PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Cave Mountain Brewing Company - Windham, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 22, 2014 @ 05:58 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Windham > Cave Mountain Brewing Company
Cave Mountain Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Cave Mountain Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 82.7 / 100
5359 Route 23
Main Street
Windham, NY 12496
United States
(518) 734-9222
Listed Since: October 2008
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Windham, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
16 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 10:00PM
Mon 11:00AM - 10:00PM
Tue 11:00AM - 10:00PM
Wed 11:00AM - 10:00PM
Thu 11:00AM - 10:00PM
Fri 11:00AM - 10:00PM
Sat 11:00AM - 10:00PM

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Albergo Bed & Breakfast
2) Be My Guest Bed & Breakfast
3) Danske Hus
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Centre Presbyterian Church
2) Jewett Presbyterian Church Complex
3) North Settlement Methodist Church
4) Strong, Elijah, House
5) Trinity Episcopal Church
6) Union Chapel
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Brandywine Of Windham
2) Brooklyn Bridge Restaurant
3) Cantino Loco
4) Chalet Fondue Restaurant
5) Joe's Pizza Stop
6) Michael's Diner
7) Mill Rock Restaurant
8) Pitti's Pizza Parlor
9) Pizza Palace
10) Primo's Family Diner
11) Seasons Restaurant
12) Sir Thetford's Sirloin Room
13) Sunrise Market & Cafe
14) Theo's Restaurant & Lounge
15) Ulla Darni's Blue Pearl Cafe
16) Weatherby's
17) Zerega's Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So So So
Both the beer and food were decent and I'm sure at any given time this would be a nice place to stop. Sadly when I went was not that time.

Our waitress was in a grumpy mood or so it seemed and took it out on us with barely a word as she plunked down our first round. (this continued with each round and our food) Although this is a brew pub we were refused a sampler flight because this was a busy weekend and it was going to get busy later (we were there about 5pm and they were not even full yet) .

Also because it was a busy weekend all our craft beer came in plastic cups and our food was served on paper plates.

We were in town for the Warrior Dash as were lots of people I assume, so the management took this opportunity to showcase their place to a lot of out of town visitors by limiting choices and serving food and drinks like we were at a frat picnic.

In spit of all this my wife and I ordered a total of 5 beers and split them to try all the house beers. There was one we did not order but wanted to try a taste of and we were flat out refused-this after ordering 5 full price beers!

I did not ask the cost of a beer when we started, I know what a draft should cost in an upstate NY town, especially when served in a plastic cup. I was shock to see this place charges $6 for a draft beer that I doubt was even a full pint. I do not know if this is the regular price or the Out of town gouge and screw price.

Our total bill was over $65 for 2 sammies, an order of fries and 5 beers. I thought about it after we left. I should have questioned it then but we just wanted to leave. We never once felt welcome there.

We'll be in town for the Warrior Dash again next year, but will be passing up Cave Mountain.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Shaff Bob Shaff, Fairport, NY
(08/12/2012)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Lousy So So
Both the beer and food were decent and I'm sure at any given time this would be a nice place to stop. Sadly when I went was not that time.

Our waitress was in a grumpy mood or so it seemed and took it out on us with barely a word as she plunked down our first round. (this continued with each round and our food) Although this is a brew pub we were refused a sampler flight because this was a busy weekend and it was going to get busy later (we were there about 5pm and they were not even full yet) .

Also because it was a busy weekend all our craft beer came in plastic cups and our food was served on paper plates.

We were in town for the Warrior Dash as were lots of people I assume, so the management took this opportunity to showcase their place to a lot of out of town visitors by limiting choices and serving food and drinks like we were at a frat picnic.

In spit of all this my wife and I ordered a total of 5 beers and split them to try all the house beers. There was one we did not order but wanted to try a taste of and we were flat out refused-this after ordering 5 full price beers!

I did not ask the cost of a beer when we started, I know what a draft should cost in an upstate NY town, especially when served in a plastic cup. I was shock to see this place charges $6 for a draft beer that I doubt was even a full pint. I do not know if this is the regular price or the Out of town gouge and screw price.

Our total bill was over $65 for 2 sammies, an order of fries and 5 beers. I thought about it after we left. I should have questioned it then but we just wanted to leave. We never once felt welcome there.

We'll be in town for the Warrior Dash again next year, but will be passing up Cave Mountain.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Las Vegas, NV
(08/12/2012)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
I was impressed with the beers at this cozy little brewpub in the northern Catskills town of Windham. The beer sampler includes generous tastes of the six standard house beers: American Blonde, Irish Red, English Nut Brown, German Hefe, Centennial IPA, and Oatmeal Stout. All were solid, with the brown ale and IPA being most noteworthy. I followed the sampler up with a pint of a very tasty nitro-dispensed Black IPA. My wife enjoyed pints of the American Blonde and a seasonal Blueberry Wheat ale. The brewpub opens at 4:0 PM with happy hour half-priced appetizers and discounted beer prices. Cask-conditioned ales are coming soon on the first Friday of each month. This place is definitely worth a stop, but note that they did not have lunchtime hours when we visited in early July.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(07/18/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
great atmosphere - nice asset to the town of windham -

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lois Hart Lois Hart, Forest Hills, NY
(01/10/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Awesome!
I was visiting friends in Hyde Park, New York and saw Cave Mountains ad in a local brewpub paper so I took a ride up on a Sunday afternoon.

When I walked in I was amazed that they had a Yuppie Brewpub in the middle of nowhere. It seemed like a great place to hang out after skiing, especially with the eclectic art on the walls and the couches in the back. When I went to the restroom I was amazed to see how small the set up was for such a big place. The brewing equipment looked like something I could set up in my garage and throw a BBQ in my backyard with. I was amazed that the brewmaster could put out the amount of beer he was with such small equipment. My hats off to him.

The Sunday afternoon crowd seemed pretty steady for a small place but the staff seemed bored to be there. The staff looked like college students & not a smile or joke in the house.

I like to start out by saying I am normally a Red Beer Drinker, with heavy hop flavors. So, I ordered a the 6-6-6 (6-6oz samplers for $6). I started with the Blonde seemed very bland, it seemed like it needed to be a bit more creamy, more hoppie or something to give it a kick, I would suggest to the brewmaster to try the Manhatten Beach Blonde, in the Manhatten Beach, California brewery to see what a great Blonde Beer taste like. As I went around the other beers I was impressed. They all had great flavor for what they were, but the only one that stood out seemed to be the Centenial IPA. If they could get that strong Hoppy Flavor in a Red Beer I would be happy.

I went to order food and with the atmosphere I thought the menu would be a little more then what you could through on a grill or deep fry. As a jewish beer drinker Pulled Pork Sandwhiches didn't work for me. I would have liked to see something like a salmoned burger or something more vegeterian. It seemed like a great place to even have a sushi guy.

I would love to go back with a bunch of my friends and keep the place hopping.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steven S. Steven S., Los Angeles, CA
(10/27/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
We stopped in after sampling their beers at Hunter Mountains Microbrew and wine festival in September. They won "best brewery" that weekend competing against about 15 other local and nationwide breweries. 10 beers on tap, all very good of the ones I tried. Good food, ambiance, service. Worth the trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review San Diego, CA
(09/29/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Great Good
Beer is brewed in windham but lacks the flavor of most microbrews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Albany, NY
(09/11/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
I couldn't believe walking into this little brewpub that they had 11 beers on draft of their own. We've been to breweries and brewpubs 4 times the size with half as much selection. The beers are as good as any craft beer comes. We were very happy to see that they had two different IPA's on draft with a third one on the way. The Centennial IPA tastes and smells a lot like Bell's Two Hearted Ale, and their Rye IPA was as deep and complex as some of the best IPA's I've had out in Oregon and Michigan. Great selection of malt-forward beers too. Even their blonde ale was worthy of a refill. We didn't eat however the couple sitting next to us commented that it was the best burger they'd ever had, and something about the brewer also being a chef. I'm keeping my eye on these guys, I think they are going to go places!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Syracuse, NY
(06/19/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Stopped by one day to check out the pub, we we were not disappointed!! We did not eat there because we had eaten at Brooks BBQ on the way through, but the food sure smelled delicious. All of the beers were either really good or excellent. My favorite was the Centennial IPA. I would suggest the sampler for the beers so you can try them all and pick your favorite. Can't wait to go back and when I do I will be hungery so I can try their food. If you like great beer, it is well worth the stop!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pete Kirkgasser Pete Kirkgasser, East Syracuse, NY
(06/15/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
My family and I stopped by friday night after driving up to windham for a ski weekend. We were not disappointed. The brews were very tasty (IPA and blonde ale), and the food was pretty good too. My daughters enjoyed hanging out on the couches, and made friends with some of the other children there. We arrived pretty early, and it wasn't crowded, so I don't know if I would recommend bringing kids later in the evening. We liked it so much that we stopped back after a day on the slopes, and had another great experience. This time the maple brown ws available, and that was especially good (got a growler to go). One note on the servicez; on our first night, the server seemed a little overwhelmed and forgot a few things, but the second night our waitress did a good job. we'll be back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review westfield, NJ
(02/18/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The wife and I made the 1.5 hour trip east specifically to check out Cave Mountain Brewing Co. We love Brew Pubs. Needless to say, we were not disappointed! The beer quality and selection is excellent. The food is out of this world. The entire staff is quite friendly and helpful. We made new friends and even spotted an acquaintance we haven't seen in 15 years! What are the chances of that? Well, 100% I guess. Anyway, you would be well served to check out the Cave Mountain Brewing Co. Located right on Main Street in the shadows of Windham Mountain, it's a little like Breckenridge East! Next trip, this wannabe home brewer would like to spend time with Tim to discuss brewing techniques. Looking forward to the next visit....hopefully next weekend!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Leahy Jim Leahy, Norwich, NY
(02/15/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This is a "can't miss" place when visiting Windham and is sure to please even the most critical beer drinker.

I feel a bit like a surfer dude rating everything at Cave Mountain as 'awesome' but honestly...that choice is there for a reason and this place is, well...awesome.

Cave Mountain Brewery screams hospitality. From the friendly staff to the layout of the bar, chairs etc...even the music changes to accomodate the mood and crowd.

The patrons ranges from full families in for dinner to groups of dudes hunkerng down and drinking for the long haul - and there's appropriate space for all.

If you see an open table during peak hours, grab it and enjoy. The bar food is prepared perfectly and all choices are $10 and under.

Oh yeah...there's also a ton of BEER! There were 12 active homebrew taps when I was there and I tried them all - tasty...one after the other.

Ask if brewmaster Tim is in the house to learn a bit about his craft and passion for making the finest brews in the Catskills.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eli Eli , Brooklyn, NY
(12/15/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
It is great to see a micro brewery finally open in Greene County. It honestly could not have a better location! Not to mention finally a place to frequent when Windham turns out the lights at 11pm. The food and the service were great, not to mention a great selection of small batch beers.

I recommend everyone to visit cave mountain when they are in town

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ryan Ryan, Cairo, NY
(12/03/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
I've been waiting for a local brewpub like this one in this area for awhile (I've always wondered why Albany/Troy area gets great microbreweries and why the Catskills had always been forgotten... until now!). Coming from West Michigan where there are great microbreweries/brewpubs scattered all over (New Holland Brewing Company and Bell's brewery are two of my favorites, but there are many more), I was psyched when I saw this place was going up in Windham NY. As a homebrewer myself I love the fact that Tim is brewing in small batches instead of the huge amounts that even microbreweries think are small. This gives amazing character to each beer and allows for variety within consistency, as well as allowing the brewmaster the ability to experiment. I found myself drooling over the setup of the brewery, it is any homebrewers dream! The beer selection is pretty large for being such a small outfit. I tried my first time there the sampler of their six regular beers (a Blonde, Irish Red, English Nut Brown, Hefeweizen, IPA, and Oatmeal Stout)... each was great in its own rights, and now that I know the character of each of these beers I can better pair them with the great pub food selection that they have. Not only do they have great beer and great food, their weekly specials are a great draw... currently they have Monday $1 Tacos, Tuesday $5 Wings, Wednesday $5 Fish&Chips, $2 Mugs on Sundays and Thursdays, among other specials the other days of the week. And growlers to go, who could ask for more?! This is my new favorite place in this neck of the woods (no offense to the other great places to eat and drink in the Northern Catskills)! Keep up the great quality in your brewing and cooking Tim and I will keep coming back to support your new establishment.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Town Greg Town, Prattsville, NY
(12/01/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Not only is the beer and food spectacular - it's a fun place to frequent. Everyone has a great time - small enough to have conversation with friends and neighbors. Owners and staff are very congenial and attentive to service. Prices are reasonable and great value. A must if you live in the area and/or a visitor!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JOHN ADAMS JOHN ADAMS, Charlotte, NY
(11/03/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Hi all, I'm the brewmaster and owner of Cave Mountain Brewing Co. and I'd just like to introduce myself and tell you a little about our brewpub and our beers. I've been a homebrewer for about five years and in March of 2008 my wife and I began building our first brewpub with help from a small business loan and a few local craftsman. My goal is to brew at least 6 stand-up ales in addition to providing a great selection of locally brewed craft beer from our neighboring New York craft brewers. We'll be starting off our lineup at our grand opening with approachable ales like our Blonde Ale, an Irish Red, and an English Nut Brown, all with relatively low gravity and bitterness. Our Oatmeal stout, IPA, and Hefeweizen are fuller flavored, with our IPA topping off at 8.5% ABV and 50 IBU. Look for guest taps such as Bluepoint Blueberry Ale, Chatham Porter, Sixpoint Sweet Action, Ommegang Rare Vos, Keegan Ales Old Capitol, and Butternuts Porkslap Pale ale. Of course these brands will be ever-changing so depending on how long after fall of 08' you are reading this, everything could be different. I will eventually be beefing up our house-beer lineup to include some of my favorites like smoked porter, more IPA's, Belgian white, and maybe an interesting fruit beer or experimental ale here and there. We do have some limitations, our equipment allows us only to make ales. If you want a dry pilsner or a lager, look to our bottle selection or guest taps. I have to mention that we also serve good pub food, nothing unusual really, but I promise to keep the specials interesting. The kitchen is directly alongside the bar in the open and it's probably me or my wife turning your hamburger with as much care as the pint in your hand. Our brewery is basically a large homebrewery, or a miniature microbrewery that integrates homebrewing and commercial brewing methods. We select and crush our own grain, ferment and age in conical fermenters, keg and condition our beer, and serve it on draft and by the growler to-go. Our brewery is completely viewable, with our 8 stainless fermenters as a focal point in the bar. We hope you can visit our brewpub sometime soon. We are just two hours from NYC and under a mile away from Windham Mountain skiing area in the center of Windham village on Main Street. Stop in and share a pint with us....cheers.

Tim Adams Brewer/Owner Cave Mountain Brewing Co.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tim, Windham, NY
(09/04/2008)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.7 seconds) 05:58:10 54.242.140.11, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS