PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Blue Canoe Brewery - Titusville, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 19, 2014 @ 10:50 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Titusville > Blue Canoe Brewery
Blue Canoe Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Blue Canoe Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 75.6 / 100
113 South Franklin Street
Titusville, PA 16354
United States
(814) 827-7181
Listed Since: August 2008
Last Updated: June 2009
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Titusville, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Blue Canoe Brewery
19 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Knapping Knapp Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COMFORT INN TITUSVILLE
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bridge in Cherrytree Township
2) Bridge in Oil Creek Township
3) Drake Oil Well
4) Titusville City Hall
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Boonies Sports Bar
2) Bunyan's
3) City Limits Ice Cream
4) Four Sons Brewery Restaurant
5) Fox's Pizza Den
6) Gionti's Catering
7) Little Caesars Pizza
8) Maria's Italian Restaurant
9) Marion's Family Restaurant
10) Mill Restaurant & Lounge
11) Oaks
12) Perk Place Cafe
13) Playhouse
14) Susie's Homemade Ice Cream
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Good
a very nice place to eat and enjoy a great varity of beers,they also have a full bar and wine.The fish sandwich is most excellent,as is all of the food.I visit once or twice a week.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from michael gregor michael gregor, union city, PA
(05/25/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Awesome! Great Awesome!
The best seaweed salad and seared tuna you will ever eat!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chatham Chatham, Titusville, PA
(07/02/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great
This was our first visit from Erie and we LOVED it. Our waitress Jen in the dining area was terrific, as was the beer and the food. We will definitely recommend it and definitely return.

The one small negative was "too loud", however it's a brewery and the openess attributes to that. Makes it difficult to have any dinner conversation~but we won't let that stop us from returning or recommending it.

Great service, friendly waitress~definitely "customer service" oreinted~Jen (in the dining room) did a wonderful job.

Sincerely Bea & Bob Beuth

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bea Beuth Bea Beuth, Erie, PA
(06/26/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
This is compiled from 2 visits over the past 40 days. I used to travel from Pittsburgh 4-6 times a year to come here but I probably won't anymore. The beer both times was average. The Heavy Kevy was bland, which back when Matt brewed this at 4 Sons several years back wasn't the case (it seemed to have a lot more flavor and more body). The hefe-weizen was OK, the distorter porter was pretty good. The food wasn't bad and the service was good. I hope this place makes it because it's shocking how many stores and business have closed in Titusville over the last year or two. Hopefully the locals will keep the brewpub in business.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bill caraway bill caraway, pittsburgh, PA
(05/24/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Great
This was a gem in the middle of Northwestern PA. I read all the reviews, and I am still quite puzzled. The bar servive was great. The bartender was polite and friendly and served us both adequately. The food took a little longer than expected, but it was not a big deal at all. The food was in my opinion, excellend and slightly underprcied. I hope the place does well, and encourage anyone in the vicinity to stop in. See you soon Blue Canoe!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pittsburgh, PA
(11/09/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
It's a shame that you have to come HERE to get this beer. The blue canoe is expensive, noisy, unpleasant, and has atrocious service and terrible quality. But the beer is pretty darn good. But barely good enough to warrant stepping into this place to drink it :(

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from High High, Pittsburgh, PA
(10/28/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Words simply don't do this place justice. Matt's got some of the best beers I've ever tasted!! The food & service are phenominal!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Virgil Virgil, Franklin, PA
(10/21/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
We have been back twice within two weeks. We were so impressed with the first visit. We enjoyed the atmosphere, food and especially the awesome selection of brews!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Seib Mike Seib, Erie, PA
(10/06/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Well i guess I better start by saying that I've read some other reviews on this place and these other people must be going to a totally different place than me. I walked into the mad house of friday night and sat at the bar. This place was packed! The bartender greeted me within the minute and with a full bar was still able to take the necessary time to inform me on ALL of the beers. He was super knowledgeable on all the brews and even though running like a maniac seemed to keep everyones glass full. I had an appetizer and entree both that were just out of this world! Every brew I had was downright tasty. And best of all when I received my bill it was ridicuolously reasonable. Two thumbs up to Blue Canoe and if I had two more I'd give them too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dale Dale, erie, PA
(09/27/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Lousy So So
Great food and great beer are no good if no one is available to bring it to you. There were 12 tables of customers and I counted 5 waitresses, yet our bartender left from behind the bar for several minutes to take an order from a big table. I had 2 growlers to be filled but because I waited more than 20 minutes to get my bill I could not wait any longer so I did not get them filled. This place needs some management it is like bus full of people going down the road with nobody driving. I worked in food service for 30 years and I know what I saw tonight, if this keeps up this place wont last to the end of the year, SAD

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Franklin, PA
(09/20/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
So glad to see the Four Suns reincarnated just in time for my annual trek to northwest Pa. I got the beer sampler this time and fell for the Heavy Kevvy. Really, the place is an oasis in the desolation that has become downtown Titusville. It just reopened so give the service a chance to catch up with the superior brews. I' be going back up for the 150th anniversary of Drake's well- the town should be hopping.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Pascuzzi, KY
(09/11/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A Great Lousy Lousy
Well the waitress was the worst of my life. She wrote nothing down, and then proceeded to bring out the wrong food. When I told her that's not what I ordered, she blamed me, and said there were 5 tables ahead of me, it'd be a long wait to get what I'd ordered. So I said, never mind, I'd just eat half of my dad's sandwich. A couple minutes later the manager brought out the correct order anyway, except it had french fries on it which I had distinctly not ordered, and I sure was charged for them when the bill came. Plus by then I'd already eaten part of my dad's food, so I wasn't especially happy about getting it when I'd told her to never mind, but I appreciated that they hadn't made me wait for five tables ahead of me so I accepted the plate. I got no apology of any kind at any time. Also, my dad had asked if the coleslaw came on the sandwich or on the side, and she told him it came on the sandwich. Then she brought it out to him in a separate dish?? I thought maybe she was new, but she told us she'd been there before they closed, and was part of the re-opening. I don't believe she ever once smiled. I ordered the beer sampler and it took probably 15 minutes or more for her to bring it to me. She was back there chatting, standing around with other waitresses. Finally I said something about it, she made an excuse that someone was on break. But a couple minutes later I got it. I must say, two of the beers were outstanding, with Heavy Keavy being the best of all. The rest of the beers ranged from mediocre to downright ugly, but that's the fun of beer samplers. I ordered the homemade rootbeer which I think is really cool that they make their own root beer, BUT...it was lacking taste and carbonation...

The food was expensive, but good. The atmosphere was too noisy and uninspiring. The service was absolutely terrible.

I really can't recommend it to anyone, unless I hear that management is prepared to start focusing on a little customer service. I paid my bill that overcharged me, even left a $5 tip, and walked out without a scene...but I won't be back. If you go, I'd recommend just sit at the bar, get a pint of heavy keavy, and then go elsewhere for dinner.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Matt, Warren, PA
(09/10/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Lousy Lousy So So
I know, I know they just opened up. I will give it another chance in a month or two but my first experience was not good. Let me first say “thank god” the beer was great. I had the Scotch Ale and a Lager. The menu was shall we say “pricey”. I don’t mind pricey as long as the end result is worth the price. I had a Ruben with the optional fries that cost $10, my wife a hamburger no fries $8. The Ruben was lacking meat and sauce and my wife’s med/rare burger came out well done. The food wasn’t even the worst of it , the place wasn’t that busy and my first glass of beer sat empty for what seemed forever, the waitress final noticed my beer empty took my next beer order and didn’t come back till the food came out and she forgot the beer. I finished my second beer with dinner dreaming of the Belgium I would have after dinner and we sat with dirty dishes in front of us until many minutes later the waitress came back, never bussed the table and gave me my bill and said have a nice night. Needless to say I didn’t order my last beer and would give the overall service an F, the food a D+ and the beer B+. I sincerely hope that Matt and crew keep a closer eye on things and improve because being a beer geek I’ll be back for the beer but for the rest of the people who are there for an evening out, may not ever be back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, Cambridge Springs, PA
(09/08/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Awesome! Lousy Lousy
Well, our waitress was honestly the worst I've ever had anywhere. First of all, instead of bringing our drinks right away, she stood and chatted with other waitresses. She never once smiled at us. She never brought me a water! She didn't write down our orders, and as a result, I got the wrong entree. I asked how long it would be for me to get the sandwich I had ordered, and she said there were five tables ahead of me at this point, so it was going to be awhile. So I said, "never mind, I'll just share from my family and enjoy my beer, thanks anyway." Ten minutes later the manager comes out with what I had originally ordered. I guess that's okay, but at that point my family was over half done and I'd eaten a lot of their food. Plus, what he brought out was STILL wrong (I hadn't ordered fries, but it had fries on the side which are $2 extra) I got no apology, no free desert, no discount, nothing, just annoyed looks. In fact, I got overcharged. I didn't make a scene. I wrote a little note on the bill asking why I was charged for things I hadn't ordered, but I paid the bill in full and walked out politely. But I can assure you I won't be back.

Other notes: I got the beer sampler. There were 7 beers. 2 of them were amazingly good. 2 were good. 3 were pretty darn bad! :) Oh well, that's the fun of samplers.

The homemade rootbeer was bland and fizzless, but it's cool that they make their own rootbeer, just the same.

The environment is nothing to brag about. It's small, cramped, and noisy.

The food isn't anything unique, but the dressings on the salads and sandwiches are bursting with flavor and are all homemade. I did like their dressings.

All in all, I can't recommend this place, you pay a lot for mediocre meals, average beers, and terrible service, and then get overcharged and get brought stuff you didn't order and then charged for it. Eh, go at your own risk.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Matt, Meadville, PA
(09/06/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This place is well worth the trek! In fact, we biked in from Oil City 10miles via the rails to trails and ended up for a snack and a bevvie at the Blue Canoe. The beers are awesome and the food is incredible! A must do, so much so that we went back there for dinner after riding back the 10 miles to shower and turn around and drive there! I highly recommend the Mediteranean Pork Entree!! Kelly and Mark

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kelly Kelly, State College, PA
(09/03/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Matt has done a great job on bringing back a good brewery to the area. The beer is great and the people that I asked about the food had nothing but could comments. Here Here to the Blue Canoe

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James Horton James Horton, camb springs, PA
(08/31/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The Food is great... a huge range of hard to find culinary delights to this area. Also glad to see Heavy K is reborn.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Corry, PA
(08/28/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
You'll find your visit to Blue Canoe Fabulously Fantastic from entrance to exit! Sit at the bar and enjoy a six beer sampler, and Jen the 'tender will pleasantly present you with the some of the region's finest brews. The Distortor Porter will test your taste buds with British Pale Malts - a must have! Be sure to try Jeremy's (the chief) Bloody Mary Mussels and PA shrooms. They are smashing hits! 5 starsh!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stephanie Johnson Stephanie Johnson, Lansing, MI
(08/27/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
This is just like coming home. The Four Sons Brewery went out of business over 18 months ago and re-opened as Blue Canoe. Matt Allyn is brewing here so you won't be disappointed! The Scotch Ale and Porter are "must haves" and the food was even better than I expected. Service was very good too!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bill caraway bill caraway, pittsburgh, PA
(08/25/2008)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.16 seconds) 22:50:18 54.242.85.89, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS