PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Alt Platz Brewing Company - Portsmouth, VA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 22, 2014 @ 07:09 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > VA > Portsmouth > Alt Platz Brewing Company
Alt Platz Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Alt Platz Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 72.9 / 100
615 High Street
Portsmouth, VA 23704
United States
(757) 295-0700
Listed Since: November 2006
Last Updated: December 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Portsmouth, VA
Beer Guide for Virginia

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Alt Platz Brewing Company
16 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(9 within 5 miles)
1) Trolley Club
(0 mile)

2) Bier Garden
(0 mile)

3) Gosport Tavern
(0 mile)

4) Jack Quinn's
(2 miles)

5) Mo and O'Malley's Irish Pub
(2 miles)

6) The Birch Bar
(3 miles)

7) Taphouse at Ghent
(3 miles)

8) New Belmont
(3 miles)

9) Colley Cantina
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Bed & Breakfast-Page House Inn
2) Glen Coe Inn
3) Olde Towne Bed & Breakfast Inn
4) Patriot Inn B & B
5) Port Norfolk Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST VALUE INN AND SUITES CHESA
2) CLARION HOTEL JAMES MADISON
3) COMFORT INN OLDE TOWN
4) COURTYARD NORFOLK DOWNTOWN
5) DAYS INN NORFOLK CHESAPEAKE
6) DAYS INN NORFOLK N PORTSMOUTH
7) ECONO LODGE CHESAPEAKE
8) EXTENDEDSTAY GREENBRIER
9) HAWTHORN AT GOVERNOR DINWIDDI
10) NORFOLK MARRIOTT WATERSIDE
11) RADISSON HOTEL NORFOLK
12) SHERATON NORFOLK WATERSIDE HTL
13) TAZEWELL HOTEL & SUITES
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Allmand-Archer House
2) Attucks Theatre
3) Christ and St. Luke's Church
4) Commodore Theatre
5) Confederate Monument
6) Drydock No. 1
7) Epworth United Methodist Church
8) First Baptist Church
9) First Calvary Baptist Church
10) Fort Norfolk
11) Freemason Street Baptist Church
12) HUNTINGTON (Tugboat)
13) James Blair Junior High School
14) Kenmure
15) Lafayette Grammar and High School
16) LIGHTSHIP No. 101, PORTSMOUTH
17) Monticello Arcade
18) Myers, Moses, House
19) Norfolk Academy
20) Norfolk City Hall
21) Old Norfolk City Hall
22) Old Portlock School #5
23) Portsmouth Courthouse
24) Pythian Castle
25) Quarters A, B, and C, Norfolk Naval Shipyard
26) Seaboard Coastline Building
27) Shea Terrace Elementary School
28) St. John's African Methodist Episcopal Church
29) St. Mary's Church
30) St. Paul's Catholic Church
31) St. Paul's Church
32) Taylor-Whittle House
33) Trinity Episcopal Church
34) U.S. Customhouse
35) US Post Office and Courthouse
36) Virginia Bank and Trust Building
37) Wells Theatre
38) West, John T., School
39) Willoughby-Baylor House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 219 Restaurant
2) 456 Fish
3) A J Gators Sports Bar & Grill
4) A2Z Cafe
5) Alice May's Soul Food
6) Amory's Wharf
7) Aramark Monarch Catering Svc
8) Arby's
9) Balaban's Gourmet Barbecue
10) Bar Norfolk
11) Baron's Pub & Restaurant
12) Basil Italian Seafd Ristorante
13) Ben & Jerry's
14) Bier Garden Inc
15) Bier Garden Inc
16) Blue Hippo
17) Blue Plate
18) Bluebird Bakery & Cafe
19) Blues Alley
20) Bob's Bbq & Country Cookin
21) Bob's Carolina Bbq Rstrnt
22) Bobbie B's Deli
23) Bodega
24) Bojangles' Famous Chicken
25) Bozeburger Ii
26) Breckenridge Restaurant & Lng
27) Brothers Paradise Food Lounge
28) Bruttis' Cafe
29) Bugatti's
30) Burger King
31) Burger King
32) Business Opportunities-Blind
33) Business Opportunity Blind
34) Cafe Europa
35) Castaldi's Market & Grill
36) Castle
37) Centerplate
38) Chan's Restaurant
39) Chanello's Pizza
40) Chen Garden Chinese Restaurant
41) Chili's Grill & Bar
42) China Garden Restaurant
43) Chinese Tea Garden
44) Chocollage
45) Church's Chicken
46) Circle Seafood Restaurant
47) Cobia Grill
48) Colonial Shoppe
49) Copeland's Hot Dogs
50) Country Favorites Restaurant
51) Cradock Bar & Grill Inc
52) Crocodile Rocks
53) Cuisine & Co
54) D'Eggs Diner
55) Daily Grind
56) Deck Restaurant Inc
57) Del Vecchios
58) Deli Plus
59) Diesel Pizza
60) Dixie's Tavern
61) Domino's Pizza
62) Domino's Pizza
63) Domo Japanese Restaurant
64) Downtown
65) Downtowner Restaurant
66) El Noplito Mexican Restaurant
67) Elocoqui
68) Empire Buffett
69) Empire-Little Bar Bistro
70) Encore Restaurant
71) Esplanade Restaurant
72) Fahrenheit Restaurant & Bar
73) Famous Uncle Al's
74) Fine Dining
75) First Colony Coffee House
76) Flagship Restaurant
77) Flagship Resteraunt
78) Foggy Point Bar & Grill
79) Freemason Abbey Restaurant
80) Frontier
81) Gli Food Svc
82) Gloria's Best
83) Gourmet Gang
84) Granby Lounge
85) Grandy Bistro & Deli
86) Greater Grinders
87) Guatalagara City Cafe
88) Gustos Restaurant
89) Haagen-Dazs Ice Cream
90) Harbor Club
91) Hardee's
92) Harry's Famous Barbecue
93) Havanna
94) Have A Nice Day Cafe
95) Hay Hing Chinese Restaurant
96) Hell's Kitchen
97) Hms Host
98) Hooters
99) Huckleberry's Frozen Custard
100) Invisible Chefs
101) Jack Quinn's Irish Pub
102) Jeannie B's Inc
103) Jeepers
104) Jeff's Cafe
105) Jem Banquet Facility
106) Jillian's
107) Jimmy Walkers Subs
108) Joe's Crab Shack
109) Johnny Rockets
110) Johnson Carolina Bbq
111) Kate's Catering
112) Kfc
113) Kincaid's Restaurant
114) King's Hibachi At Waterside
115) La Galleria Ristorante
116) LA Tolteca
117) Large Brothers Catering
118) Lee's Hot Dogs
119) Little Caesars Pizza
120) Lobscouser Restaurant
121) Logan Raye's Raw Bar & Pub
122) Los Amigos-Portside Portsmouth
123) Machismo
124) Makeda's Fine Food Entrtn
125) Mama Chan's Chinese Take-Out
126) Mama Jean's Cafe
127) Margarita's Mexican Rstrnt
128) Mario's Italian Restaurant
129) Market Fare
130) Max & Erma's
131) Mc Donald's
132) Mc Donald's
133) Mc Donald's Restaurant
134) Metro
135) Michael's Family Restaurant
136) Mo & O'malley's Irish Pub
137) Modeans Carribean Restaurant
138) Monastery Restaurant
139) Mongolian Express
140) Murphy's Stars & Stripes
141) Nacho Mama's Express
142) Nancy Jean's Family Restaurant
143) New York Deli
144) Nex-Freshens
145) Normandie Restaurant
146) Nyc Deli & Pub
147) Oasis Cafe
148) Old Towne News & Coffee
149) Omar's Carriage House
150) Open Wide
151) Outback Steakhouse
152) Paddy O'brian's
153) Pagoda Garden Tea House
154) Pastaria
155) Pfeiffer's Books Cards Fine
156) Philadelphia Cold Cuts
157) Pizza Hut
158) Pizza Hut
159) Plume Street Grille
160) Pop's Kabobs
161) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
162) Popeyes Chicken & Biscuits
163) Port Norfolk Pub & Restaurant
164) Pretzel Time
165) Quiznos Sub
166) Rainforest Cafe
167) Rally's Hamburgers Inc
168) Rally's Hamburgers Inc
169) Rio's Cafe
170) Riverwalk
171) Rock Fest
172) Roger Brown's Restaurant Sport
173) Sbarro
174) Schlotzsky's Deli
175) Scotties Southern Barbecue
176) Seasons-An American Bistro
177) Shula's 347
178) Sing Wong Restaurant
179) Sirena Cucina Italiana
180) Skinney's
181) Spirit Of Norfolk Harbor
182) Starbucks
183) Steak Escape
184) Steak Master
185) Sterlings
186) Steve's Restaurant
187) Steve's Restaurant
188) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
189) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
190) Sun's Sub & Pub
191) Super Wok
192) Sweets & Treats
193) Szechuan Garden Restaurant
194) Taco Bell
195) Takis Gyros
196) Taste Of Chicago
197) Taste Unlimited
198) Terra Nova Cafe Ymca
199) Thai Cuisine
200) Three Cheers
201) Thumpers Downtown Bar & Grill
202) Tides Bar & Grill
203) Time
204) Todd Jurich's Bistro
205) Tony Jr's Hot Dogs
206) Tortugaz Restaurant
207) Tropical Smoothie Cafe & Deli
208) Tycorp Pizza
209) Vic Zodda's Restaurant
210) Villa Pizza
211) Vintage Restaurant Group LLC
212) Virginia Wings Of Waterside I
213) Voila
214) Voodoo Rouge
215) Wasabi Systems Inc
216) Watergate Restaurant
217) Waterside Hamburgers
218) Waterstreet Landing
219) Wendy's
220) Wolfy's World Famous Hotdogs
221) Wynn's Seafood
222) Zelicks
223) Zero Submarine
224) Zero's Granby LTD
225) Zero's Subs
226) Zero's Subs
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A So So So So
Based on these other reviews I was prepared to wear my kevlar britches for a visit to Alt Platz. It's a small operation on downtown Portsmouth's main drag. Any food ordered has to survive the trip from the freezer to the microwave or a small pizza oven. The owner had stopped brewing and was serving what he had left in stock, preparing to close completely later in the year. The beers weren't bad, better than average home brew but not good enough to make a regular visitor out of anybody with taste. I didn't catch any gruff from the staff. They had a blueberry wheat that was quoted as 11% abv and a starkbier stated at 13%, both figures clearly double the actual strength. An interesting place, maybe not deserving of complete scorn.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roach Roach, Plano, TX
(06/26/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Lousy Lousy
I am SO GLAD Altplatz is closing----unfortunately, the beer is GOOD, but the owner is rude, nasty, ill mannered and verbally abusive.. In a recent issue of beer relater publication, he called us CLOWNS because we went to buy bottled beer at the Biergarten up the street----A) The Biergarten DOES have good beers ON TAP and B) They SMILE and say THANK YOU! All we ever got at Altplatz is a consistently nasty proprietor who uses foul language if you so much as ask a question about his beer---GOOD BYE and GOOD RIDDANCE ALTPLATZ!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Newport News, VA
(05/31/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Alt Platz will stop making its own beer by the end of April, serving mostly-local craft beers and imports after the stocks on hand are finished off; the place will close completely at the end of 2008.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gregg Wiggins Gregg Wiggins, Arlington, VA
(04/15/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Lousy So So
Attention potential patrons of Alt Platz in Portsmouth, Virginia! The owner of this establishment is known to yell and rant at anyone caught taking notes in his brewpub. If the offending party admits to using any beer rating web site, he will likely expel the person from his business, banning him for life.

In addition, the owner has sent vulgar, offensive and even threatening e-mails to those who post negative comments about his establishment. He has even sent what may be libelous e-mails to distribution lists regarding negative posters.

It is my opinion that this establishment should be avoided at all costs, for both peace-of-mind and personal safety concerns. This person has no business being in the public service/hospitality business and exemplifies everything that someone in that business should not be.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Chesapeake, VA
(04/09/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
This is what brew pubs are supposed to be. Small, owner/brewer run establishment. The location was easy to find and the beer was great. I had the pleasure of trying the Pumpkin Ale and it was the best I had ever tasted. This is a rare gem and a must visit for any beer lover.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brett Brett, League City, TX
(03/29/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Awesome place- I was groggy on my last review since I smoked a lot of weed and didn't understand I was so stupid in my review- I work for GOA and they don't even know I'm a pothead- Alt Platz is non smoking and this is what sucks- I also like paying for overpriced products at the bier garden just because it feels good-WHo wouldn't rather have beer shipped 7K miles as opposed to drinking fresh beer made locally- Alt Platz does have awesome beer and the pizza is good- really good when I get the munchies after a few bowls and bongs. ALt Platz Rocks!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Beauchamp John Beauchamp, Portsmouth, VA
(02/27/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy Good Lousy So So
owner has a sense of entitlement and treats customers as distractions. he seems to think the world owes him something and none of his problems have anything to do with him.

he does not keep business hours, he keeps hobby hours. open for 4 hrs on days when he opens, and does not open 'til 6pm. and he wonders why he cannot sell enough food to meet Virginia ABC requirements....

never more than 3-4 at a time of brewed beers - they all the same headache-inducing taste of cheap extract. he seems to have read the handwriting on the wall and started to sell imports recently. good move. his beers suck.

if in portsmouth, don't waste your time at alt platz. go down the street to the bier garden.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review portsmouth, VA
(01/30/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A So So Lousy
Frankly, this place was AWFUL, and overpriced. I got the sampler (2-3 oz each of 4 beers for $6, not too bad overall, but pretty steep for Portsmouth), and a glass of the pumpkin beer, which was around 10 ounces, and for which I was charged $12!! All the beers had infection of some sort, predominantly phenols and strong diacetyl. The pumpkin was strongly phenolic, which the brewer seemed to be trying to cover with the heavy dusting of cinnamon and sugar he coated on the top 1/2 inch of the glass. It could not hide the phenols completely. When we inquired about the price of the pumpkin, we were told that it was 16% ABV, which it very apparently was not! I doubt it was even over 6%. The +P Marzen, which was VERY dark and roasty (not to style). We were told the it was 11% ABV. BS. The brewer, who was not very talkative at all, and spent the entire time we were there browsing firearms on the internet. We were two of the total four patrons in the place, and could not get more than one word comments from him. Save your money, and your palate, and go down the street to the Biergarden, which does not make their own beer, but does carry GOOD beer, and great food. The owner has posted a "No www.ratebeer" symbol on his website, and made a big deal about not endorsing the site and having asked that their place be removed, and even stated "obvious copyright infringement. He obviously cant stand criticism of his very sub par products! Can BA pubcrawler be far behind?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lyle C. Brown Lyle C. Brown, Fredericksburg, VA
(11/29/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
This is a great addition to Old Town. Great atmosphere and the no-smoking makes it even more enjoyable. The beer was awesome and the selection of bottle beer is also superb. The pizza was delicious. We will definitely become regulars here!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill C Bill C, Portsmouth, VA
(09/12/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Good Good
Looking for an unpretentious local pub? This is the place for you. Wasn't a fan of the pizza or the wings, though. Liked the Hefe (waitress called it "Heh-fee", which worried me, but it was yummy), liked the strong ale, didn't like the Pale Ale. LOVED the smoke free environment!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John J John J, Norfolk, VA
(06/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
What a gem of a beer place!! I have lived in the area for over 25 years and am very pleaseed that Alt Platz Brewing is here. Downtown Portsmouth has desperately needed a good beer place with an atmosphere free of Smoke excessive noise and the like. Tom (the owner/brewer)is a vet. He bleeds red,white and blue in a rebellious patriotic kind of way. The brew vats are spotlighted and signed by patrons who are active duty or veterans. There is a whole wall of old recruitment and war bond posters which adda to the theme. The beer is great and tasty. This years holiday brew was a pumpkin ale with quite a kick. My favorate beer is the Mighty bru with dark color and rich taste. Blended with the Sedona the mighty brew makes a fabulous black and tan combo.

I found this brew pub by accident while parking down the street from the local theater. It is a wonderful place to top off after a movie.

I am a guy who is hard to find a gift for. This past Christmas my wife bought me a Growler complete with dogtags from Altz platz. I now can enjoy this brewer's wonderful creations at home.

BTW- the pizza is to die for.

Mike B. Norfolk

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from mike mike, norfolk, VA
(03/24/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Very Nice little brewpub found online. The place is very quaint and personable, with great service. One of the only non-smoking places to enjoy beer in P-town which as a plus. Beer is very good and has great flavor. We were told mostly due to Portsmouth having good water for brewing beer. But one can't leave out the brewer totally in the process. We had the Hot pretzels and they are delicious- made fresh and onsite with what seems to be a lot of secret recipes- reminded me of my grandmother always quick to respond with that addage-LoL. But had three beers and they were all very different and very pleasing. We left very satisfied and very happy indeed- the beer here does seem to make one very happy- very quickly. Recommend!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jim french jim french, tempe, AZ
(01/24/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
I have been to this place several times now, and every time I go the place gets better. The owner/brewer recently updated the bar to a much more accomodating and impressive size - a wonderful addition to the place. Beer selection is good, I am partial to the Sedona, which is a dark, sweet/malty ale. The wheat beer is wonderfully different, it is a doppel-weiss with a high alcohol content but well balanced flavor. Beers are very reasonably priced, and they are now serving bar food (beer and brats, appetizers, etc). Also, the pizzas are homemade and quite tasty. Highly recommended.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from RM RM, Portsmouth, VA
(01/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Beer was great, had several different kinds while I was there. The place was clean and well kept. Really liked the atmosphere, with the copper tanks and all. Service was good, enjoyed my stay.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Chesapeake, VA
(11/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
SMALL STOREFRONT BREWERY. STOPPED IN ON A SLOW WENDESDAY AND THE PLACE WAS EMPTY. ONE GUY IN THE PLACE; PROBABLY THE BREWER/OWNER AND HE DIDN'T HAVE A HIGH-CHAIR FOR INFANTS SO WE WENT DOWN THE STREET TO THE BIER GARDEN. I WOULD HAVE LOVED TO TRY THE BEERS BUT MAYBE NEXT TIME.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JIMBO JIMBO, SPRINGFIELD, OH
(11/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So N/A So So
Relatively new place, opened in early fall 2006. Small place with a lot of potential, I'd love to see a more develped food menu. The beer is pretty good - I had one of the earliest batches of the steam beer and it had an odd flavor. I went back about a month later to give them the benefit of the doubt and was pleasantly surprised. I dont remember what I had, but it was a dark lager with wonderful flavor. Definately worth checking out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from RM RM, Portsmouth, VA
(11/02/2006)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.427 seconds) 19:09:06 54.82.217.75, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS