PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Skytop Steakhouse and Brewing Company - Kingston, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 20, 2014 @ 06:30 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Kingston > Skytop Steakhouse and Brewing Company
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: BrewPub
Skytop Steakhouse and Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 71.4 / 100
237 Forrest Hills Drive
(Skytop Drive)
Kingston, NY 12401
United States
(845) 340-4277
Listed Since: April 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Kingston, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
15 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(4 within 5 miles)
1) Sturgeon Wine Bar
(0 mile)

2) Ugly Gus Cafe and Bar was Conca Doro Silcilian
(0 mile)

3) Keegan Ales
(0 mile)

4) Sweetwater Cafe
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Adele's Rondout B & B
2) Black Lion Mansion
3) Capt Spenser's Boat N' Brkfst
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) HYATT REGENCY BISHKEK
2) RAMADA INN
3) SUPER 8 KINGSTON NY
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bevier Stone House
2) Boice House
3) Chichester House
4) Clinton Avenue Historic District
5) Community Theatre
6) Dutch Church, Old, Parsonage
7) House at 184 Albany Avenue
8) House at 313 Albany Avenue
9) House at 322 Albany Avenue
10) House at 356 Albany Avenue
11) Kenyon, William, House
12) Kingston City Library
13) Kirkland Hotel
14) Maizefield
15) Second Reformed Dutch Church of Kingston
16) Senate House
17) Sharp Burial Ground
18) Smith, George J., House
19) Smith, John, House
20) Ten Broeck, Jacob, Stone House
21) Van Steenburgh, Tobias, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 23 Broadway
2) 4 Star Cafe & Catering
3) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
4) Artemis Diner
5) Arties Bar & Grill
6) Barista's Expresso Cafe
7) Bella Carne
8) Big Apple Pizza
9) Blimpie's Sandwich & Salads
10) Bo's Soulfood Restaurant
11) Boston Market
12) Bread Alone
13) Broadway Joe's
14) Brothers Grocery
15) Burger King
16) Cafe Nouba
17) Daybreak Seasons Pizza
18) Di Bella's Pizza Shop
19) Dragon Garden
20) East Wok
21) Ecce Terra
22) El Coqui
23) Enzo's Ristorante & Pizza
24) Flow Lounge
25) Foxhall Deli
26) Foxhall Tavern
27) Gabriels
28) Great Bear
29) Ground Round
30) GSM Svc Inc
31) Hickory
32) Hobo Deli
33) Home Plate Deli
34) Hot Corner Cafe
35) Hurley Mountain Inn
36) International Diner
37) Joe Beez Kitchen & Catering
38) Joyous Cafe & Catering
39) Kelly's Shamrock Tavern
40) Kings Pizza Restaurant
41) Kingston Deli Inc
42) Kingston Grand Slam
43) Kyoto Sushi
44) Mama Rosa Pizzeria
45) Market Basket Deli
46) Mickey's Igloo
47) Mickey's Igloo II
48) Misasi's Italian Deli & Ctrng
49) Morgan's
50) Nekos Luncheonette
51) New York Deli
52) Panera Bread
53) Panini Cafe & Expresso Bar
54) Paulina's Restaurant & Bar
55) Peter B Deli & Grocery Inc
56) Pizzamia
57) Planet Taco
58) Preet Gourmet Pizza & Deli
59) Quick Stop
60) R J's Lounge
61) Riverside Deli & Pizza
62) Roudigan's Restaurant
63) Savona's Plaza Pizza
64) Sidestreet Deli
65) Sizzler
66) Steel House Restaurant & Bar
67) Steve's Pizza & Deli Inc
68) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
69) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
70) Sunshine Market
71) Taco Maker
72) TCBY
73) Terri's Grocery & Deli
74) Third Base
75) Tommy's Deli
76) Uptown A Gathering Place
77) Zenon's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Great Good
One large room with very little atmosphere, but a nice view. Only three beers were available, all light-bodied but for an attempt at an Alt. Tasted more like watered down Sam Adams. The best beer was a porter from Southampton Brewery...a guest beer of all things. Food was good as was the service, but certainly not great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review BR, State College, PA
(01/05/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
A nice selection of beer. The dark beers were a rotation between the porter, stout and black lager. The steaks were great and so was the service. Plus the view added to the experience. If we get back up this way we will stop in again for a beer and steak.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Chesapeake, VA
(09/25/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Great
I've seen a few mixed reviews on this place and can't understand why. My wife and I have been there five times in the past year, sometimes by ourselves, sometimes with friends, and we have always had a great time. The food was just great and is moderately priced, and the beer and service were top shelf. We didn't have to wait much for anything, and the servers were very attentive. Nice setting too.. we were high on a hill and all the big glass windows overlooked uptown Kinsgton. At night the lights below were enchanting. There's also optional entertainment on the weekends. We also recommended the placde to some of our friends who were planning events, and got rave reviews when we asked them what they thought of the place. Two thumbs up on the SkyTop

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James Cosentino James Cosentino, Saugerties, NY
(11/15/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
This guy was obviously having a bad day...we've been many times fro brunch and its always wonderful...take a chill mister

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review kingston, NY
(10/07/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Great Lousy
Sunday Brunch at this tourist trap is a total rip-off. Food Quality and Selection is repulsive. Think of your worse local pigout buffet. You can bet this place is will make it seem good. Waffles taste like cardboard, one selection of pie that was oviously bought at a local grocery store bakery. Egg on the Benidict was hardboiled and the stale english muffin was right out of the package. There was no lunch type selections other than dry sliced pork or beef with no gravy! Not even au ju!!! No veggies.....Save your $16 dollars and have and egg mcmuffin or try any other Pub/Steakhouse in Kingston! I just to keep it real, remember I said Tourist Trap. If you want brew while rubbing elbows with the locals try The Steel House or Mariners Harbor on the Rondout Creek.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Kingston, NY
(09/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
The place had a really nice view and it is all one big room. The beer I had was ok. The only thing I remember really trying was the alt and it was ok. Nothing really stood out as something to recommend. We stopped in for a quick dinner. The patrons were nice but the bartending seemed a bit slow and there were less then 20 people in the place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from thomas sup thomas sup, schnecksville, PA
(05/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
it's a steakhouse, not a hamburger or aa pizza joint, and the steaks they serve here are the best in the valley. maybe not always perfect but consistently goog.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from mike w. mike w., red hook, NY
(11/06/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Awesome! Good Great
I expected to find rave reviews of this restaurant but the reviewers seem quite hostile. Whenever I go up to Mohonk to hike, I try to make it in for what is always a delicious meal. Even the house salad is awesome and I don't like salad! I suggest that those of you who were disappointed try it again. Perhaps smaller groups (2-3)are more their speed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Louis Alfieri Louis Alfieri, Brooklyn, NY
(08/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Lousy Lousy Lousy
WORST SERVICE EVER!!! The place was empty for dinner. We waited 10-15 minutes for someone to take our order, BUT then had to asked for a waiter. We were told that someone would be right with us. After waiting another 10-15 minutes with no water, no bread, we asked again for a waiter and were told someone would be right with us, we were told that he was short staff.

WE DIDN'T FEEL THAT WE WERE GOING TO GET TO EAT, or be served at all, SO WE LEFT DECIDING TO FIND ANOTHER PLACE IN Kingston, NY to eat dinner.

Place gives off a bad VIBE! We told our friends and family how bad of an experience it was and not to go. VERY BAD SERVICE AND THE PEOPLE WERE VERY RUDE!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Kingston, NY
(05/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So So So So So
Went for the Sunday Brunch, which looked pretty good from a previous visit. I was with a large group of 30 people, and we got there around noon. Now, I am of the opinon that if you know a large group is coming you should have some food ready to go, but not fully prepared (in case they blow you off). I guess they don't believe this to be the case here. They ran out of just about everything and were none too quick about replacing what they ran out of. We had to wait far too long for replenishment food and when it was finally replenished there was too little of it. Needless to say the group and I were VERY disappointed with our whole experience. A bright note, the beer is very good here and always tastes fresh.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill McIntyre Bill McIntyre, Coxsackie, NY
(04/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
A bunch of us go there quite regularly, especially during Happy Hour (4-7 Mon thru Fri) I am a Big fan of the Hoghland Diesel with its smoky taste. Your glass certainly isn"t empty for long, veryattentive bar persons. Can't comment on the food as I've never really eaten there, but it looks Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kathleen McGrane Kathleen McGrane, Kingston, NY
(03/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kathleen McGrane Kathleen McGrane, Kingston, NY
(02/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
First visited a month back on a Saturday night where a local high school was having a class reunion. Every Tom, Dick and Clyde had the bar mucked up trying to impress their old girlfriends by ordering the stupidest of drinks they could think of. With that said, the bar staff must have appreciated my patience along with my love of craft-brewed beer and went out of their way to keep my glass full. Limiting myself to two I planned on a return trip where I’d bring a driver along.

Second trip the service was as exceptional as the first. Promising my driver we would eat we sat at a table where we were immediately served fresh-made bread, a humus/chickpea dip and two glasses of imported bottled water. Dinner was preceded by a large family-style house salad with a wonderful vinaigrette dressing. No complaints with the food and there were plenty of leftovers.

I thought it best to start at one end of the beer spectrum and proceed somewhat in order of light to dark. The Winkle Lager Pilsner was very crisp and full of flavor. It immediately reminded me of the brewer’s passion for lagers at Hyde Park. The Barrel #28 “Brewers Choice” was out again, but the Amber hit the spot as a true-to-style Alt beer. The Highland Diesel Scotch Ale is advertised as having a hint of smokiness, but quite frankly it was kick-ass smoky (but still good). After the second one I remembered why I brought a driver.

If Skytop was a mile or two closer I’d be a regular – especially in the summer months sucking up that view of the Hudson Valley. But I’ll still go out of my way to get back. Somebody send me an e-mail when the Barrel #28 is on again!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(12/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Lousy Lousy So So
The waitress was totally indifferent and lackadaisical. 4 of the 10 of us ordered soup. All four were cold—in fact, the cheese was not melted on the French onion! It took over one hour to receive our entrees. One of those was way undercooked. The 3 hamburgers were cold and had bits of fat in them. The pizza was also stone cold. The “waitress” never came back to the table except when we asked the busboy to find her. The only way to ask for condiments was thru the busboy. After “dinner,” one person in our party who knew the manager spoke with him. The manager took the soups off the bill. In sort, I would never go back except to show the view of the valley to tourists—and I would do that from the parking lot.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Kingston, NY
(11/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Great Good Great
Preliminary report: brewing has not officially started yet due to ATTTB paperwork, it's expected to start this week. Great view, as advertised; pretty damned good steak, as advertised. The place looks real good inside, they put some money into it. Only complaint I had was that the bar is right in the one dining room, which can be very distracting when you're eating. A small thing, but there you are. This is owned by the same people who own Hyde Park Brewing, and John Eccles will be doing the brewing. I expect good things.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(04/24/2005)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.444 seconds) 18:30:10 54.167.171.186, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS