PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Angry Minnow Restaurant and Brewery - Hayward, WI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 23, 2014 @ 09:45 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > WI > Hayward > Angry Minnow Restaurant and Brewery
Angry Minnow Restaurant and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Angry Minnow Restaurant and Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 75.3 / 100
10440 Florida Avenue
Hayward, WI 54843
United States
(715) 934-3055
Listed Since: May 2005
Last Updated: February 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Hayward, WI
Beer Guide for Wisconsin

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Angry Minnow Restaurant and Brewery
16 Reviews / 6 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(3 within 5 miles)
1) Muskie Capital Brewery at the Old Hayward Eatery
(0 mile)

2) Famous Dave's
(0 mile)

3) Famous Dave's
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Spider Lake Lodge B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERICINN OF HAYWARD
2) BEST WESTERN NORTHERN PINE IN
3) COMFORT SUITES HAYWARD
4) HAYWARD INN AND SUITES
5) SUPER 8 HAYWARD WI
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) North Wisconsin Lumber Company Office
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Bottoms Up
2) Charlies Fine Food & Spirits
3) Country Side
4) Cruz'In
5) Dog Stop
6) Domino's Pizza
7) End Zone
8) Farmer's Inn
9) Good Knights
10) Granado Coffee Co
11) Great Lakes Indian Fish
12) Hutt
13) Lake Placid Lodge
14) LCO Athletic Club
15) Madeline's
16) Moccasin Bar
17) Mooselips Gallery
18) Old Hayward Eatery & Brew Pub
19) Outback Pub
20) Perkins Restaurant & Bakery
21) Phipps Tavern
22) Poppe's Outdoor Cooking
23) Sawmill Saloon
24) Snyder's Y Pine
25) Subhouse
26) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
27) Waynamo's
28) Wayside Inn
29) Wheel Inn
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So Good Good
I thought all of their beers sucked. I couldn't find one that I thought was true to style. But the pub itself is fantastic. Great atmosphere and the service and staff were good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from doug doug, wisconsin rapids, WI
(07/17/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Lousy So So So So
We ordered an Appetizer - Spinach and Artichoke dip - unfortunately the it was soupy - the waitress said it was a Puree, unfortunately it was cold, no texture, no artichoke, no flavor, .... and when we questioned the waitress she said it is what it is !That's the way we serve it.

Our opinion was if you keep serving it the way you want and not the what the customer prefers , you will continue to lose customers. We left several years ago for the same reasons and thougt we would give the Minnow another try - unfortunately nothing has changed - the waitress was curt and short - she didn't want our business - she seemed to say let's move on and not that the Minnow is an experience that you will remember and come back for another great experience.

With that being said, maybe see you in another 2 years -

Short ans sweet - the food was very marginal, the service was poor, i'd fire the waitress in a heart beat - we won't be back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Cook David Cook, Hayard, WI
(01/02/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great
When I visited the Angry Minnow this past April, (2009), I was a little concerned when I asked my waitperson about the Oatmeal Stout, and she advised she didn't drink dark beer. Hmmm... I ordered the Honey Wheat, and while a very, very good brew it was not what I would consider a true wheat beer. Tasted more like a well crafted light ale. Completely clear with a hint of hops that was a little unexpected. I could not distinguish any honey nor any yeast. A very good brew, but not representative.

I ordered the 'Nachos Chiflados' which consisted of tortilla chips, Asiago & mozzarella cheeses, jalapenos, tomatoes, scallions, olives, banana peppers and black beans. Perhaps OK for Midwesterners, but folks from the southwest will be disappointed. Still, the chips are crispy and light. I also enjoyed their Belgian with the chips. Luckily, the beer more than made up for the weird chips. Frankly, this is one of the best Belgians I have ever tasted. Extremely well done. Also served in the proper tulip glass. Color is excellent and the finish is perfect.

This is an upscale place and the prices reflect it. Highly recommended.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Hartzer Mark Hartzer, Naperville, IL
(11/23/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!
Excellent experience! Excellent beers! Very knowledgable and friendly staff. Free tour of the brewery was great. Highly reccommened!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Toronto, ON
(04/23/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Lousy So So
I live and work in the Hayward area. Going out to lunch or dinner is a common thing for me and my family and in a small town you're somewhat limited as to your choices. When the Angry Minnow opened with its unique look and menu (and no smoking!) I was truly excited. The only problem...the staff! My friends and I joke that they should call them the "Angry Waitresses". There are a couple of people there who make an effort to be nice and helpful, but in general the service has almost always lacked. There's one server who seems to have a lot of responsibility there, who can cool off your food with just one of her looks! And whatever you do, don't remind her that she forgot to bring you something that you ordered. You'll get it slammed down in front of you. There is a consistent attitude problem in this place and truly it is the only thing that keeps us from going there more often. So many of my friends skip this place because of the service!! The owners need to get a clue.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Judy Coleson Judy Coleson, Hayward, WI
(07/29/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Upon first entering this establishment, you find it warm and inviting. The decor, no TV's and no smoking make this brew pub truly unique. We were in to try the fish fry as it was recommended by the lodge we were staying at. We stopped at the bar to enjoy a beer before dinner. The beer selection was minimal, however what they did have was very good. Dissappointed that they were out of the pale ale at our time of visit. As we were seated at our table, it appeared that the resturant was in turmoil. Everyone seemed hesitant to stop and answer our questsions. When our waitress finally did come to the table, she seemed very disorganized and confused. She immediately told us she was new and that it was a very hard place to work. We ordered our fish. It was average at best. Our server forgot our salads and bread. When our fish finally did arrive it was luke warm. Had our waitress come back to check on things we could have let her know. We stopped by the bar on our way out to purchase a 6 pack. They were out and told us to go somewhere in town, pretty inconvenient. While we were at the bar, a young women came behind the bar and started talking about the waitresses and the customers. After further talk with the bartender, we found out they were the owners. It is my advice not to visit this establishment if you are going to laugh too loud or talk too loud, it upsets the owners. It appears that this establishment lives up to it's name "Angry". This is a great place to stop, but if you are looking for small town hospitality you will not find it here!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Minneapolis, MN
(06/05/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Lousy So So Good So So
The Angry Minnow is an o.k. place if you don't really expect anything exceptional. I visited during an afternoon in late June. The atmosphere is pretty boring despite the fact that it is a clean, nice looking place. But... not much personality. The wait staff and the bartender were all very nice and friendly but they all scurried about like they had more important things to do. I actually spoke with a waitress and asked her what was up and she told me that the management cracks the whip like a "task-master" (her actual words) so the staff usually walks around on egg shells hoping not to be yelled at by the owner. This could explain the strained mood during my visit. The food was o.k. but nothing really exceptional. Not bad, but not great either. The beer was actually better than average but the selection was lousy. I have never been to a brew pub with only 5 beers to choose from. Maybe I have different standards coming from a large city with many options to choose from. Hayward is a great place for it's variety of lakes and outdoor recreation but the food and beverage industry is really lacking.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review chicago, IL
(01/04/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Good Good
Nice counterbalance to its crosstown rival Muskie Capital. Whereas MC goes for the "lodge in the woods" ambiance, Angry Minnow goes for the "old-school small-town elegance" ambiance, and does it very very well. In terms of ambiance, this is one of the nicest brewpubs I've visited. Nice hardwood floors, tin ceilings about 12-feet up, wrought iron chandeliers, and huge windows and an open floor plan to give it a nice, airy feel. While it aims a bit upscale, it is not at all stuffy. It is as relaxed and inviting as the sleepy little town outside its windows (at least it was sleepy in late October with most of the tourists and weekenders gone).

Now, if only the beers lived up to the pretension. There was only one of the 5 on tap that did, namely the oatmeal stout with its rich and grainy, creamy, nutty, roasty flavor with bits of coffee and toffee. The River Pig was pretty solid with a good presence of citrus, hop bitterness and rich chewy malt sweetness, though the citrus could have been dialed down a tiny notch. The honey wheat and Oktoberfest were both pretty drinkable, while the skunky German pilsner was not.

I didn't try the food, having just ate before, but the menu items looked pretty interesting. I'd like to try eating here some time.

Service was adequate, mellow and low-key. It almost seemed like they didn't want to be there, but if that was the case, they were decent enough to keep their sentiments to themselves.

While I didn't think the beer was that great, the overall experience was quite enjoyable. Places like this make Wisconsin a special pubcrawl state. I hope to be back some day.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Chicago, IL
(11/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
VERY DIFFERENT, NO MUSIC,NO TV'S...NO STINKY ASHTRAYS..BECAUSE OF NO SMOKING...NO BEER SIGNS OF ANY KIND PLASTERED EVERYWHERE.PEOPLE WERE ACTUALLY TALKING TO EACH OTHER..ANF ENJOYING THEIR WONDERFUL BEER..RIVER PIG WAS MY FAVORITE..THIS ESTABLISMENT IS LIKE AN OLD 20'S SPEAK-EASY...ULTRA COOL!!!I LOVED IT

VIKINGRAY

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from VIKINGRAY VIKINGRAY, mosinee, WI
(08/16/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Great Great
Nice place. It was on the upscale side of the scale. Food was very good. Beer was good, but probably not going to win any gold medals. Old Hayward's beer is better.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dick Poynter Dick Poynter, Springfield, IL
(10/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Good
Tried the Oatmeal stout and Pilsner. I've had oatmeal stouts with more body than this one but I felt it was still true to style. The pilsner was nice and crisp, with a bit of hop bite at the finish. Took a look at the food menu and decided to go elsewhere. Not much for the kids. Well worth a stop, if you are in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Roth Tim Roth, Boscobel, WI
(08/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Good Good
Very nice decor. Good service (not busy when we were there). Did not like either of our entrees--pork tenderloin with black bean salsa was a poor flavor combination and the meat was tough. Roast duck was rare and flavorless. Didn't like the cumin in the chili. Nice salad. Waitress forgot our Scotch ale bread. Oatmeal ale was flavorful but not as full bodied as others I've had.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Hayward, WI
(03/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Birkebeiner day had this handsome old building mobbed with friendly XC skiers; nonetheless, bartenders were affable and prompt. We only ate soup - shrimp bisque was great, chili was alright. Beers, though, rocked. American Pale Ale had a huge floral hoppiness, and the Stout is as good a dry stout as I've ever tasted in a US brewpub. Fun day, fun place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Bie Rick Bie, Stevens Point, WI
(02/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
The scotch ale and nut brown were the best on tap but all were very good. It is in a great old building with a good atmosphere. I will be making the trip back soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brent Brent, Beaver Dam, WI
(05/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
They had six beers on tap, and three were very good, scotch ale, pale ale and an oatmeal stout. The latter two of these were outstanding and worth a trip out of your way. Food menu was limited but this place is still new. The food I got was very good though also. Evidently, the brewer use to work at Great Dane in Madison (his brother was the bartender and was very friendly and informative).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Josh Josh, college station, TX
(05/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Awesome! Great
Great beer in a nice historic building

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(05/07/2005)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.395 seconds) 09:45:39 54.197.130.16, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS