PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Great Lost Bear - Portland, ME
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 22, 2014 @ 04:10 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > ME > Portland > Great Lost Bear
Great Lost Bear Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Great Lost Bear
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 84.8 / 100
540 Forest Avenue
Portland, ME 04101
United States
(207) 772-0300
Last Updated: May 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Portland, ME
Beer Guide for Maine

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Great Lost Bear
50 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(21 within 5 miles)
1) Bunker Brewing
(0 mile)

2) Bunker Brewing
(0 mile)

3) Lion's Pride
(0 mile)

4) Peak Organic Brewing Company
(0 mile)

5) Prost International Tap House
(0 mile)

6) Brian Boru
(0 mile)

7) Bleachers
(0 mile)

8) Ri Ra Irish Pub and Restaurant
(0 mile)

9) Sail Loft Tavern
(0 mile)

10) Three Dollar Dewey's
(0 mile)

11) The Stone Coast Brewing Company
(0 mile)

12) Shipyard Brewing Company
(0 mile)

13) Gritty McDuff's
(0 mile)

14) Novare Res Bier Cafe
(0 mile)

15) Sebago Brewing Company
(3 miles)

16) Sea Dog Brewing Company
(3 miles)

17) The Maine Beer Company
(3 miles)

18) Allagash Brewing Company
(3 miles)

19) Casco Bay Brewing
(3 miles)

20) Geary D L Brewing Company, Incorported
(3 miles)

21) Brauhaus an der Thomaskirche
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Andrews on Auburn
2) Back Cove Inn
3) Carleton Inn Bed & Breakfast
4) Chadwick
5) Danforth
6) Fleetwood House Bed/Breakfast
7) Inn At Parkspring
8) Inn At St John
9) Morrill Mansion
10) Parkside Parrot Inn
11) Percy Inn
12) Pomegranate Inn
13) West End Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN MERRY MANOR INN
2) DOUBLETREE HOTEL
3) EASTLAND PARK
4) EMBASSY STES PORTLAND
5) FAIRFIELD INN PORTLAND AIRPORT
6) HGI PORTLAND DWNTN WATERFRONT
7) HLTN GRDN INN PORTLAND AIRPORT
8) HOWARD JOHNSON HTL PORTLAND S
9) HOWARD JOHNSON PLAZA PORTLAND
10) PORTLAND HARBOR HOTEL
11) PORTLAND REGENCY HOTEL
12) QUALITY INN AND SUITES
13) RAMADA LTD PORTLAND ME
14) WILD IRIS INN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Baxter Summer Home
2) Beckett's Castle
3) Brown, C. A., Cottage
4) Brown, Harrison B., House
5) Brown, J. B., Memorial Block
6) Butler, A. B., House
7) Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception
8) Chapman, Leonard Bond, House
9) Chestnut Street Methodist Church
10) Clapp, Charles Q., Block
11) Clapp, Charles Q., House
12) Dow, Gen. Neal, House
13) Dyer, Nathaniel, House
14) Eastern Cemetery
15) Fifth Maine Regiment Community Center
16) First Baptist Church
17) First Parish Church
18) Fort Gorges
19) Gothic House, The
20) Green Memorial A.M.E. Zion Church
21) Greenough, Byron, Block
22) Griffin House
23) Hamblen Block
24) Hamblen Development Historic District
25) Hanson, Asa, Block
26) How Houses
27) How, Daniel, House
28) Ingraham, Joseph Holt, House
29) Lancaster Block
30) Leighton, Adam P., House
31) Lincoln Park
32) Longfellow, Henry Wadsworth, Monument
33) Maine Central Railroad General Office Building
34) Maine Eye and Ear Infirmary
35) Maine Historical Society
36) Maine Publicity Bureau Building
37) Marine Hospital
38) Mariner's Church
39) Masonic Temple
40) McLellan-Sweat Mansion
41) Mechanics' Hall
42) Minott, William, House
43) Morse-Libby Mansion
44) North School
45) Park Street Row
46) Porteous, Mitchell and Braun Company Building
47) Portland Breakwater Light
48) Portland City Hall
49) Portland City Hospital
50) Portland Club
51) Portland Headlight
52) Portland High School
53) Portland Observatory
54) Portland Packing Company Factory
55) Portland Soldiers and Sailors Monument
56) Portland Stove Foundry
57) Portland Waterfront Historic District (Boundary Increase)
58) Portland Waterfront Historic District (Boundary Increase)
59) Rackleff Building
60) Ram Island Ledge Light Station
61) Reed, Thomas Brackett, House
62) Russwurm, John B., House
63) Seavey--Robinson House
64) Skelton, Thomas, House
65) Smith, F.O.J., Tomb
66) Sparrow House
67) Spring Point Ledge Light Station
68) St. Lawrence Church
69) St. Paul's Church and Rectory
70) Stevens, John Calvin, House
71) Tate House
72) Thompson Block
73) Tracy--Causer Block
74) U.S. Courthouse
75) U.S. Customhouse
76) US Post Office--Portland Main
77) Wadsworth-Longfellow House
78) Williston-West Church and Parish House
79) Woodman Building
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 486 Bistro
2) Acoustic Coffee
3) Afghan Restaurant
4) Ale House
5) Amato Sandwich Shops Inc
6) Amato's Italian Deli & Ctrng
7) Amato's Sandwich Shops
8) Amigo's Mexican Restaurant
9) Angelone's
10) Angelone's
11) Arby's
12) Armory Restaurant
13) Artemisia Cafe
14) Asia Restaurant
15) Asylum
16) Aubergine Bistro
17) Aurora Provisions
18) Awful Anni's Irish Saloon
19) Back Bay Grill
20) Bagel Works-Portland
21) Bandol
22) Bangkok Thai Restaurant
23) Bar 46 Kitchen & Lounge
24) Barbara's Kitchen & Cafe
25) Bay View Seafoods
26) Bayou Kitchen
27) Beale Street Barbeque & Grill
28) Beals Old Fashioned Ice Cream
29) Becky's
30) Bella Cucina
31) Ben & Jerry's
32) Benkay Japanese Restaurant
33) Benny's
34) Bibo's Madd Apple Cafe
35) Big Easy Blues Club
36) Big Mama's
37) Bikini Bottom Grill
38) Bill's Pizza
39) Binga's Wingas
40) Bintliff's American Cafe
41) Black Tie Catering & Cafe
42) Black Tie To Go
43) Bleachers Sports Bar & Rstrnt
44) Blue Spoon
45) Bombay Club
46) Boone's Restaurant
47) Bottomz Up
48) Breakaway Restaurant & Lounge
49) Breaking New Grounds
50) Brealu Cafe
51) Brian Boru Public House
52) Brian Boru Public House
53) Bridgeway Restaurant
54) Bubba's Sulky Lounge
55) Bubble Maineia Tea Shop
56) Buffalo Wings-N-Things
57) Bull Feeney's
58) Burger King
59) Burger King
60) Cafe Uffa
61) Carricom Restaurant
62) Catering By Evalin
63) Center For Cultural Exchange
64) Channel Fish Processing Co Inc
65) Cinque Terre
66) City Deli
67) Clay Oven
68) Coffee By Design
69) Cold Stone Creamery
70) Colucci's Hilltop Superette
71) Comedy Connection
72) Commercial Street Pub
73) Crooked Mile
74) D B Street & Co
75) D'angelo Sandwich Shop
76) D'angelo Sandwich Shop
77) Dante's
78) David's Restaurant
79) Denny's
80) Devito's Old Market Grill
81) Di Millo's Floating Restaurant
82) Di Pietro's Italian Sandwiches
83) Diablo's Southwestern Grill
84) Dock Fore
85) Domino's Pizza
86) Doug Cole
87) Down Town Lounge
88) Dry Dock Restaurant Tavern
89) Dunkin Donuts
90) East End Kids Katering
91) Eatery Cafe
92) El Mirador Mexican
93) Epicurean
94) Erik's
95) Espans Quick Lunch
96) Eve's At The Garden
97) Ezo African Restaurant
98) F Parker Reidy's
99) Fasulo's
100) Federal Spice
101) Fit To Eat
102) Five Fifty Five
103) Flatbread Co
104) Foodworks Inc
105) Fore Play Sports Pub
106) Fore Street
107) Forest Gardens
108) Free Street Taverna
109) Free Street Teverna
110) Fresh Market Pasta
111) Friendship Cafe Inc
112) Fuji Restaurant
113) G'vanni's Piccolo Pomodoro
114) G'vanni's Restaurant
115) Geno's Bar
116) Gilbert's Chowder House
117) Giobbi's Restaurant
118) Granny's Burritos
119) Grapevine Catering & Cafe
120) Great Lost Bear
121) Griffin Club
122) Grill Sportman's
123) Gritty Mc Duff's
124) Hans' Soft Serve
125) Harbor View Pizza Etc
126) Henry Vill's
127) Hi Bombay
128) Hilltop Coffee Shop
129) Hugo's Portland Bistro
130) Hugo's Restaurant
131) Huong Vietnamese Food
132) Iguana Lounge
133) Inca Roots
134) Industry
135) J's Oyster
136) Jan Mee Restaurant
137) Java Net Cafe
138) Jim's Pizza & Beer
139) Jimmy's Hamburgers
140) Katahdin Restaurant
141) Kfc
142) Kitchen
143) Kozy Kitchen
144) Lang's Express
145) Linda's Cafe
146) Little Lads Bakery Outlet
147) Living Room
148) Maine Lobster Platter Co
149) Maine Roasters Coffee
150) Marcy's Breakfast & Lunch
151) Margaritas Mexican Restaurant
152) Margaritaville Mexican Rstrnt
153) Maria's Restaurant
154) Mariner's Church Banquet Ctr
155) Matthew's
156) Mazza
157) Mc Donald's
158) Mc Donald's
159) Mercury Bar
160) Meritage Wine Bar
161) Mesa Verde
162) Michelangelo's Pizza & Deli
163) Middle Street Cafe
164) Mims
165) Miss Portland Diner
166) Molly's Steakhouse & Irish Pub
167) Monument Walk Deli
168) Mozon Middle Catering
169) Natasha's
170) Newick's Seafood Restaurant
171) Nile Restaurant
172) Norm's Bar & Grill
173) Norm's Bar-B-Q
174) Norm's East End Grill
175) Novare Res Bier Caf'e
176) Nu's Market & Restaurant
177) O'Naturals Restaurant
178) O'rourke's Landing
179) Oasis
180) Old Port Sandwich Shop
181) Old Port Sea Grill
182) Old Port Tavern
183) Oriental Table
184) Patricio's Cafe
185) Pavilion
186) Pepperclub
187) Perfetto
188) Perry's Sidewalk Cafe
189) Pizza Hut
190) Pizza Hut
191) Pizza Joint
192) Pizza Villa
193) Porthole Restaurant
194) Portland Club
195) Portland Coffee Roasting Co
196) Portland Dine Around Club
197) Portland Lobster Co
198) Portland Pie Co
199) Portland Public Market
200) Portland Street Diner
201) Pub 21
202) Public Seafood Fish & Chips
203) Punky's
204) Q Street Diner
205) R & H Eatery
206) Rachel's
207) Raffel Brothers
208) Reiley's Sandwich Shop
209) Restaurant Sapporo
210) Ri Ra Irish Pub & Restaurant
211) Ribolita
212) Richard's Edel Weiss Deli
213) Rick's
214) Rivalries
215) Roma Cafe
216) Romeos Pizza
217) Rosie's
218) Ruby's Choice
219) Saigon Thinh Thanh
220) Salsa Cantina
221) Salt Water Grill
222) Sandwich Old Port
223) Sangillo's
224) Seaside Park Restaurant
225) Sebago Brewing Co
226) Seng Thai Food 2
227) Shays Grill Pub
228) Siam City Cafe
229) Silly's Pizza
230) Silver House Tavern
231) Snow Squall
232) Soffritto Creative Italian
233) Somewhere
234) Spirited Gourmet Cafe
235) Stadium
236) Starbucks
237) Steve & Renee's Diner
238) Stir Crazy
239) Stone Soup Cafe
240) Stone Soup Foods
241) Street & Co
242) Sty XX
243) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
244) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
245) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
246) Supreme Pizza
247) Tandoor Restaurant
248) Thailand Restaurant
249) Three Dollar Deweys
250) Tic Taco
251) Tony Baloney's
252) TU Casa Salvadorena Restaurant
253) Uncle Billy's Bar-B-Que Rstrnt
254) Valley Chinese Cuisine
255) Victory Deli & Bake Shop
256) Vienriane Eat In & Take Out
257) Village Cafe
258) Walter's Cafe
259) Wendy's
260) West End Pizza Gallery
261) Wharf Street Cafe
262) Whits End
263) Wine Bar
264) YMB Samurai
265) Yosaku Japanese Restaurant
266) Zarra's Montumental Coffee Hse
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
Has it really been five years since I've been to the Bear? Wow! Maybe that's why I stopped twice on a recent trip. Sampled quite a few New England beers that were new to me. Geary Hampshire Special Oak cask was very woody and malty, slightly medicianal. Allagash Black cask almost reminded me of a dopplebock, especially at the finish. Allagash Confluence was very effervescent and fruity. It had nice body and seemed pretty substantial (dangerous?) overall. Marshall Wharf Big Twitch IPA was pretty big, slightly boozy at finish, aggressively hopped. The Bear is, of course, a Portland landmark.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/14/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great
What a hidden gem! One place to go to sample all the area beers. They feature almost everything brewed in the Northeast. The food was good and they have vegetarian dishes to accommodate all. It is definately a family friendly place. Parking was not so good but not a bad area to have to walk a few blocks. A must go to establishment if flying North for the summer!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phillip Rhudy Phillip Rhudy, Glen Burnie, MD
(04/30/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great
do i even need to review this mecca? yes, i've stated elsewhere that dewey's is the place for beer in the old port, but the bear is king of portland. maine beers are always represented as are many from away. brewer's/special pint nights. good, unpretentious victuals. how can you go wrong? well, you might never find a place to park, but ...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Killalea Jim Killalea, newtown, CT
(08/02/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
I've been going here since '95...always changing the beer selections to feature seasonals. Fun atmosphere great beer - samplers are great if you can decide. Staff is pretty stable there too - not too much turnover there. Food is good, a little pricey for what you get, but the place makes up for it with the beer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jessica Jessica, Portland, ME
(03/26/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
If nothing else, the Great Lost Bear is one-stop shopping for Maine breweries. Don't have time to go meandering all over the Pine Tree State to sample the richness of its malted barley offerings? Simply take an afternoon tour of the tap selection of the Bear. I arrived to find such Down East favorites as Stone Coast Knuckleball Bock, Sebago Frye's Leap I.P.A., Sheepscot Pemaquid Scottish Ale, and Geary's Hampshire Special Ale (cask-conditoned.) In all, a great visit...saved gas money and didn't have to ask a Mainer for directions.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kirk Struble Kirk Struble, New York, NY
(08/18/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
If nothing else, the Great Lost Bear is one-stop shopping for Maine breweries. Don't have time to go meandering all over the Pine Tree State to sample the richness of its malted barley offerings? Simply take an afternoon tour of the tap selection of the Bear. I arrived to find such Down East favorites as Smuttynose "Big A" I.P.A., Stone Coast Knuckleball Bock, Sebago Frye's Leap I.P.A., Sheepscot Pemaquid Scottish Ale, and Geary's Hampshire Special Ale (cask-conditoned.) Wished we could have been seated closer to the bar area, however...the back room makes you feel like you are in Jackman. That said, it was a great visit...saved gas money and didn't have to ask a Mainer for directions.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kirk Struble Kirk Struble, New York, NY
(07/26/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So So So

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Aaron Aaron, Hoboken, NJ
(07/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Great Portland beer bar. This is the place to go to get Maine draft beer, but the bottle selection is light. Didn't try the food since we hit here after dinner. Beware of the early last call.

Definitely a must visit for beer drinkers in Portland.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Begley Jim Begley, Las Vegas, NV
(05/27/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
It's probably all been said in other reviews, but with so many breweries in Portland and nearby parts of Maine, this is the only place to go if you don't have time to visit them all. They have at lest one or two beers from all of them, plus multiple casks.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David David, Asheville, NC
(05/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
I have to agree that the Wings are the Best In Town, Portland Maine. The XXX HellFire Live up to their title and then some. I love hot spicy food and this dish met all of my expectations. The Beer was just the gravy, but the wings are awesome. I HIGHLY recommend them to anyone who enjoys really spicy food. Don't fool yourself these wings are hot, almost painfull, but that's how I like them. Read the disclaimer, they are not lying.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ray Ray, Portland, ME
(02/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I found GLB after googling "best chicken wings portland, me", and after trying them I had to look no further, Awesome! (I like my wings hot, so I ordered HELL FIRE WINGS XXX (not just HOT! but flavorful as well)! While I waited for my wings my beer samplings included Allagash White, and Seadog Blueberry Wheat Ale, both excellent and fresh. This place is purely INCREDIBLE, what more can I say of somewhere that offers, 20 varieties of burgers, 9 different kinds of nachos, 9 kinds of chicken wings, 9 salads, 34 sandwiches, over 50 beers on tap, including many New England microbrews, and authentic New England cuisine. I would consider moving to Portland just because of this place!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Weebl Weebl, Hyde Parj, NY
(01/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great
Finally a visit to the famous GLB. The other reviews accurately capture the extraordinary draught beer selection and quality. Never realized there were so many small independent brewers in Maine who make great beers. The cask offerings were a very appreciated added bonus to an already outstanding beer line-up. The staff were very knowledgable and had a passion for beer. On the downside, the location (outside of downtown), the fact that you walk out smelling like a giant chicken wing when you didn't eat (glad I didn't run into any wild, hungry bears on the long walk back), and the really early last call were a bit of a disappointment. But it's truly about the beer, and the GLB really delivered.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Atlas Shrugged Atlas Shrugged, Albany, NY
(10/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
They have a web cam, so you can see who is drinking at the bar.

Over 50 beers on tap, most local from Maine

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andrew Harris Andrew Harris, Portland, Me
(07/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
One of the best beer bars I have ever visited (including Brickskeller in DC, Gingerman and Blind Tiger in NYC, Map Room in Chicago), GBC is a true mecca for beer afficianados and a real haven for seekers of regional microbrews, such as: Andrew's St. Nick, Geary's, Allagash, Shipyard, Casco Bay and Sheepscot - brewer of the superb Pemaquid Scottish Ale. The food menu was great as well. If only GLB was located closer to downtown rather than the ugly industrial area it is currently sited. It is worth the cab ride though. What a wonderful place!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jerry Boesen Jerry Boesen, Gaithersburg, MD
(06/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
I'm sitting here looking at the beer menu from the Bear. 52 beers grouped into 18 different styles (is "lawnmower" a syle?), mostly from Maine. 4 cask offerings, draught specials, samplers available of everything; well you see why it's rated so highly. The beer is fresh and the servers are cool. The menu is quirky (it'll make sense when you go there), with the only problem being "how do I choose from all these beers and all of the food?" It's a must stop when here--I was in two days in a row! For those who like their IBU's off the chart, I didn't find that either. But with over 50 to choose from...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Great Good Good Great
The beer choices were great! Loved the number of beers they had on tap, including the scotch ales! The menu was huge! We had a hard time deciding on an item to order! We will definately go back again!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob & Ang Bob & Ang, Lebanon, NH
(06/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great
If you're looking for a great selection of beers, you can't go wrong with The Bear. Maximum selection. Good food but they're getting awfully pricey. The peanut thai wings can't be beat. The burgers are the best in Portland. Try a Microbrew Showcase on a Thursday night -- it's a blast. But please avoid the deck in the summer so that I can get a seat!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from C. Allard C. Allard, Portland, ME
(04/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
The Bear not only has one of the best beer selections going, if you don't feel like having a whole order of wings, you can get smaller portions- or mix and match the different varieties available. Everything about the Bear was geared to cater to the customers desires- Fantastic!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Cheri Siatras Cheri Siatras, Brunswick, ME
(02/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Hippyish beer bar with solid selection. A ton of good local beers. I could ony stay for a couple but plan on going there again soon to tie one on.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mr. Tomey Mr. Tomey, pittsburgh, PA
(01/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I am truly not worthy. This establishment is exceptional on all fronts. My sole regret is that I do not live closer to it. Long Live the Bear!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geoff Geoff, Morris Plains, NJ
(10/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I don't know what hoppy in Indiana is, but on July 2 the Great Lost Bear had Dogfish Head 60 Minute IPA, Andys Pale Ale, Magic Hat IPA, Sebago IPA, Sierra Nevada Pale Ale, Redhook IPA and Shipyard Fuggles IPA....Now they are some hoppy-ass brews!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dale Dale, Portland, ME
(07/15/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good
Fairly nice selection in good condition, and the samplers are a great idea. Maybe this is a rough time of year selection wise (summer beers, ugh!), but this place is most definitely not a hop-head's destination. I was not expecting it to be mainly a restauraunt wafting greasy food odor all over everything. Is this place actually considered one of the "six best" beer bars in the country? Yeah, it's ok, but I don't think I would go that far.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BertSugar BertSugar, Highland, IN
(06/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Love the new beer tower things. Must try the cheese steaks.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jorg Jorg, bowdoin, ME
(02/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Was in Boston on business, and somehow came across their website. WELL WORTH THE 1.5 HOUR DRIVE! Had the best cheeseburger of my life (Canadian Burger I think it was called), some of the finest, freshest beer on tap of my life, and chatted with the friendliest bartenders (and regulars) I have ever met. Ultra cool atmosphere with no TVs in sight, cool music playing, and NO SMOKING! Oh, how I wish to get back to this place again someday. (This place just knocked off Elmer Sudds of Wilkes Barre, PA as my favorite bar in the world.) Keep up the fantastic work!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Chesna John Chesna, Old Forge, PA
(10/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Love this place! Try to go on Thursday nights - their special beer night. Smoke free which makes it even better! Should be your first choice in Portland!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tomlinson Tim Tomlinson, Chicago, IL
(08/12/2002)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.74 seconds) 04:10:13 54.145.182.50, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS