PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Mountain State Brewing Company - Thomas, WV
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 28, 2014 @ 07:39 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > WV > Thomas > Mountain State Brewing Company
Mountain State Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Mountain State Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 82.2 / 100
Post Office Box 391
Thomas, WV 26292
United States
(304) 463-4500
Listed Since: January 2006
Last Updated: January 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Thomas, WV
Beer Guide for West Virginia

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
29 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) The Purple Fiddle Coffee, Brews and Stage
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Hill House Bed & Breakfast
2) Meyer House Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Cottrill Opera House
2) Fairfax Stone Site
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Blue Ridge Restaurant
2) Mount Top Market
3) Purple Fiddle
4) River Front Cafe
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
The "Seneca Indian Pale Ale" is one of the best IPAs I have ever had the pleasure to drink. It's an excellent example of what an IPA should taste like.

The "Cold Trail Ale" is not an ale. It is a wheat beer. As far as wheat beers go, this is one of the best. I did a taste test with "Cold Trail Ale" and "Blue Moon," and the two were virtually indistinguishable. The Blue Moon had a tad smoother finish, and the Cold Trail was a tad heartier. If you like wheat beer, this is the beer for you! My only problem with this beer is the name, as it should be marketed as a wheat beer. According to the website, the beer "includes a healthy dose of wheat."

The "Almost Heaven Amber Ale" is an excellent good amber ale.

The food at this place is incredible! Best food in Garrett County!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Harriw Joe Harriw, Madison, WI
(12/23/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Lousy Lousy
I went to this place to hear music and was very very dissappointed in the ability of the staff to control the one or two overly loud and generally f'd up drunks in the crowd (in fact, they didn't even try).

I guess at least one of the owners were friends with a few "visitors" from Virginia and didn't really care if they screamed at the bands, shook their ass at the audience, and generally ruined the whole show. Might I mentioned that this was a very well respected bluegrass band and a lot of local people had paid 25 bucks a ticket to see them. It was just really a shame - a bit of dancing is fine, but straight up heckling the band is just ugly.

So...I guess I would say that Mountain State is like a garage full of frat boys and cheap beer - fine if that's what you want, but I wouldn't go here expecting a "nice" time. They have a lot of growing up to do before they know how to run a bar.

So...if you want to hear music go to the Purple Fiddle or El Gran Sabor in Elkins.

But, let's get to the important part. The beer. It's okay. I think they probably have the ability to make really good beer, but cheapen it down to make it affordable. It's probably a smart move business-wise, but don't expect to drink anything and go "wow". It's kind of like good beer with too much water in it. I've tried all the styles over the years and the stout is definitely the best and worth the 3 dollars you pay for it (and not a penny more).

One other note - Everytime I drink this beer, I have a raging headache the next day (I think it has something to do with their carbonation methods). I've heard this from 4 or 5 other people - so have plenty of water after.

So...all in all, this place will do well only because it is where it is. The dc kids come here to "get wild" and the locals don't have any other place to go. But, rest assured that it would honestly never make it in an area that expects good beer and good service.

It's too bad really, because it could have real potential.

Reviewed on: 10-26-2010 23:05:45

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Elkins, WV
(10/26/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great
My bf and I went there on a weekday night for dinner. We sat outside and were able to enjoy the beautiful view of the mountainside and farms. We started off splitting a summer salad and the beer sampler. I ended up with going with the IPA and he went with the Amber. We also split a small hawaiian flatbread pizza. The beer was really good. The salad was excellent. The pizza was good enough - i think we would have liked a different flavor better. the crust was really good. Would highly recommend this place for anyone that loves beer or pizza. During out dinner, we also saw deer in the sunflower fields and we even had 2 "cowboys" ride up on their mules from the field and stay long enough for two Pale Ales. It was pretty awesome and super relaxing.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Springfield, VA
(09/08/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
My wife and I have been to the Deep Creek restaurant five or six times now. Stopped by today for a late lunch on our way home from Bridgeport, WV to Berkeley Springs, WV. We always sit at the bar, and today Alison was at the helm...excellent bartender and server. She made us feel like family. We got the cheese plate and then ordered a Mushroom Medly pizza and my wife had a huge salad. Randy made the pizza, and I have to say it is about the best pizza I have ever had. We enjoyed a couple of IPAs, a truly great beer and a perfect match with the cheese and the pizza. Just an outstanding place, great beer, awesome pizza, tremendous service. We can't wait to back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David White David White, Berkeley Springs, WV
(08/29/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Lousy So So
I want to preface this complaint by saying that I am a very easy-going person that rarely if ever complains. And I travel extensively with my job and have eaten at a lot of bars and restaurants all over the US. And I will have to say my experience at Mountain State Brewing was the worst, ever.

I used to love this place when I went here for beer at the bar when visiting Deep Creek. I took my family there last week for some lunch, and a beer or two for myself to listen to some Celtic music.

The hostess looked confused and overwhelmed even though it was far from busy...during what I would imagine is a busy time of year. She sat the six of us and must not have told the wait staff about us being seated. The wait staff thought we sat ourselves and proceeded to ignore me, my wife and four kids. I even motioned to three of the waitresses running by that we haven't been helped, and they still ignored us until I told the hostess that ten to fifteen minutes have passed and nobody even welcomed us. The waitress did her best to recover after ignoring my family for fifteen minutes. She knew I was pissed.

The beer was good. However, the pizza came out cold and the chicken Cesar salad seemed to be nothing more than a bagged salad and some type of pre-made chicken breast. The kid’s meals were no better.

The waitress was running around like crazy filling drinks while the bartenders chatted with each other and did nothing to help the other staff members…poor service attitude.

I complained numerous times to the waitress about the service and the food, and not once did she get the manager to our table. You would think the manager would want to come to our table to tell me they were sorry and would work on improving-nope. I received a 30% discount on the crappy "flat bread" from the manager...never once visited our table. (The manager should be fired for running such a poorly trained staff.)

I will miss their beer when I visit Deep Creek again in the fall.

I hope that they will either go out of business or get some new management that cares about good service and food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Baltimore, MD
(07/18/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
I'm from Belgium, THE beer country :) and I can say only this: I Looooove the Almost heaven amber ale!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from youri ardenoy youri ardenoy, Stasegem, WV
(05/14/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Best beer I've ever had, Evan is an awesome bartender. Grab yourself a "growler", you won't be dissapointed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eli Eli, Winfield, WEST VIRGINIA
(02/16/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great
Outstanding Beer , very nice venue both the Thomas and the Oakland pub's. Wish they had a bit more cost friendly food menu to sit and drink a few beers as the food is a bit pricey. All and all a great experience each time I have been there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Berkeley Springs, WV
(01/22/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
No complaints about this place, excellent IPA and one of the best brick oven pizzas I have ever had. I wish they were next to a hotel so I could enjoy more of the great beer and relaxing atmosphere. This is a family venue in the afternoons, but I bet it is very cool at night.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David White David White, Berkeley Springs, WV
(09/16/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Okay, this is one of those hidden microbrews that if you ever get the chance to stop, do so. A few things you need to know. First, they are mainly a microbrewery, but do have a small pub. The pub is only open Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings, BUT... And this is what made this place really great.

If you drive by any other day, and you see a car or two parked outside, STOP! This is what I did in hopes of just to get a quick tour and got so much more. One of the owners, Willy or Willie, was there as well as their brewmaster, Mike. 2 nicer people you will never meet. Not only did I get a tour, I was invited in to the pub to see it, and was offered a taste of all 4 beers they had on tap. All 4 were fantastic, you could tell this is a place that has people working at that care about what they are doing and take great pride in what they are doing.

My 2 favorites were their Amber, and for the first time, I had an IPA that I actually really like. Dare I saw, loved. Most IPA's are so hopped up, but this was the perfect IPA.

For those that enjoy a lighter beer, they had one for you too. They have a beer for anyone and is a place I highly recommend anyone seeking out great beer to stop and try. There are 2 microbreweries in the area, don't even bother with the other one, Mountain State Brewering Co IS the place in WV for great beer, to meet good people and just have a great microbrew experience.

Stop by any time you are in the area, or if like me, make that special trip to visit them. You won't regret it.

Willy and Mike, keep up the great work and thanks for the most enjoyable time, and beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bill, Columbia, SC
(08/27/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Stopped by tonight and had a great time. Food, beer and band all were awesome!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Oakland, MD
(08/01/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
Stopped in yesterday while on a 'ferroequinology' (railroad history) tour - 'ferro'=iron & equine=horse = iron horse - a little Latin test. A two-person operation and so much fun visiting with them - they are expanding - building an addition on the brewery as I was there and getting new equipment. Also, actually got to impart some railroad history - one of the two lives in Dryfork, WV and has a building on her property that was an old railroad station - she didn't know what railroad it was - told her it was the Central West Virginia and Southern Railroad, an old logging railroad. They also have a pub attached to the brewery - wasn't open when I was there - I didn't care - was only interested in the beer - very friendly. Colin Harding, Fairfax Station, VA

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from colin harding colin harding, fairfax station, VA
(06/20/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
We enjoyed three beers from this brewery while at Snowshoe, WV. All three were excellent, but Cold Trail Ale was my favorite - very smooth and slightly sweet. The Miner's Daughter Oatmeal Stout was also very good (which is impressive, since I don't usually like dark beers).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sharon Brown Sharon Brown, Cary, NC
(02/09/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
These boys sure know what they're doing. We've been hitting the brewpub since the very beginning, everytime we're in the Canaan neck of the woods. We've tipped many a pint, and more than a few of their exceptional single malt offerings as well...just doesn't get any better!

We love the amber ale...smooth and yummy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lisa Gillogly Lisa Gillogly, Lovettsville, VA
(12/03/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Awesome!
The beer is really great, the place is clean, and the pub is truely unique. It's the most relaxing pub I've ever been in. The place attracts alot of friendly visitors and locals. I'll be going back again to the Thomas/Davis, WVA area and the Blackwater Falls and without a doubt I will be at the Mountain State Brewery when I am there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review HERNDON, VA
(09/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
By far the best Microbrewery in the mountain state. As a lifelong resident I have found that it can be hard to find a good beer (seeing that everyone around me seems to be satisfied to drink Bud Light). Mountain State Brewing Company offers a refreshing change in atmosphere and taste. The pub is a relaxed, friendly bar that I completely enjoy. The beer speaks for itself. Wether you're in the mood for something dark & rich or light but full of flavor, this is the place for you!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Paul , Montrose, WV
(08/22/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
I found the 150 mile trek through the dark and rainy hills worth it to sample solid quality beers at Mountain State. The setting can be called rustic but well suited to the location. The IPA was good, and the cask amber was very good; smooth and well conditioned. Didn't mind the sawhorses. Give these folks credit for running a solid operation in the middle of the state.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roach Roach, Plano, TX
(10/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Awesome!
Stopped by here last week to hit the two brewpubs in the area while on the way back from vacation. Brian, one of the owner/brewers, was nice enough to take some time out of his day to let us sample their beers. Every one of them is excellent!

The oatmeal stout, particularly, was great. True, I'm biased towards stouts, but even with that in mind, it was truly enjoyable. Especially having a couple of so-so oatmeal stouts while on business in Utah, it was great to find a homestate oatmeal stout that was truly great. The nice thing that I found out, is that it is served locally in Morgantown at the Black Bear, too.

The Almost Heaven Amber and Cold Trail Ale were also excellent. If I ever stop by and they're out of stout, I won't be bothered at all to drink several ambers. The IPA was also nice, but considering my generaly dislike for IPAs, I would imagine me thinking it's nice would translate to a good/great beer for a pale ale lover.

The seasonal (sorry, can't remember the name) was also excellent! I ended up taking a growler of this and the stout home. When most people say you can taste the banana and cloves, you might get a hint of it. This one, the taste was all there!

I'm only sorry we wanted to get back home before they opened at 6:00. It would have been nice to catch some of the local musicians playing.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James S James S, Morgantown, WV
(08/21/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
All the brews were perfect! I was there in August for their Luau party on the almost finished back deck and we had a GREAT TIME! Everyone was very friendly and laid back and the pub was fun and comfortable. Brian and Willie are smart great guys who run a very friendly and family like establishment. Everyone should stop there for the brews and talk to them as they are intelligent and friendly guys and Dina, the bartender, is fun too. Pat, New York

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pat Pat, Staten Island, NY
(09/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
I wanted to give this place a shot even though I was not feeling well seeing as how they had such a terrible review and they didn't have too many reviews to counter the bad one. Well let me just say the beer here was better than what I had down the road at the more popular place. The ones I tried all had good body and mouthfeel. I only wish I had felt well enough to stay all night. My only complaint is that they don't open until 4 or 6. But I understand that if you don't get enough traffic in, it doesn't pay to be open. Lastly, the sawhorses were actually kinda comfortable for a bar seat.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul S Paul S, Kalamazoo, MI
(08/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Cheryl,

Well I have to say I am confused by your review. Seeing as I am the bartender of Mt. State Brewing Co. your recollection of our bar is misconceived. We have a no-smoking bar so we go outside and smoke and most of our smokers roll their own cigs (I guess you might mistake the rolled cigs for joints?) As for the BO, well that is fresh cut pine. Our tiny sawhorses, please those things are huge and there are five of them along with a couch and three tables. Now the thing about cold sandwiches is the clincher to make me think that you have never really entered our establishment and this is some feeble attempt to trash our pub - for the record we have never served cold sandwiches or any for that matter. We have what Brian likes to call 'roni rolls. Hey, we are just a bunch of laid back people who enjoy great beer and good company. Brian and Willie are awesome and are always willing to talk brew talk.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Deana Deana, Thomas, WV
(05/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A
Cheryl,

That's not B.O., that's pine. Makes me wonder what you REALLY smelled in the parking lot. :-)

Second, you claim on your BBC review that you read the MSB reviews before you went there. Then you should have known about the sawhorses and the very limited menu. (Sorry if the person who rated the food "awesome" confused you.) As I recall, they have some comfy couches if you don't like the barstools. And if they now have cold sandwiches, cool, they've upgraded the menu over the "microwavable roll."

But if you read the reviews you should have known all this before you went, so I don't understand what you expected.

Then you write that the beers were "OK, nothing to brag about," but you rate them "lousy." Not even "so-so." What's up with that?

Finally, I'm happy you enjoyed yourself at BBC (and thanks for mentioning what it was you ate theer -- nothing annoys me as much as people who rave about food but don't say what they had), but the place to rave about BBC is on the BBC thread, which I see you've done.

This kind of stuff, plus the recent string of rave reviews for BBC, makes me suspicious that there's some kind of no-so-stealthy campaign going on here to discredit MSB. I really hope I'm wrong about that.

I give Brian and Willie's beers another boost here because I drink them in Morgantown. The amber ale is terrific and the stout is pretty good. Going to Gene's tonight to have a cold one.

Best wishes.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Stacy Mark Stacy, Morgantown, WV
(04/22/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
My faily and I were visiting the area, and after reading all of the reviews from Mountain State Brewing and the Blackwater Brewing Company in Davis, we decided to try both. Our experience at MSB was terrible. The parrking lot was full of people smoking weed, the bar sttols are saw horses, very uncomfortable, and small. Only three people can sit on them at a time. And there are only three of them. The smell of body odor was unbearable!! As far as the food goes, they only had cold sandwiches!!!! The beer was ok, but nothing to brag about. However, the BBC in Davis ( only 3 miles away) had a great atmosphere, great authenic German Food. The Jager Schnitzel was AMAZING!! Our service was wonderful, and the Brewmaster, a female, came out and talked to us about her beer. She was very nice and informative. We would reccomend the Blackwater Brewing Company over MSB any day of the week..

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Cheryl Cheryl, canton, OH
(04/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I don't drink any other beer!! I have NEVER been a beer drinker and NEVER hang out in any bars...

If you are like me...then you need to come to Mountain State Brewing Co.

It's NOT a bar...it's a pub!!! It has the atmosphere of a true Irish pub...and there is NOTHING better than their Coal Miner's Daughter Oatmeal Stout!!!

LOVE YA BRAIN & WILLIE :)

OH...BTW the food is GREAT when their pseudo "Mom" cooks...lol

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from kcsupak kcsupak, Thomas, WV
(03/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Awesome! Great
Tried the four beers they had available. All were Great!! They are located at 1 Nelson Blvd. Pub opens at 6pm Thursday - Sunday. Entire menu consists of their 4-5 beers, Sangria, 1 mixed drink, 4 single malt scotches and a microwavable roll. Had a very enjoyable visit and will return again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo.  Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(03/21/2006)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.503 seconds) 07:39:59 54.196.62.23, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS