PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Schmohz Brewing Company - Grand Rapids, MI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 30, 2014 @ 11:37 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MI > Grand Rapids > Schmohz Brewing Company
Schmohz Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Schmohz Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 77.6 / 100
2600 Patterson South East
Grand Rapids, MI 49546
United States
(616) 949-0860
Listed Since: December 2004
Last Updated: June 2007
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Grand Rapids, MI
Beer Guide for Michigan

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Schmohz Brewing Company
17 Reviews / 6 Photos
hours of operation
Sun CLOSED
Mon 02:00PM - 10:00PM
Tue 02:00PM - 10:00PM
Wed 02:00PM - 12:00AM
Thu 02:00PM - 12:00AM
Fri 12:00PM - 12:00AM
Sat 12:00PM - 12:00AM

alternatives
(3 within 5 miles)
1) Brewery Vivant
(4 miles)

2) Grand Rapids Brewing Company
(4 miles)

3) Old Chicago
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Hampton Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERISUITES GRAND RAPIDS APRT
2) BEST WESTERN MIDWAY HOTEL
3) COMFORT INN
4) COUNTRY INN SUITES GRAND RAPID
5) DAYS INN AIRPORT
6) EXEL INN GRAND RAPIDS
7) EXTENDEDSTAY KENTWOOD
8) FAIRFIELD INN GRAND RAPIDS
9) HILTON GRAND RAPIDS AIRPORT
10) HOMEWOOD STE GRAND RAPIDS
11) QUALITY INN TERRACE CLUB
12) RADISSON HTL GRAND RAPIDS EAST
13) RED ROOF GRAND RAPIDS
14) SLEEP INN GRAND RAPIDS
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Ada Covered Bridge
2) Thornapple River Drive Bridge
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A Yummy Yummy Cafe
2) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
3) Arby's
4) Bagel Beanery
5) Barry Bagels
6) Blimpie Subs & Salads
7) Blimpie Subs & Salads
8) Bob Evans Farms Restaurant
9) Bob's Big Boy
10) Bonefish Grill
11) Boston Market
12) Brann's Steakhouse
13) Burger King
14) Burger King
15) Cantina Mexican Restaurant
16) Carlos O'kelly's Mexican Cafe
17) Casade Meeting & Banquets
18) Charlevoix Attrium Deli
19) Cheddar's Casual Cafe
20) Chili's Grill & Bar
21) China Garden
22) Concord Enterprises
23) Cultural Center
24) Damon's The Place For Ribs
25) Denny's
26) Faro's Italian Pizza
27) Forest Hills Inn
28) Get Em N Go
29) Gippers's Restaurant & Lounge
30) Great Wall Restaurant
31) Hoffman House
32) Holly's Inc
33) Hud's Italian Eatery
34) Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs
35) J T's Pizza Depot
36) Jade East
37) Jay Wellington's
38) Keneberry LLC
39) Konaville Koffee Inc
40) Mama's Pizzas & Grinders
41) Marco New American Bistro
42) Mc Donald's
43) Mikado Sushi Restaurant
44) New Beginning's Restaurant
45) Olive Garden
46) Orbit Room
47) Panera Bread
48) Papa John's Pizza
49) Papa Vino's Italian Kitchen
50) Peppercorns Restaurant
51) Pepperoni Express Pizza
52) Perkins Family Restaurant
53) Quiznos Sub
54) Red Lobster Restaurant
55) Rio Bravo Fresh Mex
56) Roly Poly
57) Rtm Michigan Inc
58) Schelde Enterprises
59) Shanghai Garden Chinese Rstrnt
60) Spinnaker's Restaurant
61) Steak N Shake
62) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
63) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
64) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
65) Sundaes At The Cottage
66) Sundance Grill
67) T E Murch's
68) TCBY
69) W G Grinders
70) Watermark Country Club
71) Wendy's
72) Wendy's
73) Yen Ching
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great ? Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A Good Good
First, let me say that we visited all 7 microbrews in town an this is not a BIG IPA City. Overall the stouts were king here. That said the IPA here tasted like a scotch ale, too much malt to hops ration. The ESB and "Pail Ale" were good, and the Cream ale tasted like the line needed a cleansing. Not one of the top local spots but worth a visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from MARK MARK, palm harbor, , FL
(09/30/2012)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
OMG!!! I wish I could live here.

The beer and staff make the place great.

It's a little off the beaten path, but it is worth the hunt.

It has a very open tasting room that is NON Smoking :)

The family and kids are welcome.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Traveler Beer Traveler, Grand Rapids, MI
(01/05/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good
Heard about this excellent little Brewery off of 28th Street in Grand Rapids at the Winter Beer festival. Stopped by on a recent Thursday afternoon. Appeared to have a solid selection of beer from what I could see, somewhere around 12 taps with several seasonals rotating on and off. I had the Amber and the Stout on my first visit, and the Porter on my second, all of which were excellent.

The customers were great, and I had a few laughs and good discussions with several of them. The bartender Joe, and service, were really the only negatives. Aside from constantly interrupting patrons to be slightly demeaning, he seemed more interested in chatting with his buddy at the end of the bar rather than fill glasses. Was told by one of the members that he doesn't work that often during the day, and that the other bartenders were all of a different ilk. I'll likely be back again the next time I'm on that side of town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Grand Rapids, MI
(03/28/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
This is my local brewpub and I have been a mug club member there for 3 years. The beer is outstanding, with at least 10 selections on tap. The brewery is running constantly, and tours are there for the asking. Only food available is free popcorn and peanuts, and occasionally pickled eggs. Local pizza and sub joints will deliver. Smoke-free environment, kid friendly - they also brew the best rootbeer in the midwest. Regulars are all friendly except for maybe John. There are a couple of arcade machines and a pool table. Open afternoon and evening and late, it is a perfect way to end the work-day.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Bosma Tim Bosma, Grand Rapids, MI
(01/04/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Great
I totally agree with all the previous comments about the friendly, comfortable vibe that you get here at Schmohz, it might be the best selling point they have, and that's important. Beers ranged from OK to pretty good. I thought the ESB was kind of out of balance and the Pickle Tink didn't really ring my bell. Kiss My Scottish Arse and Bone Crusher Stout on the other hand were both very nice beers--I'm sure they are popular with the locals as well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/30/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
Great local place. The bartender and the regulars were all cool to hang out with. They have frequent events, theme nights and contests. I didn't get a chance to "airplane race" but it looked fun. I hope they do well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Brewer Chris Brewer, Mount Clemens, MI
(02/16/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great
This establishment has all the feel of a homebrewer's habit gotten out of hand. While the place looked like it would be a smoky dive bar from the outside and as I walked in, I was very pleased to find that it was a smoke free environment with a very friendly bartender. Patrons at the bar were also friendly this evening and the beer selection at Schmohz is fairly good. I particularly enjoyed their "Amber Tease" brown ale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Augustine Iacopelli Augustine Iacopelli, Wichita, KS
(10/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
this is a beer and people establishment. do not expect to go here and be entertained by anything other than quality brew and other people who appreciate it. Non smoking atmosphere is great for us people who actually like to TASTE our beer - private mug club parties are nice - prices good - a bonus is that they will fill your cornelius 5 gal kegs relatively affordably so you can take a large amount home to your draft system! :)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Grand Rapids, MI
(09/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Friendly staff and helpful patrons.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Kentwood, MI
(02/22/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
On the same trip, we tried Schmohz. Ordered a sampler, enjoyed all the beers and got a pint of the Amber Tease and then Mad Tom's Robust Porter. My friend Cliff had the Gypsy Kiss Bock. We enjoyed the beers and conversation with my college roommate.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pesci Pesci, Petoskey, MI
(12/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
Your average taproom, with above average beer. Pints priced at $3.25, below average, which is good. No food so BYO. Over all I liked it and will surely return. If you don't need all the frills of a fancy brewpub or the high prices this is the place. Just good beer and folks who appreciate it

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stewart Pounds Stewart Pounds, Flint, MI
(11/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
Walked in on a hot afternoon and with no aircondtioning, it was hot. Had the stout which was good, but not the best I ever had. Could have been the heat. I will try it again sometime down the road. I've had their beer at festivals and liked it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Allen Burt Allen Burt, Ann Arbor, MI
(09/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
Didn't find anything remarkable here, but I'm glad there's another option for the folks in GR. 6 beers on tap when I visited: weizen, bock, amber, IPA, porter and stout. All were clean, if a bit thin. As with any new enterprise, I'll give them a second chance my next trip in town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
Much like the phoenix of ancient mythology, from the ashes of the past, a new star for the Grand Rapids Micro brewing Community is raised. An establishment that strives to be unique, which should be easy to accomplish given the great chemistry between the Owners, Brewer, and Mug Club members. An obvious improvement over the old RT's atmosphere, even during its peak. Stop on in for a beer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Alaska, MI
(01/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
Hopknocker IPA is now serving and great. This isn't your average IPA. Rob's deviance from the normal Pacific Northwest hops to the European style will definitely set this one on top of the town.

Rumors now abound on the Old Ale that was brewed this week.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chas Thompson Chas Thompson, Kentwood, MI
(01/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good So So
After the departure of RT's anything would be an improvement. Good job of upgrading the place. They are fairly new and the place is pretty quiet right now. Some entertainment might help liven the place up. The beers are ok, although no real stand outs among them. Brewer is a bit annoying but after a few beers you no longer notice. Hopefully the place will keep improving with age.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bob, Kentwood, MI
(01/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Great Great
Try the Porter! Can't wait to try the IPA. 5 Awesome beers on Tap, Mug Club, & Big Screen TV.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chas Thompson Chas Thompson, Kentwood, MI
(12/18/2004)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.305 seconds) 23:37:20 54.87.44.72, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS