PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Tyler's Taproom and Restaurant - Durham, NC
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 22, 2014 @ 02:46 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NC > Durham > Tyler's Taproom and Restaurant
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: Beer Bar
Tyler's Taproom and Restaurant
Overall: Great    Score: 71.7 / 100
324 Blackwell Street
Suite 400
Durham, NC 27701
United States
(919) 433-0345
Listed Since: October 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Durham, NC
Beer Guide for North Carolina

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
6 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun 12:00PM - 10:00PM
Mon 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Tue 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Wed 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Thu 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Fri 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Sat 11:00AM - 11:00PM

alternatives
(9 within 5 miles)
1) James Joyce Irish Pub
(0 mile)

2) Down Under Pub
(0 mile)

3) Mellow Mushroom
(0 mile)

4) Triangle Brewing Company
(0 mile)

5) Bull City Burger and Brewery
(0 mile)

6) Fullsteam Brewery
(0 mile)

7) Armadillo Grill Taproom
(1 mile)

8) Varsity Ale House
(4 miles)

9) Carolina Ale House
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Blooming Garden Inn B & B
2) Carol's Garden Inn
3) Greystone Conference Ctr
4) Morehead Manor Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST VALUE CAROLINA DUKE INN DU
2) DAYS INN DURHAM
3) DUKE TOWER RESIDENTIAL SUITES
4) FAIRFIELD INN DURHAM
5) HAMPTON INN DURHAM
6) HILTON DURHAM
7) HOLIDAY INN RALEIGH-DURHAM A/P
8) HOWARD JOHNSON DURHAM
9) MILLENNIUM HOTEL DURHAM
10) OAKWOOD DURHAM
11) RED ROOF DURHAM DUKE UNIVERSITY
12) SUPER 8 DURHAM UNIVERSITY AREA
13) WASHINGTON DUKE INN AND GOLF C
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bassett House
2) Blacknall, Richard D., House
3) Bull Durham Tobacco Factory
4) Bullington Warehouse
5) City Garage Yard and Fire Drill Tower
6) Clark and Sorrell Garage
7) Cranford-Wannamaker House
8) Crowell House
9) Duke Memorial United Methodist Church
10) Durham Hosiery Mill
11) Durham Hosiery Mills No. 2--Service Printing Company Building
12) Emmanuel AME Church
13) Ephphatha Church
14) Golden Belt Historic District (Boundary Increase)
15) Greystone
16) Mangum, Bartlett, House
17) North Carolina Mutual Life Insurance Company Building
18) O'Brien, William Thomas, House
19) Pegram House
20) Powe House
21) Scarborough House
22) Smith Warehouse
23) St. Joseph's African Methodist Episcopal Church
24) Venable Tobacco Company Warehouse
25) Watts and Yuille Warehouses
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 9th Street Bakery Catering
2) A Wandering Feast Caterers
3) Allmytea Inc
4) American Hero Restaurant Inc
5) Andrews Grill
6) Anotherthyme Restaurant & Bar
7) Arby's
8) Atlantic Supreme Fish Inc
9) Banh's Cuisine
10) Barney's Coffee & Tea
11) Baskin-Robbins
12) Big Hubb's Restaurant
13) Biscuit King
14) Biscuitville Inc
15) Blue Coffee Co
16) Blue Corn Cafe
17) Blue Mountain Catering
18) Blue Nile Ethiopian Cuisine
19) Bollo Loco
20) Boston Market
21) Boxer's Ringside
22) Bread & Kabob
23) Bugtussle Saloon
24) Bull City Subs
25) Bull City Wings
26) Bully's Cheeseburgers
27) Burger King
28) Cafe Zen Asian Bistro & Sushi
29) Cajun Cafe & Grill
30) Cannon-Reid Seafood Market
31) Centre View Terrace
32) Chamas Brazilian Steakhouse
33) Charles Dunham Food Svc
34) Chick-Fil-A
35) Chopstix Chinese Restaurant
36) City Of Durham Parks
37) Classic Seafood
38) Coleman's
39) Cosmic Cantina
40) Crabtree Corner
41) Da Spot
42) Devines Restaurant & Sports
43) Dog House
44) Dog House
45) Dog House
46) Don's Dog's
47) Dragon Express
48) Dragon Gate
49) El Rodeo Mexican Restaurant
50) Elmo's Diner
51) Erwin Square Cafe
52) Fish N Chips
53) Fishmonger's Seafood Market
54) Forty Eight Hours
55) Francesca's Dessert Caffe
56) George's Garage
57) Giorgios Hospitality Mgmt Grp
58) Golden Pizza & Subs
59) Grand Central Pizza
60) Granny's Take Out
61) Green's Grill
62) Handi Mart
63) Hardee's
64) Hong Kong Buffet
65) I Love New York Pizza
66) International Delights
67) J D's Place
68) Jack's Express
69) Jerk Pit Cafe
70) Jersey Mike's Submarines
71) Jimmy Johns Worlds Greatest
72) Kfc
73) Kfc
74) Kim-Son Vietnamese Restaurant
75) Kings Sandwich Shop
76) L & D Grocery & Grill
77) La Fondita
78) Lailusion
79) Lee's Place
80) Leo's Seafood Of Durham
81) Magnolia Grill
82) Market Place Restaurant
83) Mc Donald's
84) Mc Donald's
85) Mi Pegueno Honduras
86) Mr Barbecue 'n Stuff
87) Nana's Restaurant
88) Nikos Taverna
89) Papa John's Pizza
90) Parizade
91) Pizza Hut
92) Pizza Hut
93) Pizza Palace Of Durham Inc
94) Pop's
95) Que 2000
96) Rainbow Chinese Restaurant
97) Rosa's Cafe
98) Rosa's Soul Food Cafe
99) Ruby Tuesday Restaurant
100) Satisfaction Restaurant & Bar
101) Savory Fare Inc
102) Sbarro
103) Shooters II Inc
104) Soul Good Juice Cafe
105) Steak Escape
106) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
107) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
108) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
109) Symposium
110) Symposium Cafe
111) Talk Of The Town Restaurant
112) Tanqueria Mi Pueblo
113) Taqueria El Chilango
114) Taqueria La Sultana
115) Taqueria Mexicana La Villita
116) Taste Of Africa
117) Thyme Table
118) Tokyo Express Inc
119) Tootie's Grill
120) Top's China
121) Top's China
122) Torero's
123) Tosca Ristorante Italiano
124) Tosca Wine Bar
125) Trin-B'Ago
126) Tripps Restaurant
127) Uptown Seafood Restaurant
128) Visions
129) Wang's Garden
130) Wendy's
131) West End Seafood & Chicken
132) West Main St Deli
133) Yamato Japanese Seafood-Steak
134) Your Fish & Chips
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A So So So So Lousy So So
Nice atmosphere, In One word, "Trendy", it's the Old American Tobacco campus turned restaurant. The quick review: Overpriced, small portions, fair/poor service. Nice Atmosphere. The Service is OK, not great. I recently went and took my teenage kids, It took us over 1-1/2 hours to eat. Took about 30 minutes just to get the check and the place was about 1/3 capacity of people. The food is tasty but SMALL PORTIONS AND HIGH PRICES. If I spend $9.00 + dollars for a chicken sandwich or a burger, I better get a big portion and a pile of fries, not a small burger and half a handfull of fries. For my two kids and me, (for lunch) it was almost $45.00 ? Here in Durham, I have done this plenty of times at either Mexican, Asian, American cuisine places and it is around $35.00 and good portions.

I would pass on this place unless you are going to just sample a good beer, ( and only one or two, Just Beer ). You can bank on this review.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Durham, NC
(06/16/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A Lousy
I would not recommend eating or working at Tyler's Taproom. Recently a manager was fired for not reporting to work on his one and only DAY OFF. He frequently worked 50 and 60+ work weeks over 10, 11, and sometimes 12 days straight and they paid him NEXT TO NOTHING. In fact, all of his hours added up might get him about $4.00 an hour. When he didn't answer his phone because he was enjoying his day off, he returned to work where he was fired on the spot.

Basically these people deserve what they get and I hope it's bankruptcy!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michelle Michelle, Raleigh, NC
(07/26/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Good Lousy So So
When I called in an order for pick up, the cashier gave me the wrong order. When I opened the order at my office, I called to let her know that it was not the correct order. She said that I had picked up the wrong order, like it was my fault that I picked up the bag that she placed in front of me on the bar as I was paying for it. When I opened my correct order, the portions of food were tiny. There was sauce from the food all over the food containers and inside the bag. The food tasted good, even though there was not enough of it, and the service was lousy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Amy Amy, Durham, NC
(09/19/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Oh my. The bar has again been raised - considerably. The Center of the Beer Universe has again moved - to Durham NC. Hands down. No contest. No close second.

A week later I’m still pinching myself – was that place for real? Was I really there? I kept looking for Kevin Costner to ask him, “Is this Heaven?” When they finally invent the “dream machine” I’m going to program it night after night with me sitting at the bar at Tyler’s. Where do I start . . .?

60-some odd taps and as another reviewer said, “No A-B”. As you approach the bar you are warmly welcomed and cordially handed a thick leather-bound “book” listing all of their beers sorted by style (and correctly so I should add). As I (slowly) perused the extensive list, I noticed what was going on around me as other folks were being served. All (and I mean ALL) of the beers being poured were being served in the correct glass. Not only the correct style of glass, but the glass from the actual brewery, of the proper shape and size, and with the brewery logo on it. Oh boy – a challenge!

I love a good red ale so I started with the Mad River Jamaica Red Ale (CA). Sure enough, the correct glass. Oooooh – Ommegang Three Philosopher’s on tap! Correct glass again (I won’t even get that in Albany which is just up the street from the brewery). Lindemans Framboise Lambic. Yes again (OK – easy one that time). Terrapin Rye Pale Ale. Yup. Dubuisson Scaldis Noel. Uh huh. Gaffel Kolsch. You bet. Same with the Bell’s Two-Hearted IPA and Hopslam Ale. Unfortunately they were out of the Dogfish Head Burton Baton (well, it did say “limited release”)!

Tyler’s is in the same complex as the Mellow Mushroom and a delightful walk past the waterfalls in the courtyard from the other end. Barman Nick was the consummate gentleman and knew his beers. Small talk with most barkeep's is like being relegated to a lifetime of drinking Coors Light. Nick sets the new standard for those that think pouring a “perfect” Guinness into a free glass the distributor gave you makes you eligible for the Nobel Prize. I can’t leave out gorgeous Leigh but she spent most of her time working the other end of the bar (my loss but no slight to Nick).

I have no idea about the food but if it were road kill it would not prevent an “Awesome” rating. Anyone wanting to open up a classy beer bar better stop at Tyler’s first and see how it’s supposed to be done. I hate to even call this a bar. It’s beer “Nirvana”.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(02/27/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
I agree with the previous review in that this is a very nice place to have a (lot of) beer. Staff pretty knowledgable and helpful, got to try Foothills and Duck Rabbit Baltic Porters, both very good. Cherish Kriek was excellent, a real find. Food is pricey, but good. Beer savvy clientele when I was there, a bonus. Near the new baseball stadium (not the one where the World Beer Festival is held). A great new venue for Durham.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(01/02/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Having visited the original Tyler's in Carrboro on several occasions I was looking forward to a visit at the new Durham location. I was not disappointed. Located in a huge former tobacco plant, the giant dining room and bar area are cavernous with a second bar in the back. There are 100 taps divided between the two bars but 40 offerings are duplicated making for 60 selections. These were outstanding and included such delicacies as Chimay, Maredsous, and Ommegong along with many regionals and imports. I grinned when a customer ordered a Bud Light and the bartender replied "we don't serve any A-B products." A beer lovers paradise. Food was excellent though I thought it a bit overpriced for the portions served. Service was efficient, polite, and friendly though it was a very busy Friday evening. Quality and variety-wise they probably have the best beer selection in NC and some pretty good wines as well. Worth a trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Stoffan Mark Stoffan, Asheville, NC
(10/07/2005)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.321 seconds) 14:46:09 54.83.234.98, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS