PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


American Flatbread Taproom was Burlington Hearth - Burlington, VT
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 19, 2014 @ 04:35 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > VT > Burlington > American Flatbread Taproom was Burlington Hearth
American Flatbread Taproom was Burlington Hearth Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
American Flatbread Taproom was Burlington Hearth
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 86.2 / 100
115 Saint Paul Street
Burlington, VT 05401
United States
(802) 861-2999
Listed Since: October 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Burlington, VT
Beer Guide for Vermont

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
13 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(11 within 5 miles)
1) Vermont Pub and Brewery
(0 mile)

2) Switchback Brewing Company
(0 mile)

3) What Ale's You
(0 mile)

4) Church Street Tavern
(0 mile)

5) Nectar's
(0 mile)

6) Reuben James Restaurant and Brewery
(0 mile)

7) Three Needs Taproom
(0 mile)

8) Rasputin's
(0 mile)

9) Ri Ra Irish Pub and Restaurant
(0 mile)

10) Magic Hat Brewing Company
(4 miles)

11) Tavern On The Rocks / Lighthouse Restaurant
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Burlington Redstone B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BW WINDJAMMER INN AND CONFEREN
2) CLARION HOTEL AND CONF CTR
3) COMFORT INN SOUTH BURLINGTON
4) DAYS INN BURLINGTON COLCHESTER
5) FAIRFIELD INN BURLINGTON
6) HAMPTON INN BURLINGTON
7) HAWTHORN BURLINGTON
8) HJ HOTEL BURLINGTON SOUTH
9) MAINSTAY STS SOUTH BURLINGTON
10) SHERATON BURLINGTON HTL CONF
11) SMART SUITES
12) SUPER 8 BURLINGTON SOUTH VT
13) TRAVELODGE SHELBURNE
14) UNIVERSITY INN & SUITES
15) WYNDHAM BURLINGTON
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Burlington Montgomery Ward Building
2) Carnegie Building of the Fletcher Free Library
3) Champlain School
4) Chittenden County Courthouse
5) Ethan Allen Engine company No. 4
6) First Baptist Church
7) Follett House
8) GENERAL BUTLER (shipwreck)
9) Grassemount
10) Head of Church Street Historic District
11) Howard Mortuary Chapel
12) Kelsey, Martin L., House
13) Methodist Episcopal Church of Winooski
14) Moquin's Bakery
15) O.J. WALKER (shipwreck)
16) Old Ohavi Zedex Synagogue
17) Old Stone House
18) Robinson, Daniel Webster, House
19) Saltus Grocery Store
20) U.S. Post Office and Customhouse
21) Wells, Edward, House
22) Wells-Jackson Carriage House Complex
23) Winooski Block
24) Winterbotham Estate
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 135 Pearl
2) A Single Pebble
3) Ahli Baba's Kabob Shop
4) Akes' Place
5) Alley-Cats
6) Bangkok Bistro
7) Big Daddy's Pizza
8) Bosana Restaurant & Cafe
9) Bourbon Street Grill
10) Bove's Restaurant
11) Breakwaters
12) Burlington Bay Market & Cafe
13) Burlington Beverage Ctr
14) Cafe Piccolo
15) Camel's Hump Catering
16) Cannon's
17) Carbur's Restaurant
18) Caribbean Buffet
19) Chickenbone Cafe
20) Chopstick House II
21) Church Street Tavern
22) Coyotes Tex-Mex Cafe
23) Daily News
24) Daily Planet
25) Dairy Queen
26) David's City Deli
27) Dino's Pizza & Family Rstrnt
28) Dino's Pizza & Italian Rstrnt
29) Dobra Tea
30) Dockside Restaurant
31) Domino's Pizza
32) Empire Express
33) Esox
34) Finnigan's Pub
35) Five Spice Cafe
36) Four Corners Of The Earth
37) Four Star Delivery Express
38) Golden Dragon Restaurant
39) Golden Star Restaurant
40) Greenstreet's Restaurant
41) Halvorson's Upstreet Cafe
42) Handy's Lunch
43) Harvest Cafe
44) Hectors Mexican Cafe
45) Henry Street Deli Mart
46) Henry's Diner
47) Hunan Chinese Restaurant
48) Ice House Restaurant & Bar
49) Iron Wolf
50) Isabel's On The Waterfront
51) J P's Pub Inc
52) Jimbo's Subs Wings & Things
53) Kahiki Moon
54) Kampus Kitchens
55) Ken's Pizza
56) Klinger's Bread Co
57) Kountry Kart Deli
58) L'Amante
59) Leonardo's Pizza
60) Leonardo's Pizza
61) Leunig's Bistro
62) Lilydale Bakery-Cafe
63) Ling's Chinese Deli Inc
64) Liquid Energy Cafe
65) Mad Hatter
66) Mandy's Catering
67) Manhattan Pizza
68) Mc Donald's
69) Metronome
70) Ming's Restaurant
71) Mona's Ristorante
72) Mr Mike's
73) Muddy Waters
74) Neci Commons
75) Nectar Rorris Restaurant
76) New England Culinary Institute
77) New England Wings
78) New World Tortilla
79) North End Express Deili
80) Number One Chinese Restaurant
81) Oak Street Deli & Mini-Mart
82) Oasis Diner Inc
83) Olde Northender Pub
84) Opaline
85) Other Place
86) Pacific Rim
87) Paradise Burritos
88) Parima Restaurant
89) Pearl Street Beverage
90) Penny Cluse Cafe
91) Pizza Hut
92) Pomodoros
93) Pub
94) Quiznos Sub
95) Radio Bean Coffeehouse
96) Radio Deli & Grocery
97) Rasputin's
98) Ray's Seafood Market
99) Red Onion Restaurant
100) Red Square Bar & Grill
101) Restaurant Marketing Svc
102) Ri Ra The Irish Pub
103) Riversedge Coffee Shop & Grill
104) Riverside Beverages
105) Robert's Deli
106) Roques Restaurante & Cantina
107) Ruben James Restaurant
108) Rusty Scuffer
109) Sage Coach
110) Sai-Gon Cafe & Lounge
111) Sakura Japanese Restaurant
112) Saldon Management Corp
113) Scrumptious
114) Seasonings Catering & Cake
115) Shalimar Of India
116) Shanty On The Shore
117) Signal To Noise
118) Smokejacks
119) Southern Soul
120) Souza's
121) Speeder & Earl's Coffee
122) Speeder & Earls
123) Splash At The Boathouse
124) Spring Discount Beverage
125) St Pierre Catering Svc
126) Starbucks
127) Starbucks
128) Stone Soup
129) Sugarsnap
130) Sweet Tomatoes Trattoria
131) Sweetwaters
132) T Rugg's Tavern
133) Taste Of Burlington
134) Ten Mothers American Bistro
135) Three Needs
136) Tommy's Grill
137) Top Of The Block
138) Trattoria Delia
139) Valencia
140) Vermont Pub & Brewery
141) Vermont Sandwich Co
142) Waggy's Store & Deli
143) Waterfront Catering Group
144) What Ale's You
145) Wyndham Burlington Hotel
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I didn't go tponight with the intention of reviewing the place again so have no particular tasting notes.

The beer lineup has almost completely changed since my last review.

The (not very) low point was the doppelbock. I'm spoiled by Celebrator which thisw one isn't. Having said that, it is in style and is a good beer.

Nobody makes ordinary bitter nor mild beers? This place does and they are very good. They call them "session beers", which they are, being low enough in alcohol to keep sipping for hours without much ill effect.

The wit and saison beers were also excellent.

My choice for quaffing with my flatbread was the gruit ale. (Ale from the days beforer hops were used so the bittering was done with other herbs.) It is a beautifully soft and malty beer. Very tasty and it went well with my sausage, mushroom, caramelized onion, and fresh tomato flatbread.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BruPilgrim (Ralph S Sturgen) BruPilgrim (Ralph S Sturgen), Easthampton, MA
(04/30/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Having never been to the Burlington outpost of American Flatbread during my many visits to the area I did not know what to expect in regards to the quality of the brews. Well, I sure was surprised. Even during a busy Sunday brunch of constructing what looked to be fine bloody marys (next time!) the bartender, Chad, went out of his way to let us sample every "Zero Gravity" house beer on the impressive menu. The Centennial Wheat IPA, an unfiltered hopped-up American Wheat Ale, was a standout among a great cast. It is obvious that the brewer here does not shy away from experimentation and even the Belgian styles could hold there own against many more commercially available products. Along with the house brews, Flatbread serves eight or so guest draft beers (Allagash, McNeill's, Unibroue)and seventy bottles (Jolly Pumpkin, Rochefort, et al.) We we definitely be back when time (the Vermont Brewery Challenge does not rest) permits. Top-notch operation.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kirk Struble Kirk Struble, New York, NY
(02/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I was at Flatbreads a little while back, thought I'd post my review...:

I have always been somewhat apprehensive of "organic food", not because it doesn't taste good, but rather because of the "fad factor" and of the higher prices associated with it.

Well I was extremely pleased with the quality of the food, the taste, and the prices that were very in-line with the rest of Burlington.

The Flatbread I had (New Vermont Sausage I believe?) was outstanding. The crust was perfect, the toppings were generous but not overloaded. Excellent flavors.

The selection of beers was excellent too, and the quality was downright amazing. I thought their Rauchbier was a little bit under-smoked, but since I'm partial to Schlenkerla, I really can't compare the two without a bias. The IPA was excellent as well.

All in all, a MUST DO/MUST EAT/MUST DRINK for Burlington!

Kudos to the team!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J.P. J.P., Columbia, SC
(11/26/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Drop this place in any other city and 12 other restaurants will go out of business! This is a world-class pub and restaurant that can stand up there next to ANY of them.

We invaded this place on a busy Saturday night and they never flinched. 80 bottles of beer, 40 wines, and 5 house brews. And the best pizza on the planet. Uh, yea. Forget NY City. Take a seat.

Young Sara knew we were short on time and ran interference with the kitchen. I barely got through my first TLA India Pale Ale when our pizza arrived. Their small was the size of other's large! And I finally found a place that isn't afraid to actually COOK a pizza and not send some soggy sloppy doughy excuse of a pizza out.

The IPA was so good I stuck with it so I'm sorry I can't review the other brews (but I'll be back soon to try). Anybody out there looking to open a place? You better come here first and see how it's done. And done right.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(10/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I MUST HAVE DIED AND GONE TO HEAVEN! VERMONT..ESPECIALLY BURLINGTON IS A MUST STOP FOR ANY BREW PUB FAN. ONLY PROBLEM WITH THIS JOINT....TOO CROWDED TO MAKE A RETURN VISIT ON A SUNDAY NIGHT!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JIMBO JIMBO, SPRINGFIELD, OH
(08/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
This place is a must stop when in Burlington. Run by one of the former brewers at Colorado Brew Pub in Danbury, CT it has been in existence for three years now and keeps getting better everytime I go.

A large selection of local VT brews as well as a full lineup of their own Zero Gravity brews. I definitely recommend the Oatmeal Stout and Belgium Double.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Bowman Michael Bowman, Cold Spring , NY
(07/24/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
Visited this place last week. Tried a brown, ESB, wheat IPA, schwarz, and dry stout. All were of good quality. wheat IPA (called Conehead) was super. Dry, bitter finish with strong hop flavors. Tasted similar to Southern Tier Hop Sun. Bar tender was very personable and knowledgeable. They had a very good selection of other local and non-local beers on tap. They also had a beer engine serving a local IPA. I was told that the beer on the hand pull does change frequently.

During a second visit we got chummy with the bartender and he offered a sample of IPA that had just been transfered out of fermentation. Still cloudy and carbonated only by the remnents of fermentation. About as close to "real ale" as you can get. Man was it tasty !!! Awesome malt backbone and a long hop finish. I could take up resisdence in this place.

Warning, only open during lunch then closes again until 5pm for dinner. Both times I was there the dinner crowd was large. BTW- the flat bread pizzas are very tasty.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Weaver Mike Weaver, Batavia, NY
(08/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Stopped in before heading off to the Brewer's Festival. The place was packed, but I was fortunate to plop down to enjoy a few tastes. ESB was great, just the way I like it; not too much malt, not too much hops. Barman recommended and gave a few tastes of other VT brews; was especially impressed with the cask IPA from Shed. Had more from Flatbread at the fest and those were equally good. IPA nice and hoppy while the Gruit was fruity and refreshing. Will stop by for sure on my next trip to enjoy the full lineup.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This place is a 1st class establishment. The night we went they were doing a Tribute featuring beers from the soon to be defunct Heavyweight Brewing. We had a couple of those and some of their own offering, A Summer Gruit(way too smooth since it has no hops) and a great Belgian Style White. Our bartender Jake was top shelf (he usually works on fridays). Their flatbread pizzas are creative and the perfect food for beer. Keep up the good work.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jobob Jobob, Hinesburg, VT
(06/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
I've heard about the flatbread pizzas at this place and had been wanting to try it, but the main reason I went was when I heard about the beer selection. Let me tell you, I was not dissapointed. If you're in Burlington and want great beer and an amazing selection, pass right by the Pub and Brewery and stop by this place.

The beer menu contained 8-10 home made brews on tap, along with another 10 or so microbrew beers mostly from around New England. Impressive drafts from Maine, and New Hampshire were along with some of the local Vt. microbrews. They even had my favorite draft beer - Anchor Steam. I first ordered the house brown ale - very nice....then has the IPA and really enjoyed it. I would highly recommend the IPA to anyone who loves hoppy brews.

There also was a HUGE variety of bottled beers!

I really enjoyed this place, and can't wait to go back and work my way down the beer selection........and also, the Pizza was pretty good too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Buckless Greg Buckless, Colchester, VT
(05/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
The Burlington brewpub scene just got, happily, more complicated for the serious craft-brew drinker. American Flatbread's newest restaurant has a brewery, too. It's even handy, being just a few doors away from Greg Noonan's Vermont Pub and Brewery.

Last evening they had 5 of their own beers on tap from a golden, sweet Summer Bock and the biscuity, hoppy Paul's Pils through the TLA IPA (nice hop aroma but underbittered for an IPA - more of a gentle American pale ale)and Extra Stout (a slightly sweet version of a foreign extra stout).

The star of the lineup was Villier's ESB - a very English ESP with the emphasis on the malt and alcohol. It was, in many ways, reminiscent of an old ale, tending to some oxidative flavors such as licorice and dark fruit.

The food is flatbread (pizza to us plebians) baked in a wood-fired French Canadian (low-profile) version of the beehive oven. I had the New Vermont Sausage version (sweet Italian sausage and lots of mushrooms). They have about 10 varieties listed but say that they will make any combination you request.

The beer menu continues with a dozen taps (half Vermont, half from "away"), 3 pumps for the cask-conditioned ales, and about 20 listed bottles.

The decor is comfortable: brick walls, tin ceiling, hardwood floors, long mahogany bar...........

In all, a respectable addition to an already great beer town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BruPilgrim (Ralph S Sturgen) BruPilgrim (Ralph S Sturgen), Easthampton, MA
(07/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Once you have Flatbread all other pizza is just dough and cheese...these pies are masterpieces!

Opened in the summer of 2004 and began brewing their own beer this year. Has a large selection of regional and national micros as well as five or six creations of co-owner and brewmaster Paul Sayler.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Bowman Michael Bowman, Cold Spring, NY
(07/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from gene gene, bloomsburg, PA
(06/14/2005)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.297 seconds) 04:35:08 54.82.1.136, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS