PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Allentown Brew Works - Allentown, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 25, 2014 @ 04:22 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Allentown > Allentown Brew Works
Allentown Brew Works Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Allentown Brew Works
Overall: Great    Score: 75.6 / 100
812 West Hamilton Street
Allentown, PA 18101
United States
(610) 433-7777
Listed Since: July 2007
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Allentown, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Allentown Brew Works
10 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Mon 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Tue 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Wed 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Thu 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Fri 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 02:00AM

alternatives
(11 within 5 miles)
1) J.P. O'Malley's Pub
(0 mile)

2) Bookstore Speakeasy
(1 mile)

3) Strange Brew Tavern
(2 miles)

4) Stahley's Cellarette
(2 miles)

5) The Liberty Street Tavern
(4 miles)

6) Stooges Bar and Grill
(4 miles)

7) The Brew Works
(4 miles)

8) Grille at the Fairgrounds
(4 miles)

9) Jack Callaghan's Ale House
(4 miles)

10) Dunderbak's Market Cafe
(4 miles)

11) Madison's on Main
(5 miles)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COMFORT SUITES ALLENTOWN
2) COURTYARD ALLENTOWN BETHLEHEM
3) CROWNE PLAZA ALLENTOWN
4) DAYS INN ALLENTOWN PA
5) ECONO LODGE ALLENTOWN
6) EXTENDEDSTAY BETHLEHEM
7) FOUR POINTS HTL STE ALLENTOWN
8) HLTN GRDN INN ALLENTOWN ARPT
9) HOWARD JOHNSON INN AND SUITES
10) MCINTOSH INN OF ALLENTOWN INC
11) MICROTEL INN
12) QUALITY INN ALLENTOWN
13) RAMADA INN ALLENTOWN AREA
14) RED ROOF ALLENTOWN BETHLEHEM
15) RESIDENCE INN BETHLEHEM
16) WINGATE INN ALLENTOWN PA
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Americus Hotel
2) Bogert Covered Bridge
3) Dent Hardware Company Factory Complex
4) Dime Savings and Trust Company
5) Dorneyville Crossroad Settlement
6) Gauff-Roth House
7) Haines Mill
8) Helfrich's Springs Grist Mill
9) Helfrich's Springs Grist Mill (Boundary Increase)
10) High German Evangelical Reformed Church
11) Hotel Sterling
12) Kemmerer House
13) Meyers, Albertus L., Bridge
14) Old Lehigh County Courthouse
15) Shelter House
16) Taylor, George, House
17) Trout Hall
18) Wehr Covered Bridge
19) Zollinger-Harned Company Building
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 9th Street Loop Cafe
2) A J's Bar & Grill
3) AAA National Catering Co
4) Aidas Y Melos Cuchifrito
5) Al Dente Italian Restaurant
6) Aladdin Restaurant
7) Alan's Rib House
8) Alreif Restaurant
9) Amazon Cafe
10) Amigo Mio Cafe
11) Anastasi's Pizza
12) Annette's Gourmet Cafe
13) Anylise's Hava Java
14) Arby's
15) Arby's
16) Atlantic Pizza & Steak Shop
17) Bain's Deli
18) Banana Joe's
19) Barristers Club
20) Bellissimo Restaurant
21) Big Woody's Pizza & Beer
22) Big Woodys Pizza
23) Blimpie Subs & Salads
24) BPM Club
25) Brisas Delcaribe
26) Brothers Fried Chicken
27) Bruno's Dinette
28) Bull & Bear Inn
29) Burger King
30) Burger King
31) C J's Market & Deli
32) Cafe In The Park
33) Candida
34) Cannon's
35) Carribian Delight
36) Casa Creolla
37) Casa Latina Restaurant
38) Catering By Karen Hunter
39) Cathy's Creative Catering
40) Chan's Chinese Restaurant
41) Charles Pizza
42) China Garden
43) China House
44) China King Of Allentown Inc
45) China Moon Restaurant
46) China Wok
47) Christopher's At The Columbian
48) Churros Cafe
49) Cookies Inn
50) Cossie Snyder's Corner
51) CRH Catering Co
52) Crocodile Rock Cafe
53) Damascus Restaurant
54) Damon's Grill
55) Dan's Bar-B-Qued Chickens
56) Delicioso Gourmet Pizza & Subs
57) Dina's Diner
58) Dogstarr Cafe
59) Dominguez Food Market
60) Domino's Pizza
61) Donna's Carlisle Grill
62) Down Low Night Club
63) Downtown Cafe
64) Dragon Palace
65) Eagles Pizzeria
66) Eat At Chinese & American
67) El Malecom
68) Elbarrio Restaurant
69) Erv's BYOB Club
70) Espicpal House Restaurant
71) Federal Grill
72) Freddie's Bar & Grille
73) Friendly's Restaurant
74) Gate 7
75) Great Wall Chinese Restaurant
76) Great Wall Chinese Restaurant
77) Grille At The Fairgrounds
78) Gyros Queen
79) Hamburger Stand
80) Hamilton Family Restaurant
81) Happy Garden Chinese Rstrnt
82) Hartland Foods
83) Hary's Restaurant & Cocktail
84) Henry's Salt Of The Sea
85) Hoffbrau Haus
86) Home Store LA Tejana General
87) Hondo's Bar
88) Hop Po
89) Hotel Grand
90) House Of Chen Restaurant
91) Hunan Garden
92) Hungarian Mexican Market
93) Ichiban Japanese Steakhouse
94) Indulge Restaurant & Nightclub
95) International House-Pancakes
96) J P O'Malley's Pub
97) Jack's Pizza
98) Jacob's Platter
99) Java LTD T A Filterfresh
100) Jelly Beans Southside Jam
101) Jimmy's
102) Kenny's Chinese Restaurant
103) Keyser Tavern
104) Keyser's Town Tavern
105) Kfc
106) Kfc
107) Kids Castle
108) Kocher's Deli
109) KOW Thai Take Out
110) La Mexicana Grill
111) La Plasita Mexico Deli
112) LA Pollada Restaurant
113) Lafiesta Coffee Shop
114) Last Stop
115) Lehigh Valley Diner
116) Liberty Lunch
117) Little John's Pizza
118) Lo Baido's Cafe & Gelateria
119) Louie's
120) Louie's Catering
121) Lounge 448
122) Lupo's Beef & Ale
123) Madison Inn
124) Mancino's Pizza Restaurant
125) Marsala's Pizzeria
126) Mc Donald's
127) Mc Donald's
128) Mediterranean Restaurant
129) Mi Bandrea Restaurant
130) Mia's Pizzeria
131) Michael's Bar & Restaurant
132) Mocha Mike's Cafe & Cuisine
133) Motown Cafe
134) Musashi Japanese Restaurant
135) Nan King Chinese Restaurant
136) Nassry Zahry
137) New China Buffet
138) New China Buffet
139) New Look Steak Shop
140) Nick's Diner
141) Nikitas
142) Nino's Restaurant & Pizzeria
143) Oliver Shakewell's
144) Palumbo Pizza & Subs
145) Papa John's Pizza
146) Pastaficio
147) Paul's Gyros
148) Perkins Family Restaurant
149) Philly's Steaks & Subs
150) Philosopher's Stone
151) Pizza Hut
152) Pizza Mart
153) Pizzariffic
154) Planet Hoagie
155) Queens City Diner
156) R J Gator's
157) Raad's Pizzeria & Grill
158) Red Lobster Restaurant
159) Red Robin Gourmet Burgers
160) Retro 3000 & Illuminations
161) Ringer's Roost
162) Rita's Italian Ice
163) Ritz Barbecue
164) Robata Of Tokyo
165) Rock Around The Clock Cafe
166) Romeo's Delicatessen
167) Ron's Steaks & Subs
168) Rookie's Restaurant & Sports
169) Round House
170) Safires Bar & Grill
171) Sandwich Stop
172) Sandwichera El Punto
173) Saylor's Restaurant
174) Scottish Rite Ctr
175) Shanty Restaurant
176) Silver Star Restaurant
177) Simply Smooth Catering
178) Sin City
179) Sisters Country Kitchen
180) Skybox
181) Solido Deli
182) Solido Restaurant
183) Sona Restaurant
184) St Nicholas Beneficial Society
185) Sterling Hotel
186) Stonewall Bar
187) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
188) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
189) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
190) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
191) Sunrise Diner
192) Sycamore Deli
193) T K's Corral
194) Taco Bell
195) Taste Of India
196) Taste Of Italy Ristorante
197) Teapot Family Restaurant
198) Theodore's Restaurant
199) Trinkle's Cafe
200) TU Casa Restaurant
201) Unit 37 Inc
202) Vesuvio's Restaurant & Pizza
203) Villa Rosa Pizzeria & Rstrnt
204) Vito's Italian Delight
205) Waffle House
206) Washington Grille
207) Wendy's
208) Wendy's
209) Wert's Cafe
210) West End Hotel
211) Willy-Joe's Steak Shop
212) Woody's Deli
213) Woody's Pizza & Sports Bar Inc
214) Wun Wu Chinese Kitchen
215) Yocco's Hot Dog King
216) Yocco's Hot Dog King
217) Zandy's Steak Shop
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
This place has been around a long time but it stays fresh and the beers never disappoint!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from beertrekker beertrekker, ellicott city, MD
(07/30/2014)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Awesome! Great
Bartender was great and talkative. Beer was very good, would have liked to try more. Location is a little sketchy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Fines Patrick Fines, Temple Hills, MD
(06/02/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Went for a lecture/networking/social in the basement Silk Lounge which they hold on a regular basis with different topics. I dearly love their Hop Explosion brew but am ambivalent about their others. The food was good especially the pretzel sticks with garlic. My wife's salad was OK as was my pull-pork sandwitch. The service was great, though it was for a relatively small group. As we were leaving they were setting up for music and poetry. I plan to go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tom abell tom abell, allentown, PA
(12/31/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Went For Lunch On A Saturday. The Food Was Great, We Stuck To The Appetizers And Sandwiches. Portions Were Plenty. So I Can't Vouch For The Dinners. I Think For This Type Of Place The Prices Are Good. A Lot Better Value Than Red Robin, Ruby Tuesday and Such Cookie Cutter Restaurants. They Even Have A Pretty Good Menu For Kids, They Were 1/2 Price During Our Visit. The Beer And Martinis Were Great. We will Definitely Visit Again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Troy Troy, New Ringgold, PA
(12/27/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Spend to nights here and the service, beer and food was great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James Horton James Horton, camb springs, PA
(06/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Lousy Lousy
We visited the Allentown Brew Works for the first time on January 19th with some family that was visiting the area. I had heard good reviews from a friend who was recently there so we thought it would be a good place to try.

I called the restaurant about an hour before we arrived and used call ahead seating in case they were busy. When we arrived at 6:45 there was no wait at all. We were promptly taken to our table where our waitress greeted us and took a drink order and an appetizer order. The atmosphere was nice. The dining area is very roomy and dimly lit. I ordered the beer sampler which included the Fegley's Amber Lager, Steelgaarden Wit, Pawn Shop Porter, Apricot Ale, Rude Elf's Reserve and one other Ale that I don't rememeber. My biggest disappointment was that they were out of the Hop Explosion which was the main reason that I chose ABW to begin with. All of the beer that I sampled was flavorful and of decent quality but nothing stood out to me. I have had much better beer from Stoudt's, Boulder Beer, and Sierra Nevada. The sampler was a good experience though and I would recommend trying it if you still go to the ABW after reading this review.

After our first round of drinks our waitress finally came back 20 minutes later to take our dinner order. We ordered another round of drinks at this time too. After another 20 minutes the drinks had still not arrived so we asked the waitress about them and she said, "I'll tell you what happened." Then she looked at her paper order sheet and said "You know what, I see them right here. Let me put them in for you." Another 15 minutes later the drinks finally arrived, still no food.

At 8pm we had been at ABW for 1 hour 15 minutes, still no dinner. We flagged down a manager and he said that he would go and check on our order. Then he came back about 5 minutes later and said that it would be right out. 15 minutes later there was still no sign of our food. 90 minutes had passed at this point, no dinner.

Our party got up and walked out of the restaurant. We left money to cover our drinks and appetizers. The waitress asked us where we were going and we explained the situation to her. I told her the $$ for the drinks/appetizer was on the table. She said, "If there was a problem you should have let me know! I have 3 tables to wait on!" 3 tables! Give me a break! I couldn't believe she even used that as an excuse.

My recommendation is this, if you want to try some different brews, go to the bar, do not sit at a table and do not order dinner. Also, call before you go because the website says there is live entertainment on the weekends and our waitress advised that they do not have that anymore.

Maybe the Bethlehem Brew Works is better, but I doubt I will ever try it based on my experience last night.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nate Nate, Quakertown, PA
(01/20/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Lousy So So
Beer is very good. Food is OK, but standard fare. Service is generally poor. Bartenders don't bother checking the whole bar to see who needs a drink. They tend to congregate together and with the customers they seem to be friendly with. If you're not a regular, they don't care.

Waitresses frequently complain about workload. Don't ask for separate checks or you'll hear how tough it is to do.

The management really needs to step up the service if they want new/infrequent customers to become regulars. Otherwise, with a new restauraunt opening soon across the street, they face competition they may not survive.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Al Al, Quakertown, PA
(10/07/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This is an excellent brewpub. Great beer, terrific food in a well designed space. Walking distance to our hotel.

The Hop Explosion is a hop-head's dream beer. My wife had the Porter which had an awesome roasted flavor with hints of chocolate. I sample the pilsner too. It was very well done.

The food was second to none. Oh yea, they sell logo pint glasses and great T shirts.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, arlington, VA
(08/27/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Been there 3 times since opening. While not all beers are to my liking, I can find enough to make me come back. I love that both Allentown and Bethlehem brewworks have all copper casks prominantly positioned. They are serious about their beer. Their Steelworkers Oatmeal stout is my favorite. Light in weight, deep in flavor. The Hefeweizen with either lemon or orange is a great refresher. The also have a good bottled beer selection. The staff behind the bar has been very friendly and you can joke around with them readily, which I like to do while waiting for friends. The 3 humus appetizer-I've ordered each visit it is that good. If you like the taste of cumin, their chili-served in a large flatish white bowl/dish, is very good. Downstairs is the Silk loung-very dark clubby feel, which is new to this area. If you are in Bethlehem, visit their Bethlehem Brew Works. This has been in operation for 9 years, and runs very very smoothly. Belgian Steelgaarten downstairs is popular with Lehigh University grad students.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Karen Hill Karen Hill, Coopersburg, PA
(08/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Can't comment I am one of the owners. Come in I think you will be pleased.

Opened 7/15/2007 400+ seats 3 bars 15bbl Microbrew (Pub) brewhouse 7 fermenters 7 bright beer tanks. 32000 sqft. 4 levels: basement - Silk lounge, 1st floor w/lighted bar and mezzanine, 2nd floor "High Gravity" more upscale, 3rd floor "Hamilton room" banquet facility. All non-smoking. Outside is Der Biergarten courtyard. Twelve-tap towers - 7 from bright tanks, 5 from keg. Silk lounge specializes in over 100 fine beers from around the world. High Gravity - you guessed it, select high gravity beers. An 8 million dollar project from the Fegley family who started the Bethlehem Brew Works in Bethlehem PA.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dick Fegley Dick Fegley, Coopersburg, PA
(07/20/2007)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.293 seconds) 16:22:51 54.161.145.251, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS