PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Crooked Rooster / Roosterfish Brewing - Watkins Glen, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 30, 2014 @ 08:21 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Watkins Glen > Crooked Rooster / Roosterfish Brewing
Crooked Rooster / Roosterfish Brewing Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Crooked Rooster / Roosterfish Brewing
Overall: Great    Score: 70.6 / 100
303 North Franklin Street
Watkins Glen, NY 14891
United States
(607) 535-9797
Listed Since: June 2005
Last Updated: March 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Watkins Glen, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
18 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Cherry Orchard Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Brick Tavern Stand
2) Chapman, A. F., House
3) First Baptist Church of Watkins Glen
4) Lee School
5) Schuyler County Courthouse Complex
6) US Post Office--Watkins Glen
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Arby's
2) Art & Nancy's Sub & Pizza Shop
3) Bleachers Sports Bar & Grill
4) Cascata Winery
5) Full Course Catering
6) Glen Dairy Bar
7) Glen Mountain Market
8) Grapevine Deli & Bakery
9) Great Escape
10) Mc Donald's
11) Mr Chicken
12) Townhouse Restaurant
13) Winner's Circle
14) Wright's Beverages
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great So So
It was recommended by a friend, wife and I stopped for lunch 10/27/10. Beer selection was good, wife has hefeweizen, I a pale ale and the hop warier imperial pale ale. All excellent beers priced good. Lunches were good bar lunches, priced reasonably. Had my growler filled with the hop warrior, quoted $16.00 bill came with another almost $10.00 charge to fill the growler not mentioned when asked growler price. Felt kind-or ripped off... doubt very much if we will do that again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Buz Bauman Buz Bauman, Brockport, NY
(10/28/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
It was a very hot day when we visited. The pub is open air in the front (air cond. would wave been nice that day). Anyway, the food was about average for a pub. Service was good - staff seemed knowledgable about the beers. Oh yeah... the beers... I read the previous reviews and I feel bad that some people had a bad experience. There was a full line up of great beers. Had the Coffee stout, Nut Brown, and the Amber. Couldn't do a full flight - wife and I were wine trailing all afternoon! Didn't find any flaws in the beers I had. All had great mouth feel and were great examples for their style profiles. I will return in future visits.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Bernville, PA
(06/22/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Good Awesome! Lousy So So
While visiting my brother on 10-10-09 we visited the brew pub. Overall it was a good experience, and the food was great. Unfortunately I did not get to sample any of their beers. Some of the staff seemed overwhelmed, specifically my waitress and the bartender. This caused for an extremely long wait on our food. This did not seem to be our servers fault, she had more tables than the waiter who was working alongside of her. One of which was a party of eleven. We ordered 6 samples to try and we canceled them after finishing our meals, due to still not receiving them. Again the bar was packed so you can't really blame the bartender. I didn't see any one who seemed to be management to support the staff at such an obviously busy time of day. I will say our server even while she was running around was very pleasant. I emailed them about this the day after and still have not received a reply.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Peter M. Mangan Peter M. Mangan, Buffalo, NY
(10/18/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Great Good Good
First experience here or with their beer on a recent trip. Same deal as the previous review--one beer on tap! Again it was the blonde and it was malty but a bit "off". Disappointing to be sure. Chicken fajita wrap was excellent and also a great value. Service here was spotty but pleasant. Will look for them at beer fests to see if they have more to offer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/13/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy Lousy So So Lousy
It was ashame to come to this place with high hopes only to find out there was 1 beer on tap. evidently the brewer left for a week or 2 and the fridge crapped out and they lost everything, how no one notices that, I can not picture. The one beer on tap was the blonde and it was so-so. The day we went in was filled with locals that did not seem to take kind to out of towners. The food was horrible, we ordered nachos and they were soggy. I left this place upset at how poor of a brewpub it was. You think they would post on the website their misfortunate incident but I felt mislead instead was not thrilled by that at all.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from thomas sup thomas sup, schnecksville, PA
(07/20/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A
I went to Roosterfish back in 2005--I think, not long after they began serving their own beer. My comment was, "I think this place will get better with age." Well, I haven't been to the place, but on 8/17/07 I had all three of their offerings at the Four City Brewfest in Rochester--all three were excellent. Of the three the only one I am certain of was the heffe--probably because I'm usually not too thrilled about wheat beer--theirs was excellent! I am looking forward to getting back to Watkins Glen and having their beer in more than 2 oz. samples!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, Hornell, NY
(08/19/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Great Good
There is potential to be better, neat little building, good atmosphere, very good food and service, biggest problem, NO BEER When I visited they were out of Hop Warrior, Dog Tooth PA, and the Mysterious, Not good planning, or their beers are really popular, I was able to try the Nut Brown Ale which had good flavor and was OK, and their Hefe which was way too sweet for my taste.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nate McDonald Nate McDonald, Harrisburg, PA
(08/18/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
I was just going through brewpubs we have visited and noticed that I had not put in our visits for the summer of 2006. Noticed that our visit occured right after the transition and agree with the later reviews as we had a nice visit, food was good and the beers were very good. Would go back again when we were in the area

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Cramer David Cramer, Boalsburg, PA
(08/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
Wonderful beer, all flavors. Food looked, smelled, tasted excellent (and that was before tasting several beers). And Live music!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Barrie Patrick Barrie, Ithaca, NY
(03/24/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Great
Roosterfish Brewing is very hard to find. It's right in the middle of a block, but blends in with the store fronts around it. There is not much of a sign out front. We were on a mission to find the place after reading about the Blackwalnut Brown Ale in the Brewing News. It was worth the search. The beer had a great flavor. The barmaid was very knowledgable about the beers and friendly too. We had lunch at the bar. The food was very high quality and fresh tasting. Very interesting sandwich combinations. We will stop in again when we are in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from sally sally, wheatfield, NY
(10/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Our first visit to this brewpub with 102F temperature outside--and we stumbled into the right place--the pale ale was great as was all of their beers--the "shebang" burger was tasty and big--overall our experience suggests that this will be a consistent stop on our trips to upstate NY

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from mike cerkovnik mike cerkovnik, balliwn, MO
(08/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Great
Rooster Fish Brewing is in the middle of a transition. The summer season will bring a new menu, enthusiastic brewpub staff, more Rooster Fish Brews on tap, the start of wholesale distributing, venturing out to Beer Festivals and competitions... race fans, wine lovers, hikers, bikers and more!

Rooster Fish Brewing plans to become a distinctive Finger Lakes Regional Brewery with excellent flavorful fresh craft ales!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JoAnn Kingsley JoAnn Kingsley, Watkins Glen, NY
(04/22/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
Recently went to Roosterfish for the first time and was very happy with my experience. The Butternut Pale Ale was fantastic. Had a sample of the three other available beers, but a second glass of the Butternut Pale Ale was too good to pass on. The atmosphere on the unseasonably warm day in Watkins Glen was fantastic. The windows were open, good music playing. While the bartender was not very knowledgeable, she was attentive and plesant. The brewer appeared to be giving an interested couple a tour. While I did not have any food, the plates that came out looked and smelled great. Will be sure to have food the next time. A great addition to the Finger Lakes/Souther Tier brewing scene.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Hansen Mark Hansen, Norristown, PA
(03/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Awesome! Great
I gather that some changes have been made since the last reviews. The new larger brewery is in place. We found the beers to be above average and the facility itself to be outstanding with a great backbar and tin ceilings.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo.  Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(02/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy Lousy So So So So
I visited the "Rooster" last month. My experience was very similar to the previous review. Avoid this place at all costs. Check out either Wagner Brewing, other side of Seneca Lake, or Market St. Brewing in Corning for some rewal beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Bronx, NY
(12/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good Lousy Lousy
What a horrible experience I had here. Wow! Not only is the beer nondescript and amateur at best, but the service and staff is shockingly repellent. A two hour wait for food, a bartender with the evil eye and a manager screaming at me does not a pleasent visit or review make. Avoid this place and their second restaurant The Wildflower Cafe next door, they share the same kitchen and same cook, like the plague.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Frontuto John Frontuto, Macedon, NY
(10/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Great So So
I think that this place will get better with age. Only two of their own on tap now: Butternut pale ale and Black Walnut Ale. The pale had a skunky flavor to it--it reminded me of some of my homebrew that didn't turn out. The Black Walnut was interesting. I couldn't quite figure out it it was a nut ale or a dark amber...it wasn't bad. I'll give them another try.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(07/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Great
Doug Thayer calls his brewing arm "Roosterfish Brewing," the bar is the Crooked Rooster. The bar itself is pretty neat, with a new-make backbar that is a wow. The beer's pretty good, and I expect it will get even better when he starts brewing on the 10 bbl. system he's currently putting in.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(06/01/2005)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.152 seconds) 20:21:59 54.205.225.18, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS