PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Bintara Brewery - Rutherglen, Victoria,
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 30, 2014 @ 05:37 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > > Rutherglen, Victoria > Bintara Brewery
Bintara Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Bintara Brewery
Fraser Road
Rutherglen, Victoria, 3685
Australia
+61 (02) 6032-7517
Listed Since: October 2008
Last Updated: January 2011
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants


User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
2 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(15 within 5 miles)
1) Black Bear
(0 mile)

2) Messrs. Maguire
(0 mile)

3) The Generous Squire
(0 mile)

4) The Generous Squire
(0 mile)

5) Sail & Anchor Pub Brewery
(0 mile)

6) Tanglehead Brewing Company
(0 mile)

7) Echuca Brewing Company
(0 mile)

8) Buffalo Brewery
(0 mile)

9) Grand Ridge Brewery
(0 mile)

10) Blue Palms Brewhouse
(0 mile)

11) Dead Frog Brewery
(0 mile)

12) Cervecería Modelo
(0 mile)

13) Central City Brewing Company
(0 mile)

14) Streich's Brewing Company
(0 mile)

15) Specific Gravity Pizza and Bottle
(0 mile)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Abbott's Frozen Custard
2) Acropolis Restaurant
3) Al's Stand
4) Al's Stand
5) Andy's Mount Read Diner
6) Angermayr's
7) Antonetta's Restaurant
8) Arby's
9) Atlanta Bread Co
10) Bangkok Restaurant
11) Bar-B-O Shack
12) Barnard Crossing Bar & Grill
13) Barrister's Pub & Meeting Pl
14) Bathtub Billy's Sports Bar
15) Bee Licious Foods
16) Bill's Diner
17) Billy's Place
18) Blimpie Subs & Salads
19) Blimpie Subs & Salads
20) Blimpie Subs & Salads
21) Bullwinkle's Cafe
22) Buon Giorno Cafe
23) Burger King
24) Burger King
25) Busy Bee Restaurant
26) C & C Soul Food
27) C J's Soups
28) California Brew Haus
29) Carribean 2000
30) Casey Jones
31) Center At High Falls
32) Checker Flag Pizza
33) China Star
34) Christopher's Time Square
35) Country Sweet Chicken & Ribs
36) Critic's Restaurant
37) Cullen's Restaurant
38) Cya's Barbecue
39) Dew-E-Sub Chicken & Rib
40) Dodie's Jump Cafe
41) Dog House
42) Domino's Pizza
43) Eagle Wing
44) Eat At Joe's
45) Edwards Restaurant
46) El Corozaleno Restaurant
47) El Taino
48) El's Delicatessen
49) El's Pizzeria & Bakery
50) Emerson Food Market
51) Empire Brewing Co
52) Enigma Bar
53) Esters Tavern
54) Evolution Bar & Grill
55) Executive Deli
56) Fast Eddie's Bar & Grill
57) Fitz & Hugh Deli
58) Full Moon
59) Galleria Pizza
60) General Products
61) Godfather's Pizza
62) Golden Palace Chinese
63) Golden Unicorn
64) Grande Taste Of Italy
65) Greece Hots
66) Grill & Greens
67) Grill At Water Street
68) H & A
69) He's Chinese & Japanese Rstrnt
70) Heritage House Of Rochester
71) High Falls Deli & Cafe
72) Honey Bird Farm Inc
73) Hot To Trot Take Out
74) House Of Hsu Chinese Rstrnt
75) Impact Lounge
76) It's All Good Restaurant
77) Jerkers Jamaican American
78) Jerry's Family Restaurant
79) Jillian's
80) Jim's West End Cafe
81) Jimmy Mac's At High Falls Inc
82) Jing Hui
83) K J Quinlan's Pub & Grub
84) Katie's Kitchen
85) Keys Piano Bar
86) Kfc
87) Kfc
88) Kopper Kettle
89) La Palma Restaurant
90) Lex Bar & Grill
91) Louie's Cordial Lounge
92) Maple Diner
93) Mark's Texas Hots
94) Mark's Texas Hots
95) Matella's Restaurant
96) Maximilian's New York Deli
97) Maxwell's Bar & Grill
98) May Ling Chinese Restrnt
99) Mc Donald's
100) Mc Donald's
101) Mc Donald's
102) Mc Fadden's
103) Mc Gillicuty's Cafe
104) Mc Ginnity's Restaurant
105) Mexican Village
106) Mirage Palace
107) Model Lunch
108) Molly Malone's Pub
109) Mr Moe's Deli
110) Mr Shoes Pizza
111) My Apartment Bar
112) My Office Bar & Grill
113) Nathaniel's Pub
114) New May Ling Chinese & Thai
115) Nick Tahou Hots
116) Oasis Grill
117) Oceans Place
118) Old Country Buffet
119) Panzari's Italian Bistro
120) Pat's Coffee Shop
121) Paulino's Italiano Classico
122) Peppermill Restaurant
123) Perkins Family Restaurant
124) Piyos Restaurant
125) Pizza Hut
126) Pizza Stop
127) Pj's Lounge
128) Poor Harry's Pizza
129) Poor Harry's Pizza
130) Popeyes Chicken & Biscuits
131) Portico Restaurant
132) Princess Restaurant
133) Pue Suonez Oriental Food
134) Queen & I Chinese Restaurant
135) Rail Diner
136) Red Lobster Restaurant
137) Redwings Family Restaurant
138) Rochester Bar B-Q
139) Rocky's
140) Roncone's Grill
141) Rubino's Italian Submarine
142) Rund's The Catering Div
143) Saeed's Drive-In Market
144) Saigon Palace
145) Sal's Birdland Restaurant
146) Salvatore's Pizza
147) Seneca Park Zoo
148) Singh Coliseum Pizzeria
149) Spallina Concessions
150) Spenders
151) Spin Caffe
152) Spin Caffe
153) Spiro's Restaurant
154) Sports Talk Bar & Grill
155) Stock Exchange Restaurant
156) Streppa's Bistro
157) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
158) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
159) Taco Bell
160) Taste Good Chinese Restaurant
161) Tiki Bob's Cantina
162) Tip Top Restaurant
163) Tommy's Place
164) Triphammer Grill
165) Uncle Danny's Family Rstrnt
166) Uno Chicago Grill
167) Wang's
168) Wang's
169) Warfield's Restaurant
170) Welker's Grill Inc
171) Wendy's
172) Wilshire Restaurant & Catering
173) Yangtze Chinese Restaurant
174) Yumbo's
175) Yummy House
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Good Good So So
Last weekend on the 2009 Winery Walkabout I tried all four bintara beers in the order they were recommended by the bartender. All four beers were presented nicely in small half-sized glasses at $2.50 each.

1. Crystal Wheat - The first beer was both a surprise and a disappointment. It smelled like a wheat beer should, but tasted far too fruity, as if they had mixed white wine in with it. I've poured out entire batches of wheatbeer that tasted better than the Bintara Crystal Wheat, and I doubt I could finish a 6 pack without feeling sick.

2. Pilsner - The second beer was the pilsner, and it wasn't very enjoyable either. It wasn't particularly hoppy like I hadhoped, and tasted like they may have fermented it at ale temperatures resulting in many off flavours. Having recently taste tested over a dozen different commercial pilsners, this one was undoubtedly worse than anything you can buy at the shops. At this stage I was considering asking the barkeep to sample his beer. Perhaps it was an infected batch and they hadn't noticed?

3. Pale Ale - The best of the Bintara range. I quite enjoyed the smokey complexity of this beer. It was interesting enough to be appreciated as something special that you can't buy at the local bottle shop. It reminded me a bit of an irish red-ale in taste, but without the colour.

4. Black Beer - I was truly amazed with this beer. They say the darker the beer, the harder to stuff it up. Bintara found a way. My first sip invoked curiosity and disbelief, and the second sip brought on my gag reflex. This is undoubtedly "the worst" beer I have ever tasted. I felt sorry for the guys at the table next to me who had bought full sized schooners. I honestly couldn't finish this beer and left it on the table.

I'm very glad I visited the bintara brewery. It was certainly a learning experience and I left with the distinct impression of "WTF"? Am I overlooking something amazing that a more experienced beer connoisseur could appreciate? Should I be embarrassed for them, or myself? Is it jut coincidental that bintarra makes 3 of the worst beers I have ever tasted or is it deliberate?

Also of note, I shared the experience with 3 others who drank the 4 bintara beers with me. One of which is a long-term home brewer, another who has travelled the world testing beers and I had a hard time naming a beer he hadn't tasted (and enjoyed). They had much the same opinions as I did.

Sorry Bintara, I really wanted to enjoy your beer. You have a lovely atmosphere in there, but terrible beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Michael, Wollongong, NS
(06/09/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great
This brewery is actually at a winery so the quality of the beer was unexpected.They make four beers and some seasonal beers. The beers are a bit fruity but not enough to stop you from having more than one. I sampled all 4 beers but enjoyed the Black Beer best as it was very smooth and went down easy.

Save the Ales!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bif Bif, St Peters, MO
(10/05/2008)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.411 seconds) 17:37:10 54.80.19.102, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS