PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Piccadilly's - Winchester, VA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 20, 2014 @ 03:55 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > VA > Winchester > Piccadilly's
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: BrewPub
Piccadilly's
Overall: Good    Score: 67 / 100
125 East Piccadilly Street
Winchester, VA 22601
United States
(540) 535-1899
Listed Since: March 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Winchester, VA
Beer Guide for Virginia

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
24 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Cork Street Tavern
(0 mile)

2) Coalie Harry's
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Long Hill Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) DAYS INN WINCHESTER VA
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Cather, Willa, Birthplace
2) Homespun
3) Opequon Presbyterian Church
4) Willow Shade
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Anthony's Pizza
2) Anthony's Pizza
3) Apple Valley Catering
4) Arby's
5) Baskin-Robbins
6) Bloom's Grill
7) Bna & Co Caterers
8) Brothers Pizzeria
9) Brothers Pizzeria
10) Brown Bag Sandwich Shop
11) Buffalo Wild Wings Grill & Bar
12) Burger Busters
13) Cantina D'Italia
14) Capri
15) Chick-Fil-A
16) Chinatown Kitchen
17) Cici's Pizza
18) Da-Das Ice Cream
19) Daily Grind
20) Daily Grind
21) Dominion Concessions
22) Domino's Pizza
23) Domino's Pizza
24) Golden Glow Restaurant
25) Heavenly Ham
26) Launching Pad
27) Lori Japan
28) Marcellas Charbroiled Deli
29) Old Town Grill & Bar
30) Perkins Family Restaurant
31) Perlitas Mexican Rstrnt Inc
32) Popeyes Chicken & Biscuits
33) Quiznos Sub
34) Red Hot & Blue Bbq
35) Red Panda Buffet
36) Rita's Italian Ice
37) Roman Delight Pizza
38) Sam's Hot Dog Stand
39) Shoney's
40) Steve's Restaurant
41) Sucilee's House Of Thai
42) Sweet Basil Cuisine
43) Swirls Olde Towne Brunch
44) Thai Winchester Restaurant
45) Triangle Diner
46) Vault Cafe
47) Visions Sports Lounge & Night
48) Winchester Chicken
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Great Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Great Awesome!
I take great offense to those who think of residents of Winchester as townies who don’t know class and only shop at Wal-Mart and go to Chain Restaurants. I am from Winchester and actually enjoy the food and atmosphere so much that I will be having my wedding reception in their upstairs banquet room this summer. The beer is pretty good, but I go there more for the food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Falls Church, VA
(04/16/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A So So So So
My second trip to this place revealed the beer quality to be consistently poor. I suspect they do extract brewing and color or blend from one recipe to fake the darker styles. Too bad; it's a good location and Winchester deserves better. A real brewer is planning to roll out house beers nearby on Cameron Street in May 2009. Go there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roach Roach, Plano, TX
(01/15/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy N/A Great Awesome! Good
Worst beer of all-time! It tasted like the Mr. Beer kits I've tried at home. My wife and I have visited 70+ breweries and brewpubs and Picadilly's stands alone as the most horrible tasting beer ever. We tried all three they had on tap (Harvest Moon, Stout, Pilsner) and the stout did not really taste like a stout and the Moon and pilsner tasted almost the same to me. My wife thought the pilsner tasted like rubbing alcohol. The bartender asked how we like the beers and we just kind of smiled, not really giving our true thoughts. He said the Moon was their Hef and that they can barely keep the tanks filled and have to brew it year around because it is so popular. WHAT! Are peoples taste buds funky in Winchester. The Moon was no where near a Hef. If you are near the area and love to try different beers, go ahead and give it a shot. This way you can see how terrible the beers are for yourself. Other than the beer being crappy, the bartender was cool, the wings were delicious, the bar area had a nice set-up, place was clean and they had good specials/happy hours. Only had the wings, can't speak for any other food. Good thing we went on Saturday when beers are $2.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Fines Patrick Fines, Temple Hills, MD
(08/31/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Great Good So So
the beer is really awful. they blend two beers to make a third. their red was actually half pilsner and half brown. their wings, on the other hand, were excellent. If you are a non-smoker, this is not the place. My wife and I were nearly knocked down when we opened the door but stayed anyway since we drove 30 miles to visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from scott kuhn scott kuhn, surfside beach, SC
(11/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Awesome! Awesome! Good
The beer was so terrible that my wife & I sent back the sampler that we had ordered & replaced it with Sierra Nevada's.When I went to the host and told him "sorry,not to be rude,but your beer is terrible " he told me that I was not the first to say that & he would be glade to replace it with a better beer. Other than the the beer the place was fine, food was great & the service was SUPER!!Angela our waitress was one in a million.If you ever go ask for her...but don't drink their beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jay Dertinger Jay Dertinger, Linden, NJ
(10/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
The food should never be compared to any "chain" resturant. The food is fresh, and is always great!! If you had a bad experiance with the food it is out of the norm!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Winchester, VA
(10/13/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The brew pub is awsome!!! Service is the best in Winchester! The food quality and quantity is great! The home brews are good but the selection of bottled beer is awsome! There are great specials during the week. Monday and Tuesday 3-CL is 6 for $6 mini buckets (6 pony bottles for $6). Wednesday is ladies night 1/2 price drinks for ladies. Thursdays is bucket night, 5 beers (Corona,Corona light, or any domestic beer) 5 for $10 till 9 P.M. You can't beat the service!! The atmosphere is great!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Winchester, VA
(10/13/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The beer is terrible, anyone who wants some good beer around this area, stop by my house for a pint of homebrew. This place should get the pubcrawler award for worst beer. I can't believe people acutally gave this a good review.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Shepherdstown, WV
(05/24/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great So So Good
The beer is ok. The owner is nice. Food was great. Service was slow. I also read reviews for this place at WincFood.com

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Winchester, VA
(05/02/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Lousy So So
WARNING! IF you like beer, drink only the bottled beer here. The beer brewed here is the worst beer I've seen at any micro brewery. The food here is hit or miss. Some days it is good, most days it is horrible. I will never eat here again due to the inconsistency. The service is horrible also. I overheard the wait staff comment to each other on how they take pride in the fact that they have lousy service and still get good tips. Overall, if you like bad service, bad food, and bottled beer, this is the place to go.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bob, Winchester, VA
(04/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great So So Good
I love Piccadily Brew Pub/Restaurant--It's a hip new place in Winchester, which it never had. It's definitely more upscale and classy and I believe that's why many townie's don't like it. Because people from the area don't know class... They know Wal*mart and all the Chain Restaurants...

My favorite beer is the Hometown Hefeweizen, i like wheat beer--especially Micro Brewed... Only one thing I have heard through the grape vine was that they just mix their micro brews and rename them....OK but then tell me why Coors Light and Keystone Light are EXACTLY the same beer... At least Piccadilly's taste good.

For all you haters, open your eyes... Winchester is a lowsy town and needs to get up with the times... Don't be so close minded.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Balitmore, MD
(04/12/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Good Lousy So So
The pub started off well but has gone down hill quick. I am not a big fan of the place because it is so over crowded and no service upstairs. People also left bad reviews at wincfood.com

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Winchester, VA
(04/02/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy So So So So So So
I am curious about the reviewers who rate their beer quality as" great". Maybe they have spent the past drinking experiences with their lips wrapped around a can of Milwaukee's Best. This place has transformed into a Winchester swinging singles scene. They charge a cover on the weekends, the place is crowded and not very enjoyable. The beer quality is thin and has no distinctive flavor. The word among the locals is to avoid this place if you like good food and drink.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bobbyflame bobbyflame, Stephens City, VA
(03/16/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So N/A So So
Food tastes like a Chili's knock-off. Brewed beer is bad, and the beer selection is typical of any mainstream restaraunt. Service is not too bad (if you go in early!) Nice building and beautifully laid out. Didn't like seeing one of the owners roaming around drunk. Wait a minute I think I was in CHEERS! Where's Norm?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David David, Front Royal, VA
(01/19/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
My wife and I visited the Pub for the first time on Friday, 12 Jan. 07. The serving staff at the bar was very attentive and extremely hospitable. Neither of us are beer connoiseurs, so our tastes may not be as sensitive as others with more educated taste buds, but I found the locally brewed beers to be very interesting. The "Patsy's Pilsner" was wonderful. Smooth, very flavorful, and easy to consume. We each had an order of the wings, and thoroughly enjoyed both selections. All in all, we had a great night and will be returning soon with friends.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Piontka Mike Piontka, Stephenson, VA
(01/16/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Good Good So So
The food was good but pricey for Winchester.Fired foods are heavily battered. Why they call the establishment a brewpub is a mystery to me. The bottled beer selection is extremely limited - the usual American suspects. The beer they brew is absolutely the worst beer I have ever been served. I have been to over 50 brewpubs/microbrews and nothing could possibly copmpare to the lifeless beer served here. Mixing 2 beers together and calling it a special brew??? They need to get a real brewmaster or stop trying to be a brewpub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Jim, Lawrenceville, GA
(07/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A Good Lousy
My mother always said “If you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all”, so let me start of by saying that this is a very nice space. The bar is large, pleasant and open. The building, an old warehouse, is just two blocks from Winchester’s downtown pedestrian mall (and just a block from a really great tobacconist). Next door is the venerable and storied George Washington Hotel, now in the midst of a multi year renovation. The bartender was very pleasant and attentive (not hard since there were only about five people at the bar on a Sunday afternoon). The menu had some interesting looking items and some tempting offerings.

Having said something nice, it’s time to talk about the beer. There were three beers on draft: Pilsener, Stout, and Hefeweizen. We had the Hefe. I’ve never seen a filtered hefe before (kind of oxymoronic, actually), and I hope that I never see one again. It was, at best, an utterly unremarkable beer. I had a taste of the stout, and despite a hint of maltiness, it tasted like the hefe. Either their brewer does a lousy job of cleaning his equipment or they’re using the same yeast for everything. I was appalled to discover that the tales of their “ales” being blends of their pilsener and stout were true. My very first batch of homebrew (from a kit) was infinitely better than this stuff. Despite being very attentive, etc, the bartender had no idea what the alcohol content of the beers were (not a good sign).

I’d been warned, but I thought I ought to check it out for myself. I’d like to go back, but... It’s not even a very good beer bar right now, let alone a respectable brew pub. There’s a lot of potential though. It’d be nice if they could even try to live up to it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Fairbarns Jim Fairbarns, Fairfax, VA
(06/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy Good Good So So
Still amazing to me, but this place makes a red ale by mixing their stout and their pilsner until it's roughly the right color. Furthermore, they do the same thing to make a "classic nut brown". Good way to brew 2 beers and sell 4. There's nothing special about the actual beers either. Food was decent. We stopped on our way up I-81 but we won't stop here again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David David, Asheville, NC
(05/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Great Great Good
Stopped in on a Saturday evening with friends for dinner. We ate in the pub and had a very nice time. Nice building & dining area. I had the 1/2 smoked chicken, not bad at all. The beer was not much. Tried the pilsner & the red ( a blend of pilsner & stout). The bar has a huge cooler for bottles, but not much choice. I will definitely go back for the food & atmosphere, but hope that the beer quality improves, or maybe they'll add some micros to their bottle selection.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bill miller bill miller, denton, MD
(05/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good So So Lousy
I rate this brew pub lousy because it touts itself as being a "brew pub." The food is good, but the beer is rather pathetic. I go to brew pubs to enjoy hand crafted beer that is usually excellent. But Piccadilly’s adds an entirely new level to the word pathetic. I cannot begin to talk about how bad the beer is. I drank a couple of beers from there; they were terrible. I am going to give them one more shot. If the beer is terrible when I return, then I will not frequent Piccadilly's again, though if the owner acted in rudely to a customer, then I do not think he deserves my hard earned money.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from CT CT, Winchester, VA
(04/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Awesome! Great
They are having trouble keeping up with demand! Opens at 4pm.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo.  Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(03/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So Great So So
I had a Pilsner, Fredricktown Ale, and a Bock. All three are watery, wimpy, devoid of real flavor (reminded me of apples)and pretty much have the same taste. They mix the Pils and a weak Stout to make the ales. I spoke to a homebrewer who was at the bar to see if this hophead was too critical. He agreed with me - weak and taste the same. They do have a large selection of mass produced industrial swills - Bud, Miller, Coors and three kinds of Mexican (the one you have to put fruit in for flavor) in a large, reminded me of a 7-11, cooler behind the bar. Only had a spinach dip to eat, and it rivaled the beer for lack of flavor, very bland and pasty. The place is handsomely decorated and restored, but I won't be going back just to visit a pretty bar and it won't make it with these beers. The beer might be explained with one of the owners being a wine drinker. Beer is way bad.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David David, Berkeley Springs, WV
(03/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
The opening night was packed, yet the service was up to par. Smiling faces and the owners (Gary Rutherford and Dale Massey) were on hand and very approachable and willing to show you around. The establishment is very classy, fun, and huge! The restaurant has many areas to choose from which allows for a romantic night or a party atmosphere. The banquet bar upsatirs can hold 245 people for any party. I believe this Brewpub rivals any in DC. If you're in the area...don't miss this place...built within a turn of the century warehouse, the esthetics are hip, fun, and professional.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Robinson Michael Robinson, Winchester, VA
(02/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A So So Lousy
OMG, my wife & I went here on opening night...we complained to the manager because our appy was cold and the beer was TERRIBLE...she & our waiter tried to take care of us. The waiter said he agreed with me, the beer WAS bad, and since he could tell I knew what I was talking about, he sent the owner over...who promptly threw us out!!!! We honestly could not believe what an a-hole this guy was! If a batch of my homebrew came out that bad, I would dump it immediately. All the beers are murky, undercarbonated, and taste like dishwater. The pilsner, wit, & weizen all looked/smelled/tasted the same (bad), the "stout" was like a watered-down brown ale, and the red & brown were clones of each other, bad & bad. I have never NEVER had beer so bad, nor have I ever been treated so poorly at an establishment. Please permit me to go on. Their bottle selection...hmmm...if you like Bud, Corona, Heineken, or Yuengling, you're in luck. I can't speak for their food (other than the cold appetizer they served us), since we got thrown out before we could order. I only rated the service as high as "so-so" because, as I said, the waiter & manager TRIED to take care of us. PLEASE I beg you in the name of all that is Beer, avoid this place at all costs. (Did I mention their brewhouse is fully automated, no brewer on site?)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Wes Wes, winchester, va
(02/18/2006)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.335 seconds) 03:55:11 54.204.79.235, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS