PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Abbey Wright Brewing at the Valley Inn - Duboistown, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 01, 2014 @ 05:54 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Duboistown > Abbey Wright Brewing at the Valley Inn
Abbey Wright Brewing at the Valley Inn Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Abbey Wright Brewing at the Valley Inn
Overall: Great    Score: 72.5 / 100
204 Valley Street
Duboistown, PA 17702
United States
(570) 326-3383
Listed Since: June 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Duboistown, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
13 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(5 within 5 miles)
1) Bullfrog Brewery
(0 mile)

2) Legends at the Genetti Hotel
(0 mile)

3) Franco's Lounge
(0 mile)

4) Kimballs Deli and Six Pack
(0 mile)

5) Bavarian Barbarian Brewing Company
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Snyder House Victorian Bed
2) Thomas Lightfoote Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) GENETTI HOTEL AND SUITES
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Herdic, Peter, House
2) U.S. Post Office
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 1100 West
2) American Pizza & Pasta
3) Ann's Tavern
4) Billtown Perk
5) Billuccho's Cheese Steaks
6) Brandon Cafe
7) Casale's Sub Shop
8) Charlie Brown's Steakhouse
9) Charlie Macks Restaurant
10) Columbia Hotel
11) Crippled Bear Inn
12) Crouse Catering
13) Crystal Soda Water Co
14) Dairy Queen
15) Dale's Basin Street Eatery
16) Death Row Pizza
17) Duboistown Cafe & Deli
18) Ed's Market
19) Ed's Market
20) Ed's Market Of Loyalsock
21) Finish Line Cafe
22) Fredericks' Tavern
23) Frozen Run Bottling Works Inc
24) Guernica
25) Hotel KAST
26) Hum-Dinger Restaurant
27) Ichiban Japanese Restaurant
28) Java Juice & Art Cafe
29) Joe's Pizza
30) Keller's Newberry Diner
31) Kiddlywink Tavern
32) Kimball's
33) KWIK-Six
34) Long Island Pizza
35) Lycoming Beverage Co
36) Maseto's Deli & 6 Pack
37) Mel's Deli & Cafe
38) Minotti's Pizza & Wings
39) Montaineer Lounge
40) Morrone's Lounge
41) Mr Sticky
42) New K-Bar & Hotel
43) Newberry Hotel
44) Nippenose Tavern
45) Old School Pizza
46) Papa John's Pizza
47) Pazzo
48) PBG Inc
49) Pineapple Grill
50) Pub
51) Riverside Grill
52) Riviera
53) Ruby Tuesday
54) Samurai Subs
55) Senate Bar & Grill
56) Smiles
57) Smokey Jo's
58) Southern Grill
59) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
60) Super Subs
61) Tap Room
62) Thomas Lightfoote Inn
63) Tommies
64) Tony's Delicatessen
65) Uptown Diner
66) Wander Inn
67) Wendy's
68) Zafar Grotto Rafaz Club Inc
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
had there ipa was great also there honey lite lager was awesome the food was good bar fare place is realley worth a visit its a full service bar so its not the same as some pubs but worth the trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brady Brosious Brady Brosious, Selinsgrove, PA
(03/21/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Great So So
Had high hopes, after hearing they had a killer IPA. Not so much. The beer was average and the menu selection, while typical bar fare, wasn't that great either. I'd be willing to give it another chance; but just one more. Be forewarned.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Zax Wittenberg Zax Wittenberg, Pittsburgh, PA
(10/20/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Stopped in for lunch had a great meal and a beer a dark oak ale was good.Found out that their brewmaster just last week walked off the job.Hard to believe after winning best beer at the selinsgrove brewfest with their fantastic IPA i hope they have good luck finding a new brewmaster.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brady Bro Brady Bro, Selinsgrove, PA
(08/04/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Good
We've been to hundreds of microbreweries from San Diego to Portland, OR and Portland, ME and many points in between and we're very pleased with the beer. We only drink the darker ales and lagers; never a pilsner. We went through most of their beer list, and were very pleased. We're familiar with all the microbreweries in the area, and Abbey Wright hangs tough. The brewmaster had some unique selections which we found to be quite excellent. All of the beers we have sampled certainly weren't lacking in the flavor department. We're beer geeks who really appreciate the quality and creativity of this brewmaster. We say, "keep up the great work"! We've been to the brewpub on a Saturday and Sunday. This is only our opinion, but Saturday night was too "bar-like" and the jukebox was too loud. I say, have fun, but don't lose the "vibe" of a classier establishment.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review ELYSBURG, PA
(08/30/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
What a great place. Williamsport area has become a beer mini Meca with Selingsgrove a little bit south and Bullfrog aross the river.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beertrekker Beertrekker, Ellicott City(Baltimore), MD
(08/15/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Lousy Good
I've been to Abbey Wright twice, with the two visits a year or so apart. The first time, they had only been serving their own beer for a short while. I just made my second visit a few weeks ago, and the quality of the beer improved greatly. They've still got a long way to go before they're considered in the same league as the Bullfrog Brewery just across the river, but they've taken a few very respectable first steps.

The place itself is gorgeous. The bar, the tables, chairs, even the bathrooms are all made of fresh-looking wood. Lots of pool tables and video games, TV's, pinball, dart boards, etc. The only downside is that it's a typical bar, with either sports on every television, or the jukebox blaring "Freebird" all of the time.

As far as the beer goes, I recommend the porter, or vanilla bean stout. The IPA isn't bad either, but nothing too noteworthy. The rest of the beers still need some work. Blueberry wheat, irish red stout, frosty pumpkin, and one other I completely forgot about are still lacking body, and could use some more flavor. Given their improvement in a year's time though, I'm sure they'll only get better.

The food, however, is outstanding. The menu boasts a broad selection of burgers, sandwiches, wings, pizzas, and just about anything else you could want to eat while trying a new beer for the first time.

One piece of advice - don't go when you're incredibly hungry, as the service flat out sucks. Both visits, I waited damn near an hour for my food, and there were maybe two or three other tables.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Anthony LaLota Anthony LaLota, Lock Haven, PA
(04/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good Good So So
Of the 30 or so PA/NY breweries I have visited over the last few years, this may have been the least enjoyable experience I have had to date. I appreciate the fact that they are giving it a shot in the brewmaking business, but they are a long ways off of competing with any respectable establishment when it comes to quality of beer or atmosphere. Between my companion and myself, we tried six of their beers and were not satisfied with a single one. Overall, the brews tasted flat, unnatural, and without any body.

The waitress was punctual, but not too pleasant, while the food was actually good. The interior design had potential (hard wood and spacious), although the construction/remodeling was a serious eyesore that I was told had been going on for months.

If you're looking for a place to eat/drink in the Williamport area, stay on the north side of the river (Bullfrog Brewery). Until you've been EVERYWHERE else, don't bother with the Valley Inn.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Josh Josh, Harrisburg, PA
(02/18/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Great Great Lousy Good
First off this is a first batch and Im sure it will improve. But I have sampled all of the beers and it's just not there yet. When I told my waitress my dislike for the beer she gave me a evil look and said "Hey pal this isn't budweiser". I was shocked and was ready to leave if my food wasn't there. I have been here a few times and the service is always a bit long and upwards of an hour wait but the food is great. The wings are delicious, and the menu in whole is large. I suggest the BleusBurger or the pulled pork. The atmosphere is just like stated before "real bar" feel. The addition of the new room just makes the place 10 times better. Just tweak those beer recipes and you guys will be set.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review State College, PA
(11/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I'm reserving my ratings until my next visit. It's a new place with lotsa hand made woodwork, that's worth the trip just to see the craftsmanship and care being taken. 6 beers were available and ranged from kind of green to not bad at all. I agree with Lew about the porter--it has potential and was pretty good on my stop. Had a Scottish Lager (hope I got that right) at ABC's beer fest which was pretty good. Enthusiastic homebrewer who just needs some time to get the whole "bigger batch" concept down. Looking forward to my next stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(09/22/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
Stopped in on the way up to Potter Co and is wasn't too far off the beaten track. We ate in the "new" room which is all wood (even the bathrooms) and very interesting looking. The beers are decent, the porter probably the best and the food was fine. The addition of a brewery to a well established facility is a good move, I think these folks are committed to making a go of it. We'll have to check in later in the year for an update.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Island Beer Island, Lancaster, PA
(09/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
Good beer and a nice "real" bar feel

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(09/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
I don't have a lot to add to the other review. The beer's on a great path, but what I tasted on tap was only Good (tank sample of porter had a LOT of potential). Nothing wrong with it, but all first or second batches, not dialed in yet; I'm confident it will improve. The food I sampled was excellent, and the place is very cool. The Valley Inn is solidly a bar, a real, working-folks bar, and the Wrights decided to put a brewery in the back. Why can't there be more brewpubs like this? I'm gonna be stopping in here every time I get up this way (and the Bullfrog, and Franco's, and the Gennetti...).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(08/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Awesome! Good
I only found out about this place from Lew Bryson's website. Good timing as I was passing through the area On the 4th of July. It's only a couple miles from the Bullfrog just across the river south of Williamsport. Visit the Valley Inn/Abbey Wright website to get directions as it is not on a main thoroughfare. The outside of the building is a bit deceiving as it looks a little run down, the inside is much nicer. When I walked in around 2pm I was the only customer. I indentified myself as a traveling beer geek and was quickly greeted with much enthusiasm from the bartender. I was given a complimentary sampler of the 4 beers (Hippee IPA, Mosquitoe Wheat, Irish Red Ale and Coeur de la Saison)made on premises. I also was given a tour of the brewhouse which I did not even have to ask for. The bartender told me that it was a used system that they had picked up somewhere he thought near Philly. The brewmaster is apparently a homebrewer that is making his first foray into commercial brewing. 2 of the beers were the initial runs and the other 2 I understood were from the 2nd run and had been tweeked a bit. The beer was not bad considering how early in the game they are. I thought the Saison was probably the best of the lot but decided to order a couple pints of the IPA just because that is my favorite style. Anyone that visits in the near future needs to enlist a little patience with the beer. You are not going to get a HopDevil when you order the IPA at this point. Who knows... in 6 months to a year, you might. Also understand that this is an established bar and restaurant that is only looking to expand upon their business by brewing some of their own beer. You are always going to find a large selection of mainstream swill beer on the 20 taps though there was also Smithwicks, Sierra Nevada Pale Ale and a couple Sam Adams. As for the food I had a dozen wings which arrived exactly like I ordered them... extra crispy. The wing sauces were delicious. It's great to get wings exactly how you want them as most places don't seem to understand what extra crispy means! Good Job! I liked enough of what I saw that I will certainly check this place out again next time I'm in the area to see how things are progressing. They seem to be heading in the right direction. Be open minded and show them some support.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim S. Jim S., Wayland, NY
(07/10/2006)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.375 seconds) 17:54:06 54.234.244.98, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS