PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


McKenzie Brew House II - Malvern, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 23, 2014 @ 09:35 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Malvern > McKenzie Brew House II
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: BrewPub
McKenzie Brew House II
Overall: Great    Score: 74.3 / 100
240 Lancaster Avenue
Malvern, PA 19355
United States
(610) 296-2222
Listed Since: April 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Malvern, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of McKenzie Brew House II
7 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(3 within 5 miles)
1) Flanigan's Boathouse
(0 mile)

2) TJ's Everyday
(3 miles)

3) Prism Brewing Company
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) General Warren Inne
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) EXTENDEDSTAY GREAT VALLEY
2) HAMPTON INN GREAT VALLEY
3) HOMESTEAD MALVERN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Ashbridge, David, Log House
2) Autun
3) Collins Mansion
4) County Bridge No. 171
5) Cox, Hewson, House
6) Esherick, Wharton, Studio
7) Everhart, William, House
8) Great Valley Mill
9) Greenwood School
10) Hartman, George, House
11) Harvard, David, House
12) Kirkland Station
13) Martin-Little House
14) Pennypacker, Benjamin, House
15) Pennypacker, Matthias, Farm
16) Pickwick
17) Rush, Benjamin, House
18) Solitude Farm
19) Spring Mill Complex
20) St. Paul's Church
21) St. Peter's Church in the Great Valley
22) Stirling, Maj. Gen. Lord, Quarters
23) Stonorov, Oskar G., House
24) Von Steuben, Gen. Frederick, Headquarters
25) Washington's Headquarters
26) White Horse Farm
27) Wisner, Jacob, House
28) Woodland Station
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Anthony's Pizza & Italian
2) Baxter's Of Great Valley
3) Bob Evans Farms Restaurant
4) Brock & Co
5) Brusters Real Ice Cream
6) Bunha Faun
7) Cafe 301
8) Cafe La Grande
9) Capricio's Family Ristorante
10) Cedar Hollow Inn Restaurant
11) Cheeburger Cheeburger
12) China Royal East Inc
13) Classic Diner
14) Cornucopia Catering
15) Dairy Queen
16) Desert Moon
17) East Star
18) East Star Chinese Restaurant
19) Farmhouse At People's Light
20) Fiorello's Trattoria
21) Flanigan's Boathouse Inc
22) Flying Pig Saloon
23) Frazer Diner
24) Friendly's
25) Gateway To India
26) General Warren Inne
27) George's Greek American Grill
28) Gourmet Peacock Cafe
29) Gourmet Surrey Ltd
30) Great Valley Cafe
31) Himalayan Exotic Indian Csne
32) Hunt Room
33) Isaac's Deli Inc
34) J Scott's Catering & Specialty
35) Jack's Pizza & Pasta
36) John's Pizza
37) Kfc
38) King Street Grille
39) King's Deli & Produce
40) Let's Do Lunch
41) Linh Restaurant
42) Maddie's Restaurant Bar
43) Malvern Pizza
44) Margaret Kuo's Mandarin Rstrnt
45) Mc Donald's
46) Mc Kenzie Brew House Inc
47) Mino's Japanese Restaurant
48) Pizzis II
49) Places Bistro
50) Planet Hoagie
51) Pogey's
52) Restaurant Alba
53) Rita's Water Ice
54) Royal Thai Orchids
55) Salad Stop
56) Sole Mio
57) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
58) Sutao Cafe
59) Tierney Enterprises Inc
60) Tuscany Restaurante & Cafe
61) Unique Locations Inc
62) Vip Pizza & Pasta
63) Yamashiro Japanese Steak House
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Great So So
In general, disappointing. I missed out on the Octoberfest and tried the Pale Ale (APA), one of their standards. First impression was a lack of color, golden at best. Missing the hop depth and malt expected of an APA. This may be a weak English Pale but certainly lacking of an APA. Hop finish and aroma were not there nor was the body and malt. Overall a very minerally, light and impressive representative.

The staff, on the otherhand did a fine job. I passed on the pizza, with regrets, and had the ridiculously spicy Italian Sausage Pasta. Good locals, nice staff but mediocre beer and food. --Posted from the Android PubCrawler app!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Anonymous Anonymous, N/A, NA
(10/19/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
We stopped by after a trip to Philadelphia. The IPA was very tasty. A couple of others which we tasted were also good. Food was outstanding. It is a brewpub we would enjoy going to again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dick Poynter Dick Poynter, Springfield, IL
(07/15/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great
We stopped at McKenzie's over the weekend to have dinner with friends. We had a large party of 12 and McKenzie's was very accommodating and the staff very attentive. We tried several appetizers, including the artichoke dip and nachos, your tpical bar appetizers. For a small brewpub, they had a decent number of selections. I drank the Helles, Amber, and Pale, while my wife had the Black Lab Stout and Chocolate Cherry Stout. Their beers were well crafted, fresh, light in character and weight, and generally on the tame side. Although good, their beer has more mass market appeal; this is not a criticism, but I would put them in the same category as “Rock Bottom” rather than a “Dog Fish Head” or a “Victory”. Dinner was good, with large portions. The restaurant was packed, after dinner, we stayed and enjoyed the band at the bar. Save room for dessert.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JAS JAS, York, PA
(03/07/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good
Hit this place for the first time in the middle of a pub crawl a few weeks ago. Sampled their entire lineup and jotted down these thoughts. Light Lager was VERY light, not much there. Amber's description said "soft flavors"?! Not exactly sure what that means. Gold kind of surprised me, fresh and crisp, not big, just nice. Pale was pretty mild and drinkable too. Stout was an oatmeal stout, very smooth (did I taste licorice?). Biere de Garde (blackberry) very effervescent, fruit subtle. Pub ale was unfiltered and pretty mild. At the end of the crawl we put their beers on a par with Iron Hill, for what it's worth.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(03/05/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A So So Good
I was just at Victory and was on my way to John Harvards. Imagine my surprise as I drove past this brewpub. I forgot this was here. Even though my new brewmobile is still new... it still knew to pull into the brewpub parkinglot and to park. I see Lew was here a few months ago... Hey Lew!!! Well since I had already had some beers at Victory I decided that I just wanted to have one beer. So I chose the Unicorn Amber Ale... it was very tasty. I thought about having some food but the dude that was sitting next to me was screaming at the eagles who were apparently losing the game... I wasn't paying attention. But since I didn't feel like getting screamed at evertime the Eagles made a bad play then I drank my beer and moved on. I think I like the other McKensie's better. But it was a nice surprise none the less. Oh by the way... this place had about 7 beers on tap and several TV screens on the walls broadcasting football. I think my beer was three bucks.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Hansell Todd Hansell, Roslyn, PA
(11/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Awesome! Great Good
I went for the beer, but found that is was pretty much a cookie cutter process where most of the beers had a similar taste. I like the Hefe weizen the best, it was a special brew and it seemed to be more complex and had a nice lgith banana flavor. While I was disappointed in the beer for the most part, the food was excellent along with good service. I think the beers, at least the "seasonals" have promise.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Pottstown, PA
(04/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Just opened last week, and it looks (and tastes) like they hit the ground running. Beer's up to McKenzie's high standards right away: tasted the Abbey 6 and Irish Red, had a delicious pint of Stout. The look and layout are much like the original McKenzie Brew House (although the bar/dining room are reversed in this one). The brewhouse is out of the old Empire/Brü brewpub in Rochester, NY, and The Dude's putting it to good use. Definitely a good stop if you're out this way (which is within 15 minutes of both Victory and Sly Fox, BTW).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(04/10/2006)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.375 seconds) 21:35:50 54.82.60.105, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS