PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


HopCat - Grand Rapids, MI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 22, 2014 @ 12:52 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MI > Grand Rapids > HopCat
HopCat Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
HopCat
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 85 / 100
25 Ionia Avenue Southwest
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
United States
(616) 451-4677
Listed Since: January 2008
Last Updated: June 2010
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Grand Rapids, MI
Beer Guide for Michigan

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of HopCat
6 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun 12:00PM - 02:00AM
Mon 03:00PM - 02:00AM
Tue 03:00PM - 02:00AM
Wed 03:00PM - 02:00AM
Thu 03:00PM - 02:00AM
Fri 03:00PM - 02:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 02:00AM

alternatives
(8 within 5 miles)
1) Bob's House of Brews aka B.O.B.'s House of Brews
(0 mile)

2) Founders Brewing Company
(0 mile)

3) Taps Sports Bar
(0 mile)

4) Logan's Alley
(0 mile)

5) Brewery Vivant
(3 miles)

6) O'Toole's Public House
(3 miles)

7) Hideout Brewing Company
(4 miles)

8) Graydon's Crossing
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Bed & Breakfast-Grand Rapids
2) Fountain Hill Bed & Breakfast
3) Madison Street Inn
4) Peaches Bed & Breakfast Ltd
5) Tobermory Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERIHOST INN GRAND RAPIDS N.
2) AMWAY GRAND PLAZA
3) BAYMONT INN & SUITES NORTH
4) COURTYARD GRAND RPDS DTWN
5) DAYS INN GRAND RAPIDS DOWNTOWN
6) GRAND INN & CONFERENCE CENTER
7) GRAND RAPIDS GRR
8) HOWARD JOHNSON PLAZA
9) RADISSON HOTEL GRAND RAPIDS N.
10) RADISSON HTL GRAND RAPIDS EAST
11) RAMADA LTD GRAND RAPIDS
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Aldrich Building
2) Aldrich, Godfrey, and White Block
3) Berkey and Gay Furniture Company Factory
4) Blodgett, John W., Estate
5) Business Route M-21--Plaster Creek Bridge
6) Division Avenue--Plaster Creek Bridge
7) Fine Arts Building
8) First (Park) Congregational Church
9) Ford, President Gerald R., Jr., Boyhood Home
10) Goodspeed Brothers Building
11) Grand Rapids Savings Bank Building
12) Ladies' Literary Club
13) Ledyard Block Historic District
14) Loraine Building
15) Medical Arts Building
16) Michigan Trust Company Building
17) Monroe Avenue Water Filtration Plant
18) Paddock, Augustus, House
19) Peck Block
20) Pike, Abram W., House
21) Sixth Street Bridge
22) St. Cecilia Society Building
23) Third Reformed Church
24) Turner House
25) U.S. Post Office
26) Villa Maria
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 1913 Room
2) 48 West
3) Acapulco Restaurant
4) Adobe Mexican Restaurant
5) Alex Rock Organic
6) Alma Latina Restaurant & Bar
7) Apartment Lounge
8) Arby's
9) B P & T Fish Fry
10) B P & T's Fish Fry Take-Out
11) B P & T's Southern Fish Fry
12) Back Yard Grill Masters Catrer
13) Bagel Beanery
14) Bar Divani
15) Beijing Kitchen
16) Bentham's Riverfront Rstrnt
17) Bill's Family Restaurant
18) Birch Lodge
19) Bistro Bella Vita
20) Bite
21) Bite Bar & Restaurant
22) Black Rose Irish Pub
23) Blakes Turkey Sandwich Shoppe
24) Blimpie Subs & Salads
25) Bluff Banquet & Conference Ctr
26) Bob's Big Boy
27) Bob's House Of Brews
28) Bob's Sports Bar
29) Bobarino's At The Bob
30) Bombay Cuisine
31) Bono's Italian Restaurant
32) Boston House Family Restaurant
33) Brandywine Restaurant
34) Brann's Steakhouse
35) Brick House
36) Brittany Cafee
37) Bull's Head Tavern
38) Burger King
39) Burger King
40) Burger King
41) Burger King
42) Burger King
43) Buth-Joppe's Ice Cream Co
44) C C Cafe
45) Cafe Solace
46) Caffee Leonardo
47) Cambridge House Inc
48) Campau Concessions
49) Canal Street Grill
50) Captain Lou's
51) Casey's Restaurant
52) Catering Co
53) Charley's Crab
54) Checkers Drive In Restaurant
55) Cherie Inn
56) Chicken Coop Inc
57) China Town Chinese Restaurant
58) Choo Choo Grill
59) Chop House Of Grand Rapids
60) Church's Chicken
61) Club North
62) Common Ground Coffee Shop
63) Cone Shop
64) Conference Centers WMU
65) Cornucopia
66) Cottage Bar
67) Courtyard By Marriott
68) Cousins Tasty Chicken
69) Cygnus
70) Dairy Queen
71) Discussions
72) Diversions Video Bar & Grill
73) Dog Pit
74) Domino's Pizza
75) Donotas Pizza
76) Drink Lounge
77) Dukes Bar
78) Eastown Deli
79) Eastown Deli
80) El Azteca
81) El Azteca Restaurant
82) El Burrito Gigante
83) El Rey
84) El Sombrero Restaurant & Shop
85) Elbow Room Bar & Grill
86) Esoteric Edibles
87) Faro's Italian Pizza
88) Flanagan's Irish Pub
89) Food Quest Group
90) Four Friends Coffee House
91) Front Street Cafe
92) G P Sports
93) Gaia Cafe
94) Gibson's Restaurant
95) Gill's Fish House
96) Gilmore Collection
97) Gino's Pizza
98) Grand River Saloon
99) Grand River Tea & Spice
100) Grandy Coney
101) Harri's Brooklyn Pizza Co
102) Hava Java Deli
103) Heritage Restaurant
104) Hong Kong Inn Restaurant
105) Hot 'n Now Hamburgers
106) Hunan Chinese Restaurant
107) Innkeepers Management Co
108) Intersection Booking & Prmtn
109) Intersection Lounge
110) Isaac's Restaurant
111) J Gardella's Tavern
112) J J Town Fried Chicken
113) James Sandwiches
114) Judson's Steakhouse
115) Julian's Bar & Restaurant
116) Kava House
117) Kfc
118) KFC
119) Kim Kim Restaurant
120) Kurly's Korner
121) Lannings' Restaurant
122) Lea's Family Barbaque
123) Lenox Room
124) Leo's
125) Liquid Cargo
126) Little Mexico Restaurant
127) Logan's Alley LLC
128) Louis Benton Steak House
129) M V Beverage Catering
130) Maggie's Kitchen
131) Marado Sushi
132) Margarita Grill
133) Mc Donald's
134) Mc Donald's
135) Mc Donald's
136) Mister Pizza
137) Mister Pizza
138) Mojo's Dueling Pianos Bar
139) Moka's
140) Monroe Cafe
141) Morningstar 75 Coffehouse
142) New Beginnings Corporate Ofc
143) New Beginnings Restaurant
144) New Beginnings Restaurant
145) New China Carry Out
146) New Roosevelt Bar
147) Nineteen-Thirteen Room
148) Off The Hook Fish Fry
149) Olive Express
150) One Trick Pony
151) Opus 1894
152) Ottawa Cafe
153) Palermo's Incredible Edible
154) Pat's Bar & Grill
155) Peppino's Pizza
156) Pita House
157) Pizza Hut
158) Platinum Funding Group
159) Prasad Cafe
160) Quiznos Sub
161) Raggs To Riches
162) Red Geranium Cafe
163) Red Lion Family Restaurant
164) Red Lion Family Restaurant
165) Red Lion Ltd
166) Rembrandt's At Bridgewater
167) Rhythm Kitchen Cafe
168) Rico's Cafe Americain
169) Rinaldi Pizza & Sub Shop
170) River Front Restaurant'e
171) Roly Poly Sandwiches
172) Root Beer Stand
173) Rumors Night Club
174) Russo's Pizza & Sub Shoppe
175) S-Curve Deli
176) San Chez A Tapas Bistro
177) Sandmann's
178) Schnitz Delicatessen
179) Schnitzelbank Restaurant
180) Season's
181) Seven Seas Fishfry
182) Sierra Room
183) Simple Suppers
184) Skelletones
185) Ski's Sub Shop
186) Smoke-N Sweet Shop
187) So So's
188) Stockbridge
189) Stooges
190) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
191) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
192) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
193) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
194) Sully's Restaurant & Lounge
195) Sundance Grill
196) Superior Catering
197) Sweet Wallace's Bbq
198) Szechuan Garden
199) Taco Bell
200) Taco Bell
201) Taco Bell
202) Tamale Man
203) Tap's Sports Bar
204) Tcby
205) Teazer's Bar & Grill
206) Tequila Night Club Inc
207) Tgi Friday's
208) Three Crowns Bistro
209) Tillman's Dining & Cocktails
210) Tim Brasseur Restaurant
211) Tini Bikini's Bar & Grill
212) Tre Cugini
213) Tre Cugini
214) Two Choppers Inc
215) Uno Of Southwest Michigan
216) Urban Mill Cafe
217) Vitale's Pizza
218) Vitale's Sports Bar & Grill
219) Vitale's Sports Bar & Grill
220) Water Works
221) Wendy's
222) West Coast Coffee
223) Wing On Lau Restaurant
224) Wolfgang's Restaurant
225) Xebron Corp
226) Yen Ching
227) Z's Restaurant & Bar
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Awesome!
Why is this place listed as a brewery/brew pub? Clearly it a beer bar. A good one at that but don't you have to brew and serve your own beer to be a brewery or brew pub?

They do have an awesome beer selection and is worth visiting.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Boy Beer Boy, Suffield, OH
(04/02/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Lousy So So
Beer selection = A+++

Food = B+

Service = F-

Sorry I have to do this to an establishment with the best 'on tap' beer selection for miles around, but the service and waitstaff in general has become insufferable. Staff once considered friendly, patient, and completely loving of BEER is now rushed, rude, and never there when you need them! Empty beer glasses, long waits for food, and crappy attitudes dominate my memories of recent visits. :-(

Now, I must think this is because the management has gone downhill OR the "hit or miss" nature of being an occasionally 'over-popular' bar in the Arena District just isn't working for them. Perhaps, like so many other establishments in the area, they sacrifice quality of nearly everything to accommodate the obnoxious "let's get totally wasted because we're going to (or coming from) an arena event" crowd. Or something like that....I don't know what it is about downtown bars, but they tend go downhill fast and rarely maintain consistency if they do stay in business.

While no fault of Hop Cat, I can appreciate having full bar, but I must say, I detest sitting at potentially awesome "beer-focused" bar and having four super drunk dudes (after hours of slamming $1 drafts at a Griffin's game) cocksway their way up to the bar (shoving my elbow in my face while eating a sammy) to bellow at the bartender, "FOUR KAMIKAZE SHOTS, DUDE". Yuck --- makes my $9 glass of premium brew suddenly taste like low-grade swill.

All in all, I am a person that desperately WANTS to love this bar, but it's not going to happen. Will I be back? Sure --- I can't resist....I literally worship BEER, but....please, for the love of hops...do something about the service. Our large group of beer-loving friends now refuses to go there...particularly as a large group. Used to be our FAVORITE (no words needed to be spoken when we were deciding on a place to eat downtown)....now everyone winces when Hop Cat is suggested.

A small tear of beer falls from my eye....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Grand Rapids, MI
(01/23/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
What can I say??? The food and beer were Excellent. With a huge selection of beer on tap (how is that for specifics!) :) They specialize in Michigan brews, but also offer a wide range of global beer, with a large Belgian selection... So I was loving it. From the bartenders to the owners friendly folks and a great atmosphere a must for visitors to Grand Rapids

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from AOBTV AOBTV, Virginia Beach, VA
(11/14/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Jimbo, I hear ya! To be sure, HopCat is a top level player in the beer bar league. Was fortunate to stop for the first (but certainly not last) time a few weeks ago. Beer selection, especially the emphasis on Michigan brews, is hard to match. We were lucky to sample a few that were new to us from Dark Horse, Shorts and Bells. Jake, our bartender, was super; an enthusiastic representative of the fine folks who bring you the HopCat. Grand Rapids has always been a great beer destination which now has only gotten better. Oh, did I mention the bathrooms? Check 'em out!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/24/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
BOY AM I GLAD I STOPPED IN HERE. MOVE OVER MAPROOM, LOST BEAR, TORANADO, ASHLEY'S, ETC. THERE'S A NEW KID IN TOWN THAT HAS PUT GRAND RAPIDS ON THE MAP FOR A MUST VISIT FOR ALL PUBCRAWLERS. HEY BEAV, ENEMY, BEARDED DAVE, LEW CAN YOU HEAR WHAT I'M SAYING? DOESN'T GET MUCH BETTER THAN THE THINGAMAGIGGY THAT WASHES THE PINT GLASS JUST BEFORE THAT PERFECT POOR OF HARD TO FIND HAND-CRAFTED BEER.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JIMBO JIMBO, SPRINGFIELD, OH
(08/16/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
We were fortunate enough to be invited to the opening of the newest bar in Grand Rapids. A fantastic selection of beer awaits you, they have 48 taps, one hand pull, and close to 150 cans/bottles available. The selections are listed according to location - Michigan first, then USA, then world beers. The service was very good considering how busy it was, and the servers were very knowledgeable as to what the offerings were and what you might like based on your tastes. The interior is similar to the "warehouse" look, open, airy with high ceilings. There is a long bar you can sit at, several long tables if you have a crowd, and some booths. The main floor is non-smoking, with a smoking lounge up above, did a great job of keeping the smoke away from the bar area. Some outdoor seating will be offered soon, wrapped to keep the heat in. I understand it is planned to have a small microbrew system setup to allow local brewmasters a chance to show off a bit. A couple tv screens by the bar, with a 200 in projection screen for special events, and a stage for the occasional musicians. After four trips there already, I really enjoy going there, the only negative is finding a place to park, but there are a couple parking lots within walking distance.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dutch Dutch, Belmont , MI
(01/22/2008)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.396 seconds) 12:52:39 23.20.44.136, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS