restaurant & Bar
28) Chef King
29) Chen's Garden
30) Chi-Chi's Mexican Restaurant
31) China Buffet
32) China Gate Chinese Restaurant
33) Chopstix Restaurant
34) Chuck E Cheese's
35) Cracker Barrel Old Country Str
36) Davinci's
37) Denny's
38) Desert Moon Cafe
39) Di Bella's Old Fashioned
40) Domino's Pizza
41) Domino's Pizza
42) Don Pablo's Mexican Kitchen
43) Empty Mug
44) Famous Wok
45) Flatlanders Grille & Tap Room
46) Fresno's Southwest Restaurant
47) Friendly's Restaurant
48) Friendly's Restaurant
49) Fruit & Salad Co
50) FSS Intl
51) Full Belly Deli
52) Full Belly Express
53) Granny's Pizza
54) Great American Steak & Potato
55) Ground Round
56) Ground Round
57) Henrietta Hots
58) Hooters
59) IHOP
60) Infantino's Market Restaurant
61) Jack Astor's Bar & Grill
62) Jays Diner
63) Kessler Group Inc
64) Kfc
65) King & I
66) Klassy Cat Tavern
67) Krispy Kreme Doughnuts
68) Lunch Box Spot
69) Mac Gregor's Grill & Tap Room
70) Mandarin Chinese Buffet
71) Margie's Family Restaurant
72) Market Family Restaurant
73) Marks Pizzeria
74) Mc Donald's
75) Mc Donald's
76) Mel's Diner
77) Michelini's Italian Eatery
78) Mike Angelo's Gourmet Pizza
79) Mister Meats Inc
80) Mushroom Boulevard Cafe
81) New Eggroll Express
82) Oak Leaf Eatery
83) Old Country Buffet
84) Olive Garden
85) Panera Bread
86) Papa John's Pizza
87) Papa John's Pizza
88) Perkins Family Restaurant
89) Phillips European
90) Pickle Nicks Submarines
91) Pillars South
92) Pita Pit
93) Pizza Box Spot
94) Pizza Gourmet & Regular Pizza
95) Pizza Hut
96) Pizza Hut
97) Pizza Hut
98) Pizza Villa
99) Pizzeria Uno
100) Plunkett's Fabulous Food Inc
101) Portobello Ristorante
102) Quiznos Sub
103) Red Carpet Deli
104) Red Lobster Restaurant
105) Restaurant
106) Restaurant Group
107) Rick's Tallyho
108) Roadhouse Grill
109) Romano's Macaroni Grill
110) Ruby Tuesday
111) Salvatore's Pizza & Specs
112) Salvatore's Pizzeria
113) Schaller's Brighton Inc
114) Seoul Garden
115) Shanghai Chinese Restaurant
116) Starbucks Coffee Co
117) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
118) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
119) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
120) Taco Bell
121) Taco Bell
122) Tandoor Of India
123) Taste Of India
124) Tgi Friday's
125) Thali Of India
126) Tokyo Japanese Restaurant
127) Tom Wahl's Restaurant
128) Tony Pepperoni
129) Uncle Ralph's Catering Svc
130) Wendy's
131) Woody's Ii
132) Yang's Japanese & Korean Rst
133) Yangtze Asian Buffet & Bistro
134) Zach's Steak & Seafood Grille
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
You might be able to buy some leftover kegs of 44 Magnum from the owner or Gregg the brewer if you have their numbers. As far as I know it was still serving the day before they closed. Otherwise, unless they re-open, you are out of luck. You might have to seek out another Imperial India Pale Ale (that is the style it was) although I haven't seen any others available around here. If you can get Three Floyds brands (Muncie, Indiana), Gumball is an Imperial IPA that is "sweetish" like Flour City's was although it is a bit hoppier than 44. Their closure is bumming me out as well!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Eric, Webster, NY
(03/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!
I AM REALLY GOING TO MISS THIS PUB. MY FRIENDS AND I HAVE BEEN GOING THERE SINCE THE BEGINNING. THE 44 WAS THE BEST BEER I EVER HAD, AND THE STOUT WAS GREAT TOO. THE WINGS WILL BE MISSED ALSO. PLEASE TELL ME HOW I CAN GET SOME 44.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from DOUGLAS DEFILIPPS DOUGLAS DEFILIPPS, ROCHESTER, NY
(03/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Unfortunately, Flour City closed yesterday due to lack of operating capital.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Webster, NY
(03/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
I said that I would give them another try--and I have--twice. I am happy to report that these two experiences were far better than the first one. In many respcects, it was hard to believe that it was the same place. Both visits were for lunch. I sat at the bar and had very good, friendly service. The beer was significantly better. I agree with those who have written below, the Magnum 44 and Pumpkin were great. The food was ok. It's not spectacular but certainly not as nasty as it was during my first visit. I didn't have to send anything back and I was't accused of being "fussy." Between my two recent visits, a friend went to Flour City. She agreed that the food was ok, she said that her fiancee liked the beer--but their service was just awful. Based on her experience and some of the reviews here, the service is improving but looks to be spotty.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(01/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Finally, I found a brewpub that I enjoyed in Rochester. I sat in the bar area during the football game on Sunday afternoon and really enjoyed myself. The pumpkin ale was phenomenal. It was very aromatic and just as tasty. The food there also was very good. All of the appetizers looked appealing and the burger that I had was good as well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from mitch mitch, philly, P
(01/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Good So So
As one reviewer put it, the food was "typical". Nothing spectacular to report. One order was for something with shrimp, but it arrived with scallops instead. My order came warm, and I prefer my food hot. An appetizer of humus was horrible. It wasn't made with the correct bean and the beans were not even blended. It was just a small plate of beans. Nasty!

The reason for going there was the beer. In that category I'd agree with others that the 44 Magnum was excellent. The seasonal Pumpkin ale was the best I've had. You could really get the pumpkin flavor rather than just a trace flavor as is common at some pubs. The other beers were so-so at best. We had a sampler platter. The selections, which did not include the 44 Magnum and the Pumpkin ales, were all quite light and forgettable. Oh--it rained and the roof where we were sitting leaked in several spots. That's the glassed area, not the main bar area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Noel Noel, Salem, NJ
(11/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Great
This is a typical brewpub in a mall area. It has a full menu and good food. They had quite a number of brewpub beers on tap and they were all good. For hop lovers, the British Attack IPA was excellent but the 44 Magnum Double IPA was even better. The latter had 100 IBU's. This brewpub is worth going out of the way to. The beers are much better than at the Bru Brewpub downtown. The service was passable when I went.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Jenson Greg Jenson, Chicago, IL
(10/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Lousy Lousy

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Henrietta, NY
(10/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Awesome!
Flour City takes advantage of it's expansive floor space well. The décor is well apportioned and feels roomy. You can really spread your wings here. The spectacularly clean and polished brewing system is unencumbered by walls or windows which is a great effect. I imagine this approach lends some wonderful aromas at different times during the process. The bar is long and immaculately decorated by glassware on glass shelves with a tinted window to another dining area as the backdrop. Plenty of TV's to watch the game, which are nicely subtle in size and orientation to not overpower the rest of the decor.

The beer menu is split into two columns, not by accident. There is a staple of "transition" beers on the left side and an equally long column of big bold beer lover beers on the right side. The Porter was rich and creamy but not too sweet. The Irish style stout was less impressive but appropriate for style. The 44 Magnum IPA was the bad boy of rock'n'roll coming in at a ludicrous ABV appropriately matched with high IBU's for this thick bodied big'un. A bit of grassyness from the dryhopping that seems typical for the region, so I'll cut that some slack. The brewer is obviously talented and fortunate to be brewing for a place that allows some creative expression.

The menu was a little thin with pretty standard fare. The food was well prepared in generous quantities, but hopefully will expand and take on some creative flair for a few dishes to match the beers. "B.C." our bartender treated us very well and was more than willing to take the time to talk about the brews and send a few samples our way.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sean Sean, Lyman, ME
(09/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Lousy So So
I really would like this place to succeed, especially since I think their beer is pretty good, but they are making the number one mistake most brewpubs make--lousy service!

I have been in there several times and always have trouble getting my first beer and any subsequent ones!

It feels like you dropped in uninvited, to someones private party, not very welcome.

It's like the bartenders are doing you a favor when they refill your glass.

Also, food selection not good.

The owners better get things in line or their dream will be just another statistic of a failed brew pub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Debbie Debbie, Rochester, NY
(09/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
Well, I do like hoppy beer and they certianly had a big one in the 44 Magnum. Was told it weighed in at 8.1% adn 100IBU. That was probably accurate--it was a mouthful. However they did also have other, lighter, less hoppy beers to choose from. The Ironhead Porter was unique in that (here we go again) you could taste the hops distinctly; even more so than any dark malts that were used. Was confused though with their growler policy--"happy hour special $10 for a growler and a fill ($15 regular price)" but if you already have a growler you still pay $10 to fill, happy hour or not. Throw us a feakin' bone, huh?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Lousy Great So So
I was looking forward to trying out this establishment; I heard some of the previous workers of Empire Brewing Company were involved with this restaurant. I always enjoyed the food and beer at Empire and was expecting a similar experience. What a disappointment. The beer was good if you like hoppy beer. But what was worse was the quality of the food. We ordered a variety of items; I had the sirloin and it was horrific. The cut of meat was really poor and my side vegetable with my order of fries was mashed potatoes. I don’t mind paying $16.00 dollars for a steak, but the quality of this steak was like something you would get at Denny’s for $8.99. The food arrived warm not hot and my friends chicken French looked like it had been sitting under the warming light for a prolonged period of time. My wife and her friend both had the manicotti and they weren’t crazy about their meal. We probably should have stuck with bar food, since it is a micro-brewery.

I hate to slam a new restaurant, but they need to get their act together or they will not be around in 6 months. I understand that beer is and acquired taste, but there is no excuse for the terrible food. See if you can get the ex-chef from Empire, he or she came up with some great meals. Unless these guys change their menu, I will not be back there any time soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mikester Mikester, Rochester, NY
(08/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
That's 7 not 6

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Kevin, Oswego, NY
(08/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
They had 6 beers on tap Amber, Red, Kolsch, Blonde, Stout, Porter and IPA. All were very good beers. The IPA was above average. The pub itself is also very nice. Bailey waited on us and she was very nice and admitted she was still learning about micro's. Like the previous post said I don't know what the guy in post 7/31 was talking about. It's definetly worth a visit. That's coming from a guy that's been to micro's all over the states. For those of you who miss The Empire Brewing Co., Greg from Empire is the brewer

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Kevin, Oswego, NY
(08/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
I am curious as to why the writer of the review from 7/31 did not leave his/her name? The name of the Microbrewery is FLOUR City Brewing. It is unfortunate that he/she felt the beer was sub standard, when in reality the Black Magic Stout has won a Gold at the GABF in the past. It is possible that, being a new microbrewery that a staff member may not have been as well studied on beer styles as they should be. Cut them some slack. I would challenge anyone on the quality of FCB's Beer - or better try the beer and you be the judge. I have and they are all great. It does sound like he/she was having a bad day. standard, When in reality the Black Magic Stout has won a Gold at the GABF in the past. It is possible that, being a new Microbrewry that a staf member may not have been as well studied on beer styles as the should be. I would challange anyone on the quality of FCB's Beer - or better yet if s

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Borrelli Jim Borrelli, Rochester, NY
(08/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
What a disapointment. Went to Flower City on a business dinner, I tried the beer and all of the ones I tried had a strange muddy flavor and did not finish very well. I had that taste in my mouth all night long. Not to mention the staff had NO CLUE about styles of the beers there. I specifically asked about the stout (I love Oatmeal and Irish Dry)the server had a big atitude and said "its a stout Sir" like I had no idea what I was talking about. Well it was indeed not a stout, It tasted more like colored water with mud in it. So after the attiude I had a chip on my shoulder and wont even rate the un edible food or the 45 min wait to get it. Save your self the trip and dont go here. I will not return.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Midland, MI
(07/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! So So Awesome!
I've consumed my share of beer for the last 30 years and I can say this is the best micorbrewed beer I've ever had. Don't get me wrong - I don't like every brew, but the Stout and Amber are probably the two best beers I have ever had. I have been there more than 10 times already and have never had a meal that rated below terrific. The Thai barbecue wings are to kill for and the various seasoned fries will make you think you have the munchies. Okay, so the service needs a little work, but it's understandable due to the number of new servers. But if you don't mind being a little patient, you'll have a great dining experience. Join the Mug Club and you get a 22 ounce beer for the price of a 16 ounce. If you think $3.50 or $4 is too much for beer, consider that you have to pay $3 or more for a bottle of Coors light or some other crap in other bars, so I think everything here is a bargain.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Tucci Michael Tucci, Henrietta, NY
(07/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Great
I have been for both lunch and dinner, the Food is delicious .. the French onion Soup is the best I have ever had (I am a very pick eater). and the pan seared chicken mmm. I think the beer very good. It seems as they have a new beer every week, my husband loves the 44 Magnum. He says that there is no hoppier beer brewed within a 200 mile radius. He is a hop-head. I love the Black Magic Stout, of course I was a fan of it from the old Empire days. I love the atmosphere - I go out quite a bit to eat in Rochester and I can't compare to any place in town - that is a good thing.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Annette B. Annette B., Rochester, NY
(07/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Had an enjoyable lunch last Friday, got the Fish Fry and tried the seasoned fries. Both came out promptly and were tasty. My friend had the Steak sandwich and was equally satisfied both with the quantity and the quality. I would definitely go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Murphy Eric Murphy, Rochester, NY
(06/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
I went to Flour City based on a recommendation from a friend who loved the place. I wasn't dissappointed at all. It was crowded but we only had to wait a couple of minutes for a table. The place was nice and their beers were great. I ordered a beer sampler which included a glass of each of their brews. It was a great way to sample them all and figure out which one to order with dinner. I especially liked the Blonde and Amber beers. The food was very good. I ordered the prime rib and my wife got a pasta dish. We got the Tai shrimp for an appitizer and it was excellent. There is also a good kids menu and my children enjoyed their meals very much which is not always the case when we go out. I definitely plan on returning with my family for dinner or with a few friends to hit the bar.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe C Joe C, Fairport, NY
(06/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
Unfortunately I must add another bad review to the list for Flour City. I stopped in today (Sat. 6-5-04) for lunch. I got there about 1:00 PM and mine was the third car in the parking lot. I didn’t think that was a good sign but I had really been looking forward to this place opening and I thought that would mean better service. There were only three customers at the bar—however, to the far right at the bar were several employees for the bartender to chat with—and chat she did! The place is spacious, and almost a little stuffy for a brewpub (someone to seat you, white tablecloths) but I’m all for a little upscale beer drinking environment. The bar is long and will seat many—many more than three—but I don’t see how the bartender I had will keep up. It took a good 5-10 minutes for the bartender to pull herself away from the glass of ice tea she was pouring and the discussion with her co-worker to ask me if I wanted a beer. There was no listing posted anywhere as to what was on tap and the bartender had a difficult time remembering—this concerned me as none of the taps were labeled—hopefully they were on her side! She got to one she called Hoppy Accident. Being a hop head, that’s what I ordered. It looked beautiful. The first taste was very hoppy—and then the bitterness just disappeared. I’d never experienced anything like it. A huge bitter rush followed by Bud Lite. I ordered the reuben sandwich with fries. I also asked for a few jalapeños on the side. Not long after the bar tender took my order, my beer was empty. It stayed that way while the bar tender chatted about how many kinds of basil there was to order from their food supply company. My food arrived in good time. On the plate was a small bowl of yellow pepper rings—not jalapeños. As my plate arrived I asked for a stout—that was one that the bar tender remembered having on tap. After about 5 minutes she took my glass. At that point I asked if I could have some napkins and catsup. She picked up a stack of cocktail napkins (that were right in front of me) and said “there’s your napkins.” When she brought the catsup, she had a handful of silverware. She was walking up and down the bar asking all 5 of us if we wanted silverware. I guess it’s optional at Flour City. So I have a French fry and noticed that they have fried them in the same grease that they fry fish. I hate fish, but I also understand that this is a common practice at many eating establishments. I then take a bite of my sandwich and it is cold. Not “out of the fridge” cold, but room temperature cold. So I ask if they could take it back and heat it up. They were all over that. While it was gone, I tried the stout. It tasted like alcohol and then it had no flavor. The food came back fast and I assumed that they had nuked it—and that would have been ok. But I took a bite of the sandwich and it was still cold, then I grabbed a fry and it was now cold. So I don’t know what they did. It tasted like the just took it back to the kitchen, waited 3 minutes and then brought it back. Had they nuked the plate, the fries wouldn’t have gotten cold. At this point I had had enough so I pushed the plate away and got ready to pay. Cook (I am assuming—he was dressed as such) asked me if it was ok. I told him that it was still cold and now the fries were cold and I just wanted to pay my bill and leave. He was apologetic and offered to cook me something else but I told him at this point that I didn’t have time. The woman who brought my food out of the kitchen the second time (NOT the bartender) asked if there was anything they could do. I said no, I just wanted to pay my bill and go. Well, to their credit, I she refused to let me pay for the food—BUT only because I was being “fussy.” Well, if expecting a reuben sandwich and fries to be warmer than room temperature is fussy—“Hi, I’m Fussy!” So I paid for my 2 beers--$4 each—a little pricy for upstate NY. The bartender—now she can’t be nice enough. “So, sorry, soooooo sorry—hopes that my next experience at Flour City will be better” Well, I’m willing to grant some slack since they’ve been open only a month. But my experience seems to echo the experiences of others who have written. I am so disappointed. I live about 60 miles south of Rochester have missed a good brewpub experience since Empire closed down. Maybe I should have bought a Flour City glass. If they don’t change their ways, the Flour City glass could have gone with the glasses from other brew pubs that have died. I will probably give them another try—around Christmas. By then they should have it together or have lost it completely.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(06/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy So So
Very long wait to get the food. Menu descriptions different from what you actually get! Staff seems like a bunch of rookies. Good beer is the only saving grace at the moment.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from KST KST, Rochester, NY
(06/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Lousy So So
Service was very slow, place wasn't that crowded, lot's of staff but not highly skilled. Food was very slow and not correct and didn't all come together, Hopiest beer is not very hoppy nor memorable.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Wright Tom Wright, Rochester, NY
(05/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great
I had to restrain my ratings just a bit because Flour City is so new. They just opened on May 6, 2004. They're still brewing beers to put on tap, but had 6 house beers when I was there. The Black Magic Stout was easily my favorite of those available. The dinner was excellent as well. I'll be stopping back frequently to catch more exciting beers coming online, like the porter which was being transferred to fermentation with an original gravity of 1.080! If you want to join the mug club, you can forget getting mug #1, it's already been assigned to me. Flour City will also be bottling their beers in the not too distant future. Cheers!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Jagodzinski Dan Jagodzinski, Linwood, NY
(05/14/2004)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(1.052 seconds) 21:55:16 54.91.49.40, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS