PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Hideout Brewing Company - Grand Rapids, MI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 21, 2014 @ 09:22 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MI > Grand Rapids > Hideout Brewing Company
Hideout Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Hideout Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 81.2 / 100
3113 Plaza Drive NE
Grand Rapids, MI 49525
United States
(616) 361-9658
Listed Since: September 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Grand Rapids, MI
Beer Guide for Michigan

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Hideout Brewing Company
18 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun 04:00PM - 80:0PM
Mon CLOSED
Tue 04:00PM - 01:00AM
Wed 04:00PM - 01:00AM
Thu 04:00PM - 01:00AM
Fri 04:00PM - 02:00AM
Sat 02:00PM - 02:00AM

alternatives
(7 within 5 miles)
1) Graydon's Crossing
(1 mile)

2) Bob's House of Brews aka B.O.B.'s House of Brews
(4 miles)

3) Founders Brewing Company
(4 miles)

4) Taps Sports Bar
(4 miles)

5) Logan's Alley
(4 miles)

6) HopCat
(4 miles)

7) Brewery Vivant
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Bed & Breakfast-Grand Rapids
2) Fountain Hill Bed & Breakfast
3) Madison Street Inn
4) Peaches Bed & Breakfast Ltd
5) Tobermory Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMWAY GRAND PLAZA
2) COURTYARD GRAND RPDS DTWN
3) DAYS INN GRAND RAPIDS DOWNTOWN
4) GRAND INN & CONFERENCE CENTER
5) RADISSON HOTEL GRAND RAPIDS N.
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Aldrich Building
2) Aldrich, Godfrey, and White Block
3) Berkey and Gay Furniture Company Factory
4) Blodgett, John W., Estate
5) Fine Arts Building
6) First (Park) Congregational Church
7) Ford, President Gerald R., Jr., Boyhood Home
8) Goodspeed Brothers Building
9) Grand Rapids Savings Bank Building
10) Ladies' Literary Club
11) Ledyard Block Historic District
12) Loraine Building
13) Medical Arts Building
14) Michigan Trust Company Building
15) Monroe Avenue Water Filtration Plant
16) Paddock, Augustus, House
17) Peck Block
18) Pike, Abram W., House
19) Sixth Street Bridge
20) St. Cecilia Society Building
21) Third Reformed Church
22) Turner House
23) U.S. Post Office
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Adobe In & Out
2) Anna's House
3) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
4) Arby's
5) Arby's
6) B C Pizza Of Belmont
7) Baker Catering
8) Baskin-Robbins
9) Beanabox Cafe
10) Beaner's Gourmet Coffee
11) Bill Knapp's Restaurant
12) Blimpie Subs & Salads
13) Blimpie Subs & Salads
14) Blimpie Subs & Salads
15) Blue Water Grill
16) Boone's Brew Inc
17) Bostons Gourmet Pizza & Sports
18) Breakfast Nook
19) Bud & Stanley's Restaurant
20) Buffalo Wild Wings Grill & Bar
21) Burger King
22) Burger King
23) Burger King
24) Burger King
25) Captain Lou's
26) Caramba
27) Catered Creations
28) Celebration Cinema's Wave Room
29) Charlies Bar & Grill
30) Cheers Good Time Saloons
31) Chef Brech Catering
32) Chicago's Deep Dish & Dogs
33) Chicago's Express
34) Chili's Grill & Bar
35) College Inn
36) Cousin's Catering
37) Cousins Tasty Chicken
38) Cream Cafe
39) De Wilde Catering Co
40) Denny's
41) Domino's Pizza
42) Donotas Pizza
43) Famous Dave's
44) Faro's Italian Pizza
45) Fast Wok
46) Fat Boy Burgers
47) Fish Net
48) Florentine Pizzeria Ristorante
49) Four J's Pizza
50) Fraternal Order Of Police
51) Fred's Pizza & Italian Rstrnt
52) Frenz Coffee House
53) Fricano's Riverside Pizzeria
54) Golden Dragon Restaurant
55) Golden Wok
56) Grand Inn & Conference Ctr
57) Hubba Pubba
58) Hubba Tubba Hot Tub Rentals
59) Hunan Chinese Restaurant
60) Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs
61) Ice Cream Junction
62) IHOP
63) Johnny Carino's Country Itln
64) Jukebox Joe's Diner & Ice Crm
65) Kfc
66) Kim Kim Restaurant
67) Little Caesars Pizza
68) Little Caesars Pizza
69) Long John Silver's
70) Mc Donald's
71) Mc Donald's
72) Miracle Lanes
73) Mylen LLC
74) Non Pub AAA
75) Nona Russos
76) North Park Cafe
77) O'Charley's
78) Oriental Forest
79) Panera Bread
80) Papa Romano's
81) Pete Brown's Office
82) Pita House Samis Gyro
83) Pizza Hut
84) Pizza Hut
85) Qasim Abughoush Restaurant
86) Qdoba Mexican Grill
87) Quiznos Sub
88) Quiznos Sub
89) Rolly Polly Rolled Sandwiches
90) Russ' Restaurant
91) Sanitary Sea Foods
92) Schlotzsky's Deli
93) Scoreboard
94) Smiths Snack Shack
95) Starbucks
96) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
97) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
98) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
99) Susie's
100) Taco Bell
101) Taco Bell
102) Taco Boy
103) Taste Of The Garden Cafe
104) Tcby
105) Thai Cuisine
106) Tom Nienhuis Catering
107) Too Talls Pizza & Tasty Treats
108) Urban Mill Bread & Coffee Co
109) Vinny's Bar
110) Vitale's Pizza
111) Vitale's Sports Bar & Grill
112) Wendy's
113) Wendy's
114) Your Way Catering
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great ? Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Most interesting of the brewpubs in town. Again the IPA's (Gamgster and Tender Situation) were not big, but they were true to style with more of an English hop character. The Cherry Stout was good,but the Cherry did not really come through. The hit was two versions of a Sour Cayenne Pepper Stout. The sour was more like a cider taste than a Belgian Yeast and balanced the Cayenne nicely. Obviously some inventive stuff here and a must stop. My #3 in town. Oh, and the Boch beer was very good also.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from MARK MARK, palm harbor, , FL
(09/30/2012)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Awesome! Awesome!
This was a pleasant surprise discovery in north Grand Rapids. Since my first visit, I stop in whenever I can - about 6 very enjoyable visits so far.

This fine, small and eccentric microbrewery resides i in a former hot tub establishment, signs of which are still visible. In good weather, you can pitch horseshoes in a former swimming pool and sit outdoors in what is surely one of the most unusual patios at any brewery. Inside is a small, well laid-out bar with seating along different sides that leads to good conversation with the friendly regulars and cheerful, knowledgeable bartenders.

The beer has been uniformly good. The Crusader's Weizen is good but it is not a true Bavarian weissbier. I recommend the two stouts (hazelnut my favorite) and Abbey Ale.

Note - You can see if from I-96 near Plainfield, but it is far from obvious how to get there - I suggest having a map or GPS handy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from RalfLott RalfLott, Saginaw, MI
(12/24/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
My wife and I stopped in when we were on that side of town. We found a small brewery hidden in a residential area. I had heard of it so I knew where to look. One of the brewers, Scott I think, showed me the brewery. Pretty cool all gravity fed manual operation. Anothe couple stopped in and it was there first time there as well but the place seemed to encourge talking. The beer was good, I had a Pale ale and an IPA, my wife had a wheat beer. I am not a taster so I will leave it at we enjoyed it. We will go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Joe, Grand Rapids, MI
(09/18/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
stopped in for a black lager and hey were out. Tried the nitro infused stout and was pleasantly surprised by how much I liked it. I'll return whenever in the area for more samplings

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Allen Burt Allen Burt, Ypsilanti, MI
(09/06/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Armed with better directions than I had last summer, I made my way to Hideout. I had very low expectations and was I ever off-base! All the beers I had were excellent; some among that best I had in quite a while. FDR's ESB was malty with nice body--very good ESB. Bootleg IPA used Amarillo hops and had lots of character to it. Smuggler's Hazelnut Stout (from my notes that day) "Wow! What a great blend of flavors". Had it on a regular and a nitro pour; surprisingly the regular pour was best, a better showcase for all that flavor. Dirty Faced Double IPA had a sweet alcohol finish with lotsa hops--a keeper. Best for me this trip was the Bourbon Bbl Imperial Stout. A great balance of the bourbon/wood/stout flavors. I'm glad my map reading improved, I would have hated to miss the Hideout. And I'll be back!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/30/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good So So
I visited this past January on a brewpub crawl in Grand Rapids. This was the most unique place of all the brew pubs in the area (we went to all of them). Finding the place is part of the adventure. I had a wheat beer that was probably the worst tasting beer I have ever tried, including my own efforts. The place was packed with folks so they obviously have some good beers, I just couldn't imagine trying another one after the wheat. I'll try again next year and hope for better results.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rich Rich, Grosse Pointe Farms, MI
(07/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
For a joint that used to be a 1980's era spa, they are brewing some pretty fantastic brews. Don't let the decor put you off. They have not done much to update the place. The entire place is kind of dingy and worn, but it has not affected the beer. Lucy's lager was a real stand-out, a dark lager with a great finish. They should fire up some of the old hot tubs. It would be cool to down some beers while soaking the bones.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Rob, romeoville, IL
(07/07/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
First visit since the Frog shut down. Beer is just as good, or better as the young lady pointed out as the Frog. All the beers were outstanding and it was an enjoyable stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Cedar Rapids, IA
(05/27/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
First visit since the Frog shut down. Beer is just as good, or better as the young lady pointed out as the Frog. All the beers were outstanding and it was an enjoyable stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Cedar Rapids, IA
(05/27/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
Love the hazelnut stout. Also, hat's off to this brewery for venturing into Mead and Wine. There's something for everyone here!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Belinda Belinda, Grand Rapids, MI
(10/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
They have wonderful beer- the hazelnut stout is the best! They have a good selection of munchies and you can order pizza from nearby places. Great atmoshere!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Muncie, IN
(10/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Good
This place was the Hair of the Frog Brewery the last time I was in Grand Rapids. I didn't really like the decor and architecture then, and I still don't.

But that's not what's important here, is it? It's all about the beer and the service. Both are good.

I had an IPA that was very nice. I can't remeber the name, but it was one of two on the list. Nice reddish amber, good bitterness and a nice balanced finish. I also tried a splash of the nitro'ed Hazelnut Stout, which was pretty good. The Pilsener was disappointing. Too malty with some off flavors, it just didn't have that clean, crisp character of the style.

This is a nice place for a quiet afternoon beer or two. They have simple pub snacks, quiet and friendly service, and generally good beer. I do recommend they update the website.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Victor Hoyt Victor Hoyt, Northampton, MA
(09/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
another west michigan beer and people place - they have club parties, but rare entertainment which is ok by me. Go there if you enjoy good beer and the people that make it. Unmentioned by other reviews is the varied selection of microbrewed wines on "tap" - they too are tasty

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Grand Rapids, MI
(09/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I tried the IPA, which I thought was excellent, and the Cement Shoe Stout, which was good but had a slightly off flavor that I couldn't identify. The brewer was the bartender on my visit, and he was very friendly. Overall, this is great place, but it's very small with a very basic decor. I'd say Hideout is a good name.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TJ TJ, Cincinnati, OH
(08/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Really must be a "hideout". Map with directions from their website incorrect according to locals. Opening time on Sunday posted as 100 on site, actually is 400. Directions given on their message tell you its "north of interstate", but doesn't say what exit. Oh well, it just gave me more time at Founder's. Thanks guys!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
During the GR golf show, my friends and myself went hiding ourselves. We enjoyed the hefe with accents of clove, vanilla and banana. The Hazelnut stout was the hit...like a cup of coffee. I finished the evening with the Purple Gang Pilsner. MMMM! Thanks for the good brews and good times.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pesci Pesci, Petoskey, MI
(02/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Great Great
A trip in October to GR was capped off by the Hideout. They had just had a party the night before and were short on brews. I tried the Purple Gang Pilsner. A good Czech pils, not my favorite style, but this was good. Also, had the hefeweizen. We took home a growler of the Pilsner for a party at home. Had a good time with the owner, a fellow Deadhead!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pesci Pesci, Petoskey, MI
(12/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chas Chas, Gaines TWP, MI
(07/08/2005)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.271 seconds) 21:22:26 54.161.236.92, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS