PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Muskie Capital Brewery at the Old Hayward Eatery - Hayward, WI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 16, 2014 @ 10:43 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > WI > Hayward > Muskie Capital Brewery at the Old Hayward Eatery
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: BrewPub
Muskie Capital Brewery at the Old Hayward Eatery
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 83.3 / 100
15546 Highway B
Hayward, WI 54843
United States
(715) 934-2337
Listed Since: March 2005
Last Updated: January 2008
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Hayward, WI
Beer Guide for Wisconsin

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Muskie Capital Brewery at the Old Hayward Eatery
9 Reviews / 4 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Mon 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Tue 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Wed 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Thu 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Fri 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 02:00AM

alternatives
(3 within 5 miles)
1) Angry Minnow Restaurant and Brewery
(0 mile)

2) Famous Dave's
(0 mile)

3) Famous Dave's
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Spider Lake Lodge B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Bottoms Up
2) Charlies Fine Food & Spirits
3) Country Side
4) Cruz'In
5) Dog Stop
6) Domino's Pizza
7) End Zone
8) Farmer's Inn
9) Good Knights
10) Granado Coffee Co
11) Great Lakes Indian Fish
12) Hutt
13) Lake Placid Lodge
14) LCO Athletic Club
15) Madeline's
16) Moccasin Bar
17) Mooselips Gallery
18) Old Hayward Eatery & Brew Pub
19) Outback Pub
20) Perkins Restaurant & Bakery
21) Phipps Tavern
22) Poppe's Outdoor Cooking
23) Sawmill Saloon
24) Snyder's Y Pine
25) Subhouse
26) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
27) Waynamo's
28) Wayside Inn
29) Wheel Inn
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Good
I tried the 6 beer sampler this past April (2009) while I was in the Hayward area. They were out of Brown Ale, so the 1st up was the 'Capital Creme Ale'. Very nice. Light, and true to the genre. All in all, well done. Next was the 'Muskie Capital Red Lager'. A little bit over carbonated, but not bad. Too dark inside to really judge the color. The bar itself is nothing to write home about. While the bar is pretty bland, the service is excellent. Very attentive. Unfortunately, it is still a smoking permitted establishment, so be aware of the smoke.

Next was the 'Berkie Brew'. Very well done ale with a hint of maple. Easily the best so far. Assertive hops and a clean finish. After that, the 'Belgian Style Saison'. A very challenging style, but pretty well done here. Very nice nose with well rounded spice notes. Finally we come to the 'Irish Stout'. According to their tip sheet, it is brewed to emulate Guinness. Um...no. This is almost sickeningly sweet. The malt is almost overpowering and zero hops. If it was a little lighter in here, I could judge the color.

I had to have another Birkie Brew, and in a pint glass, it's much easier to judge the color, even in a dim room. Lovely caramel color and Belgian lace.

One last word of warning. The music seems to be all 1950s all the time. Very good beers, nondescript pub, smoky, excellent service, terrible music.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Hartzer Mark Hartzer, Naperville, IL
(11/23/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Great
I enjoyed popping over to the Muskie Capital Brewery this past April. I had the 6 beer sampler. The 'Capital Creme Ale' is very nice and true to the genre. The 'Muskie Capital Red Lager' is over carbonated. The bar is too dark to see the exact color. Although the bar is nothing to write home about, the place itself sits on the site formerly known as "Historyland", which was developed by Tony Wise, the founder of the American Birkebiener.

Anyway, the "Berkie Brew" is a nice ale with a touch of maple. Easily the best so far. A good pale ale with assertive hops. Next was the "Belgian Style Saison". A challenging style, but well done. Very nice nose. Well rounded spice flavors. Last was an "Irish Stout". According to the tip sheet, it is brewed to emulate Guinness. Um, no. This is almost sickeningly sweet. The malt is almost overpowering. I had another Berkie Brew and it didn't disappoint. In a pint glass, it is much easier to judge the color. Good carmel color and Belgian lace.

Negatives include serious smoking in the bar. Also, 50s music is not my favorite. Ugh.

Positives include a friendly staff and a good hockey game on TV. Any TV featuring Bemidji sports is OK by me. All in all, a nice place to try out some good brews while doing a little bar hopping.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Hartzer Mark Hartzer, Naperville, IL
(08/15/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Awesome! Great
Now called Muskie Capital Brewery. The restaurant and the brewpub are now separate entities though they share the same building and the restaurant portion is still called Old Hayward Eatery. Kind of confusing.

Nice enough place with a suitably casual yet tasteful Northwoodsy ambiance. Though this is a heavy tourist town, there was a good deal of locals in the pub on a Saturday afternoon; I suppose the Badgers football game drew quite a bit of them in while the cold October temperatures kept the weekenders & tourists away (except me).

Beer ranged from average to competent to great. The cream ale and red lager were OK while the porter, nut brown and pale ale were all good, solid examples of their respective styles. The standout was a fall seasonal called Harvest Ale. Brewed with maple syrup as a fermentable sugar, it had a lovely autumnal essence with maple sweetness and a touch of nutmeg spice. Very well-done; get some while you have a chance.

The bartendress was attentive and friendly, though she didn't seem to know much about the house beers. That always annoys me in a brewpub. That minor niggle was more than offset by the fact that the owner and brewmaster (who also happens to serve both functions for the South Shore brewery up in Ashland WI) was very generous with his time, chatting for a while about numerous Wisconsin breweries and beer in general. He was also very gracious about receiving candid answers when he asked for opinions about his beers.

All in all this place is a class act from top to bottom. Even though it probably draws most of its business from tourists and weekenders, it has a very homey vibe that makes you feel like you've stumbled onto a local secret. If I make my way back to Hayward any time soon, this place will be one of the reasons.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Chicago, IL
(11/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The bartender's name at the Old Hayward Eatery was Lisa and she now works for us at Dewars Black Bear Pub & Grille in Stone Lake, Wisconsin. We have Guiness on tap and we make a great Amber Black and Northwoods Black and Tan. We also recommend Old Hayward and we agree their brews are the best!

Keith 715.865.6565

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Keith Keith, Hayward, WI
(09/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Great
THE BEST PALE ALE I'VE EVER HAD IN THE EXTENSIVE SEARCH FOR A GOOD BEER ACROSS AMERICA..GREAT OWNER AND STAFF..CAN I LIVE THERE???

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from VIKINGFANRAY VIKINGFANRAY, MOSINEE, WI
(10/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
American pale was my favorite. Generally beer was great. This is Muskie Capital Brewery, located in the OLd Hayward restaurant. Friendly place. We visited it twice and enjoyed the people and the beer both times.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dick Poynter Dick Poynter, Springfield, IL
(10/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
Tried 4 beers. American pale ale was great. Very bitter and nice hoppy aroma. Golden Lager was smooth and very drinkable. Cream ale was true to style. Crisp, clean, light colored and easy to drink. Trippel was excellent! True to style and BIG. Nice Belgian yeast notes. Had a walleye sandwich for supper. Fantastic!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Roth Tim Roth, Boscobel, WI
(08/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
While visiting family in WI we found out there were 2 brewpubs in Hayward. We stopped at Old Hayward first. We tried a Porter and knew one wasn't going to be enough. We decided to have lunch, which was also excellant. The bartender (I forget her name, but she's got to be the only one with hair to her waist) was very friendly, and she knew her beer! After filling a growler which we always carry "just in case", we decided to head to the "other" brewpub. We ordered a beer, but it was almost undrinkable - we left without finishing it. If you're in the area, bypass the "other" and head to Old Hayward - you won't be disappointed!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from C  Paulson C Paulson, Custer, SD
(01/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Great beer, awesome food and service. What more could you ask for?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(05/07/2005)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.471 seconds) 22:43:23 23.20.43.165, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS