PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Barley's and Hop's Bottle Shop - Bethel Park, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 23, 2014 @ 12:33 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Bethel Park > Barley's and Hop's Bottle Shop
Barley's and Hop's Bottle Shop Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Barley's and Hop's Bottle Shop
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 84.4 / 100
5217 Library Road
South Park Shops
Bethel Park, PA 15102
United States
Listed Since: December 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Bethel Park, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Barley's and Hop's Bottle Shop
10 Reviews / 8 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(4 within 5 miles)
1) Rose's Village Pub
(3 miles)

2) Molly Brannigans Traditional Irish Pub
(4 miles)

3) Molly Brannigan's
(4 miles)

4) IL Pizzaiolo
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Waterford
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BRIDGESTREET LINCOLN POINTE
2) RAMADA INN PITTSBURG SOUTH
3) RESIDENCE INN PIT AIRPORT
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bridge in Jefferson Borough
2) Dusmal House
3) Erie Trust Company Building
4) Experimental Mine, U.S. Bureau Of Mines
5) Miller, James, House
6) Neville House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A J Catering
2) Ann's Restaurant
3) Arby's
4) Au Bon Pain
5) Au Bon Pain
6) Bain's Deli
7) Bethel Bakery
8) Bethel Deli
9) Bethel Park Community Ctr
10) Bocelli Pizzq
11) Breeze's Bar & Grille
12) Bruegger's Bagels Bakery
13) Bruster's Old Fashioned Ice
14) Burger King
15) Burger King
16) Cafe Georgio's
17) Dairy Queen
18) Danny's Parkview Pizza
19) Delallo's Fort Couch Cafe
20) Demar Coffee Shop
21) Denny's
22) Duke's Station Ltd
23) Dynasty Buffet
24) E J's Lounge
25) Eat'n Park Restaurants
26) Eat'n Park Restaurants
27) Everything Yogurt
28) Family Deli
29) Flamers
30) Flamers Charbroiled Hamburgers
31) Franks' Pub & Grill
32) Freddie's Family Restaurant
33) Freddie's Ii
34) Golden Wok Inn
35) Granny's Pizza
36) Great Steak & Potato Co
37) Houlihan's
38) Italian Village Pizza
39) Kfc
40) King's Family Restaurant
41) Long John Silver's
42) Luciano's Pizza & Six Pack To
43) Marianne's Cool Treats
44) Mc Donald's
45) Mc Donald's
46) Mm Mm Pizza
47) Olive Garden
48) Panda Express
49) Panda Garden Chinese Rstrnt
50) Panera Bread
51) Papa John's Pizza
52) Papa John's Pizza
53) Pasta Too
54) Pepproni
55) Pittzarella
56) Pizza Hut
57) Pizza Hut
58) Potato Sack
59) Primanti Bros
60) Quiznos Sub
61) Red Onion Hoagies & Pizza
62) Red Onion Hoagies & Pizza
63) Rita's Italian Ice
64) Route 88 Diner
65) Roxy Cafe
66) Ruthie's Catering
67) Ruthie's Hot Dog Shop
68) Sakkio Japan
69) Sbarro
70) South Park VIP
71) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
72) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
73) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
74) Taco Bell
75) Tgi Friday's
76) Tony's Villa Inc
77) Trolley Stop Inn
78) Trotter's Restaurant
79) Tsing Tao Chinese Restaurant
80) Villa Italia
81) Warehouse Cafe
82) Wendy's
83) Why Cook On Sunday
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The place has the most beer I have ever seen. The food is really good and the beer is really cold. The people who work there are great to.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, Pittsburgh, PA
(06/25/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Lousy Good
The quality & selection of beer is the best in that area and the food was pretty good also. For the service, the worst I ever seen. The staff was unfriendly, not informative and plan rude. This was on a Saturday evening when you should be on your toes. Employees were having fun talking with each other and friends. If this place plans on staying in business long, I recommend getting rid of the young crowd. There losing money from all the unaccountable free beers they give out to friends and losing business from guys like me that won't revisit. I hope they turn it around, it would be a shame for a business with great potential to go under.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jerry Jerry, Pittsburgh, PA
(05/14/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I would like to apologize for inconvenience to any customers during the week of 4-9-07. Our manager and close friend Dominic M. past away unexpectedly at the age of 31. If you have been in the store and meet him, you would understand what a tragedy this is. Dominic will be sadly missed and will always be a part of Barleys & Hopss.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tim, Pittsburgh, PA
(04/17/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Lousy Good
Great beers, nice place. The employees and owner were very unfriendly and did not seem to appreciate my business. I will give it another try, might have been an off day. Although when it comes to customer service you should never have an off day. You only get to make a first impression once.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from don don , Pittsburgh, PA
(04/12/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
This place is like going to a Starbucks that serves beer. It has a laid back environment and one of the best selections of beer that i have ever been exposed to. After you make your choice(s), you can have your cold one cracked open and enjoy in the comfort of this wonderful place or simply take with you to enjoy elsewhere... i recommend tasting there mainly because of the extensive beer knowledge of the purveyors of this establishment and their ability to match your taste with one of their many brews. Enjoy!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from james scirotto james scirotto, belle vernon, PA
(03/22/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Unbeleivable! This place has to be the best bottle shop in SW PA! Over 800 imported, micro, and craft beers - I've died and gone to heaven. . . The atmosphere is great, very relaxed and welcoming; also, the staff is very friendly and helpful! The owners Tim and Ray will talk beer or just shoot the breeze in general - they make you feel very much at ease and welcome. I would recommend Barley's and Hops to the most "seasoned" beer connoisseur or to the beer "newby"; the staff and owners will assist you in finding something new or familiar. . . Also, B&H is starting a beer traveler/passport program, check the shop for details! The menu is great, real brats and other wurst; they also have lighter fare as well. If you are in the Bethel/South Park area you have to check this place out! I wished I lived closer. . .

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from yancy yancy, monessen, PA
(02/13/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
looks to be the first of it's kind in the area. aprox. 800 bottle beers stocked and between 600- 800 kept cold. just read labels for a while. relaxing atmosphere, friendly waitress didn't rush my order. while i was there i tried a weyerbacher insanity, potent stuff they make. and the 1 beer they featured on tap, dilerium.

got salad which was baby greens, mushrooms, tomatos and cheddar. also had a veggie wrap on the menu.

talked to one of the owners, asked him if he recycles there, apparently he's read into it but it's not happening for businesses yet.

got a bottle of buckwheat ale sara to take home. organically processed by ecocert it says on the label.

neat place overall. hope to see more vegetarian items on the menu

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from amanda amanda, pittsburgh, PA
(01/31/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Reviewing a place by peeking through the window weeks before its open? I've been to B&H twice now. First time on a thursday (1/11) could barely get in the place. Seems to be a good crowd on the other nights when I drive past. Second time a Saturday afternoon for football. 4th 3 door cooler added since my first visit. I didn't count but if you do the math it's about appears to be around 600 cold selections. Must be at least 800 hundred in the place. Custom made "beer shelves are pretty cool". Whiskey barrel tables, no bar, no smoking are all nice touches. Plenty of room for 40 or so seats when the back area is complete. Nice place to eat, socialize, and shop for beer. Prices are excelent compared to others I've been to. Don't know if this is just to get people in the door or will they stay that way? Knowledgeable, friendly staff. "Both" owners present on each of my visits! This could become the place to be in the south hills.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pittsburgh, PA
(01/22/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
When you first walk in to Barley's & Hop's the first thing you notice is two walls completely filled with beer. There is a row of coolers on the left and a mass of shelves on the right. The amount of beer (over 700 different kinds at the time of this review) is overwhelming if not intimidating. Deciding what to drink can be challenging but fortunately the staff can be quite helpful. Tim, one of the owners, while being very polite and friendly, also has an insane amount of beer knowledge. I told him what styles of beers that I like and he made choosing some new beverages quite easy. The food was also very good. They have many German style foods. I tried the Weisswurst-Bockwurst and an Old Fashioned Bavarian Hot Dog. Both were quite tasty. Giant oak whiskey barrels with the glass tops are used for tables which I thought was unique. This place was quite impressive especially since it is not even completed yet. The grand opening is February 3rd. Tim informed me that by then they will boast over 800 different beers. I've already noticed many beers there that I haven't seen anywhere else. I would recommend this place to anyone…I originally intended to stop in for an hour or so and ended up staying about 5 hours! You just don’t want to leave this place!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andy Andy, Monessen, PA
(01/14/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Stopped by Barley's & Hop's on December 13, 2006.

Not much to say about our stop as the place is far from opened yet. Advertisement on the windows mentioned having the largest / most varied beer selection in Pittsburgh. We'll see about that, D's in Regent Square comfortably holds that title - although B&H is aiming for 800+ different beers.

B&H is located in a shopping plaza (last one on left before entering South Park - right behind the McDonald's) in a single retail stall (same plaza as the pet store, Brugger's, Starbucks, etc.) Space reminds me of Pittsburgh Bottleshop over in Heidelberg. Mustard type mellow yellow-brown colored wall, one of those lowered recessed fall-down panel ceiling ala office environment. The space is quite narrow and probably approximately dimensions that the Pittsburgh Bottleshop was originally.

Definitely going to be hard pressed to fits lots of coolers along with lots of customers. Probably will sit around 35 people comfortably and maybe more if they utilize just bar counter type seating.

Worth noting Tim Santoro is a co-owner of B&H - he's also a co-owner of the Market Street Ale House - the only real beer establishment in downtown Pittsburgh.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pittsburgh, PA
(12/14/2006)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.481 seconds) 00:33:26 54.87.123.99, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS