PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Butternuts Beer and Ale - Garrattsville, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 27, 2014 @ 08:03 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Garrattsville > Butternuts Beer and Ale
Butternuts Beer and Ale Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Butternuts Beer and Ale
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 87.5 / 100
4021 State Highway 51
Garrattsville, NY 13342
United States
(607) 263-5070
Listed Since: February 2006
Last Updated: March 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Garrattsville, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Butternuts Beer and Ale
10 Reviews / 3 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Lunn-Musser Octagon Barn
2) West Burlington Memorial Church
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
2) Blimpie Subs & Salads
3) Burger King
4) Cracker Barrel Old Country Str
5) Denny's
6) Frost Inc
7) Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs
8) Kfc
9) Mc Donald's
10) Outback Steakhouse
11) Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q
12) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
13) Taco Bell
14) W C Reubens
15) Waffle House
16) Wendy's
17) Winners Sports Grill
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great ? Awesome! Awesome!
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A
Pork slap is one of the best beers i have ever had.new father in law brought it to my brothers wedding from n.y.the first sip to the last was great.i only wish it was easier to get in virginia.keep up the good work!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from craig craig, norfolk, VA
(11/16/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A N/A Awesome!
As with other reviewers here, going to Butternuts brewery was by chance, or fate. I am a local and have heard things about this place for a year now since they began selling to the market.

The half owner Leo was busy in the brewery finishing up with another satisfied customer as I walked up to the brewery. His wife, and adventuresome kids were near the entrance, and all at once I was very relaxed.

Leo gave me a tour, talked about the process, went up on the hill to look at his pet project consisting of several hundred hop hills waiting for their time. Then he gave me a beer (it was hot out and you've got to get rid of dented cans somehow!). We shot the bull for a while, he was waiting for product to do its thing so I didn't feel too imposing. Even if I was, he's too nice to tell me to leave, but when I did, it was with a smile on my face and a case of ice cold fresh beer from the cooler.

If you find yourself in upstate New York, and near cooperstown, oneonta, norwich, etc. make some time to go check this place out. As others said, this stuff is good, it's in cans so it's picnic and party friendly. Then head over to copperstown, see the HOF, then visit Coopertown Brewery to get some more beer, then make your way to Ommegang. A beer tasting trifecta!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Townsend Mike Townsend, South New Berlin, NY
(05/25/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A
i found out about porkslap in a article on aol beers to try for the superbowl. well no place on long island had it including the overated shoreline beverage . well i did a beer tour in philly where i picked up ale street times which advertised a place called marketplacewine that said they had 500 types of beer . well since it was just off the turnpike i gave it a try and they had porkslap they also had snapperhead which i also picked up . very nice store store but i doubt they had 500 brands . well as being a lover of can beer it was nice to see a microbrew in a can and porkslap is excellent and so is snapperhead

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from chris ford chris ford, holbrook, NY
(02/22/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Awesome! Awesome!
A buddy and I stopped at Butternuts Beer and Ale this past weekend on the way to the Baseabll Hall of Fame. Driving by late in the afternoon, never having driven Route 51 before, it was easy to pass as it looked like many other farms in Upstate. Simply put, the u-turn we made was well worth it. Butternuts is a dairy barn converted into a fully operational brewery. As my buddy wandered in, we ran into the owners drinking cans of their creation. When asked if they were open, they responded, "we are now". As we sampled the Heinnieweisse and Pork Slap Pale as and talked about beer, their passion and vision became clear. They simply want to create great beer and have fun doing it. The Pork Slap Pale Ale is very drinkable and far tastier than many beers with it's comparatively low ABV. The Heinnieweisse is simply a great summer beer and is infinately drinkable. I think that canning their beer rather than bottling was a stroke of genius (as was the labeling with the Pork Slap) and will hopefully garner them widespread distribution where bottles aren't allowed (golf course, etc.). These were two of the nicest, clearly the most passionate, and down to earth guys you will ever meet, but what is really special about them is they make a great product. So . . . my advice to you, make that u-turn, go meet the guys, and have a beer. You won't be sorry you did.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Hansen Mark Hansen, Norristown, PA
(05/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
Pork Slap is my new favorite beer. As someone who is used to only drinking domestic light beers with little to no flavor Pork Slap is a pale ale that gives me both of what I like in a beer,an excellent flavor without out being to heavy or overpowering. So if you come upon it get yourself a frosty glass and get PORK SLAP HAPPY!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kathy Kathy, Northport, NY
(05/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
The True Story of How The Buttermilk Pancakes Fell in Love With Pork Slap: It was a Thursday night, just like every Thursday night for the past 10 months. We were playing a show at one of Bayside Queens several awesome bars. This night was special however. This night would change everything. Between sets of warm buttery music, we wondered into one of the newer bars on the block to check it out and maybe enjoy a shot of courrage before beginning our next set of hot succulent rock. The bartender says "you guys gotta check the new beer out. Its great and its only $2.00" Little did we know that this beer was about to change the whole game. The name made us laugh, the can made us laugh, and the taste made us do that "aaaah" thing that you see actors do in Pepsi commercials after their first sip of said product. Not only was this beer $2.00 but it tasted like the $6.00 beers that were on tap. It was the perfect marrage of taste and affordability. Right at that moment we knew two things, 1)We loved this beer, and 2)we wanted more. Since that fatefull evening, Pork Slap has become the official beverage of The Buttermilk Pancakes. Before, during, and after each Buttermilk Pancakes show we run across the street to enjoy a round of our new favorite beer. We like to call it "Slappy Hour" You may too. You may call it luck, finding your new favorate beer in local pub you've never been to before. We agree. Luck did play a huge roll in that discovery, but what happened last night...was pure fate. Thursday night gig, between sets, the whole gang runs across the street to "get slapped," The bartender informs us that they are out of the hevenly nectar. We promptly leave, and return to the gig. One hour later the Manager from the bar across the street come in to tell us that by chance, he just got a Pork Slap delivery, and he'd be sure to throw some on ice for us after the show. After the show we pack up out shit and head back across the street for a seccond attempt to quench our Slaperific thirst. Not only was the Pork Slap there, it was cold and delicious. The Iceing on the cake is that the man who delivered the Pork Slap earilier that fatefull evening was none other than Chuck Williamson, Owner/Brewmaster of Butternuts Beer and Ale. We found him in the back patio enjoying the fruits of his labor with his wife Ann. We promptly introduced ourselves as loyal customers and firm beleivers of his their product. The rest of the night is a hazy mish mosh of shotgunning Pork Slap (Pork Slam) and great conversation with two people Weve been waiting a long time to meet. Chuck and Ann gave us a great memory and a bunch of Koozies. We hope to see them tonight at the LI beer festival.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tommy Hampton Tommy Hampton, Bayside, NY
(05/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!
While wandering down highway 51 in Garrettsville one afternoon..We came upon what appeared to be an old dairy barn with a brewery sign.So we did what every curious beer lover would do,stopped,parked and walked in.To my surprise I was standing in the middle of a fully operational micro brewery,with the brewmasters running around hard at work.They stopped to introduce,and explain how their incredible vision came to life..a truely remarkable story to say the least. The beer we tasted was a whole other story their PorkSlap Pale Ale was one of the most refreshing beers I've had to date,a beautiful color and an amazing crisp finish..you just want to keep that taste in your mouth.the nicely colored can and logos keeps you smiling as you drink. The Heinnieweisse is also crisp and refreshing with a beautiful color.With the summer coming these are the beers you would love to drink on a hot day.With the brewers vision and plenty of room for expansion..this is one place I would keep an eye on. We purchased a few cases and went on our way. What a great expierience..these guys are the most down to earth brewers I have ever met.Just happy to be doing what they love...making great beer!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from kenny kenny, athens, NY
(03/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
These guys are off the hook, the real deal, and the beer rocks!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Oakdale, NY
(03/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
WOW! This place is a hidden treasure. Driving by it looks like a dairy farm, which it was. I tasted a wheat beer that was very light and refreshing. Also I tried a pale ale that was crisp and satisfying. I very highly recommend this place!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Seattle, Wa
(03/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Awesome! Good
Just getting started and currently brewing and canning a pale ale and a weissebier. Grand opening scheduled for March 17, 2006. Located in an old dairy barn with lots of room for expansion.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo.  Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(02/10/2006)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.906 seconds) 20:03:10 54.89.20.246, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS