PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


North Country Brewing Company - Slippery Rock, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 23, 2014 @ 11:26 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Slippery Rock > North Country Brewing Company
North Country Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
North Country Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 82.8 / 100
141 South Main Street
Slippery Rock, PA 16057
United States
(724) 794-2337
Listed Since: June 2004
Last Updated: October 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Slippery Rock, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of North Country Brewing Company
54 Reviews / 7 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 90:0PM
Mon 11:00AM - 10:00PM
Tue 11:00AM - 10:00PM
Wed 11:00AM - 10:00PM
Thu 11:00AM - 10:00PM
Fri 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Sat 11:00AM - 11:00PM

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Ginger Hill Tavern
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Applebutter Inn
2) Haven
3) Inn the Country
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Bessemer & Lake Erie Railroad
2) Burger King
3) Coffaro Pizza
4) Ginger Hill Tavern
5) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
6) Wolf Creek School Cafe
1) Bessemer & Lake Erie Railroad
2) Burger King
3) Coffaro Pizza
4) Ginger Hill Tavern
5) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
6) Wolf Creek School Cafe
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
IPA was really good. Dark IPA is really a Porter. Don't know what happened with our food order but everything was barley warm. Burgers are more than I can finish but next time I will order on the rare side in hopes that it comes medium rather than on the more than well done side. I'll pass on the garlic burger as I sure didn't taste any. Guy next to me raved about the BBQ burger. (forget the actually name)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(05/22/2013)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Awesome! Great
First time back in 5 years. I really like the building. I specifically went this time to try one of the lunch specials, Cincinnati Chili. I was slightly disappointed; no cheese or onions. The interesting part was that they made it with bow-tie pasta. All-in-all, it was okay. The wings looked great. Guy next to me oredered 6. What was great about the wings? They came whole. So essentially it's an order of 12. I was not impressed with the ales this trip. IPA wasn't coming on tap until 3 days later. The Pale Ale was pretty much tasteless. The Porter and Stout had great flavor but still served way too cold. Just about everyone else around me were ordering the Red. Perhaps, I should have

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(04/27/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
If your not sure what brews you like, you can get 6 5oz samples for $6 or 9 5oz for $9 or 13 5oz for $13. I would say this place probably has something to fit everyones taste. Web site is http://www.northcountrybrewing.com

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ron Fairbanks Ron Fairbanks, North Lima, Oh
(03/16/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
North Country is easy to find, just a short trip off of I79—and even if it weren’t it would be worth it. I first had their beer at the brew fest in Erie, PA in 2008 and stopped in on my way back from Indiana in July 0f 2008. On tap the day I was there: northern lite, breakfast blend mild, squirrel nut brown, station 33 firehouse red, altbeir, paleo (?) IPA, stone house stout, mother’s milk stout, and another stout—but I can’t read my notes. I tried the IPA, the stout that I can’t read my notes for, breakfast blend, squirrel nut, pale, stone house stout, fruit bowl, and mother’s milk stout. WOW. I’d forgotten I’d tried that many of them. All of them were exceptional—even the fruit bowl. They added strawberry to their light beer—I know what you’re thinking—my stomach turned as they told me about it but I tried it anyway. It was not sweet and had a nice refreshing flavor. Both of the stouts were dry. The stone house stout flavor was more of coffee and the other was more chocolaty. The service was very friendly and accommodating. The food was good too. I had the Bull Runner sandwich. It was sort of a combination of Beef on Weck (for we western NYers) and French dip. I would imagine that during the school year this place is very busy but on the summer afternoon when I stopped by it was quiet.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, Hornell, NY
(04/12/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Stopped in last night for the first time. Man this place is great. We did the sampler after having a glass of the Lavendar Abbey. That beer was great. The bartender, Ryan, was awesome, as well. You can tell the people behind the bar really love what they do. Besides the Abbey, the honey brown and the Firehouse from their cask tap were great. Had the pub pretzels and the Elk burger, and both were great. Easy to see why this place has so many regular customers. Almost everybody at the bar was in their mug club. Wish I lived closer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geoff Geoff, Struthers, OH
(02/07/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
BEEN WANTING TO VISIT THIS PLACE FOR YEARS AND FINALLY GOT THE OPPORTUNITY WHILE TRAVELING TO SIXBURGH FOR THE GREATEST GAME EVER PLAYED. PLACE IS AS GOOD AS ADVERTISED. RUSTIC BREWPUB FEEL WITH ALL THE HAND-CRAFTED WOOD-WORK AND SMALLER SIZE BAR AREA. NO T.V. BUT THAT'S O.K. WHEN YOU'RE JUST FOCASING ON THE PRODUCT. OLD ALE, RED ALE, HONEY-BROWN, IPA REALLY STOOD OUT. VERY ECCLECTIC MENU; I WISH I COULD HAVE VENTURED INTO THE FOOD BUT FATHEADS AND SMOKIN JOE'S WERE CALLING MY NAME. A PLACE LIKE THIS GIVES ME HOPE WHILE LIVING IN MEGA-SWILL LAND.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JIMBO JIMBO, SPRINGFIELD, OH
(02/04/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The beer selection, the food, the staff, everything was great. We were there on July 2, had dinner & moved to the bar. The bar staff were all very friendly, as were some of the patrons. It is a long ride for us to get there, but we are looking forward to our next trip back!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Smith Mike Smith, Dover, PA
(07/04/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Ever since my first visit to this place I have addicted to it. Great food, and awesome beer. I esspecailly like the Something's A Rye brew. It is the smoothest tasting beer I ever had and has a nice kick to it. If I lived a little closer I would buy one of their Growlers so I could take home some great beer. If you are in Western PA you need to go to this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Collins Collins, Butler, PA
(12/20/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
My wife and I just got back from a mini-vacation in Slippery Rock. All we can say is a big "Thank You" to this Pubcrawler site, it's posters, and Lew Bryson for recommending this brewery. We ate and drank at North Country Monday, Tuesday, and Thursday and really enjoyed everything including the entertainment Monday and Tuesday. As others have noted the woodwork throughout is amazing (special thanks to Gregg!). All beers were very good and I especially liked the ESB on nitrogen - really different with the hop bitterness kind of mellowed out by the nitrogen.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Fred H. Schellenberg Fred H. Schellenberg, Windber, PA
(10/26/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Good
This is a very cool place with a lot of nice rustic touches like the rough hewn tables and benches, stone work, and an awsome bar. The beer selection was strong, but the beers themselves were average to slightly above average.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Bridgeville, PA
(09/10/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Absolutely love the "Slippery Rock Dew" beer. It is so light/fresh and has an after-taste of honey. YUMMY!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tam Tam, Grove City, PA
(08/13/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Absolutely rocks in all areas. I only had the IPA and a pale and they were both way above average. Easily the best ambiance of any brewpub. The entire decor is knotty wood, it feels like you are inside a hobitt's house. Great service and cool patrons. Go!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Rob, romeoville, IL
(07/07/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Very good experience for both visits this woodsy establishment. Lots of home brewed beers to choose from. I've made good use of their "sampler" set and find the beers quite good and imaginative. The same can be said for the food. Certainly "pub grub" type of fair, but well above the usual quality. I think few will be disappointed with a stop here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from RFM57 RFM57, Beaver, PA
(03/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
My second visit, and a good one. Sampled some beers not on the last time and enjoyed a nice salad for lunch. Place was packed as a lunch stop from a group out on a bike ride, but staff, while busy, didn't miss a beat. Blackberry wasn't my cup of tea, but also wasn't overly sweet like many fruit beers. Copper Kettle featured maple syrup/vanilla notes. Wee Heavy was excellent; malty sweet @ 8.4% with caramel notes--smooth. Catherine the Great was the pick this time. A Russian Imperial Stout, very warming (9.2%); best way I can describe it is as a super dessert beer. Great bar conversation, comfortable, welcoming vibe. Great place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(12/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Stopped on 9/3. Food was good as usual but my daughter's grilled cheese was a little to overdone. Tried the Dunkel - medicore but the IPA (and it taste different and much better than before) and the Friars Porter were both excellent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bill caraway bill caraway, pittsburgh, PA
(09/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
My wife and I have been here twice and both times were a very pleasant experience. The beer selection was as better than you get at a large brewpub. The folks who run the place are very earth friendly so this translates to ALL natural beer. It's one of our favorite places to go when we need to get away from the kids. I strongly recomend the E.S.B. and the Imerial Stout. We can't wait to go back. The service only given a "Good" due to the long waits we had, the place was packed, and they need more room.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chuck Fatula Chuck Fatula, Ellwood City, PA
(06/27/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Awesome! Great
We stopped in on Saturday afternoon and the place was busy. It's a cool-looking building, to start with. I like it when people take old houses and upgrade them for modern uses. Since it was a pleasant day there weren't any of the hot/cold issues some other folks have mentioned. Place seemed cozy without being snug.

Matt was our server. It took awhile to get our drinks after we ordered, but he explained that the bar was pretty busy and it would take a few minutes. I appreciate when a server does that, and doesn't leave you wondering if your order got forgotten. Our food orders arrived in good time after we placed them.

Something like 11 pub beers were available (they were out of alt). We got the big sampler -- nine 5-oz. glasses for $9, which seems pretty reasonable. Tried Northern Lite, Slippery Rock Dew, Amber Waves, a rye, a red, Belgian Nightmare, a blueberry, Stinky Hippie IPA and a porter. My only quibble with the service was I had asked for the nut brown and not the porter, but I cut lots of slack because 1) I juggled my order some and may have confused the server; 2) he seemed REALLY busy, though he never made us feel rushed; and 3) while I don't usually like porters, I did like this one. So no harm, no foul, and I tipped well.

We also liked the Belgian, nice and potent, reminded me some of Weyerbacher's Merry Monks. I drank them more or less in reverse order of flavor and strength, so I can't fairly speak to the quality of the lighter beers. But I had no problem finishing them all.

Wife had a glass of a red raspberry wine. I took a sip and ZOW was it raspberry! Better than Lindeman's Framboise. Think this came from nearby Volant.

Food gets a "great." We teed up with lobster bisque and tortilla soup, both very good.

I never met a lima bean I liked until now, but these were the veggie of the day apparently and they were done well short of mushy (I hate mushy) and with basil. Pretty good that way. This came with my Sunshine Chicken, a half-chicken -- though not as much as it sounds like, must have been a young chicken -- grilled in orange marmalade. It didn't taste much like orange, but was nicely grilled and flavorful nonetheless. Redskin potatoes accompanied this all and were quite good.

Wife had a really tasty steak (she gave me a bite) with a baked potato and the lima beans. The steak kicked the meal up a notch from "good."

I was going to buy a shirt at the bar but every barstool was taken and the barkeep looked like he had his hands full, so I'll see if I can get one online or go back again or something. I should point out that the busy-ness did not seem due to understaffing -- there was plenty of help on hand. I think they just drew a crowd. I can understand why. This HAS to be the best place, maybe the only place, to eat and drink well in the wasteland between Pittsburgh and Erie.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Stacy Mark Stacy, Morgantown, WV
(06/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So So So So So
I have been to this place twice. The first experience was on a nice warm day, we had very good service and both of the burgers we had were very good. The beer selection is very good and the quality was typical of a good micro brewery. This naturally enticed us to come back. On our next trip it was pretty cold outside. It felt just as cold inside. I had to go back out to my car to get a sweat shirt just to make it bearable. We were upstairs, and the windows need some sealing and the heat needed adjusting. The beer was again very good, burgers were cooked well beyond well done when ordered medium rare and service was excelptionally slow. Our server stated that one of the cooks called off, which would have explained the slow food but not the slow beer service. I will give this place another try, but if my second experience had been my first, there would not have been a second.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Jim, Fombell, PA
(06/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Sorry, I just call em like I see em.

Perhaps I should have taken the high road and ignored that reviewer, but that much arrogance just sticks in my crawl. He/She is just another person that believes themselves to be the center of the universe, and when they didn't get special treatment(ex: rushed directly to a seat, and service with no ID) they decided to get online and anonymously slam the place for having the wrong light bulbs and every other absurd thing they could think of.

Sorry to have forced the reviews off topic, here, but I must be old fashioned because I believe that if some one acts like a jerk they deserve to be told that they are. That's all I have to say.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R.J.  Wood R.J. Wood, Slippery Rock, PA
(05/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I haven't been here but I'll be passing by this summer and plan to stop in. I just wanted to address Mr. Wood's review: The anonymous Pittsburgh writer's review may have seemed unfair to you, but I don't know that it's an occasion for calling anyone a "jerk." I really appreciate the detail in his/her review (and yours as well), and I know enough to take a bad experience/review with a grain of salt -- even the best place is going to have SOMEBODY who didn't like the food, or the service, or the beer. No place with more than two or three reviews has a 100 rating, right?

Besides, I wish all PubCrawler reviewers would take the time to go into such detail. Few things are as annoying as wading through a slew of reviews that say "the food was great" with no mention of what the reviewers ate, for instance. So could we maybe lighten up a bit? We're all in the beer community here. Thank you.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Stacy Mark Stacy, Morgantown, WV
(05/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I've lived in Slippery Rock since I was 3 and lucky for me the town went wet about a year after my 21st birthday. So I've been enjoying the Brewery since it opened.

There is always a very large and varied selection of beer there and the selection is always changing and has never been the same twice

Since I am relatively new to micro breweries I may not be qualified to testify about the quite of their beer but, since before they opened all the beer I've ever drank came from a can, but I rate it as awesome none the less, because the North Country Brewery has transformed me from a casual beer drinker who never gave much thought to his beer selection into a fan of hand crafted brews. Those of you who have had the IPA and did not like it rest assured that was the worst beer you ever have there, any thing else you'll get will be much, much better. Remember that you can have a taste of any beer you want before you order.

The food is always spectacular and always affordable priced. The specials menu is a varied as the beer selection and new thing are added al the time. I've seen it offer Bison, Rabbit, frog's legs, and alligator. And they have the best BBQ sauce I've ever tasted. I've contemplated trying to get a growler full of it instead of beer it's so good.

This place is absolutely charming every nook and cranny is bursting with warmth and cheer. You have to see this place to believe it. The temperature inside the building is warm. If your in the booth with the heat vent you'll know its on. I doubt its EVER been 32 degrees in there. I've never had bad service, not even once. I often go with large groups of people and some times it slight problem sorting out our bills, but its always handled fine.

Note to the unnamed poster from Pittsburgh:

If you think your waitress was rude to you perhaps she picked up in person, what is so evident from your review, that you are a jerk. You are also evidently an architect, and interior designer since you know exactly how may doors, air vents, and LED bulbs they should add. I can't say that the use of light bulbs in a restaurant has ever led to a negative experience, for me. Also what made you think that you could just walk into a bar in a small college town on a weekend and be seated immediately? And get served with out an I.D.? As far as I'm concerned keep your attitude 50 miles south we don't need it here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R.J.  Wood R.J. Wood, Slippery Rock, PA
(04/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Great
I have visited many times and have not had a bad beer or food or service at anytime. The only complaint is the wait to get in (they are doing something right). It's surely a must visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ken barrett ken barrett, hubbard, OH
(04/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I was never a fan of Rye beer - until I've had two great ones here - the Amber Waves of Grain and I believe it was "Catcher in the Rye". I've had Rye before at Appalachian, but North Country does this style well too! I'd like to see either a hardier, stronger IPA or return of the Slimy Pebble Pils to round out their selection.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bill caraway bill caraway, pittsburgh, PA
(04/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Visited Slippery Rock for the very first time last weekend to see what this brewpub had to offer. Upon entering you will see why they call it North Country. It really reflects the UP of Michigan, and I thought I was visiting Traverse City again! Nearly everything inside is handcrafted from natural wood. There is more than a touch of whimsy to the decorating and the creativity of the craftsmen is inspiring. I have never seen anything quite like it! The owners are to be commended!

There were 12 or 13 beers on tap. Since we had more traveling to do, we did not dare fully enjoy the selections offered, so we settled for a pitcher of the IPA. I agree with the previous reviewer that the beer had an initially strong hoppy taste, but it finished thinner than what I am used to.

Our server was very attentive and the meals were delivered in a very reasonable time. I had the Leroy Brown, a massive burger that was absolutely delicious. There was a generous portion of hand cut fries that came with. I could not finish them as I was too full.

I recommend taking a spin around their website. It is very well done. Loved this place! We will be back again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Janet Schryver Janet Schryver, Genoa, OH
(03/31/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Finally made my very first visit here on Friday 3/24 for lunch and beers. Was immediately blown away upon entering. This place has got to be the coolest looking brewpub that I have ever been in. The layout and all of the woodwork was amazing. The owners obviously spent a huge amount of time and money getting up and running and their efforts were certainly appreciated by this beer fan. 13 selections of beer on tap with my choice being the IPA. The beer was very good with a nice hop bite but just a tad thin. Had no problem with the $12.00 pitcher price and rate it as a good value. The roasted garlic burger was perfect and very filling and also a good value. I have to rate North Country as being one of my all time favorites and am very much looking forward to many more visits in the years to come. Well worth a stop off of 79. Keep up the great work!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim S. Jim S., Wayland, NY
(03/30/2006)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.41 seconds) 11:26:45 54.81.211.100, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS