PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Sprague Farm and Brew Works - Venango, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 22, 2014 @ 07:16 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Venango > Sprague Farm and Brew Works
Sprague Farm and Brew Works Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Sprague Farm and Brew Works
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 87.7 / 100
22019 United States Highway 6
Venango, PA 16440
United States
(814) 398-2885
Listed Since: July 2006
Last Updated: July 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Venango, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
14 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Bethany Guest House
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Cambridge Springs Bridge
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Acropolis Pizza House
2) All Night Egg Plant
3) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
4) Arby's
5) Arby's
6) Arthur Treacher's Fish & Chips
7) Beginning Ii
8) Bennigan's Grill & Tavern
9) Bo Cheng
10) Bruegger's Bagels Bakery
11) Burger King
12) Burger King
13) Carmella's Cafe
14) Carvel Ice Cream Bakery
15) Casa Di Copani
16) Chili's Grill & Bar
17) Chrissy's Express Cafe
18) Dark Horse Tavern
19) Dark Room
20) Delmonico's Italian Steak
21) Denny's
22) Dewitt Restaurants
23) Dewittshire Tavern
24) Doug's Fish Fry-De Witt
25) Dynasty Chinese Cuisine
26) Erawan Thai Restaurant
27) Fisheria
28) Flaming Wok
29) Friendly's Restaurant
30) Friendly's Restaurant
31) Golden City Chinese Restaurant
32) Highland Restaurant
33) Hofmann Hot Haus
34) International House-Pancakes
35) Kalimera Cafe
36) Kfc
37) Little Caesars Pizza
38) Little Thai Restaurants
39) Main Chinese Buffet
40) Mario & Salvo's Pizzeria
41) Marko's Golden Spike
42) Mc Donald's
43) Mc Donald's
44) Mother's Cupboard Fish Fry
45) Moulin Rouge
46) Nick's Breakfast House Lunch
47) Old Country Buffet
48) Olive Garden
49) Outback Steakhouse
50) Paladino's Pizza Ii
51) Pavone's Pizza
52) Pelican Diner
53) Philly Steak & Gyro
54) Pickles Kosher Deli Inc
55) Pizza Hut
56) Pizza Hut
57) Ponderosa Steakhouse
58) Quiznos Sub
59) Red Lobster Restaurant
60) Redwood Diner
61) Rico's Ristorante
62) Ruby Tuesday
63) Sbarro
64) Scotch 'n Sirloin
65) Secret Garden/Bl-Won
66) Subway Of De Witt
67) Swensen's Ice Cream
68) Taco Bell
69) Taco Bell
70) Tgi Friday's
71) Thirty-Two Degrees
72) Tokyo Seoul
73) Trillium Wellness Ctr
74) Tully's Good Times
75) Turkey & Salad Express
76) Wa-Noa Golf Club Restaurant
77) Waffle Works Restaurant
78) Wegman's Market Cafe
79) Wendy's
80) Wendy's
81) William's Restaurant
82) Yukon River Grill
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
STOP EVERY SATURDAY FOR MY ALE MARYS

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from RAY GALLAGHER RAY GALLAGHER, CAMBRIDGE SPRINGS , PA
(12/19/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Awesome!
I've been visiting this place since their opening in 2006 & just love it. It's tough picking my favorite beer because there are 3 or 4 that I just love. If I'm going anywhere to buy a beer, this is where I want to be. The beer is great, the owners are great, and the people I meet here are a cut above. What more can I say . See you there !

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gary D. Wilson Gary D. Wilson, Edinboro, PA
(10/29/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
If you love craft beer you must go there. This place is amazing!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stephen Sikon Stephen Sikon, Pittsburgh, PA
(11/09/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
If you want to see how the love of a microbrewy starts stop by this place. I've never seen such passion for the craft. Minnie was great. The beer was awesome. We toured the barn and I have never seen so much beer stuff in my life. This will be one of those places you will keep going back to to see what the have added. They are outside the box thinkers. The use of materials in awesome. We loved the ALE Mary and had a growler to go. Stop by if your in the area. You won't be disappointed!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scaler Scaler, Rural Retreat, VA
(10/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
After a year of absence (what was I thinking) I started going back to this "Beer Barn," and I have to say one thing . . . THIS BEER HEALS!!!

I was having a very bad farming season, with drought playing havoc with my crops, so I went to Sprague's and told Minnie I was going to drown away my sorrows in some of their beer to celebrate the wonderful season I was having ;-)

I got a growler of Hellbender and one of the latest brews, "Effin'" beer, named after the Effin' Spring Weather we had this year, and wouldn't you know it . . . two downed growlers (in 2 days)later, it started to rain, and rain and rain, even having some minor flooding in the streams and standing water in a few low spots in the fields, BUT, the crops have recovered, and it looks like we might get a harvest in after all!!!!! :-)

Went back a week later, and Minnie greeted me by name, asked me if things got better, and I told her and her husband, the BrewMan, about the healing properties of their beer. I think they were happy to hear of another satisfied customer!!!

I now plan to stop in at least once a week, so I can continue this trend of drinking good beer and having a good harvest!!! Great Stuff!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Farmer Troy Farmer Troy, Cambridge Springs (New Richmond), PA
(07/22/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
GREAT beer and nice selection. All the beer has a wonderful nice full flavor that is also great to cook with. Tasting room is always busy on Saturdays.

Brian and Minnie have a great operation going here and I wish them all the best in the future.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bee Bee, Meadville, PA
(03/27/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I stopped at Sprague on a weekend trip that I took with a friend. We found an article on them from a paper we picked up at Straub, it wasn't too far out of the way so we dropped in on them. They were very good people and we tasted all of their beers and they showed us around. The scotch ale was my favorite, I remember the porter might be a bit too hearty for some. Everything was great! My only regret is that I didn't buy a growler to take home! I'm not sure if this guy is a brewer that just happens to be awesome with a chainsaw, or a lumberjack that happens to be an excellent brewer, but you'll want to check out his chainsaw carvings around the farm. CHEERS!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Darrell Darrell, Pittsburgh, PA
(03/12/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Old barn converted into a brewery. What a great place. The silo has a handle on it so it looks like a giant beer mug and you can go to the top of it! Three beer on tap and they were all great. Lots of breweriana on display. Brian and Minnie are great folks, be sure to put them on your next brewery tour.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(09/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
My brother and I visited the Sprague's place during a recent trip to NW Pa. They'd just opened several weeks before and I had the good fortune to see them written up in the Erie Times-News. The beer we sampled - available in growlers now - were superb. On the day we visited, they had Hellbender Porter, the Ale Mary, and the Rust Belt Amber ale. The Porter was very fresh and full; the Ale Mary was a very satisfying accompaniment to a warm Saturday afternoon and the Amber was robust - I liked them all!

They've done a great job in renovating an old barn to accommodate the brewing operation. There's also a wealth of beer advertising memorabilia - a must see for anyone who remembers all of the small breweries that once inhabited Western Pennsylvania.

Perhaps the best thing about the place are the proprietors - Minnie and Brian Sprague - they're real fine folks who are proud of their work and devoted to the quality of their beer. Good to their place is like spending time with good friends you've known for a lifetime. May they prosper!

Note: be sure to call before heading out to confirm their hours. Just make sure you get there - you won't be disappointed!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Rothrock Tom Rothrock, Centennial, CO
(08/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I visited the Sprague's place during a recent trip to NW Pa. They'd just opened several weeks before and I had the good fortune to see them written up in the Erie Times-News. The beer we sampled - available in growlers now - were superb. On the day we visited, they had a robust ale, a very light and hoppy lager and a fresh porter. They've done a great job in renovating an old barn to accomodate the brewing operation. There's also a wealth of beer advertising memorbelia - a must see for anyone who remembers all of the small breweries that once inhabited Western Pennsylvania

Perhaps the best thing about the place are the proprietors - Minnie and Brian Sprague - they're real fine folks who are proud of their work and devoted to the qulaity of their beer. May they prosper!

Note: be sure to call before heading out to confirm their hours. Just make sure you get there - you won't be disappointed!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Rothrock Tom Rothrock, Centennial, CO
(08/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Awesome! Great
Went to the opening on Friday (saw James there, too: hey, fella!), and this little off-the-beaten-path place is absolutely awesome in concept and presentation. It's a brewery in an old dairy barn, the taps for growler sales come out of the front of an old pump organ, the silo is made into a huge beer mug, Brian Sprague's chainsaw sculptures are scattered around, and, well, it's just cool as hell. The beer -- I said 'good' mainly because there's room for improvement on the serving. We were there for the opening, and the beers were pretty much on tap for the first time at the brewery. They forgot to insulate the lines to the organ, so the beer was pretty foamy, the porter was keg conditioned and had a bit too much yeast and sediment in it. But the beers WERE good, and the Ale Mary Wheat (a wit-like beer with additions of coriander, orange peel, juniper and peppercorns) was damned good. Give these guys two months -- no, a month, and they'll have it zeroed in. Only 40 minutes from Four Sons in Titusville, and only 15 minutes from the upcoming Voodoo Brewery in Meadville (Matt Allyn's creation; Matt was a big assist at Sprague). Sprague is already worth getting off the interstate, and once Voodoo opens, this area is going to be a great part of a western PA beer trail. Plan now.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(07/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Great
Went to the grand opening last night, and really was impressed with the place. Awesome conversion of a barn into a brewery. The beer was pretty good. I personally enjoyed the Hellbender Porter and the Ale Mary, and the Rust Belt Amber was O.K.

I hope that this place is successful, and wish them the best!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Troy Bogdan Troy Bogdan, Cambridge Springs, PA
(07/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
They have put togethera brew area that is outstanding. If you like good beer and the personal touch here it is!!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from james Horton james Horton, cambridge spirngs, PA
(07/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Opening July 22.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(07/10/2006)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.847 seconds) 19:16:47 107.20.34.144, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS