PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Black Lotus Brewing Company - Clawson, MI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 25, 2014 @ 06:28 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MI > Clawson > Black Lotus Brewing Company
Black Lotus Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Black Lotus Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 85 / 100
1 East 14 Mile Road
Clawson, MI 48017
United States
(248) 577-1878
Listed Since: November 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Clawson, MI
Beer Guide for Michigan

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
12 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun CLOSED
Mon 12:00PM - 12:00AM
Tue 12:00PM - 12:00AM
Wed 12:00PM - 12:00AM
Thu 12:00PM - 12:00AM
Fri 12:00PM - 02:00AM
Sat 12:00PM - 02:00AM

alternatives
(7 within 5 miles)
1) Spectadium
(2 miles)

2) Berkley Front
(3 miles)

3) Royal Oak Brewery
(3 miles)

4) Lily's Seafood Grill and Brewery
(3 miles)

5) Bastone
(3 miles)

6) Big Rock Chop and Brew House
(3 miles)

7) Dick O'Dow's
(3 miles)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BARCLAY INN
2) BEST WESTERN TROY MADISON INN
3) COMFORT SUITES WARREN
4) COURTYARD TROY
5) DRURY INN & SUITES TROY
6) ECONO LODGE MADISON
7) EMBASSY SUITES HOTEL
8) EXTENDEDSTAY MADISON HEIGHTS
9) FAIRFIELD INN MADISON HEIGHTS
10) HAMILTON HOTEL
11) OAKWOOD MADISON HEIGHTS
12) OAKWOOD TROY
13) RED ROOF DETROIT MADISON HEIGHT
14) RED ROOF DETROIT TROY
15) REGENTS PARK
16) SOMERSET INN
17) SUPER 8 CLAWSONTROY DETROIT
18) THE TOWNSEND HOTEL
19) TRAVELODGE ROYAL OAK
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Brooks Farm
2) Caswell House
3) Derby Street--Grand Trunk Western Railroad Bridge
4) Grand Trunk Western Railroad Birmingham Depot
5) Hunter, John W., House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A & W Family Restaurant
2) A Step Outside Of The Box
3) Alexy Food & Snack
4) Alias Big Boy
5) Anita's Kitchen
6) Apovin Coney Grill
7) Arby's
8) Avenue Deli
9) Baggins
10) Bailey's Pub & Grille
11) Bailey's Pub & Grille
12) Baja Fresh Mexican Grill
13) Bangkok Bistro
14) Bangkok Silver Bowl Thai
15) Barb's Copper Country Kitchen
16) Baskin-Robbins
17) Bear's Den
18) Bellacino's Pizza & Grinders
19) Benihana
20) Birmingham Deli
21) Bistro X
22) Bob's Big Boy
23) Boocoo
24) Breakfast Club
25) Brenda's Deli
26) Buddy's Pizza
27) Burger King
28) Burger King
29) Caesarland
30) Cafe Sushi
31) Caribou Coffee
32) Champps Americana
33) Chi AM Restaurant
34) City Center Deli & Cafe
35) Clawson Grill
36) Clawson Steak House
37) Corned Beef & Mustard Deli
38) Corradi's Sports Bar
39) Cottage Inn Pizza
40) Custard & Co Inc
41) Custom Vending Svc
42) D & N Dairy Bar
43) Dairy O
44) Dairy Queen
45) Day In Day Out
46) Denny's
47) Domino's Pizza
48) Duggans
49) Elias Big Boy
50) Faym-Us Chicken
51) Fiddleheads Restaurant
52) Forte Belanger Catering
53) Four Green Fields
54) Friends Cafe
55) Frittata Inc
56) Gerald's Gourmet Coffee Shoppe
57) Golden Ball
58) Good Food Co East Inc
59) Great Sport Coffee
60) Grecian Palace
61) Greek Boy Inc
62) Grille 173
63) Guido's Premium Pizza
64) Haagen-Dazs Ice Cream
65) Harold's Chicken Shacks
66) Hide Out Bar
67) Hippo's
68) Ho Wok
69) Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs
70) I Dine
71) International House Of Pancake
72) J R's Pizza & Southwestern
73) Jet's Pizza
74) Jimmy John's Gourmet Sandwich
75) Johnny D's
76) Kerby's Koney Island
77) Kfc
78) Kyoto Japanese Steak & Seafood
79) Larco's Italian Chophouse
80) Leo's Coney Island
81) Leo's Souvlaki Coney Island
82) Lim's Palace
83) Little Caesars Pizza
84) Luna Lounge
85) Lynn's Catered Cuisine
86) Maggiano's Little Italy
87) Main Street Deli
88) Manhattan Deli V
89) Maple Street Cafe & Coney Is
90) Mary's Cafe
91) Maxwell's Carry Out
92) Mc Donald's
93) Mc Donald's
94) Mc Donald's
95) Melting Pot Restaurant
96) Metro Deli
97) Motor City Coney Cafe
98) Mountain Jack's
99) Mui's Chinese Food Carry Out
100) National Coney Island
101) Nippon Kai Japanese Restaurant
102) Noodles & Co
103) O'grady's Irish Pub
104) Old Port Inn Restaurant
105) Olga's Kitchen Inc
106) Oliver's Pizza
107) Outback Steakhouse
108) Panera Bread
109) Papa Romano's
110) Papa Romano's
111) Papa Vino's Italian Kitchen
112) Pathway Pantry
113) Peking Buffet
114) Perry's Pizza
115) Pita House
116) Pizza Hut
117) Pizza Hut
118) Potbelly Sandwich Works
119) Potbelly's Sandwich Works
120) Priya
121) Pronto Catering
122) Rallo's Pizza
123) Rally's Hamburgers Inc
124) Rams Horn Of Troy
125) Recipes
126) Renshaw Lounge
127) Rexy's Bangkok Cuisine
128) Rio Bravo
129) Rio Wraps Restaurant
130) Roma Pizza & Grinders
131) Royal Thai Cafe
132) Ruth's Chris Steak House
133) Samuel Hoffman's Deli
134) Samuel Hoffman's Deli Rstrnt
135) Shield's Restaurant Bar
136) Shilla Korean/Japanese Cuisine
137) Shula's Steak House
138) Shula's Steakhouse
139) Siam Spicy Thai & Oriental
140) Spectadium
141) Stan's Carryout
142) Starbucks
143) Starbucks
144) Starbucks
145) Steamers Cafe
146) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
147) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
148) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
149) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
150) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
151) Sundries Plus
152) Szechuan Wok
153) T & J Coney Island
154) Taco Bell
155) Taco Bell
156) Tania's Pizza & Party Store
157) Tavern On The Main
158) Ted's Pub & Cafe
159) Tgi Friday's
160) Topz Healthier Burger Grill
161) Trini & Carmen's Clawson
162) Troy Marriott
163) Tubby's
164) Tubby's Sub Shop
165) Wagon Wheel Saloon
166) Wendy's
167) Wendy's
168) Wilshire Cafe
169) Wong's Cantonese Food Carry
170) Zorba's Coney Island
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Awesome!
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Consistently outstanding in beer quality. Moderate number of varieties assures constant freshness. Black Bottom Oatmeal Stout is well balanced and smooth with reasonably blended coffee and chocolate overtones. Seasonals are of same high standard. Seasonal dark beer is milder and perhaps to the taste of more customers. Service is uniformly friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. Brew masters are accessible and interested in feedback. Food is limited but better than most local brew pubs. Overall it is our favorite in the northern Detroit area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ross ross, Birmingmam, MI
(07/19/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Awesome! Great Awesome!
I'm a local, but this is the best brewpub around regardless of the location. The beer is cosnstantly awesome, and the available beers vary by season. I personaly recommend the Detroit Hip Hops IPA which is nearly always available. I would also recommend a recently added beer that is also quite tasty called Trevor's Da ESB, although I'm not sure how long it will be availbale. The "kitchen" (still in the open behind the bar) facilities have greatly improved since the place opened and some of their food is absolutely fantastic. I'm a big fan of their burgers, especially the "Lotus Burger". The "Boss Hog" pulled pork sandwhich is also mouth watering and their Nachos are great if you want to share with your friends. I've eaten pretty much all of the local burgers in this area and Black Lotus has the best in my oppinion.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Elliott Matt Elliott, Clawson, MI
(10/27/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Had lunch with my couple of beers. The quality with sensational. I will be returning for more as often as I can

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Allen Burt Allen Burt, Ypsilanti, MI
(07/20/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Awesome! Great
We've been here several times and each time the staff is very friendly and the beers good. Cozy and clean atmosphere, love the decor. They seem to only have 4 or 5 types on tap at one time, and 1 or 2 of them involve fruit. But hey, all you need is 1 that you like! Located right on a busy streetcorner so you can people and car watch both directions and enjoy a cold pint or 3. It's worth going out of your way to stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from B2 B2, Sterling Heights, MI
(07/12/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
Stop #2 on part of a baseball/brews vacation. Glad I had a rental car to get out to Clawson from Detroit because the transit bus would have been a fun ride. Laid back atmosphere at Black Lotus. Surprised me that outside food was allowed but that proves how good the beer is. Had no problems going through a pint each of the Detroit Hip Hop IPA, Red Tao Amber and the Motown Smokedown. The Smokedown was something special, a Scotch Ale fresh off a wood fire. Did sample the Buffalo burger. Don't think I've ever watched my meal cooked right at the end of the bar. That's how laid back the Lotus is. In fact, as a severe storm rolled in complete with sirens going off in the area, not one local moved away from the plate glass windows. This Left Coaster was looking for shelter, preferably close to a tap handle. Worth searching out if you are in the Detroit/Windsor area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. King J. King, Campbell, CA
(06/19/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Made a lunch stop recently while on a beer tour throughout the metro area. Lotus Light was a light that actually had some flavor (pretty rare). Red was thin, pedestrian. El Guapo Negra (dark) had slight dark at finish. Wit had a definite emphasis on the coriander, unique. Black Bottom Oatmeal Stout was drinkable, smooth, good flavor. Hip Hops IPA was slightly smoky with good malt/hop balance--a winner. Their menu is minimal but OK. Lunch special--burger and pint combo for $5 is a steal. My buffalo burger was excellent--no bells and whistles, just good! Possibly the friendliest place I visited out of a few dozen in Michigan. This place is a keeper!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
I visited for the first time in March. I very nice place with really nice folks working behind the bar. No smoking! Coffee and desserts are on the menu. Bringing in food is fine. I recommend take out sushi from Noble Fish which is only a couple doors away. Mostly ales with some quite tasty.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rich Rich, Grosse Pointe Farms, MI
(07/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good So So Good Awesome!
THEY ARE IN THE PROCESS OF INSTALLING A KITCHEN. 6 HOUSE BREWS ALL DONE TO PERFECTION. I JUST CAN'T STOP THINKING ABOUT THEIR I.P.A. A MUST STOP IF IN THE AREA.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JIMBO JIMBO, SPRINGFIELD, OH
(05/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
Nice place, Average selection of good micro styled beers. Took home a growler of Stout.Worth a visit!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Welch Robert Welch, Greenville, OH
(12/27/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Awesome!
This place has a great ambionce. The hand crafted beers are served from a custom stone bar. Copper table tops. Lounge area.... No smoking. Better for the beer I think. I really did not try the food. The beers were good. I would reccomend this place. The music was great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Warren, MI
(11/22/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
The Stout is fantastic. Tried their wheat also. Atmosphere is nice and the owners are very much involved with their establishment. I've tried numerous stouts and have only found one that rivaled Black Lotus.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from b747man b747man, walled lake, MI
(11/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Awesome! Awesome!
awesome bridge between commerial brew and indie experimental. loved the atmosphere..will be back for sure a+++++++++++

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from scott Gateno scott Gateno, farmington, MI
(11/09/2006)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.322 seconds) 06:28:57 54.237.249.10, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS