PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Arena Bar and Grill - Wilkes-Barre, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 24, 2014 @ 08:55 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Wilkes-Barre > Arena Bar and Grill
Arena Bar and Grill Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Arena Bar and Grill
Overall: Great    Score: 72.3 / 100
380 Coal Street
Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702
United States
(570) 970-8829
Listed Since: March 2005
Last Updated: June 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Wilkes-Barre, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
24 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun 04:00PM - 02:00AM
Mon CLOSED
Tue CLOSED
Wed 04:00PM - 02:00AM
Thu 04:00PM - 02:00AM
Fri 04:00PM - 02:00AM
Sat 04:00PM - 02:00AM

alternatives
(4 within 5 miles)
1) Elmer Sudds
(0 mile)

2) J.K. Moose's Par Four
(0 mile)

3) Jim McCarthy's Tavern on the Hill
(0 mile)

4) Lion Brewery
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Bischwind Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BW GENETTI HOTEL AND CONF CTR
2) COMFORT INN WILKES BARRE
3) DAYS INN WILKES BARRE PA
4) ECONO LODGE WILKES BARRE
5) HAMPTON INN WILKES BARRE
6) HOST INN AND RESIDENTIAL SUITES
7) RAMADA INN
8) RED ROOF WILKES BARRE
9) TRAVELODGE WILKES BARRE
10) WOODLANDS INN AND RESORT
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bridge in City of Wilkes-Barre
2) Catlin Hall, Wilkes College
3) Central Railroad of New Jersey Station
4) Comerford Theater
5) Forty Fort Meetinghouse
6) Guthrie, George W., School
7) Luzerne County Courthouse
8) Market Street Bridge
9) McClintock Hall
10) Weiss Hall
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Angelo's Pizzeria
2) Arby's
3) Arena Bar & Grill
4) Barletta's Deli
5) Bear Creek Inn
6) Beer Boy's Deli
7) Beer Super
8) Bennigan's Grill & Tavern
9) Big Dipper
10) Billy's Pizza & Subs
11) Bob Evans Farms Restaurant
12) Bone's By-Pass 309
13) Brannigan's Pub
14) Brenner's Allstar Cafe
15) C J's Pizza & Subs
16) Cafe An American Bistro
17) Carl's Bar
18) Cassie's
19) Cherry's Bar
20) Chill Grill
21) Chuck E Cheese's
22) Cosenza Pizza & Restaurant
23) Cracker Barrel Stores Inc
24) Cross Valley Pizza & Subs
25) Dairy Queen
26) Dan's Keystone Grille
27) Desi's Famous Pizza
28) Dino's Italian Restaurant
29) DJS Deli & More
30) Dominic's Of New York
31) Elmer Sudds
32) Empire Express Mart
33) Frog Pond Pub & Pizzaria
34) Gerry's Pizzeria
35) Golden Cafe
36) Great American Smokehouse
37) Ground Round
38) Ike's Glen Tavern
39) Illiano's
40) Indian Lake Inn
41) Isabella Restaurant & Bar
42) Januzzi's
43) Jim Mc Carthy Tavern On Hill
44) Jimmy Lee's Family Rstrnt Ofc
45) L & L Pizza Subs & More
46) LA Tolteca
47) Mirakuya Japanese Rstrnt Inc
48) Nello's Pizza
49) Nico's Pizza
50) Orange Julius
51) Outback Steakhouse
52) Pals Inn
53) Panera Bread
54) Parcheezeys Pizza
55) Pepsi-Cola Bottling Co
56) Philadelphia Subs
57) Pitcher's Mound Pub & Pizzeria
58) Quiznos Sub
59) R Bar
60) Red Lobster Restaurant
61) Red Robin Gourmet Burgers
62) Ricci's Pizzeria
63) Robert Jabers Pizza
64) Rockers Pizza
65) Rodano's Pizza
66) Smokey Bones Bbq
67) Snack Shack
68) Stan's Cafe
69) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
70) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
71) Sucali's
72) Super Kings Buffet
73) Sylvia's Soul Food
74) Twists
75) Two Buddz Pizza
76) Two G's Restaurant
77) Uno Chicago Grill
78) Vino's Deli
79) Waiter's Restaurant Delivery
80) Wendy's
81) Wendy's
82) Whiskey Business
83) Wildflowers Restaurant
84) Woody Brown's Bbq
85) Yogurt De-Lite
86) Yubba's All American Grill
87) Ziggy's Pub & Grub
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Lousy Lousy Lousy
The owners were very rude to me when i complained about slow service and poor quality of food. I would not recommend to anyone

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Ferrara Jim Ferrara, WB, PA
(12/04/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
My wife and I frequent The Arena Bar and Grill several times a month for dinner and happy hour. We love arena's happy hour! They offer more than 40 drafts for two dollars a piece. We like to sit outside, and the service has always been great. Polite and friendly, they like to help my wife pick what to drink. Their selection is ridiculous, lots to choose from. Personally, I go for the beer and a steak. Really nice cuts of meat. I am constantly impressed by the food served there. Will definitely be back soon. Can't wait for Octoberfest!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from gopens gopens, wilkes barre, PA
(08/08/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Lousy So So
I frequently end up at the Arena because my coworkers like to have meetings there. The service is never good. The wait staff always seems confused or as though they simply can't be bothered to wait on you. Good luck getting your waitress to even come back to the table when the place is especially busy. My group seriously considered skipping out on a check there once because it took the girl almost 30 minutes to bring it. The beer selection is impressive and there is always something new, but the premium beers are pricey, and the bartenders will not ever allow you to sample them before you buy. I rarely try something that I'm not already familiar with because I don't want to be stuck having payed $5 or more for a beer that I won't enjoy. The bartenders are not very knowledgable about what they are serving, and if they seem afraid to run the lines or waste any beer, it's because they are. The owners of that place are pretty nasty to their staff. I've known a few people who have worked there, and they have had horror stories about the owners degrading them in front of patrons and reeming them out over nonsense. It's no wonder that there seems to be new people on every time I go there. The parking at that place is horrific. There are always people parked up on the lawn, creating new spaces where there aren't any making it difficult to get around in the lot, and parking is always spilling over into the nearby Riders World lot. If the weather is bad, the walk downhill from Riders World can be tough, not to mention that there is no sidewalk on that very busy stretch of Coal Street. Although I have never had any problems with the food, and have always found it to be really good, the coupons they send you are deceiving. If you go for happy hour, you can't use the coupon and get the $2 drafts. You either have to save the coupon for a later date or pay full price for your drinks. They also offer $2 appetizers during happy hour, but you have to specify to the waitress ahead of time that you want the "happy hour portion" or else they just charge you full price and treat you like an idiot when you question them about it. Also, as mentioned by other reviewers, I've been told that they do not have tap water. How does a restaurant not have tap water?? You have to buy a bottle for $3. I can understand forcing patrons to pay for water if they are seated at a table with others but are not purchasing anything, however, if you are having a meal or drinking at the bar and you ask for a glass of tap water, a restaurant owner ought to be ashamed for refusing to give you one. That's just cheap!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kate Kate, Wilkes Barre, PA
(08/03/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
This place rocks! I can not believe this place has so many great things about it. The beer, the food the service they are all top rate. I travel a lot for business and often entertain clients. I am always looking for something that appeals to all. The food is great from pastas to hand cut steaks something for everyone. They have the best beer offerings around. With 50 on tap and 150 bottles of rare finds - its a great way to impress my clinets. On off days - my friends and I gather weekly to catch a game or catch up. Its like having a private party with a few of my closest friends. Love the Arena!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from patty patty, shavertown, PA
(12/11/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So Great Great
The coupon that is referred to; you must read the fine print. You cannot combine it with other specials. In other words you either do the happy hour w/$2.00 drinks or you do the coupon for dinner. Cant combine them. They also have free water. I would have asked to see the manager. All restaurants have to give you water free if you request it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Shavertown, PA
(11/20/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Lousy So So
1st of all I would have to say that the food was awesome.

Complaints about the establishment. They send you a coupon for $10 in the mail for a buy 1 get 1 meal free up to $10. I recommend that you do not give them the coupon in advance. They advertise a happy hour for $2 drafts from 5-7pm. I was charged $5 for a glass of beer. Are we in NYC? So they don't honor their advertisements. My date asked to for a glass of water in addition to her wine. The waiter said we DON"T HAVE water. We only have bottled water. Come on, this is a bar/restaurant. So the only way you can get water is to pay $3 for it. So the place is a ripoff.

Other than that the atmosphere is great and also the food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Wilkes-Barre, PA
(11/16/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great So So Lousy Lousy
I drove about an hour and visited the Arena last Friday. After all the reviews on here I wanted to see for myself if they were exaggerated or not. With this many beers available who could go wrong??....well apparently me! Lets start with the non-beer stuff. Parking: If you like your car, be afraid--be VERY afraid. I parked 3 times before I could even get out of my car. Who painted these lines! Smoking: This place just plain smells. There appears to be a smoking room. None of the smokers use it and none of the staff ennforce it. Most of my group refused to eat because of the smoke and smell. On to the beers: They have a lot of beers. That's about the only positive thing I can say. I ordered a Super Premium beer (one that I've had many times). Either the lines were dirty, the bar tender didn't clear the lines (see below) or the keg was off--it was bad. I mentioned this to the bartender--some guy came out of the back, tasted the beer, nodded and walked away. The bartender never did a thing. Eventually I flagged him down and asked him to dump my $7 beer and I'd order a different Super Premium beer. This one was better. They have a good selectiuon of bottles and taps but the staff seems either lost or confused about beer. I asked to taste a super premium beer and despite paying for two (with one bad one) they said NO. I asked to taste a regular beer (local Stegmeier Brewhouse Bock) and after making a funny face they gave me a gulp. The bar staff seems to be so terrified of the owner that they don't give samples. I also noted that they were afraid to spill or otherwise waste any beer. I watched many times as beer lines weren't cleared and beers were under poured. What a messed up place. I'll confirm the reviews below. This place is NOT a beer bar. They do NOT encourage beer lovers or help cultivate new beer lovers. If you like Miller Lite then this is your pace. If you expect this to be a real beer bar expect to be dissapointed. After two hours of torture and fighting to get bad service we gave up. Thankfully there are a few other choices now in that area so we spent our money elsewhere and you should too. Beer lovers----run away form the Arena.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Kevin, Allentoen, PA
(04/12/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good So So So So
Try as I might the Arena dissapoints me every time. This place just isn't a beer bar. The staff doesn't know beers, and as much as they have a lot of beers on tap, they don't really want beer lovers in there. The Arena wants to pump out Coors Light and people asking to taste beers or people actually enjoying the beers ar eonly holding up the Coors Light line. I'm very dissapointed to see they don't even allow you to taste a super premium beer, even if you've been drinking all super premium beers. Their super preium list has some nice beers and also some normal beers--perhaps to make money off the confused beer drinker. The parking lot is dangerously tight, even after you park, the bar and restaurant wreak of cigar smoke, the bartenders don't seem to want to even fill glasses and the glassware is wrong (unless you happen to trip on a beer that belongs in a pint or wine glass). If you are a beer drinker or gaining appreciation for beers, avoid the Arena--you'll only come out dissapointed. It's a bar that just happens to have beers and a long way from being a beer bar. Sad to see such a selection wasted by owners and staff that clearly don't understand real beer drinkers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Wilkes-barre, PA
(02/22/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Awesome!
i've been going to the arena since they opened, never had a problem with parking(even on a really busy night). the food is always very good and the service is great(carl is like a beer encyclopedia).i didn't really drink too much craft beer until i started going there but, the staff turned me on to some great beers, now i'm hooked.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review san diego, CA
(01/19/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good So So
I hate the fact that I have to smell like an ashtray when I go home. It's too bad that PA doesn't have the Smoke Free Work Place system. It's also a shame that the non-smoking bartenders smoke the equivalent of a pack and a half of cigarettes in a week from second hand smoke. This is why non smokers get lung cancer. This is also why I stay the hell home.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Deb Deb, Duryea, PA
(05/06/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Lousy
The Arena Pub offers smoking and non smoking areas. It even has a CIGAR room... BUT DON'T BE FOOLED.. THEY DON'T ENFOURCE ANY OF IT.. They allow smoking whereever you want.. and even stated that as of 7:30 on Saturday nights, they don't care where you smoke..

If you love the taste of a freshly licked ash tray, this is the place for you!!! If you want to join the other big fish in this little pond of greater Wilkes-Barre, this is your place.. You can stuff that stogie in your mouth and feel proud that you are sending a whole room of people home, smelling as badly as you do.

Just sign me.. Out to eat three nights a week, but never again at the Arena Pub!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Wilkes Barre, PA
(03/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great
I think that the new Arena is awesome. The atmosphere is chill, the staff is friendly, and the food is superb. I think for those of you who complain about parking should just suck it up or park somewhere where the spots are bigger and walk to the arena. We have legs for a reason. It's a small price to pay for having a great time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nicole Nicole, Tampa, FL
(12/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Great Awesome! Great
I'm glad to see another business at this location, esp one with a similar theme. They did a great job with redesigning the interior. Parking is a problem (as others noted); it always was. I'm not sure they have the ground to expand, but narrowing the parking spots isn't the solution. Until they do, just go early. I can't really comment on the bar (I don't drink) but the food has been great every time. Like the Black Rock before it, they have some of the most helpful and friendliest (not to mention attractive) servers in the area, including Jennifer (a familiar face to former Black Rock customers). Overall it's a great place in a convenient location and hopefully a successful one.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Stilphen Scott Stilphen, Forty Fort, PA
(12/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Great
I have to agree with Mr. Bryson below. Yeah, the parking spaces are narrow and I wonder how much of an improvment there is over the parking at the old place (being that parking was a huge reason for the move). But, life goes on.

Besides the parking, this place is pretty great. A pretty super selection of beer, and very reasonably priced. The happy hour is extremely popular, which isn't a surprise considering the $2 drafts of really good beer. They did a really great job designing the place after Blackrock moved out, making it much more efficent, and classy in my opinion (from a former Blackrock employee).

The service, for me, has been really great. They have a couple of people that really know how to work a crowd, which is amazing considering how busy the place gets sometimes. In my opinion, one of the best staffs in the area. Even servers & bartenders that I'm not familiar with have always been very quick and friendly and helpful.

The bottom line is, if you want a good beer in the Wilkes-Barre, you've got Arena, and Elmer Sudds.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ben Franklin Ben Franklin, Wilkes-Barre, PA
(11/24/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I ALSO WANTED TO GIVE THIS PLACE A TRY. I MUST ADMIT THAT THE HAPPY HOUR IS AWESOME. $2.00 DRAFTS, APPETIZERS AND HOUSE WINES. WHAT A DEAL! I WAS ABLE TO DRINK MICRO-BREWS FOR 2 HOURS FOR $2.00 EACH. IT WAS A FRIDAY, IT WAS PACKED BUT WHAT DO YOU EXPECT. IF YOU WANT A BAR WITH NO ONE AT IT, GO TO SUDDS OR ALE HOUSE AND PAY FULL PRICE! WE SAT ON THE DECK SINCE IT WAS AN AWESOME DAY! SERVICE WAS GREAT WITH A VERY ATTACTIVE SERVER. .. THEY CURRENTLY HAVE 7 OCTOBER'S ON DRAFT AND I WAS TOLD THEY WILL BE PUTTING A FEW MORE ON IN THE NEXT WEEK. SPATEN OCTOBER FOR $2.00 PINTS! AWESOME!

FOOD WAS GREAT. WE HAD A VARIETY OF APPETIZERS FOR $2.00 AND FILET MINGION FOR DINNER. SMORES WERE THE DESSERT OF CHOICE ON OUR END. YOU GET TO BUILD YOUR OWN. AS FAR AS THIS PLACE GOES, IT WAS GREAT. WE PARKED AT RIDERS WORLD AND WALKED DOWN THE HILL.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from katie katie, wilkes barre, PA
(09/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
First things first: yes, the parking flat out sucks. The spots are too narrow, and you're just asking to get your doors dinged. But I didn't experience any of the service problems other folks talked about. I sat at the bar with two local friends and we never were dry. The bartenders were quick, had good suggestions and knew their taps, and were even responsive to polite calls of "When you get a moment...", a sterling quality in a bartender. The beers I had were uniformly excellent and well-kept. The only thing that kept the beer selection from being awesome was the total lack of anything local: disappointing. Otherwise...Wilkes-Barre, you got a winner here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(09/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Good Good
Yeah, they've made the move to the new building, saying that the old place didn't have enough parking. But, in all honesty, parking at the new place is a million times worse. Like someone else here says, the spaces are way way too narrow. It looks like they repainted the lines to create more spaces, but what you wind up with is incredible narrow parking spaces (at a drinking establishment). It only takes attempting to park here once to notice it. Again, like the other reviewer said, you should expect to drive away with a couple more dings and dents in your car doors for having to park at this place. The narrowing of parking spots is nothing short of greed and ignorance.

Other than that, I have to say that the remodeling of the place from the old Blackrock was wonderful. A very nice job on that.

Food is the same as it was at the old place, which is to say nothing special. It's prepared food, nothing more and nothing less.

It was nice when this place opened, right at a time when both other beer bars in Wilkes-Barre were heading downhill (Elmer Sudds and Blackrock). You can still get a good drink here, but the beer menu has been filled with a whole lot of fluff lately, reminding me of a place like Cooper's in Pittston. Yeah, they have 50 beers on tap, but 95% of the crowd is drinking Miller Lite bottles, and out of 50 drafts, they are down to about 5 or 6 A List beers, with little or no surprises when you walk in. And outside of happy hour, they have gotten a bit expensive, such as $4 for a Sierra Nevada bottle.

Service, for me, has been usually good, but like almost any busy bar, can at times be spotty. The other reviewer said he waited too long, and that doesn't surprise me. There are a few people on board there that seem to be able to take care of a crowd, and a bunch of others that seem like they are there to make money and go home, instead of being there to do a good job at what they do.

Overall, I go here less and less. The overall atmosphere is definitely slipping, I care too much about my car to keep getting it dinged up, and the menu isn't all that special anymore. The only "positive" is that there is hardly any other place to go in WB anymore (Blackrock is gone, and Sudds seems to be on the verge of shutting down).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Wilkes-Barre, PA
(09/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I gave the new Arena another shot last Friday. I'd like to say I have a better review but I don't. Right off the bat parking is a disaster again! I guess it's good that they have business and it was a Friday happy hour but still....parking on the other side of Coal Street and trying to cross is a mess, not to mention the traffic jam IN the parking lot as people circle the tight spaces looking for a spot. If you are at all worried about door dents in your car good luck. The spaces are incredibly tight. Well on to the bar. Once inside we noted that the old tank area from Black Rock is now a wall of taps. The beer list looked good to me, including one of Terry's beers from Bullfrog. Unfortunately the bar was three deep and the crowd was noisy. After 20 minutes of trying to get two beers, waiting at the bar stations, trying to crowd into the bar or even flag down a waitress we gave up. I've never been ignored by a bartender for so long in my life. With two of us trying for over 20 minutes just to get a beer we finally gave up and decided to spend our money elsewhere. Perhaps it was just a busy night. I know we'll never go back on a Friday again. Perhaps we will try again on a Saturday night. For me if I honestly hit another night like that on Saturday I'll never go back. Bottom line: If you're into fighting for parking, fighting to get a beer menu, fighting to get a beer, fighting to get food, fighting to breath through the smoke and fighting to hear yourself talk go to the Arena.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from frank frank, wilkes-barre, PA
(07/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The Times Leader newspaper writes, "Hours are 4 p.m.-2 a.m. Wednesday through Sunday; closed Monday and Tuesday during the summer. The bar is open seven days a week beginning in the fall. Happy hour is 5-7 p.m. weekdays and 9-11 p.m. Sundays."

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul E. Milligan Paul E. Milligan, Columbia, MD
(06/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
they are now located at the former black rock brewery on coal street. plenty of parking. they have 50 beers on tap and over 150 in bottles. food is great. no complaints whatsoever.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jeff jeff, albrightsville, PA
(06/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Good Good
Been at the Arena a few times. The restaurant seems OK and the food has typically been pretty good, but maybe a little inconsistent. The bar is small, incredibly smokey (ick!), and very loud. Good luck if you want to talk or order a beer. They have a great bartender Carl who knows his beers but doesn't seem to get much time behind the bar when compared to the cheerleader-type barmaids. Unfortunatley they don't seem to know the beers at all except for Carl. Hopefully the owners will wise up and take better advantage of Carl. They have a good selection of beers but I think their bump up in quantity of taps has come at the expense of quality. With so many beers on in a bar that seems to serve a ton of Miller Lite the beers don't get rotated enough. We've bumped up against at least two beers that had either gone bad or the cheerleaders forgot to clear the tap lines before filling my glass. Owners seem nice but a little lost in the beer-lover world. I'd rather see them do 20 well thought out beers that are fresh than 34 questionable beers just for the sake of quantity of tap handles. Parking is a disaster. Good luck parking. I can only hope that their upcoming move to the former Black Rock micro will help the parking and smokey noisy bar situation. Much to my dissapointment the owners not only sold off the Black Rock's brewing equipment (which I completely expected) but also their hand-pump! For a bar that claims to be a beer bar and claims to have 34+ taps to not only NOT have a hand pump but also to so mis-understand it's customers that they sold off their opportunity to have a free hand pump is a disaster! Good news is that they are actually moving closer to Elmer Sudds so when you bail out on the Arana you'll have a real beer bar near by. Promote Carl to head bartender and buy a hand pump!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from frank frank, Wilkes-Barre, PA
(06/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Good
bar service was very good. food: homemade french fries,great. chicken rice soup,great. chicken chunks/brandy sauce,great. did not have any entrees. bar area was extremely noisy/loud music and very smokey. had to wait for a stool. wouldn't take my mom there but would take my wife,or yours:)staff is young so I can see why Chris had a bad experience. no excuse though.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from gene gene, bloomsburg, PA
(04/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Lousy So So
Having been responsible for putting this establishment up on Pubcrawler, I feel I must also make amends as to my treatment here recently. Having visited each time my daughter and I go to a Penguins game, we followed our usual routine of calling ahead of time for a reservation after the game. We were told the person taking reservations wasn't there at the time, call back later. We did indeed call back later to be told, they weren't taking resrvations right then, maybe later but that there would be plenty of tables after the game. I called a third time during the game and was told, it will be first come, first serve. So, we left the game as soon as it was over (missing some of the after game presentations) to make sure we got a table, only to be told, we needed a reservation and that the entire team and front office would be coming so that tables wouldn't be available. I explained to the owner that we called three times, etc. and was told, "well we didn't know how many were coming, so we kept telling you that you might get a table". In other words, they strung out their patrons, wanting to make sure they have a full house, and once they knew the team was taking the tables, left their regulars hanging in the wind. Pretty shabby treatment and as such, this establishment gets my thumbs down for future visits. Try Elmer Suds instead.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, Oxford, NJ
(04/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
This place has about 30 beers on tap and another 50 to 100 bottles. Great selection, well rotated. I haven't had a bad beer here yet. Food is typical pub grub, but done well. Neat way to finish your meal, smores that you make at your table. Service has always been great. If you are a hockey fan, Penguin players often visit after the game for a bite to eat. Much better bet than the slew of cookie-cutter casual places that ring the nearby mall.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, Oxford, NJ
(03/13/2005)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.397 seconds) 20:55:37 54.234.147.84, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS