PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Square One Brewery - Saint Louis, MO
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 22, 2014 @ 08:44 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MO > Saint Louis > Square One Brewery
Square One Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Square One Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 73.3 / 100
1727 Park Avenue
Saint Louis, MO 63104
United States
(314) 231-2537
Listed Since: March 2006
Last Updated: July 2010
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Saint Louis, MO
Beer Guide for Missouri

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
16 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(19 within 5 miles)
1) International Tap House
(0 mile)

2) John D. McGurk's
(0 mile)

3) Soulard Ale House
(0 mile)

4) Buffalo Brewing Company
(1 mile)

5) Schlafly (aka The Saint Louis Brewery Tap Room)
(1 mile)

6) Maggie O'Brien's
(1 mile)

7) Foam Coffee and Beer
(2 miles)

8) Morgan Street Brewing Company
(2 miles)

9) Calico's Bar and Grill
(2 miles)

10) Hannegan's Restaurant and Pub
(2 miles)

11) The Beale on Broadway
(2 miles)

12) Newstead Tower Public House
(3 miles)

13) O'Connell's Pub
(3 miles)

14) City Grille and Brewhaus
(3 miles)

15) Llywelyn's Pub
(3 miles)

16) Cathedral Square Brewery
(3 miles)

17) Six Row Brewing Company
(3 miles)

18) The Scottish Arms
(3 miles)

19) Tin Can Tavern and Grille
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) 2049 Sidney
2) Bed & Breakfast Geandaugh
3) Bed & Breakfast Lafayette Hse
4) Central West End B & B
5) Jerome Place Bed & Breakfast
6) Lehmann House Bed & Breakfast
7) Lemp Mansion Restaurant
8) Lister House-Graham B & B
9) Napoleon's Retreat
10) Samuel Cecil House
11) Somewhere A Bed & Breakfast
12) Two Boys Inn
13) Waverly Place Rooms & Jacuzzis
14) Winter House
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ADAMS MARK ST LOUIS
2) BEST WESTERN INN AT THE PARK
3) CHASE PARK PLAZA HOTEL
4) DRURY INN AND SUITES CONV CTR
5) DRURY INN UNION STATION
6) DRURY PLAZA HOTEL
7) ECONO LODGE RIVER FRONT
8) EMBASSY STES STL DOWNTOWN
9) HYATT REGENCY ST. LOUIS
10) MARRIOTT ST LOUIS DOWNTOWN
11) OAKWOOD FOREST PARK
12) OMNI MAJESTIC HOTEL
13) RADISSON - DOWNTOWN
14) RED ROOF ST LOUIS HAMPTON
15) RENAISSANCE GRAND HOTEL
16) RENAISSANCE ST LOUIS STE HOTEL
17) SHERATON CITY CENTER ST LOUIS
18) THE MAYFAIR, A WYNDHAM HOTEL
19) THE WESTIN ST LOUIS
20) WS HOTEL & SPA
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) 1907 Dorris Motor Car Company Building
2) Advertising Building
3) Ambassador Theater Building
4) American Theater
5) American Zinc, Lead and Smelting Company Building
6) Antioch Baptist Church
7) Arcade Building
8) B'nai El Temple
9) Balmer & Weber Music House Co. Building
10) Barr Branch Library Historic District
11) Beaumont Medical Building
12) Beethoven Conservatory
13) Bell Telephone Building
14) Bissel Street Water Tower
15) Blackwell-Wielandy Building
16) Blair, Frank P., School
17) Blind Girls' Home
18) Block Unit #1 Historic District
19) Boatman's Bank Building
20) Brown Shoe Company's Homes-Take Factory
21) Brown, A. D., Building
22) Brown, Paul, Building
23) Buehler, William, House
24) Building at 1300 Washington Avenue
25) Buildings at 2327-31 and 2333-35 Rutger Street
26) Butler House
27) Campbell, Robert G., House
28) Carr School
29) Centenary Methodist Episcopal Church, South
30) Charles Turner Open Air School
31) Chatillon-DeMenil House
32) Chemical Building
33) Chopin, Kate, House
34) Chouteau Apartments/Parkway Dwellings
35) Christ Church Cathedral
36) City Club Building
37) City Hospital Historic District
38) Compton Hill Water Tower
39) Cupples Warehouse District
40) Cupples, Samuel, House
41) Delany Building
42) DePaul Hospital
43) Des Peres School
44) Dickmann Building
45) Dolman Row
46) Dorris Motor Car Company
47) Eads Bridge
48) Eads Bridge
49) Eastman Kodak Building
50) Eliot School
51) Emerson Electric Company Building
52) Emerson, Ralph Waldo, School
53) Erlanger, Joseph, House
54) Fairgrounds Hotel
55) Fashion Square Building
56) Field, Eugene, House
57) Field, Eugene, School
58) Forest Park Headquarters Building
59) Forest Park Hotel
60) Fox Theater
61) Frisco Building
62) Fulton Bag Company Building
63) General American Life Insurance Co. Buildings
64) GOLDENROD
65) Grand Avenue Water Tower
66) Hadley-Dean Glass Company
67) Hager, C., and Sons Hinge Co.
68) Hamilton--Brown Shoe Factory
69) Hargadine-McKittrick Dry Goods Building
70) Hickory Street District
71) Holy Corners Historic District
72) Hotel Statler
73) Immaculate Conception School
74) International Fur Exchange Building
75) J.C. Penney Co. Warehouse Building
76) Jackson School
77) Jarrot, Nicholas, Mansion
78) Joplin, Scott, House
79) Kennard, J., and Sons Carpet Company Building
80) Kiel Opera House
81) Kulage, Otto, House
82) Laclede Building
83) Lambert Building
84) Lambert-Deacon-Hull Printing Company Building
85) Lambskin Temple
86) Lennox Hotel
87) Leonardo
88) Lesan--Gould Building
89) Liggett & Myers Tobacco Co. Building
90) Liggett and Myers (Rice-Stix) Building
91) Lincoln Trust Building
92) Lindell Real Estate Company Buidling
93) Lister Building
94) Louderman Building
95) Louise Apartments
96) Lucas Avenue Industrial Historic District
97) Luyties Homeopathic Pharmacy Company Building
98) Majestic Hotel
99) Majestic Manufacturing Company Buildings
100) Majestic Theatre
101) Mann, Horace, School
102) Marshall School
103) Martin, Pierre, House
104) Maryland Hotel
105) May Company Department Store Building
106) Mayfair Hotel
107) Miltenberger, Eugene and Mary A., House
108) Mississippi Valley Trust Company Building
109) Missouri Pacifc Building
110) Moloney Electric Company Building
111) Mount Pleasant School
112) Mullanphy Historic District
113) Negro Masonic Hall
114) Neighborhood Gardens Apartments
115) Old Cahokia Courthouse
116) Old Laclede Gas and Light Company Building
117) Olive Street Terra Cotta District
118) Olympia, The
119) Page Boulevard Police Station
120) Peters Shoe Company Building
121) Phipps--Wallace Store Building
122) Plaza Hotel Complex
123) PRESIDENT
124) Quinn Chapel AME Church
125) Robert, Johnson and Rand-International Shoe Company Complex
126) Rock Spring School
127) S.S. Cyril and Methodius Historic District
128) Saint Louis Provident Association Building
129) Saint Matthew's Parish Complex
130) Sanitol Building
131) Schmitt, Anton, House
132) Schollmeyer Building
133) Scruggs-Vandervoort-Barney Warehouse
134) Second Presbyterian Church
135) Security Building
136) Seventh District Police Station
137) Shaw Avenue Place
138) Shelley House
139) Silk Exchange Building
140) Simmons Colored School
141) South Side National Bank
142) Spivey Building
143) St. Augustine`s Roman Catholic Church
144) St. Francis de Sales Church
145) St. John Nepomuk Parish Historic District
146) St. Joseph's Roman Catholic Church
147) St. Liborius Church and Buildings
148) St. Louis Colored Orphans Home
149) St. Louis Post-Dispatch Building
150) St. Louis Post-Dispatch Printing Building
151) St. Louis Theatre
152) St. Mary of Victories Church
153) St. Stanislaus Kostka Church
154) Stix, Baer and Fuller Dry Goods Company's "Grand Leader" Relay Station
155) Stockton, Robert Henry, House
156) Stone Houses
157) Stork Inn
158) Strassberger's Conservatory
159) Sumner, Charles, High School
160) Tandy Community Center
161) Taylor--Olive Building
162) U.S. Customhouse and Post Office
163) Union Market
164) Union Station Post Office Annex
165) Union Trust Company Building
166) Unitarian Church of the Messiah
167) USS INAUGURAL (fleet minesweeper)
168) Vesper-Buick Auto Company Building
169) Wainwright Building
170) Willys--Overland Building
171) Winkelmeyer Building
172) Winston Churchill Apartments
173) Wyman, Edward, School
174) YWCA, Phyllis Weatley Branch
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 10th Street Italian
2) 1111 Mississippi
3) 1776 Cafe Imbiss
4) A & W Family Restaurant
5) ABC Commissary
6) Absolutli Goosed
7) Addie B's 9th Street Rstrnt
8) Al Hrabosky's Saloon
9) Al's Cafe
10) Alexander City Grill
11) Alibies Bar & Restaurant
12) All Star Diner
13) Alvin's Coffee House
14) American Cuisine
15) American Place An
16) Amighetti's Downtown
17) Arby's
18) Arcelia's Mexicana Restaurant
19) B & F Bar-B-Q
20) B B's Jazz Blues & Soup Inc
21) Bacchus Brewing Co
22) Baileys' Chocolate Bar
23) Banh Mi So
24) Barnyard Mobile Kitchjen
25) Bastille
26) Beale On Broadway
27) Behrmann's Tavern
28) Best Rite Market
29) Best Steak House
30) Big Daddy's Bar & Restaurant
31) Big Mommas Grill
32) Billie's Fine Foods
33) Bistro At The Grand Ctr
34) Blackwater Productions Inc
35) Blimpie Subs & Salads
36) Blue City Deli
37) Bobby G
38) Boomer's
39) Boulevard Room
40) Breve Espresso Co
41) Brick Of St Louis
42) Broadway Market Grill
43) Broadway Oyster Bar
44) Bullfeathers
45) Burger King
46) Burger King
47) Cafe Cioccolato, A Chocolate, Wine and Art Event
48) Cafe Dejeuner
49) Cafe Demenil
50) Cafe Ermita
51) Cafe Hebron
52) Cafe Orleans
53) Caleco's Restaurants & Bars
54) Captain D's Seafood Restaurant
55) Carmine's Steakhouse
56) Carnegie Hall Soulard Inc
57) Carson's Sports Bar & Rstrnt
58) Casa Gallardo Mexican Rstrnt
59) Cat's Meow Inc
60) Cecil Whittakers Pizzeria
61) Charley's Steakery
62) Charlie Gitto's Restaurants
63) Chick-Fil-A
64) Chinese Express
65) Chinese Gourmet Restaurant
66) Chinese Wok
67) Chinese Wok Restaurant
68) Chippewa Chop Suey
69) Chod's St Louis Bar & Chili
70) Chopping Block Catering
71) Clark Street Grill
72) Clementine's Bar
73) Club Buca
74) Club Candela
75) Club Chinchilla
76) Complex
77) Country Kitchen
78) Courtside Snack Shop
79) Crabby's Restaurant
80) Crackers
81) Crazy Bowls & Wraps
82) Creepy Crawl
83) Crystal Grill
84) Cummel's Cafe & Coffehouse
85) Curry In A Hurry
86) D A's Restaurant
87) D B's Sports Bar
88) Dairy Queen
89) Dapper Dan's
90) Dee Dee's Deli & Grill
91) Del Taco
92) Dierdorf & Hart's Steak House
93) Diner's Delight
94) Domino's Pizza
95) Domino's Pizza
96) Domino's Pizza
97) Dooley's Limited
98) Double Bogey Bar & Grill
99) Downstairs Diner
100) Eagle's Nest Cafe
101) Eat-Rite Diner
102) Edge
103) Edible Difference
104) Eisele's Black Forest Restaura
105) El Caporal Mexican Grocery
106) El Rio Grande Restaurant Inc
107) El Torito Meat Market
108) Elicia's E Pizza
109) Evans Cafeteria
110) Famous-Barr
111) Fat Freddies Pub & Grub
112) Fat Tuesday
113) Faust's
114) Feraro's Jersey Style Pizza
115) Flannery's Irish Pub
116) Food Fetchers St Louis
117) Four Seasons Vietnamese Rstrnt
118) Frank's Place
119) Franklin Room
120) Frazer's Traveling Brown Bag
121) Galaxy
122) Garavaglia Quality Foods
123) Gardunos Mexican Foods
124) Gary's Fine Dining
125) Gateway Double Drive-Thru
126) Gateway Pizza
127) Gingers
128) Gladstone's
129) Golliday's Restaurant
130) Goody Pancake House
131) Govinda's Vegetarian Rstrnt
132) Grand Chinese Cuisine & Chop
133) Grand Grill & Pub
134) Great Grizzly Bear
135) Gregory's Cafe & Pub
136) Griffins Of Soulard
137) Guaymas
138) Gulf Coast Cafe
139) H & M Best Fried Fish
140) Hammerstone's-Ninth & Russell
141) Hard Rock Cafe
142) Hard Rock Cafe Intl
143) Hard Shell Cafe
144) Hard Times Lounge
145) Hardee's
146) Hardee's
147) Hardee's Food Systems Inc
148) Harry's Restaurant & Bar
149) Have A Nice Day Cafe
150) Heights
151) Hi-Way Bar
152) Hoagie City
153) Hodak's Restaurant
154) Hong Kong Express
155) Hong Kong Express
156) Hooters
157) Horn & Assoc Consulting
158) Houlihan's
159) Humphrey's Restaurant & Tavern
160) Hunan Manor
161) Hungry Buddha
162) Imo's Pizza
163) Imo's Pizza
164) Imo's Pizza
165) Iowa Buffet Inc
166) J F Sanfilippo's Restaurant
167) J T's Steakhouse
168) J T's Steakhouse
169) J's On The Landing
170) Jack In The Box
171) Jack In The Box
172) Jack Patrick's Bar & Grill
173) Jack Patricks
174) Jacques Bar
175) Jaws
176) Jazz At The Bistro
177) Jefferson Chop Suey
178) Joanie's Pizzeria
179) Joanie's To-Go
180) John D Mc Gurks Irish Pub
181) Johnny's Restaurant & Bar
182) Josephs Italian Cafe
183) Joyce's Corner Kitchen
184) Juniper Grill
185) K C Masterpice Barbeque & Grll
186) Kabob International
187) Kathryn's Creations
188) Kelly's Deli & Coffee
189) Kelly's Korner
190) Kemoll's Italian Restaurant
191) Key West Cafe
192) Kfc
193) KFC
194) Kim Van Restaurant
195) King & I
196) King Louie's
197) King's Food Court
198) Kitchen K
199) Krieger's
200) Laclede Street Bar & Grill
201) Lafayette Pub And Grill
202) Lagniappe's Ninth & Victor
203) Landry's Seafood House
204) Larocca's Shell Cafe Catering
205) Le Petit Paris
206) Lee's Famous Recipe Chicken
207) Lemon Grass
208) Lemp Mansion Restaurant
209) Lil Nikki's Grill & Chill
210) Lion's Choice
211) Little Easy
212) Loc's
213) Lola's Kitchen
214) Lombardo's Restaurant
215) Long Patty Catering
216) Los Catrachos
217) Lucas Park Grille
218) Luck Food Restaurant
219) Lucky Food
220) Lucky's Bar & Grill
221) Lui's Chop Suey
222) Luigi's
223) Lynch Street Bistro
224) Maggie O'brien's Ltd
225) Maggie's
226) Maggie's
227) Mama Maurizio's Pizza
228) Mandarin House
229) Mangia Italiano
230) Market Street Deli
231) Mars Best Barbecue
232) Martini's On Broadway
233) Marty's Baking
234) Mary's Fine Foods
235) Maryland Kitchen
236) Maurizio's Pizza & Sports Cafe
237) Max & Erma's
238) Mc Donald's
239) Mc Donald's
240) Mc Donald's
241) Mc Donald's
242) Mc Donald's
243) Mc Murphy's Grill
244) Mekong Restaurant
245) Michael Slay Railcruise Amer
246) Michael's Catering Svc
247) Mickeys Restaurant & Bar
248) Mid-America Chili's
249) Mike & Min's
250) Mike Shannon's Steaks
251) Mississippi Nights
252) Missouri Bar & Grill
253) Mosaic Modern Fusion Cuisine
254) Mother's Fish
255) Myron Green Food Svc Inc
256) Nadines
257) Napa Catering
258) New China
259) Nightclub Europe
260) Niner Diner
261) Norton's Cafe
262) O T Hodge Chile Parlor
263) O T Hodge Chili Parlor
264) Oasis Cafe
265) Obie's Of Soulard
266) Off Broadway
267) Omalley's Irish Pub
268) Once Upon A Vine
269) One Nite Stand
270) Paddy O'Reilly's
271) Panama Reds
272) Panda Express
273) Papa John's Pizza
274) Park Avenue Bistro
275) Park Chop Suey
276) Paroid's Grill & Beverage
277) Patty Long Catering
278) Pepino's Pizza & Deli
279) Pepper Lounge
280) Phelan's Pub & Grill
281) Pho Grand Restaurant
282) Pho Saigon Restaurant
283) Pino's Pizza
284) Pita King
285) Pizza Hut
286) Pizza World Intl Franchise
287) Planet Hollywood
288) Plaza Java
289) Plaza Pantry
290) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
291) Qdoba Mexican Grill
292) Quizno's Classic Subs
293) Quizno's Classic Subs
294) Quiznos Sub
295) Quiznos Sub
296) Rail Cruise America
297) Rally's Drive Thru
298) Rally's Drive-Thru
299) Rally's Drive-Thru
300) Rally's Drive-Thru
301) Red Moon Restaurant
302) Restaurant Foods At Home
303) Rhythm & Brews Coffeehouse
304) Ricardo's Italian Cafe
305) Riley's Pub
306) Rocket Bar
307) Route 66 Brewery & Restaurant
308) Royal Dumpe Dinner Theatre
309) Royal Pub
310) Rue 13
311) Saint Louis Brewery
312) Sakkio Japan
313) Sampling's By Miss Deb
314) Samwiches
315) Sbarro
316) Sbarro
317) Schuster's Bar & Grille
318) Sekisui
319) Sen Thai Cusine
320) Seventh Floor Food Court
321) Seventh Story Cafe
322) Shady Jack Saloon
323) Shady Jack's Cafe
324) Shenandoah Bar & Grill
325) Shugga's Coffeehouse & Cafe
326) Sidney Street Cafe
327) Siete Mares Mexican Restaurant
328) Simply Gourmet
329) Skeeters Banquet Ctr
330) Smoki O's
331) Snappy's
332) Sodexho
333) Sonntag Restaurant & Pub
334) Soulard Ale House
335) Soulard Ale House
336) Soulard Coffee Garden
337) Soulard's Restaurant & Bar
338) South City Diner
339) South Grand Deli & Grocery
340) South Hunan Iii
341) Southside Chinese Restaurant
342) Spirit Social Club Inc
343) Spooty's
344) Sportsman's
345) Sqwires Annex
346) St Louis Bar & Chili Parlor
347) St Louis Bread Co
348) St Louis Bread Co
349) St Louis Bread Co
350) St Louis Bread Co
351) St Louis Bread Co
352) St Louis Bread Co
353) St Louis Brewery Inc
354) St Louis Guest House
355) St Louis Steakhouse
356) St Louis Taco & Grill
357) St Louis Wok
358) Starbucks
359) Starbucks
360) State Street
361) Station Grille
362) Station Grille
363) Steak Escape
364) Streetcart Express BBQ
365) Studio Cafe
366) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
367) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
368) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
369) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
370) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
371) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
372) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
373) Summit The Fine Dining
374) Sunrise Chinese Restaurant
375) Super Sandwich Shop
376) Sweet Jo Mama's Bbq
377) Swifty's
378) Syberg's On Eating & Drinking
379) Table One Restaurant
380) Taco Bell
381) Tan My Chinese Restaurant
382) Tangerine
383) Tanner B's
384) Tanner B's Downtown
385) Taqueria Azteca
386) Taqueria El Bronco
387) Ted's Grill
388) Ten Fifteen Cafe
389) Tequila Wild
390) Tequila's
391) Tgi Friday's
392) Thai Express
393) Theresa Cafe
394) Third Base Bar & Grill
395) Tom Jon's Catering
396) Tony's Inc
397) Top Of The Landing Bar & Grill
398) Top Of The Riverfront
399) Trainwreck Landing Inc
400) Trautman's
401) Trueman's Place LLC
402) Tubby's Grilled Subs
403) Tucker's Place
404) Two Cents Plain
405) Unlimited Express Snacks More
406) Urban Tap
407) Van Goghz Martini Bar & Bistro
408) Velvet
409) Venice Cafe
410) Village Cafe
411) Village Cafe
412) Village Grill
413) Vito's Pizzeria
414) Wall Street Deli
415) Wall Street Deli
416) Wasabi Sushi Bar
417) Washington Avenue Bistro
418) Washington Avenue Post
419) Wehbe's Safari Cafe
420) Wendy's
421) Windows Off Washington
422) Wingstop
423) Wok-House
424) Yemanja Brasil
425) Your Bar & Grill
426) Z Nightclub & Cafe
427) Zum Zum Restaurant
428) Zuzu
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
IPA and Scotch Ales were both great. IPA, great hops, Scotch, great malt. Light Squared not very good according to my BUD drinking companion. Reuben was good. The beer soup was also tasty. The Nachos were pretty bland. I think there may have been 3 or 4 pieces of meat chucks, very mild and not too much salsa and maybe a tsp of sour cream.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(09/05/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Also has a micro distiller hand made in Louisville KY..$55k! Nice atmosphere..no problems with the male bartender. Will visit again...thanks Brian!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beertrekker Beertrekker, Ellicott City, MD
(05/04/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Good
Had their sampler. Particularly liked the Pale Ale and IPA. Would have preferred the IPA with more hops but as brewed a nice balance.

Bob. CT

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Ledyard, CT
(04/13/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy Lousy
The service at this place was absolutely horrific! On top of that, the food was nothing special. You can get a better similar fare, better brew, and pleasant service at Alandale's in Kirkwood. This place was a joke. A party of 4, with a reservation at 7:30 was not seated until 9. The entire bar full of people waiting for tables, was empty, and new walk-ins were being automatically seated. We were assigned a large table, for our oh-so "large" group, that was not being vacated. Two people remained, wanted dessert and drinks, and they have every right too that. So instead of making us stand there seating couple after couple, push two tables together for our group! It is not rocket science. We heard "it will only be a few minutes," for an hour and a half, come on. Once seated it took 20 minutes to just get our drinks, and at least 45 to order. I will not be back. I can spend my money better some place else. Learn the business or get out. I don't expect this place to last.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jessica Jessica, St Louis, MO
(06/19/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Great Great
I had heard of Square One and wanted to find the address. Google brought me to this page and I read the comments below with a growing sense of alarm, but am pleased to report that the female bartenders in question below (Jessica and she-who-shall-remain-anonymous) are no longer employed at this establishment.

Also, I don't know the circumstances surrounding the visits with negative connotations, but my overall experience was quite pleasant, including my conversation with management.

Don't write them off yet; if things were bad before, they appear to have changed since.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Saint Louis, MO
(04/15/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome!
Opening a brewery in St. Louis is not an easy feat- and Square One has pulled it off beautifully. Sister brewery to Augusta Brewing Company, Square One is located on Lafayette Square. Beautiful interior and patio area, great food, and terrific beer. It's been added to my revisit list whenever I am in St. Louis.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mandy Mandy, Raleigh, NC
(07/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good So So Good
Not much of a beer selection on my visit because they were getting ready for a local beer festival. What I had was good. The female bartender was unattentive and rude during the few interactions I had with her. Speaking with the brewmaster for about 10 minutes was the best part of my visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Quincy, IL
(05/25/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Try going there on a weekend when the night bartender is there. I agree, their management sucks!! Try having a conversation with the women at the hostess stand.........WOW!?!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Lover Beer Lover, St. Louis, MO
(03/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great So So Lousy Lousy
This small brewpub is located in one of the most historically interesting sections of St. Louis. It seems to be right on the edge of the nice part--a bit farther east looked a bit creepy--I didn't investigate so I could be wrong.

I visited on Monday, 18 December 2006. I arrived at about 12:30 PM. The front room (bar) was very busy. There was only one bartender, and that is poor planning by the managment. However, that doesn't make an excuse for her poor service and obnoxious behavior. I found a seat at the bar and waited about 10 minutes before Jessica (the bartender) even acknowledged my presence (she had been within inches of me several times prior and didn't say a word to me). She said she would be right with me. I thanked her and committed my first mistake--I said, "not a problem, I'm in no hurry." Little did I know how she would take that to heart.

On tap that day were: pumpkin, dunkel, winter ale, robust porter, cask Belgian, another but I can't read my writing, light squared, pilsner, bavarian weitz, park avenue pale, IPA, and stout. I started with the winter ale and drank that after I finally got a menue--but I got a beer menue and she never did take it away--I do appreciate that. The winter was a cloudy amber ale with no head and vertually no nose. The flavor was malty but not sweet. The beer menue said it was a "strong Belgian Amber." It was really nice, but like many seasonals, one is enough.

At 1:00 the place cleared out. The service didn't improve. I never could quite figure out if the bartender had responsibilites in the back room that kept her from keeping up with the 6 of us at the bar or if she just didn't care. At best estimate it took about 25-30 minutes to get my food. While I waited I ordered the IPA--at least that's what they called it. It was a cloudy golden color. It had a foamy head with a very malty nose--but no hop. The taste was watery and not hoppy at all. The menue said it had a malty taste with a clean bitter finsh. Well, it did finish clean but not bitter. It really wasn't very good at all.

About 1/2 way through the beer, my 'burger of the week' with fries arrived. She sat it down with no napkin, silverware, apology for taking so long (but I did tell her I wasn't in a hurry--apparently she told the cook that) or anything. Jessica turned and walked away--I thought to get at least napkins but she disapeared....and was gone and gone and gone. Finally she reappeared and asked the couple next to me if they needed anything. They asked for napkins and hot sauce--the whole time Jessica is ignoring me. When she returned to deliver the couple's napkins and hot sauce--at least 10 minutes have passed since she sat my plate down--I asked if I could have some of that too. She looked at me and in a cranky voice said, 'hot sauce?' I said no, napkins and silverware? That was mistake number two. Now she was very unhappy with me. By the time she returned with silverware, one napkin and NO apology, at elast 15 minutes had passed since she sat my plate down. It was then I committed mistake number three. I asked her to take my plate back to the kithen and warm it up since it took so long. Oh My God. Now she was really angry and she made a point of letting every one know. She returned with the plate. The fries were still cold and the burger was far too juicy for a well done burger (if you get my drift) so I didn't finsh it--nor did I finish the nasty beer they called an IPA. While I contempleted the food, the bartender Jessica made quite a show of her anger toward me. At one point she was telling a couple some story, and at one point her voice got very loud and she looked at me and said, "Why would you piss off your bartender? That's just stupid." And there in that sentence you get the attitude of Ms. Jessica. I guess I think of it the other way, 'why would you piss off a patron?' THAT, Jessica is just stupid.

Once she realized that I had stopped eating, she figured my bill. She placed it on one of those little plastic trays and litterally threw it on the table. It knocked over the salt shaker. Had she offered any sort of pleasantry, apology, anything I could chalk all this up to being the lone bartender during a busy lunch. No apology, poor service even after the lunch crowd cleared, and nasty treatment complelled me to stiff ole' Jessica and leave no tip at all.

I grew up around St. Louis and get back once or twice a year. I only tried 2 of their many beers--one was very good, one was very bad. The food was only mediocre, and the service absoltely horrid. I won't make any effort to revisit this place again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, Hornell, NY
(12/30/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Wow, I gave an Awesome for service. I never thought I would do that. Our waitress in the bar area never let us run out of beer and the food was delivered in a reasonable length of time...and hot. Anyway, the reason we are here is the beer. I have to agree with an earlier review about their IPA. Not all that hoppy. More like an APA. However all their beers were very good and they had their APA on cask. The brewpub building and the neighborhood are both very nice. Too cold to have the outside area open to eat and drink out there but I'll be back to try it again in the summer. A very easy place to find and well worth going out of the way for. Square One has only been in business for a short period of time but it had the feel of your old favorite neighborhood bar.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from beersoles beersoles, Beecher, IL
(11/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good So So Good
I am very contradicted about this place.

The beers are OK enough. Nothing unusual, nothing really outstanding, but all fine beers. It may be a bit early in their existence to expect anything unusual at this point, however.

Food is average.

The best thing about this place is the building/courtyard. Be sure to sit in the courtyard, weather-allowing. Very unique, great environment. Also check out the "window" in the floor of the main dining room, looking into the brewhaus below. Pretty cool.

definitely worth checking out, for more than the beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Bosch Kevin Bosch, St. Louis, MO
(11/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Good Pub Grub & Outstanding beer. I had the unfiltered wheat & Belgian Red which both had good flavor and went down easy. I would highly recommend this place to any microbrewery fan visiting St. Louis.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stu Stu, carol stream, IL
(10/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Great food. Try the pasta with chicken and mushrooms. The IPA, barleywine, and Grand Cru were great. Broad selection of beers. The wit was not drinkable. The pils was more like a Dortmunder but generally the beers were great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from aleman3319 aleman3319, Huron, SD
(07/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Awesome! Great Great
Located in an historic section of the city, the building itself is worth the trip. It has been a bar/restraunt almost continuously since the 1870's. It has been beautifully restored since a fire in 2004. I sat in the beer garden that was a pleasant place to enjoy beer on a warm evening. Square One is just a block from Lafayette Park--a nice place to stroll or drive around, especially if you like "Painted Ladies"-Victorian style homes.

The food was very good. They smoke their own meat. I had a beef brisket sandwich and it was the best brisket I had in a while. Instead of smoothering the meat with barbaque sauce, they use a light mustard. I also had two very large crab cakes as a appitizer. Their menu is divided between "micro bites", like the crabcakes and "macro bites" which are full meals.

Now, on to the least satisfactory part of my visit--the beer. A friend of mine visited Square One shortly after it opened and raved about the APA, so I was optimistic. I started with the IPA and was let down imediately. There was no hop aroma you expect from an IPA, nor was there much bitterness in the beer itself. I moved on to the ESB and the APA, and unfortunately, I was underwhelmed. In fact, I could not notice much of a difference between these three beers. They were not bad beers, they were drinkable, but I was hoping for more. Their Wit was better, a nice hazy blonde with tastes of ginger. The best was their pils--it went down very well on a hot evening. They had eleven beers on tap -- from their version of a light to a barley wine, so they have a style for everyone.

Despite my lackluster view of the beer, I'll go back. Square One has a great atmosphere. And, hopefully, since they have been open for only a few months, the beer will get better.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Alvin Steve Alvin, Henry, IL
(06/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
Easy to find place in a nice, historic district. Service, food and beer were good. Nice addition to the St. Louis pub scene.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Patrick, Ann Arbor, MI
(05/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
I stopped in for a sample of beer at this new brewery. I ordered up a sample of four beers for $5. The beer menu contains the following flavors/styles: Pilsner, Tannhauser (copper ale), Krystal (American Wheat), IPA (out of stock), Lighted Square (Golden Ale), Pale Ale, ESA (Extra Special Amber), Stout and Barley Wine. I had the Krystal, a Bavarian Wheat, Pale Ale and the ESA in my sampler. I thought they were all well made beers and representative of styles, except the ESA. ESA is what I would call my attempt at an ESB that turned out too dark, but that’s beside the point. The ESA was a nice, strong, hoppy Ale that was just a bit too dark to be an ESB. Still it’s a good beer. I queried the bartender for more information about the brewery. He was a happy to oblige me. He said the bar was started by the same group that owns and manages Augusta Brewing Co. in Augusta, Mo. The brewer is John Witte (spelling) with previous experience at Trail Head Brewery in St. Charles. Atmosphere was clean and new with a slate bar, one TV in the corner, and three patrons with laptops running and a dozen patrons in total. It was a Wednesday night about 9PM. Looks like a cool place to hang out and enjoy a beer or two.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review decatur, IL
(03/15/2006)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.368 seconds) 08:44:52 50.16.130.188, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS