PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Sly Fox Brewery - Royersford, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 28, 2014 @ 09:58 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Royersford > Sly Fox Brewery
Sly Fox Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Sly Fox Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 76.2 / 100
312 North Lewis Road
Royersford, PA 19468
United States
(610) 948-8088
Listed Since: November 2004
Last Updated: September 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Royersford, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
17 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun 10:00AM - 10:00PM
Mon 11:30AM - 10:00PM
Tue 11:30AM - 10:00PM
Wed 11:30AM - 10:00PM
Thu 11:30AM - 11:00PM
Fri 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Sat 11:30AM - 12:00AM

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Craft Ale House
(0 mile)

2) Ortino's Restaurant
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Amsterdam Bed & Breakfast
2) Shearer Elegance B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Black Rock Bridge
2) Bridge in Upper Frederick Township
3) Hare's Hill Road Bridge
4) Hunsberger, Isaac, House
5) Kennedy Bridge
6) Muhlenberg, Henry Melchoir, House
7) Rapps Bridge
8) River Bend Farm
9) Sunrise Mill
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Annamarie's Place
2) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
3) B D Eatery
4) Banker's Bar
5) Bean There
6) Best Spot In Town
7) Bravo Pizza
8) Bravo Pizza Of Limerick
9) Burger King
10) Center City Steaks & Pizza
11) Chef's Express
12) Chic Snyder's
13) Chick-Fil-A
14) China Inn
15) Corropolese Bakery & Deli Inc
16) Dairy Queen
17) Deb's Land & Sea
18) Domino's Pizza
19) Donatos Pizza
20) Dorothy's Chinese Kitchen
21) Dunkin Donuts
22) Epps Beverages Inc
23) French Quarter Bistro
24) Fudgey Horse Inc
25) Fuji San Japanese Restaurant
26) Giovanni Pizza
27) Hammer Specialty Food Inc
28) Lara's Cafe
29) Limerick Country Deli
30) Limerick Diner
31) Limerick Fire Co
32) Limerick Golf Club
33) Main Street Cafe
34) Make It Special
35) Mc Donald's
36) Merica Chinese Restaurant
37) Momma's Kitchen
38) Nelson's Ice Cream Store
39) Norm The Caterer Inc
40) Pennys Pizza
41) Piccarreta's Pony Express
42) Rossi's Pizza
43) Sly Fox Brewery & Pub
44) Sonny's Italian Deli
45) Spring City Hotel
46) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
47) Sunshine Cafe
48) Texas Roadhouse
49) Tom's Bar & Grille
50) Uno Pizza & Grill
51) Veekoo Asian Restaurant
52) Vincent Jacianis
53) Wendy's
54) Win Buffet
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Good
Stopped by on a recent crawl to see how things were going. Seven on tap--quite a few that had blown recently. Grisette, spicy/sweet in a subtle way makes for a nice Belgian brew. Willamette Pale was smooth and drinkable, too bad it blew before I could have another. NOTE TO PROVIDERS EVERYWHERE: I never like to see the bar person who has to cover tables as well as the drinks for all. Especially in a place like this, as the area was very large. Barmaid handled it well, but that doesn't make it any less unfair.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/22/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great
excellent beer!!!! the food was o.k. but the quality beer makes up for it. I would highly recommend this place to anyone

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shane Shane, Pottstown, PA
(07/02/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
The food is excellent! From the crab dip appetizer, to the salads, the main courses are wonderul too, and the pulled pork, cheese steaks, portobello sandwhich, cuban, and all with great sides...even sweet potatoe fries!! They also have a mixed up dessert tray and the cheese cake is yummies!? Service can be hit or miss, but if you become a regular, as I have you learn who to request for and how to have a perfect night out! Much thanks to the staff, Jimmy and Stacey and the excellent Scott!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beth Beth, Worcester, PA
(12/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Lousy So So Good
I share the same opinion of the last two reviewers - except in one area. I actually think that the beer is awesome - not just great. The Sly Fox simply makes some of the best beers around - and bottles or cans quite a few of them. The varities of IPA's they make is remarkable - each one complex and hoppy. I truly loook forward to each new beer release. The food on the other hand is lifeless compared to the beer. The service is typically hit or miss - some waiters/waitresses are very attentive, some are not - even with a small crowd. At times when I am there, I wonder if others feel the same way because the crowd can be quite sparse. If the food somehow could be elevated to consistency and qualtiy of the beer, Sly Fox would be the best brew pub in Philadelphia region - bar none.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Hansen Mark Hansen, Phoenixville, PA
(10/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Good Great
Really good beer. Food is just ok. Nice atmosphere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Ingram Jon Ingram, Apollo Beach, FL
(04/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy Good Lousy
i've been to the royersford restaurant three times with my family for dinner, the food was so-so, and the service was okay, but the beer was spectacular. i think the management needs a little help. all three times we've been there me and my wife have joked about the miserable blonde haired manager walking around looking quite disgusted with everyone and everything in the restaurant. i wouldn't recommend the food to anyone, but i will definitely be back for a beer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from robert robert, royersford, PA
(04/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
I found this place right here on Pub Crawler, Always try to make use of others knoledge and suggestions when traveling. The Beer was Awesome. and the food was great. Nice selection of both available. I was disapointed that they were out of many of there tee shirts, but they made up for it by having and freely giving an abundance of coasters!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Miller Kevin Miller, Somerset, PA
(06/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Stopped in at this location for the first time recently and was very impressed. It is so much bigger than Phoenixville and with a beautiful decor as well. A comfortable bar area separated from the main dining areas is a plus. Of course, Brian's selections can't be beat anywhere. His list is extensive and varied with perfection as his goal. All the beers are well-made and delicious, even those styles I'm not crazy about! I wish I weren't so far away! Keep up the great brewing....we want you in NJ!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Somers Point, NJ
(06/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
What a place. Nice brand new bar, flat screens aplenty. The brews here are a treat. 14 on tap, much to choose from. The overall quality was very good. The food was also very good. The bartender was real nice. I think this will be my new brew pub of choice. You can't go wrong with any of the brews here. Check out the IPA project again on tap for 2005. Also the Goat Race BockFest May 1st is always a blast, although located in the Phoenixville spot. Thumbs up to the brewmaster and the rest of the staff, keep up the good work. I shall return!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from scottya scottya, west norriton, PA
(04/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great N/A Great
Went to Sly Fox's Cajun beer dinner last night with my wife. We started with a Pikeland Pils (crisp and hoppy) at the bar, then went to dinner. Standout beers were the Hellesbock and the Instigator doublebock: beautiful malt and focused purity, excellent lager beers. The food was good...I guess I just don't like okra, though. It was easily balanced by the delicious (HUGE) bread pudding dessert and the fantastic spinach salad. An excellent 4-course meal, great beers, all for 40 bucks? No-brainer, folks. The only complaint would be the still somewhat plain look to the place, but it looks better every time I visit. Great new addition to the Philly area beer scene, and the big brewery out back is starting to pump this excellent beer out to area bars.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(04/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Great
Just wanted to say that I stopped in on Monday afternoon, for lunch, to check out the new brew pub everyone has been talking about. I was amazed at how warmly I was greeted and since I had never tasted any of the beers here, the bartender gladly let me taste a few and explained to me the body and taste. After tasting some of them, I ordered the Royal Weiss, which is a unfiltered wheat beer, and pub burger. I was impressed with the quantity of food you get and the prices are about average. Overall, I enjoyed myself and will be back again. Thanks for a great lunch.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve R. Steve R., Pottstown, PA
(04/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Great
Was winding up a pub crawl and needed a place to wind down and grab a bite to eat, so I thought I'd stop by Sly Fox's new location. Wouldn't you know it that I got there for Happy Hour! Pints and apps both at a reduced rate. Was amazed by seeing 12 beers on tap. My server was more than kind to allow several tastes to help me choose. I settled upon the Glacier IPA, although the Rt. 113 IPA was equally good. The Irish Red was a bit too mild for my likes, but the Burns Scottish Export was a treat--smoky, peaty, malty. Their dark lager was pretty much ala Yuengling, so I would guess they sell quite a bit of it. The final treat was O'Reilly's Stout, a good stout with a surprisingly nice bitter hop finish that is more pronounced than the typical stout. Good Buffalo Chicken Fingers, not too hot--just right. Game room with pool tables in back for those so inclined--this place is a winner!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(03/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I would like to respond by saying, were any of your complaints brought to the attention of the management, or do you only respond anonymously? I happen to be the General Manager and to read about such horrible service as you describe doesn't remedy the problem only allows it to continue. So next time you're so inclined to give a review and feel you're being proactive think first about the establishments finer points, and bring what you feel their inadequicies are to the powers to be . I train my staff to treat our guest with the utmost respect as if they were guests in their own home. I also train them to have fun on the job as well as being professional. So to any one out there who doesn't have the best time they could have or the quality service or food they deserve, please bring it to the attention of the management so we may rectify the situation Thank You James K.Rittinger General Manager

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James K Rittinger James K Rittinger, Norristown, PA
(03/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A So So Lousy So So
The waitress did not try to accommodate our party. We wanted separate checks, she refused stating that the bar bill had already been put on one check. She did not offer to put our food on separate checks. Her overall attitude was obnoxious. The bus boy had a better personality than she did. Overall, I would rate this restaurant just so-so. The food was just okay.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review n/a, royersford, PA
(03/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Lousy Lousy
We have been visiting the Sly Fox in Royersford once a month for the past few months, primarily for the happy hour and 1/2 price appitizers and well-drinks. Last nite we returned and were served with smirkness and rolling eyes from our waitress. We were informed that the 1/2 prices were not available in the dining area that we had to sit at the bar, we were already seated and drinks ordered and delivered before we were informed of this. Deserts were either ordered thru the busboy or forgotten by the waitress. Our overall service at this establishment has led us to relocate our get together to a more friendly establishment.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Norristown, PA
(03/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great
My first review here, locally I enjoy Victory, Iron Hill and Triumph. I was looking forward to trying Sly Fox since I heard good things and it's from where I grew up. We had Odyssey, Rt 113 IPA, Oatmeal Stout and the Alt, all of which we thought were excellent, complex and well made beers. In each, we found a great balance of hops and malt for each type. Fish and chips, chipotle shrimp penne were excellent. Could have been a little spicier for me though. Fried mushrooms could stand a slightly higher fryer temp but were otherwise good with a tasty sauce. The best side salad we've had with the freshest greens I can recall. Cranberry house dressing was great. Excellent desserts. The standout though was the service- what I've been waiting to see in a restaurant since forever. Waitstaff looks after each others' tables. None of this it's not my table thing. It was so refreshing and costs a business nothing. They see an empty plate or a table that looks like they need help, they don't hesitate to take care of it whether or not it's their table. Downside- cretins next to us couldn't remove their hats in the dining room. Bare tables but cloth napkins- casual but nice. I'm not the most well-mannered person but, my mom taught me to remove my hat at dinner. geez, but I digress...Very nice, subtle decor and we were very impressed with our experience. I do get a kick out of beers named after my old stomping grounds. In the former Jerry's Market where the original "The Blob" supermarket scene was shot. Is the place "awesome?" Hmm maybe, but I'll have to reserve judgement for now until I get a few more reviews under my belt.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from RC51Mike RC51Mike, Wilmington, DE
(01/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The new Sly Fox is open in Royersford, PA. Same great beers with expanded facility; expect more great beers to come from Brian O'Reilly and Tim Ohst. Expanded menu, nice bar (the right height), more dining room, game room, and full bar service (for those who don't know any better). My favorite of the night was the Route 113 IPA, great malt character to go with the hops. Will be back for the Alt, when it is ready to pour.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ted Johnston Ted Johnston, Phoenixville, PA
(11/08/2004)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(1.091 seconds) 21:58:38 54.91.49.40, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS