PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Egan and Sons - Montclair, NJ
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 31, 2014 @ 08:34 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NJ > Montclair > Egan and Sons
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: BrewPub
Egan and Sons
Overall: Great    Score: 76.7 / 100
118 Walnut Street
Montclair, NJ 07042
United States
(973) 744-1413
Listed Since: May 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Montclair, NJ
Beer Guide for New Jersey

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
13 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(7 within 5 miles)
1) Office Beer Bar and Grill
(0 mile)

2) Tierney's Tavern
(0 mile)

3) Gaffer's Pub
(3 miles)

4) Franklin Steak House and Tavern
(3 miles)

5) Terrazza's
(3 miles)

6) Cloverleaf Tavern
(4 miles)

7) Gaslight Brewery and Restaurant
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) K-Monie Beauty Supply
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COMFORT SUITES NEWARK
2) HOWARD JOHNSON CLIFTON
3) RESIDENCE INN WEST ORANGE
4) VILLAGER LODGE EAST ORANGE NJ
5) WILSHIRE GRAND HOTEL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Ahavas Sholom
2) Ambrose-Ward Mansion
3) Ampere Station
4) Anchorage, The
5) Ballantine, John, House
6) Bardsley, Joseph, House
7) Belleville Avenue Congregational Church
8) Bloomfield Station
9) Bradner`s Pharmacy
10) Brick Church Station
11) Caldwell Presbyterian Church Manse
12) Carnegie Library
13) Casa Deldra
14) Cathedral of the Sacred Heart
15) Central Avenue Commercial Historic District
16) Central Presbyterian Church
17) Chapman, J. M., House
18) Clark, William, House
19) Cliffside Hose Company No. 4
20) Congregational Church
21) Crane, Israel, House
22) East Orange Station
23) Eastward
24) Edison Storage Battery Company Building
25) Egbert Farm
26) Essex County Jail
27) Essex County Park Commission Administration Building
28) Fairfield Dutch Reformed Church
29) Fenn, Henry, House
30) First Baptist Peddie Memorial Church
31) First Methodist Episcopal Church
32) Free Public Library, Upper Montclair Branch
33) Goodwillie, Frank, House
34) Haskell`s Bloomfield Villa
35) Highland Hose No. 4
36) House at 147 Park Street
37) House at 18 Brunswick Road
38) House at 21 Stonebridge Road
39) House at 52 Wayside Place
40) House at 53 Lloyd Road
41) House at 67 Warren Place
42) House at 68 Eagle Rock Way
43) House at 7 South Mountain Terrace
44) House at 80 Lloyd Road
45) House at 97 Warren Place
46) House of Prayer Episcopal Church and Rectory
47) House that Lives, The
48) Indian and the Puritan
49) Jacobus House
50) James Street Commons Historic District Addendum
51) Kelly, Eugene V., Carriage House
52) Marsellis House
53) Miller, George A., House
54) Montclair Art Museum
55) Montclair Railroad Station
56) Mountain Avenue Station
57) Mountain Station
58) Mulford House
59) Mutual Benefit Life Insurance Company
60) Newark Broad Street Station
61) Newark Orphan Asylum
62) North Broad Street Historic District
63) North Reformed Church
64) Oakes Estate
65) Orange Free Public Library
66) Orange Station
67) Passaic Machine Works--Watts, Campbell & Company
68) Post Office Building, Upper Montclair
69) Protestant Foster Home
70) Reading, M. F., House
71) Red Gables
72) Reformed Dutch Church of Second River
73) Schultz, Charles S. House
74) Smith, S. C., House
75) South Orange Fire Department
76) South Orange Station
77) South Orange Village Hall
78) Speer, Reynier, House
79) St. Barnabas' Episcopal Church
80) St. Joseph's Roman Catholic Church Rectory and School
81) St. Lucy's Church
82) St. Luke`s Church
83) St. Mark's Episcopal Church
84) St. Patrick's Pro Cathedral
85) Stanley Theater
86) State Street Public School
87) Stone Eagles
88) Stone House by the Stone House Brook
89) Sydenham House
90) Upper Montclair Station
91) Van Ness House
92) Van Reyper-Bond House
93) Von Schmid House
94) Vreeland Homestead
95) Vreeland, John and Anna, House
96) Wars of America
97) Watchung Avenue Station
98) Wight, Allyn, House
99) Williams-Harrison House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 77 Walnut
2) Al Di La Ristorante & Caterers
3) Alan's Avenue Delicatessen
4) Amazon Cafe
5) Anna Capri Pizzeria
6) Aozora Japanese Restaurant
7) Arnold's Charbroiled LLC
8) Balalaika Restaurant
9) Balcony Restaurant
10) Bayberry Cafe Mountainside
11) Belgiovine Delicatessen
12) Beyond Pita
13) Blimpie Subs & Salads
14) Blimpie Subs & Salads
15) Bloomfield Avenue Cafe & Stage
16) Bloomfield Steak & Seafood
17) Blue Sky Cafe
18) Bluestone Coffee Co
19) Boathouse Restaurant-Verona
20) Burger King
21) Cafe 115
22) Cafe Eclectic
23) Campy's Corner
24) Cecere Restaurant
25) Charlie Brown's Steakhouse
26) Chef's Express
27) Chelsea Grill
28) Cheng's Garden
29) Cheryl's Kitchen
30) China Royal
31) China Taste
32) China Taste Restaurant
33) Church Street Cafe
34) Coffee Club
35) Cooking Co
36) Corso 98
37) Cozy Deli
38) Cozy End
39) Crockett's Fish Fry
40) Crown Fried Chicken
41) Crown Fried Chicken
42) D C Caribbean Restaurant
43) Dai-Kichi Japanese Restaurant
44) Daily Grind
45) Danny's Pizzeria
46) Dejavu Restaurant
47) Depot Square
48) Dim Sum
49) Dinners To Go
50) Diva Lounge
51) DLV Lounge
52) Dmetri's
53) Dolce Bistro
54) Domino's Pizza
55) Domino's Pizza
56) Due Amici Ristorante
57) Dwight's Doghouse
58) EDO2
59) Egan's Of Walnut Street
60) Eight Hills Caterers
61) Evergreen Restaurant
62) Famous Ray's Pizza
63) Feedbag Family Saloon
64) Fin & Feather
65) Finnamores Tavern Restaurant
66) Fish & Chips
67) Food King
68) Formia Ristorante
69) Frank Anthony's Deli
70) Frederick's Inn Inc
71) French Brasserie
72) Gaffers Pub
73) Gags Caribbean American
74) Giotta
75) Glenwood Diner
76) Godfathers
77) Golden Chinese Gourmet
78) Golden Harvest
79) Golden River
80) Great China
81) Greek Delights
82) Grove Delicatessen
83) Hunan House
84) Hunan Palace
85) Il Forno
86) Indigo Smoke
87) International House-Pancakes
88) Jefferson Cafe & Food Market
89) Jimmy Buff's
90) Joseph's Restaurant
91) Just Jake's
92) Just Sandwiches
93) Kfc
94) Kimiko Limited Inc
95) KWIK Shoppe
96) La Couronne Restaurant
97) Lake View Restaurant
98) Lakeside Delicatessen-Verona
99) Leo's Cafe
100) Leone's
101) Liberte
102) Lisboa Bbq
103) Long Hing Restaurant
104) Lotsa Pasta
105) Lucky Star Chinese Restaurant
106) Lucy's Diner
107) Madear's Southern Cuisine
108) Mai's Deli
109) Mango's Reggae Cafe
110) Manor
111) Mansion Caterers
112) Mardi Gras
113) Marzullo Brothers Delicatessen
114) Mc Donald's
115) Mc Donald's
116) Mesob Restaurant
117) Mexicali Rose
118) Midtown Diner
119) Miele's Italian Restaurant
120) Montclair Char-Broil Rstrnt
121) Mood Indigo
122) Mr Dino's Pizzeria
123) Mulberry Street Cafe
124) N J's Luncheonette
125) Natraj Palace Restaurant
126) Nevada Diner Restaurant
127) New China Restaurant
128) New Hunan Restaurant
129) New Jin Lin Chinese Restaurant
130) Office Beer Bar & Grill
131) Orbis Bistro
132) Osborne's Tap Room
133) Palazzo Restaurant
134) Parkside Pizzeria & Restaurant
135) Party Palate
136) Peking Chinese Restaurant
137) Pepper Source
138) Pilgrim Diner Restaurant
139) Rascals International Inc
140) Rascals Montclair Inc
141) Ray's Luncheonette
142) Raymond's Lunches Inc
143) Richfield Regency Caterers
144) Roberto Pizza
145) Roma Pizza & Subs
146) Royal India Cafe
147) Sakinah's Halaal Restaurant
148) Sandy's St Louis Style Bbq
149) Satish Palace Indian Restaurnt
150) Seven Hills Restaurant
151) Short Stop Diner
152) Smokey's American Bbq
153) Soda Pop Shop
154) South End New York Deli
155) South Park Bar & Grill
156) Starbucks
157) Starbucks Coffee Co
158) Stockpot Inc
159) Suburban Coffee Shoppe
160) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
161) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
162) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
163) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
164) Sun Mirror Inc
165) Sushi Hana Japanese Restaraunt
166) Sushi Nouveau Corp
167) Suzette
168) Sweet Potato & Pecan
169) Taj Palace
170) Taro Restaurant
171) Taste Of Asia Corp
172) TCBY
173) Thai Chef
174) Tina's Pizzaeria
175) Top Notch Restaurant
176) Toscana Restaurant
177) Trumpets
178) Tuptim Thai Cuisine
179) Twenty-Eight
180) Two Thousand Chinese Restaurnt
181) Udupi Village LLC
182) Verona Inn
183) Verona Pizzeria
184) Verona Pool Snack Bar
185) Villa Victoria Pizzeria
186) Vinnie's Parkview Pizzeria
187) Waddy's Coffee Shop
188) Wahchung Chinese Restaurant
189) Wendy's
190) West Orange Diner
191) Willie's Diner
192) Wing Fat Chinese Restaurant
193) Woods Dairyland Ice Cream
194) Zuchettes Pizzeria
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A Lousy
{BAD EXPERIENCE AT EAGANS} Just stopped in at Eagans on Walnut street in Montclair this past Saturday. I waived the bartender down 5 times. He acted like he did'nt even see me. I saw another employee behind the bar and got him to tap this guy, and he still ignored me. What does a guy have to do to get a beer!! I finally talked to this guy, and he said "I have nothing against you". I have my regulars that I wait on first????? with that being said. I could clearly see what was going on inside this guys head. I then said to him all I want is a drink! I told this guy he does not need to be a bartender if your going to act like your blind. As I left this place, still without a drink. Another employee told me "that guy is a racist"! Watch out for a white male with a bald head. This guy is a real clown. Stevie Wonder could have done a better job serving drinks! I've lived in Montclair for 40 years. This is really sad.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Montclair, NJ
(02/28/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
I beg to differ with Essex NJ about their Burgers. They are great burgers even though the meat is the same we serve at Tierney's for much less.

Happy to see a great place open up.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Tierney Bill Tierney, Montclair, NJ
(12/24/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This pub is FABULOUS! The ambiance is superb and welcoming. The staff are friendly and courteous. This pub is not for the lame ass frat-boy and for a reason. The cost is nothing compared to the quality. Egans is looking for mature, loyal patronage, not this quick cheap drink crowd who start bar brawls, hence the age 23 and over ONLY!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mae Mae, Montclair, NJ
(10/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good So So Good
Good overall but overpriced--i.e. a "handmade" burger for 9.00 plus each topping 2.00--you got to be kidding me.They even closed the kitchen early that night(9PM) I know this is Montclair but this place is not worth the money when there are better places with better food and the same beer for alot less.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Essex County, NJ
(10/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
The "home brewed" beer here is seemingly contract brewed for them although they were brewing from extract at one point and may still be. The quality of the beer is average across the board, the Czech Pils (despite the last reviewer) is actually pretty good (I lived in Bavaria for 2 years and know what good pils tastes like), maybe even a bit too hoppy. The pale ale is pretty good too, very middle of the road, not an IPA. There is certainly a decent selection of other drafts avilable but it would be nice to see them get a few more micros in place of the macros.

The best part about Egan's is the food and the building itself - they did a great job fixing the place up. I've eaten here twice - the Lamb and Guinness stew and the chicken pie, friends had Bangers and Mash and a Salmon special all were very good to great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Courtney Renegar Courtney Renegar, Netcong, NJ
(09/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Great Good
We went there tonight after reading all these reviews of the beer there. I've lived in two beer meccas in the past 3 years, Vermont and Colorado, and I was hoping for a good micro-brew in NJ too. I still have not found it. In fact, this brewery was really just not good in terms of their own beer.

They have four of their own beers on tap, and numerous others. We ordered a sampler and this is what I found.

They first have a Czec style pilsner, which you may have well ordered a bud light. They taste exactly the same. No complexity to the flavor, just that nasty everyday beer taste.

They next had a light ale, which was just lacking any flavor. It was a little heavier, but there was nothing to the taste. It was bland, no hops... just not worth it.

Next lightest is their IPA. Now, go to any brewery in VT or CO and order an IPA, and you will get an idea of the flavor. Even a Harpoon (Boston MA) or a Sierra Nevada (CA) will tell you what they should taste like. We drink this beer most frequently. There was no hop flavor. It was, as the other 2, bland, incomplex. Not worth drinking.

The darkest beer they had was a hefenwiezen. This beer actually had a complex flavor, the only problem, the over all flavor was just not good. You could taste the fruits and such in it, but it just came out in a bad flavor.

I am truly disappointed with this brewery. I highly suggest that anyone who believes that these beers are "awesome" try a beer readily available in a supermarket from such as Long Trail Unfiltered IPA (VT) or Boulder Beer Co.'s Hazed and Infuzed (CO).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Josh Josh, Morristown, NJ
(06/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! So So Great
My wife and I stopped last Thursday and were surprised at how crowded the place was. The hostes was very polite and the wait was not very long. We were both impressed with the beers, the only reason the beer did selection didn't get an Awesome was that they do only 4, but they do them very, very well. The food was excellent and there was plenty of it, the Maple wings are not to be missed. The waitress was the only down side to the whole place, she was marginally efficient enough, but after she blurted the specials out to us, she disappeared and there was another waitress who ended up taking care of our food and drinks. Then out of the blue,(although she was perfectly visible the entire evening), our waitress shows up at the end with the bill and was polite then, but it was too late. It seemed she was too concerned with the suits that dotted the place and not with our table anyway.

Overall, well worth the trip for beer and food, but the service (excuse me, our server) was not good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill McIntyre Bill McIntyre, Coxsackie, NY
(04/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
4 of their own beers on tap and they were better than I expected.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo.  Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(01/30/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
One of my favorite establishments, Egan & Sons features an extensive selection of various house, imported & domestic beers (not to mention just about any other beverage you can conjure & an impressive wine list), and is set as a beautiful, clean, bright traditional irish pub. The menu, although limited to Irish cuisine, is some of the best Irish cuisine i've ever had, and there is sufficient variety with genereous portions. The house beers do vary with the seasons, summer beers being lighter, and winter, darker. The establishment itself is something to see, from the marble counter running the length of the bar, to the taps frozen in ice, to the stills high above the snug, and the original artwork throughout.

The most inviting feature, however - and this is the feature that keeps me coming back again and again - is hands down, the staff. The wait and host staff are pleasant, and continually accomodating, and the bar staff is exceptional. The continually do their best to make you feel "at home."

An excellent spot for a few brews and some good food, or a "night out on the town" with friends.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Glen Ridge, NJ
(01/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good
I have gone to Egans several times...the food is good, but its a traditional Irish menu with things Shepard's Pie, Bangers/Mash, etc...aside from burgers, though, if you don't like Irish, you won't have much to choose from. The pub is located in a trendy area of Montclair and the inside of the establishment is really nice. The bar area, while thin, runs quite long, starting from the lower level bar/smoking/eating section to the upper level dining area. Regarding the beers...they have a nice selection of bottled beers, including Belgian styles. They carry 4 of their own beers on tap. These styles never change...never..pale ale, wheat, pilsner and lager. I am quite happy to have a local brewpub in my area, but it could be so much better if they changed up the selection now and then. How about a seaonal or something once in a while? Their own beers do appear to sell nicely, yet their multitude of taps include the likes of Coors, Miller, Guiness, etc...in the least, how about 1 or 2 microbrews added to that list? It doesn't seem lile Egan and Sons has interest in being another Bittings or Long Valley...which is disappointing, but it is still a nice, upscale location to meet or hangout for a few drinks.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Ed, Nutley, NJ
(12/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
nice atmosphere, quality microbrews made on premises, 5 of their own beers Lagers & Ales, but they could use a dark beer in their selection, the food is good including Irish Stews

they have other beer selections ranging from Blue Moon to Smithwicks as well as cheap beers like Coors Light

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Petersen John Petersen, Lincoln Park, NJ
(11/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Great
We stopped in late Saturday afternoon for a look and had a few beers. We did not eat because we had other plans. They had three of their own beers on tap as well as a pair of micros and large selection of Bud/Coors/Guiness/Smithwick's beers on tap. Everyone at the bar was drinking beer, even if it was only Coors Light. The staff was busy but polite. The kegs got mixed when a novice tried to replace a keg and we had a good laugh helping them identify the beers coming out of the taps.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Warren Warren, Livingston, NJ
(06/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good N/A

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bedford Bob Bedford, Linden, NJ
(05/03/2005)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.454 seconds) 08:34:20 54.198.42.105, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS