PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Dogfish Head Alehouse - Gaithersburg, MD
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 23, 2014 @ 09:46 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MD > Gaithersburg > Dogfish Head Alehouse
Dogfish Head Alehouse Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Dogfish Head Alehouse
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 80.4 / 100
800 West Diamond Avenue
Gaithersburg, MD 20878
United States
(301) 963-4847
Listed Since: September 2005
Last Updated: January 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Gaithersburg, MD
Beer Guide for Maryland

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
30 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(9 within 5 miles)
1) Guapo's
(0 mile)

2) Hard Times Cafe
(3 miles)

3) Growlers was Summit Station Restaurant and Brewery
(4 miles)

4) The End Zone Bar and Grill
(4 miles)

5) Hard Times Cafe
(4 miles)

6) Gordon Biersch Brewery and Restaraunt
(4 miles)

7) The Vyne American Bistro
(4 miles)

8) Baying Hound Aleworks
(4 miles)

9) Buffalo Wings and Beer
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Reynolds of Derwood B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COMFORT INN SHADY GROVE
2) COURTYARD ROCKVILLE
3) FAIRFIELD INN AND STES GERMAN
4) HILTON WASH. DC N/GAITHERSBURG
5) HOMESTEAD GAITHERSBURG
6) HOMESTEAD STUDIOS GERMANTOWN
7) MARRIOTT WASHINGTONIAN CENTER
8) OAKWOOD GAITHERSBURG
9) QUALITY SUITES SHADY GROVE
10) RED ROOF WASHINGTON DC ROCKVILL
11) SLEEP INN SHADY GROVE
12) SPRINGHILL SUITES GAITHERSBURG
13) STUDIOPLUS GAITHERSBURG
14) SUMMERFIELD SUITES GAITHERSBRG
15) TWNPL STES GAITHERSBURG
16) WOODFIN SUITES
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Beale, Edward, House
2) Belt, J. A., Building
3) Gaithersburg B & O Railroad Station and Freight Shed
4) Gaithersburg Latitude Observatory
5) Thomas and Company Cannery
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Aloha Inn Restaurant
2) Bagel Capitol
3) Baja Fresh Mexican Grill
4) Baskin-Robbins
5) BMI
6) Bombay Dhaba
7) Boston Market
8) Buca Di Beppo
9) Cantina D'italia
10) Carvel Ice Cream Bakery
11) Chicken-Out Rotisserie
12) Cone Zone Kentlands Market
13) Crash Bar & Grill
14) Dav Co
15) Denny's
16) Diamond Grille
17) Downstairs
18) Dragon
19) Dunkin Donuts
20) El Mexicano
21) Ernies Restaurant & Pub
22) Famous Dave's
23) Friendly's Restaurant
24) Fuddruckers
25) Giuseppi's Pizza Plus
26) Golden Dynasty Designs LLC
27) Good Fortune Cafe
28) Haku Ba Restaurant
29) Ho's Restaurant Inc
30) Hunan Pearl Chinese Restaurant
31) Hunters Inn
32) Il Castello Ristorante Italian
33) Jerry's Subs & Pizza
34) Le Palais
35) Little Caesars Pizza
36) Madras Palace
37) Mc Donald's
38) Mc Donald's Corp
39) Moby Dick House Of Kabab
40) Moe Dog & Deli
41) Noodles & Co
42) O'donnell's Seafood Restaurant
43) O'leary's Restaurant & Pub
44) Papa John's Pizza
45) Pastalicious
46) Peking Cheers Restaurant
47) Peperonata Pasta
48) Pho T
49) Pizza Hut
50) Pizza Hut
51) Potbelly Sandwich Works LLC
52) Potomac Pizza Kentlands Market
53) Quiznos Sub
54) Redrock Cafe
55) Roy Passin Inc
56) Rudy's Dawg House
57) Smokey Glen Farm Barbequers
58) Star Diner
59) Starbucks
60) Starbucks
61) Starbucks
62) Starbucks
63) Starbucks
64) Steak N Soul
65) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
66) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
67) Swensen's Ice Cream
68) Tabasco Grill
69) Tabouleh Met Cuisine
70) Taco Bar
71) Tandoori Nights Inc
72) Taste Of Hong Kong
73) Village Green Grill House
74) Washington China Post
75) Wendy's
76) Yoyogi Sushi
77) Ziki Japanese Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Lousy
The smell in the Restaurant is awful. Its not a one time deal been going for 3 months and they still have yet to fix it. It comes from the Mens and womens room. I am suprise it has not been closed by the health dept.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Jim, Rockville, MD
(09/13/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
I keep making the same mistake - I judge a regional brewery by its bottled beers. I have thought Dogfish has been overrated for some time, but today's visit was my first taste on draft and boy do I stand corrected. Not only was the beer much better than I expected, but so was the service. My sampler arrived faster than any sampler I have ever ordered. Ales only, just know that, and no stouts. Excellent beers however, I wish this place the best.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, Leesburg, VA
(06/11/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
What can I say that hasn't already been said? This place is heaven for any beer lover. With the demise of Summit Station into something posing as a brewery called Growlers, this place is THE place to go in DC area for awesome beers. Selection is great, servers (particularly the fantastic bartenders) are even better. Food, while not 5 star, is certainly a 4. Well worth every penney. Highly recommended!! One minor suggestion though...GET MORE TV'S IN THE BAR. There's room for at least two more!! Go DFH!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from debbie debbie, rockville, MD
(11/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Dogfish Head produces some of the most unique, complex, and delicious beers that are being brewed anywhere. I have been to the Alehouse many times and enjoy it immensely. The waiters and bartenders are friendly and knowledgeable without being overbearing. I have had appetizers, sandwiches, pizzas, burgers, and main entrees and found them all to be quite tasty. The beers are wonderful. They consistently have their Shelter Pale Ale, Raison d'Etre, Indian Brown Ale, and 60 and 90 minute IPAs on tap. Depending on when you go, a seasonal beer and several of their once or twice a year releases may be available as well. Their rarer beers, on draft or in bottles are fairly expensive, but they do not disappoint. I check their website to see what selections are currently available. The restaurant draws a diverse crowd; the bar area and patio are often filled with people in their 20's and 30's, but I have also seen many families and older couples enjoying themselves as well. This place is a must, and will be a delight for anyone who considers themselves a sophisticated beer drinker.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Hank Miller Hank Miller, Gaithersburg, MD
(01/09/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
For anyone that might take exception to the fact that this Ale House doesn't brew beers... get over yourselves... This wonderful establishment never advertised itself as a brewpub... its just a great place to go to enjoy DFH brews. The beers here are very fresh and the people pouring the beers are even fresher... Im currently in Rockville working for Lockheed Martin and anytime I head to a new town for work I do a little research to discover who is brewing and where they are located... the Ale House came up on my search and I have been waiting for a chance to drink some fresh DFH beers. So last Friday evening I decided to visit. it was easy to find along West Diamond and isnt TOO far from my hotel. It was a Friday and it was rather crowded but I found a spot at the bar (my favorite place don't cha know) and I eventually flagged down a very busy bartender. I asked for the hoppiest of their beers and was quickly gotten a 60 Minute IPA... and it was EXCELLENT. Strong hops but not over the top. In my opinion the best of the lot... Next I asked for a takeout menu and was confronted by a very pretty bartender witha smile that could make the Pope blush... I asked for a recommendation and without hesitation and with tinges of a wonderful Minnesota accent she told me to try the Black & Tan (the 90 Minute IPA mixed with the Chicory Stout). Also very good... The two brew compliment each other expertly and harmoniously. My to-go food came out (the Bacon & Cheddar Burger) and I knew I should soon be leaving. The B&T went down pretty quickly and the bartender with the excellent smile and Minnesota voice came back to ask if I wanted anything else. I asked her her name, which was Amanda... for one reason or another the song "Willie McBride" popped into my head and I realized that I was going to stay for one more beer. Amanda suggested that I try the John Rawton which she described ad a "very hoppy pilsner". Well the place was getting pretty busy and I think the other bartender grabbed my beer and served it so Amanda drew me another and said it was on her... I didn't make any jokes and I graciously accepted the beer... and it was worth the little wait. A very bright beer the color of hay but with an in-your-face hoppiness that will be truly appreciated by the hopheads out there. After the beer I said my goodbyes and I headed out with a brief glance at the t-shirts... I knew I would be back and I would get me one... and I would have another beer or two... Not a brewpub but DEFINATELY worth a visit or five.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Hansell Todd Hansell, Roslyn, PA
(10/10/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
never can go wrong with DFH Ive known Same since he started. Great guy, great beer, great staff, cant wait to go again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beertrekker Beertrekker, Ellicott City(Baltimore), MD
(08/15/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This place was terrific. We'd been meaning to try it, since we love their beer that we buy in local liquer stores. We went in the afternoon with our kids and a relative from out-of-town. The food was amazing. Everyone at the table enjoyed what they ordered. It was clean, nicely decorated, customer friendly, with lots of seating without feeling crowded. The waitress was friendly and attentive. We started with their beer sampler to try some of the regular brews, and it really gave us a chance to decide which ones to buy in the store in the future.

We will definately go there again! Mabie on a date night to catch their live music. Mabie in the winter then their "Fort", an 18% raspberry beer comes out. (I can't wait!)

their address is www.dogfish.com

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kate Kate, Gaithersburg, MD
(07/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great
9 taps running when I visited. 120 Minute was the champ this stop (and will probably retire undefeated). Not many things in life compare to a great big whiff of 120 fresh off the tap. Well, except for the first taste. Chateau Jiahu wasn't my cup of tea, but probably has a certain appeal. The place was packed and I was told it has been so since opening. Servers really on their game when I was there, keeping the masses satisfied. Cooler with lots of special "vintage" bottles for the uber-fan. Will definitly be back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(11/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Great Great Great Great
I am a Summit Station goofball and, although I am happy to be home, I wanted to say that I loved Dogfish. The beer is great...the Shelter being one of my favorites. The staff is great...Dana was fantastic. And the food was awsome...the best crab dip I've had in a long time. I met some wonderful people there and hope to be back every now and then for a visit. CHEERS!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from joe joe, rockville, MD
(08/22/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
All is right with with the world. Summit goofballs back where they belong. God love em.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review gaithersburg, MD
(08/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
My pet peeve about some brew pubs and beer bars are the waitstaffs lack of knowledge about their own product,not here. The beer here was as I expected and the food was great. It was a great birthday dinner. I wish we had an alehouse like this back here in RI. I'll just have to be satisfied with what I can get at the package store.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul&Kathy Kurtz Paul&Kathy Kurtz, Coventry, RI
(07/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
I am an uprooted Summit Stationer and I made my first visit to DFH just recently. I think this place is great. The staff was great and the beer was even better. I may just remain a DFH patron...hope that doesn't ruffle anyone's feathers....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from joe joe, germantown, MD
(06/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Beware of wandering, uprooted Summit Stationer's overwhelming the place until their nest if re-feathered.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review gaithersburg, MD
(06/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
Stopped by on a quiet Saturday afternoon following the demise of Summit Station. Of course, what can one say about DF? Just that they produce some of the best beer on the East Coast. DF Alehouse-Gaithersburg is located right off I270 (convenient for you drunk drivers) in a building that has been home to several restaurants, Diamond Grill and Pat & Mike's come to mind. The interior is rather modern and roomy with a seperate section for dining. The bar is somewhat roomy with one end overlooking a small patio. There is a second floor that I did not visit. Although they do not actually brew on-premises, they offer a very diverse selection of delicious brews: a lightly hopped Shelter Pale Ale (5 abv/25 IBU) a dark and richly malted Indian Brown Ale (this one is served a tad cold, so you may need to let it sit a while), a chicory stout and the incomparable 60-Minute IPA (6abv/60 IBU), the latter is dry-hopped and comes with a pleasant grapefruit-like bite. Easy to drink, hard to turn away from....

DF Gaithersburg has 9 current taps, with several seasonals. They also have a very pricey listing of vintage beers - such as an Imperial Pilsner, for starters. The menu looked rather intriguing, though their burgers are huge. All in all, a very welcoming addition to the Washington DC area bar scene. Cheers!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jerry Boesen Jerry Boesen, Gaithersburg, MD
(05/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great So So Lousy Good
Happened in on a not so busy weekend day. Unfortunately, we had an unreasonable wait for our food as well as the drinks. Selection and taste of the brew was as good or better than we had expected. Food was decent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from timmy timmy, glenn dale, MD
(05/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Good Great
I had planned to drive all the way to Rehobeth and went to the Dogfish Head web site. I was pleased to find that a branch existed in Gaithersburg, near where I was working. While some minor points of the other reviews are true, the Dogfish Head ales are delicious and the servers know their product. Furthermore, the servers were flexible about letting me share some of my 18% or 23% vintage World Wide Stout with three others at the bar. Good beer is more important than atmosphere or gourmet food. I found the food prices to be good, the rib-eye steak to be a bit tough, and the half-price Monday hamburger to be a great deal.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bob, Honolulu, HI
(04/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Awesome! Great
Pretty Darn Good. We went by on a Friday night first and it was too packed. Came back Sat. afternoon and it was very good. Great service. Good beer selection. The food I tried was so-so but adequate, didn't really come for the food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Silver Spring, MD
(03/27/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
The Dogfish Head Alehouse, with its excellent beer selection,top-shelf service and high quality product, goes a long way to solidify the Dogfish Head Brewery's standing as the premiere purveyor of ales on the east coast. Featuring such draft mainstays as 60 Minute IPA, Rasion D'etre, and Indian Brown Ale, this establishment has something for everyone (even Miller Lite drinkers can settle down with a pint of Dogfish's own Lawnmower Light.) In an area saturated by the strip mall chain usual suspects, it's nice to know you can find a locale to enjoy a pint of something truly special. If the standard selection of ales does not intrigue you, the seasonal draft lines shine with such favorites as 120 Minute IPA, Raison D'extra and Midas Touch. In addition, the extremely knowledgable and genial barstaff go out of thier way to make you feel welcome and inform you of upcoming events and brews. Sure, the place itself looks as if it may have been an Applebees in a previous incarnation, but if that does not prove the theory of evolution I don't know what does. Definitely worth a visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kirk Struble Kirk Struble, New York, NY
(02/22/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Dude, your are so wrong. We have been going there since it opened and Dayna is great. Maybe you hit on her and and that's when she gave you an attitude. She's engaged you butt-hole. Or maybe your just real cheap?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David David, Werner, MD
(02/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
its a chain, get over it. I dont like them anymore than the next guy, but hey, they've got great beer and good food at good prices during happpy hour. generally food at brew pubs is lousy(with the exception of the DC Chophouse) but i was pleased with my pizza as were my other guest with their pizzas,food, ect. we got off light and the waiter even had the patience to bring a few of my cheap friends separate checks while still smiling. On another occasion, while at the bar, i was given a sample of 120minute upon request. very friendly staff. I'll be back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Curran Greg Curran, Frederick, MD
(01/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Lousy So So So So
Go for the beer... ONLY. The food is mediocre and poorly served. One dish was too spicy for a friend to even eat. Another friend couldn't eat the burger bun because it was burnt. On another occaision my Reuben was soggy and my wifes pizza was a bit raw in the middle. The fries are good, though.

Only go for happy hour; otherwise you are being ripped off on food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tony Tony, Washington Grove, MD
(01/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Lousy Good Good
We’ve been there three times now and have been very disappointed with the food. Would be nice to have a few more beers with lower alcohol too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Washington Grove, MD
(01/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So So So So So
Went here because I'm a fan of the 60 minute IPA, but the place was over all a bust. It's in a prototypical suburban location, in front of an OUtback steakhouse right off an interstate exit, and the decor and layout of the place lacks charm. It completely feels like it used to be some other chain restuarant in a past life. The food was not particularly good. The beer selection was rather uniteresting - not what I was expecting at all. The most disappointing aspect though was that they would not provide a free sample of a beer. Even, after we had built up a considerable check. They said they only provide a sampler of all of their beers for a fee, or none at all. This is the first time a brewpub has refused to provide even one sample of their beer at no charge.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from harry harry, philly, PA
(12/25/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
dogfish wants to have extortianate pricing is that nice, avoid them and get some stone or avery for half the price, theirs beers r overated,what a bunch of hype, this brewpub is a joke along with the overpriced mediocre beers

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from mike mike, vegas, NV
(12/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good So So Great
Barmaids need serious attitude adjustments. One in particular(Dana?) seems more concerned about tip than service. Should move into an area other than service industry. Otherwise, nice place to drink and socialize.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from beer prowler beer prowler, gaithersburg, MD
(12/22/2005)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.326 seconds) 21:46:51 54.90.127.10, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS