PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Molly Brannigans Traditional Irish Pub - Pittsburgh , PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 31, 2014 @ 10:48 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Pittsburgh > Molly Brannigans Traditional Irish Pub
Molly Brannigans Traditional Irish Pub Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Molly Brannigans Traditional Irish Pub
Overall: Great    Score: 75 / 100
660 Washington Road
Pittsburgh , PA 15228
United States
(412) 341-7828
Listed Since: April 2005
Last Updated: July 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Pittsburgh , PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
9 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Mon 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Tue 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Wed 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Thu 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Fri 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 02:00AM

alternatives
(30 within 5 miles)
1) IL Pizzaiolo
(0 mile)

2) Molly Brannigan's
(0 mile)

3) Amel's Restaurant
(2 miles)

4) Mexi-Casa
(2 miles)

5) Bado's Pizzeria and Delicatessen
(2 miles)

6) Mad Mex South
(3 miles)

7) Barley's and Hop's Bottle Shop
(4 miles)

8) Bocktown Beer and Grill
(4 miles)

9) Trenta Cocktail Lounge
(4 miles)

10) Grandview Saloon
(4 miles)

11) Packs and Dogs
(4 miles)

12) Sharp Edge Creekhouse
(5 miles)

13) Mad Mex
(5 miles)

14) The Hop House Wood Fired Food and Ale
(5 miles)

15) Hot Metal Grille
(5 miles)

16) Smokin' Joe's
(5 miles)

17) S Bar
(5 miles)

18) UUBU6
(5 miles)

19) Double Wide Grill
(5 miles)

20) Z-Lounge was Zythos
(5 miles)

21) Piper's Pub
(5 miles)

22) The Smiling Moose
(5 miles)

23) Cafe Allegro Restaurant and Espresso Bar
(5 miles)

24) Tiki Lounge
(5 miles)

25) Dish Osteria and Bar
(5 miles)

26) Birmingham Bridge Tavern
(5 miles)

27) Hofbrauhaus Pittsburgh
(5 miles)

28) Claddagh Irish Pub
(5 miles)

29) Fat Head's South Shore Saloon
(5 miles)

30) ScrapYard Brewing Company
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast
2) Waterford
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN PARKWAY CTR INN
2) BRIDGESTREET LINCOLN POINTE
3) COMFORT INN & SUITES
4) COMFORT INN BRIDGEVILLE
5) DAYS INN PITTSBURGH PA
6) EXTENDEDSTAY CARNEGIE
7) FOUR POINTS PITTSBURGH AIRPORT
8) HAMPTON INN PITTS GRNTREE
9) HAWTHORN PITTSBURGH
10) HILTON PITTSBURGH
11) MICROTEL INN & SUITES
12) MORNING GLORY INN
13) OMNI WILLIAM PENN
14) RADISSON PITTSBURGH GREENTREE
15) RAMADA INN PITTSBURG SOUTH
16) RAMADA PLAZA SUITES
17) RESIDENCE INN PIT AIRPORT
18) SHERATON STATION SQUARE HOTEL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) 109--115 Wood Street
2) Allegheny County Courthouse and Jail
3) Armstrong Tunnel
4) Armstrong Tunnel
5) Bedford School
6) Beechwood Elementary School
7) Beltzhoover Elementary School
8) Birmingham Public School
9) Boggs Avenue Elementary School
10) Boyce Station
11) Buhl Building
12) Burke Building
13) Campbell Building
14) Carnegie, Andrew, Free Library
15) Dollar Savings Bank
16) Duquesne Incline
17) Erie Trust Company Building
18) Ewart Building
19) Experimental Mine, U.S. Bureau Of Mines
20) Fifth Avenue High School
21) Firstside Historic District
22) Frew, John, House
23) Frick Building and Annex
24) Hartley-Rose Belting Company Building
25) Kaufmann's Department Store Warehouse
26) Knoxville Junior High School
27) Liberty Bridge
28) Miller, James, House
29) Monongahela Incline
30) Morse, Samuel F. B., School
31) Neville House
32) Pittsburgh & Lake Erie Railroad Station
33) Prospect Junior High and Elementary School
34) Reymer Brothers Candy Factory
35) Smithfield Street Bridge
36) South Side High School
37) South Side Market Building
38) South Tenth Street Bridge
39) St. John the Baptist Ukranian Catholic Church
40) Stanley Theater and Clark Building
41) Union Trust Building
42) US Post Office and Courthouse--Pittsburgh
43) William Penn Hotel
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Aladdin's Eatery
2) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
3) Arby's
4) Arby's
5) Atria's Restaurant & Tavern
6) Au Bon Pain
7) Bado's Pizzeria & Delicatessen
8) Bain's Deli
9) Bamboo Bistro
10) Barbie's Best Pizza
11) Benihana
12) Bistro 19
13) Blue Horse Coffee
14) Boulevard Lounge
15) Bravo Cucina Italiana
16) Burger King
17) C C's Dog & Burger
18) Caffe Giovanni
19) Cain's-A Saloon
20) Carbonara Ristorante
21) Carhops Sub Shop
22) Caruso's Pizza
23) Castle Catering Svc
24) Castle Place
25) Castle Tavern Inc
26) Catering By Chrissie
27) Cedars Banquet Hall
28) Chi-Chi's Mexican Restaurant
29) China House
30) Cibrone Shannon Bar & Hotel
31) Cicerco's Italian Pizzeria
32) Cips
33) Colony
34) Cuckoo's Nest Cafe
35) Cupz A Latte
36) De Blasio's
37) Dor-Stop Restaurant
38) Duke's Station Ltd
39) Eat'n Park Restaurants
40) Eat'n Park Restaurants
41) Flamers Charbroiled Hamburgers
42) Franco's Trattoria
43) Getaway Cafe
44) Great Steak & Potato Co
45) Green Garden
46) Grill
47) Ground Round
48) Hong Kong Restaurant
49) Houlihan's
50) Houlihans Restaurant
51) Il Pizzaioli
52) Ivy Restaurant Inc
53) J B's Pizza Place
54) Jose & Tony's Mexican Food
55) Kfc
56) Kimberly Chez
57) Knossos Gyros & Sis-Kabob
58) Korner
59) Lil Reppi's Pizzeria
60) Linden Grove
61) Little Nipper's Pizza
62) Little Tokyo
63) Locantes Pizza & Pasta
64) London Grille
65) Lucky Chinese Express
66) Malone's Irish Pub
67) Mark Pi's China Gate
68) Max & Erma's
69) Mc Donald's
70) Mc Donald's
71) Mineo's Pizza House
72) Mm Mm Pizza
73) Moses Quality Market
74) Nic's Place
75) Nick's Pizza
76) Nicoles
77) Olive Garden
78) Original Pizza House Inc
79) Original Pizza Works
80) Panda Express
81) Panera Bread
82) Papa John's Pizza
83) Paradise Cafe Inc
84) Pasquarelli's
85) Pasta Too
86) Peppercorns Restaurant
87) Pietro's Pizza Pub
88) Pittsburgh Pizza Guyz
89) Pizza Co
90) Pizza Hut
91) Pizza Hut
92) Pizza Outlet
93) Potato Sack
94) Pub & Pizza
95) Quiznos Sub
96) Quiznos Sub
97) Rania's Catering
98) Red Lobster Restaurant
99) Roadrunner's Inc
100) Roxy Cafe
101) Ruby Tuesday
102) Sakkio Japan
103) Saloon Of Mt Lebanon Inc
104) Sbarro
105) Segneri's Pasta Grill
106) Sesame Inn Chinese Restaurant
107) Shea's Place
108) Sichuan House Chinese Rstrnt
109) Skidgy's Family Restaurant
110) Slapshots
111) Starbucks
112) Suburban Room
113) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
114) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
115) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
116) Sunnyfarms Deli
117) Taco Bell
118) Tai Pei Chinese Restaurant
119) Tamarind - Savoring India
120) Tgi Friday's
121) Tom's Diner
122) Tong's Chinese Restaurant
123) Trotter's Restaurant
124) Tsing Tao Chinese Restaurant
125) Vince's
126) Weiland's Cafe
127) Wendy's
128) Wendy's
129) Wendy's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Ok, so it's yet another Irish Pub..and a 'chain' at that. yah, yah,yah...& they claim to be an 'authentic' Irish pub...right here in the 'Burgh...oh surprise, surprise... But, you know, this one is pretty darned good. The food was YUM-MMMMMY and the beer selection was pretty darned good and it had a very nice, warm atmosphere. Sure, its a whole lot BIGGER than about 98% of the Pubs I have been to in Ireland...and I have been ALLLLLL over Ireland. This one isn't bad just coz its a chain. Hey, if you can't get over to Ireland anytime soon...this at least gives you a hint of being there and there's nothin' wrong with that. Its better than the (American-styled) "Wild West" Bars(lol..lol) that I saw in Ireland...they just crack me up!!! So,Give it a chance. The staff was very sweet and helpful and fast.. Nice kids work there. Go enjoy it... with a great Irish attitude! (its better than another friggin' TGIFridays or Applebees or generic what-the-hell-ever place..tsk!)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Kennedy Twp, PA
(08/18/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Lousy Lousy Lousy
Service was lackluster, food mediocre at best. Don't bother. Waste of time and money. Plus there is no parking.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review pittsburgh, PA
(08/16/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I will admit, everyone has comments on restaurants, and others have good and bad experiences. But the problems are never solved and the customers pleased if we do not have your suggestions. We have been doing improvements as we grow, and we try not to advertise ourselves as a chain, since all of our Molly brannigans are privately owned by the same owners. If you have any constructive criticism on things you think can make Molly's a better place for you to enjoy, please contact me @ khanlin@mollybrannigans.com. Feel free to check out our new website at www.mollybrannigans.com.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Katie Hanlin Katie Hanlin, ERIE, PA
(09/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Lousy Good
Stopped at Molly Brannigan's on a warm spring pre-dinner rush Friday.

A dozen or so 'working' folks at the bar, blue dress shirts open necked and varied states of rumpling. All the tables available for seating. Hostess sits us in the back room next to the kitchen. It's dark, cavernous hallway feeling nook, smelly from the kitchen. Next two tables get seated next to us. A "party" of thirteen and a senior couple with the grandkids. It sure would have been nice to have been seated out front with the open windows.

Out waitress, a bubblegum chomping teenie bopper with little experience and less helpfulness than she should have. I ask for a beer they have in bottle - according to a chalkboard behind the bar - Erdinger something or another a German Hefeweizen. I get a what's that? Maybe my way of saying it is off, so I say - beer. She says oh we have Budweiser, Coors, macro, macro, macro, Blue Moon. No mention of any beer worth drinking. I ask for a beer list and I get we don't have one. So I order a Coca-Cola.

Food order was a Vegetable Boxty - potato pancake with veggies in a dangerously stacked pile and their Vegetable Melt sandwich with soggy fries. The food was above average (except the fries) but still nothing I would go out of my way to have.

$30+tip.

Leaving I survey the crowd assembled at the bar - the white collar - blue shirt drinkers - plenty of macros being consumed with schmancy mixed drinks for the ladies.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pittsburgh, PA
(04/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I stopped by a few Fridays and this place was insanely overcrowded- I mean packed seating and three deep at the bar. It's a pretty big place and there had to be 200 people or more.

Good to see people supporting this place. Looks like the have a hit here.

I will be visiting Molly Brannigan's sometime soon and will provide a full review.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paris lundis paris lundis, Pittsburgh, PA
(10/24/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
To he (or she) who thinks there are too many Irish pubs... Molly's is as close as it gets. I've been to Ireland, and this place reminds me of some of my favorite haunts. The staff is friendly and familiar, the beer and beverage selection varied and worth sampling, the atmosphere genuine. It may be a chain, but it's a chain with heart!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pittsburgh, PA
(09/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
While I agree somewhat with what the previous reviewer says about over-saturation of the Irish pub, it's nice to go into a place and have more than Bud, Coors and Iron to pick from on tap. Yes, the traditional Irish pub is becoming more of a cliche than anything with real meaning. With all of these chains bringing over everything "authentic from Ireland" it makes me wonder if there's anything left in Ireland. I have visions of walking into a pub in Dublin and either seeing an empty room or one filled with Steeler paraphernalia with the bar keep proclaiming "It's all authentic stuff from Pittsburgh"! Anyway, the beer is your typical Irish selection on tap (which I said before you could do much worse with), the staff is friendly and the food is okay if not great. I wouldn't avoid the place if asked to go but I wouldn't run their either. Local places with a great selection (insert Chiodo's or Sharp Edge's name here) are what we need instead of big-box pubs. Support your local pub proprietor.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Lewis John Lewis, Pittsburgh, PA
(05/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Well hallelujah. Just what we needed: "the Irish pub reborn" as their website proclaims. And since actual Irish pubs in Ireland tend to be intimate gathering spots that serve rural communities (or serve specific neighborhoods within larger cities such as Dublin), what better way to "rebirth" the intimate Irish pub than in national chain form? Well, I've got news for ya, Brannigan (or whoever the hell else posted the advertisement thinly disguised as a review below): The Irish pub has been "reborn" a hundred thousand times across the country, and places like Claddagh, McFadden's, Houlihan's, Bennigan's and Fado have beaten you to the game of "rebirthing" it in chain form. Pat and Mike "Irish" pubs were already tiresome a decade or two ago. The market is oversaturated. Go home.

*Sigh* Pittsburghers who lament the death of places like Valhalla, Foundry Ale Works and Chiodo's can at least take solace in the fact that they now have an aptly-named Rock Bottom and yet another chain "Irish pub." Hooray for progress!

Sorry, I had to vent I'll STFU now.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Chicago, IL
(05/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Also, locations in Erie, Harrisburg. Coming soon in Mesa, AZ. and Las Vegas

A Irish pub and restaurant with a family-friendly atmosphere serving traditional Irish dishes, a variety of American menu selections, a dozen beers on draught and 20 varieties of Irish whiskey.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pittsburgh, PA
(04/22/2005)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.36 seconds) 22:48:27 54.227.17.116, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS