PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Ale Asylum - Madison, WI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 26, 2014 @ 02:09 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > WI > Madison > Ale Asylum
Ale Asylum Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Ale Asylum
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 84.6 / 100
3698 Kinsman Boulevard
Madison, WI 53704
United States
(608) 663-3926
Listed Since: June 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Madison, WI
Beer Guide for Wisconsin

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Ale Asylum
14 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(15 within 5 miles)
1) Alchemy Cafe
(0 mile)

2) Essen Haus
(4 miles)

3) Nattspil
(4 miles)

4) Brocach Irish Pub and Restaurant
(4 miles)

5) Maduro
(4 miles)

6) Mickey's Tavern
(4 miles)

7) Avenue Bar
(4 miles)

8) Genna's Lounge
(4 miles)

9) Paul's Club
(4 miles)

10) Argus
(4 miles)

11) Come Back Inn
(4 miles)

12) J.T. Whitney's Brewpub and Eatery
(4 miles)

13) Great Dane Pub and Brewing Company
(4 miles)

14) Dotty Dumpling's Dowry
(4 miles)

15) The Old Fashioned
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Annie's Bed & Breakfast
2) Collins House Bed & Breakfast
3) Livingston Inn
4) Madison Small Inn & B & B Assn
5) Speckled Hen Inn Bed & Brkfst
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BW EAST TOWNE SUITES
2) COMFORT INN MADISON
3) COURTYARD MADISON EAST
4) CROWNE PLAZA EAST TOWNE
5) DAYS INN OF MADISON
6) ECONO LODGE MADISON
7) EXEL INN OF MADISON
8) HAMPTON INN MADISON EAST TOWNE
9) HILTON MONONA TERRACE
10) HOLIDAY INN MADISON EAST
11) HOTEL RUBY MARIE
12) MICROTEL INN
13) QUALITY INN SOUTH
14) RED ROOF MADISON
15) SELECT INN MADISON
16) SHERATON MADISON HOTEL
17) SUPER 8 MADISON EAST
18) WOODFIELD SUITES MADISON
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) American Exchange Bank
2) Badger State Shoe Company
3) Bellevue Apartment Building
4) Belmont Hotel
5) Bernard-Hoover Boathouse
6) Biederstaedt Grocery
7) Cardinal Hotel
8) City Market
9) Clarke, Bascom B., House
10) Collins, William, House
11) Curtis-Kittleson House
12) Cutter, Judson C., House
13) Dean, Nathaniel W., House
14) Dick, Christian, Block
15) East Dayton Street Historic District
16) Fess Hotel
17) Hirsig, Louis, House
18) Hyer's Hotel
19) Kayser, Adolph H., House
20) LaFollette, Robert M., House
21) Lamp, Robert M., House
22) Leitch, William T., House
23) Lincoln School
24) Lougee, George A., House
25) Machinery Row
26) Madison Candy Company
27) Madison Gas and Electric Company Powerhouse
28) Madison Waterworks
29) McCarthy, Timothy C. and Katherine, House
30) Miller House
31) Mills, Simeon, House
32) Ott, John George, House
33) Smith, Adam and Mary, House
34) St. Patrick's Roman Catholic Church
35) State Office Building
36) Thompson's Block
37) United States Post Office and Federal Courthouse
38) Wakeley--Giles Commercial Building
39) Wisconsin Wagon Company Factory
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 1 Potato 2
2) A & W Family Restaurant
3) Anchor Inn
4) Antojitos San Francisco
5) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
6) Arby's
7) Arby's
8) Austin's
9) Benvenuto's Italian Grill
10) Big Mike's Super Subs
11) Big Mike's Super Subs
12) Blimpie Subs & Salads
13) Brat Und Brau
14) Brothers Three Bar & Grill
15) Bunky's Cafe
16) Busse's Markway Tavern Inc
17) Cafe Mariah
18) Cafe Zoma
19) Carlos O'kelly's Mexican Cafe
20) Chang Jiang
21) Cheer's Again
22) Chili's Grill & Bar
23) China Buffet
24) Chocolate Shoppe Ice Cream
25) Cinnabon
26) Club Lamark
27) Coffee Gallerie
28) Cool Beans Coffee Cafe
29) Country Kitchen
30) Country Kitchen
31) Cousins Subs
32) Cracker Barrel Old Country Str
33) Culver's
34) Damons Restaurant
35) Denny's
36) Dimitri's Gyros
37) Dovhan Restaurant
38) Eagles Club
39) Fair Oaks Diner
40) Fazoli's
41) Flaming Wok
42) Food Fight
43) Gaston's
44) Gaylord Catering Svc
45) Ginza Of Tokyoi Inc
46) Gloria Jean's Gourmet Coffees
47) Good Times Neighborhood Bar
48) Great China
49) Happy Wok
50) Hardee's
51) Hardee's
52) Holiday Inn
53) Hoopla Catering Svc
54) Ideal Bar
55) Imperial Garden Chinese Rstrnt
56) Inferno
57) International House-Pancakes
58) Java Detour
59) Jet Room Pat O'malley's
60) Jimmy John's
61) Kfc
62) Lao Laan Xang Restaurant
63) Laredo's
64) Little Caesars Pizza
65) Locker Room Sports Bar & Grill
66) Maharaja Restaurant E Pt Plaza
67) Mc Donald's
68) Mc Donald's
69) Mc Donald's
70) Mc Donald's
71) Mc Donald's
72) Mc Sipp's Cafe
73) Mexico Express
74) Mountain Jack's
75) Mr Robert's
76) Noodles & Co
77) Ohio Tavern
78) Old Country Buffet
79) Olive Garden
80) Orange Julius
81) Outback Steakhouse
82) Pacificos
83) Panera Bread
84) Papa John's Pizza
85) Pedro's Mexican Restaurante
86) Perkins Family Restaurant
87) Perkins Family Restaurant
88) Phoenix Garden Chinese Rstrnt
89) Pizza Hut
90) Pizza Pit
91) Pizza Pit
92) Players Sports Bar
93) Ponderosa Steakhouse
94) Pooley's
95) Popeye's Office & Catering
96) Popeyes Chicken & Biscuits
97) Popeyes Chicken & Biscuits
98) Prime Quarter Steak House
99) Quiznos Sub
100) Ray's Bar & Grill
101) Red Lobster Restaurant
102) Red Pepper Chinese Restaurant
103) Red Robin Gourmet Burgers
104) Rocky Rococo
105) Roly Poly Sandwiches
106) Rosati's Authentic Chicago Pza
107) Runway Pub & Grille
108) Sarku Japan
109) Sbarro
110) Schlotzsky's Deli
111) Simm's Place
112) Slices
113) Sports Pub
114) Steak 'n Shake
115) Steak Escape
116) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
117) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
118) Szechuan Palace
119) Taco Bell
120) Tailgators Sports Bar & Grill
121) Taste Of Asia
122) Tgi Friday's
123) Tip Top Tavern
124) Toad Hill Coffehouse
125) Trudy's Cafe
126) Tumbleweed Southwest Mesquite
127) Union House Tavern
128) Upstairs Downstairs Catering
129) Veterans Of Foreign Wars
130) Victor Allen's Coffee & Tea
131) Victor Allen's Coffee & Tea
132) Viet Food To Go
133) Villa Tap
134) Wendy's
135) Wiggie's
136) Wilson's Bar
137) Wong's Garden
138) Woody & Anne's
139) Worldwide Ventures
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
Beers were really good, especially if you like the hoppy stuff. Cool building with inside and outside seating. Hops vines growing on the outside walls.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Fines Patrick Fines, Temple Hills, MD
(09/14/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I was lucky enough to hang out with the brewers this place makes great beer. With great service and a mixed clientele all there for the beer... No TV's - No Problem... I had the Happy Ending Belgian Abbey, Mercy Belgian Grand Cru and the Tripel Nova Belgian Tripel… WOW this is a must stop.. Next time back in Madison I will be at Ale Asylum for a much longer stay.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from AOBTV AOBTV, Virginia Beach, VA
(01/10/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Good
Very cool place. different than most places I've been - more of a Rockin' atmosphere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nate Hrabosky Nate Hrabosky, Racine, WI
(08/28/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great
If you get to within 60 miles of Madison and you don't visit this place...you've made a huge mistake.

Everytime I get to Madison (about every 4 months)this is a MANDATORY stop.

The beer is amazing, particularly the "Hopalicious" an IPA and the "Happy Ending" a Belgian BIG BEER.

The food is okay, pizzas and deli.....but the beer is why you go here.

This is a MUST STOP..... Hoppy Quaffing !

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Keith Keith, Concord,, OH
(08/22/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Once we found the place, we really liked it. The Hopalicious Pale Ale was great! I would go back just for that. We had lunch there. It was good, but it was a rather limited menu. The Blonde ale was good, with a slight corn after taste. Tasted like Kix cereal to us, but we liked it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dick Poynter Dick Poynter, Springfield, IL
(06/28/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
8/07

Yo...

An update is in order here. A larger, roomier outdoors area now. (Did they catch wind of our prior review?) The porter? Not as crazy about now. The Belgians? Tripel is HIGHLY recommended. Diablo excellent too. Have yourself an Oatmeal Stout as well. We are very fortunate to have this beer brewer's oasis on Madison's north side.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from brian mcbain brian mcbain, madison, WI
(08/24/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Outstanding brews and sandwiches. If you are a hophead, you're gonna love the hopalicious. And more belgian styles than I've seen in a while. Not one of the brews dissapointed us...even the golden/blonde/lite was pretty tasty.

The closest thing to a knock on the place is that when we walked in, there was nothing that said ANYTHING about that you have to get yourself served at the bar. Other than that, really good, stick to your ribs, sandwiches made fresh from great meats and cheeses.

This is one that we'll be back to often.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Davenport Michael Davenport, Janesville, WI
(08/05/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
A beer lover's paradise! The Hopalicious is too good to be true. Right down my alley, but the other brews are top-notch in their respective styles. This is THE BEST beer brewed in Dane County, if not the entire state - and I've been around...

The food is limited, but a gourmet would approve. The sandwiches are made to order with high-quality ingredients. They also make 4 different pizza's daily which are interesting and DEE-licous!

The beer is available and quite a few bars around town, and you can get six-packs at Woodman's.

They should win the Best of Madison, hands down...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Greg, Mc Farland, WI
(07/11/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Great
yeah, my lady and i always go there and we particularly like the hefe-weizen (great smoky flavor and odor) and the belgian beers ... the strong ones you know. she particularly likes the hopalicious, not me. I guess it all depends on your tastes. i also like their porter and oatmeal. 95% of the staff is great and I very much enjoy the decor though it's a little dark. you can always step outside on the deck which is very well done, perhaps a bit undersized. all in all, congrats on a great job. we love having u on the north side

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from brian mcbain brian mcbain, madison, WI
(06/07/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
This place doesn't look like much on the outside, but it has a pretty cool atmosphere on the inside. The beer selection is fantastic and they all taste great. My girlfriend and I tried a sampler platter and both liked every beer on the tray. We settled on the Nut Brown and purchased a growler to take to a party. The people that tried it there just loved it also. The staff is extremely knowledgeable on their beers and very friendly. I highly recommend stopping by if you are in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from dave dave, madison, WI
(01/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
I didn't know what to expect when driving up. It looked like an industrial strip mall with this small portion converted. The decor was definitely interesting for a brewpub / brewery. I had the porter and the hopaliciious. The porter seemed a bit like a stout, but overall, they were quite good. At $4 a glass, I thought the prices were more than fair.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Spyhalski Paul Spyhalski, Austin, MN
(09/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Hopalicious was great. My wife had the wheat, but wouldn't let me try it! Have sandwiches for food-- you choose your bread, meat, cheese, etc., and they are great. Staff was very helpful. Owners are from Angelic Brewing, which is no longer making their own beer. This is a great place to relax and enjoy great brews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Kaplan David Kaplan, Cedar Rapids, IA
(07/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
It is more of a brewery with a tasting room than a traditional brewpub. They will typically have 10 beers on tap....good variety and very high quality. They have a solid oatmeal stout called Big Slick, and a highly hopped pale ale called Hopalicious. They have 3 Belgians, and a well-balanced amber named Ambergedden. Food is available, but limited to deli sandwiches made with quality local ingredients, and chips. A must-visit for any beer aficionado. The brewmaster and several staff formerly worked at Angelic when is was a brewpub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gargantua Gargantua, Madison, WI
(06/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
This is more of a brewery with a good-sized tasting room. They serve gourmet deli sandwiches in addition to the beer. They typically have 10 beers on tap. The brewmaster is the former brewmaster at Angelic Brewing, back when they used to brew on premise. Some Ale Asylum beers will be sold there, and it will also be available in bottles. An excellent beer selection with a high level of quality and attention to detail.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gargantua Gargantua, Madison, WI
(06/06/2006)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.233 seconds) 02:09:49 54.204.127.191, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS