PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Olney Ale House - Olney, MD
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 02, 2014 @ 01:31 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MD > Olney > Olney Ale House
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: Beer Bar
Olney Ale House
Overall: Great    Score: 74.7 / 100
2000 Olney-Sandy Spring Road
Olney, MD 20832
United States
(301) 774-6708
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Olney, MD
Beer Guide for Maryland

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
17 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Mannequin Pis
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Longwood Manor Bed & Breakfast
2) Thoroughbred Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Layton House
2) Ridge, The
3) Rockville Railroad Station
4) Sandy Spring Friends Meetinghouse
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 67 Deli & Caterers
2) Acropolis Family Restaurant
3) Antonio's Ristorante Italiano
4) Arby's
5) Atlanta Bread Co
6) Au-Bon-Gout Restaurant
7) Baja Cafe Dos
8) Bar Inc
9) Bei Jing
10) Bei-Jing Express
11) Beijing Express
12) Bellante's Pizza & Pasta
13) Big Apple Restaurant
14) Big C's Downtown Pizzeria
15) Bmd Management
16) Bob's Pizza
17) Bobs Subs & Salads
18) Bonberger Restaurant
19) Branca's Restaurant
20) Brasliced Food & Market Inc
21) Brazil Connections
22) Brazil Original
23) Brazilian Cafe
24) Brazilian Depot Food Court
25) Brazilian Grill
26) Brooklyn Deli Subs & Pizza
27) Brooks Restaurant
28) Brusco Italian Restaurant
29) Buccaneer Lounge & Package
30) Burger King
31) Burger King
32) Cafe 800
33) Cafe Claude
34) Cafe Mineiro
35) Cagney's Crabhouse
36) Cagneys
37) Carafiello's Restaurant
38) Chateau De Ville
39) Chez Colette
40) Chico's Place
41) China Buffet
42) China Express
43) China Gourmet Restaurant Inc
44) Cielito Lindo
45) Classic Pizza Crusts
46) Clock Restaurant Inc
47) Club Cinema
48) Club Romance
49) Colombo Market Inc
50) Conja Subs & Island Food
51) Cove Bagel & Deli
52) Cove Ice Cream Shoppe Inc
53) Cove Restaurant & Lounge
54) Crabby Jacks
55) Cracker Barrel Old Country Str
56) Danilo's Restaurant
57) Denny's
58) Denny's
59) Diana Food Group Inc
60) Domino's Pizza
61) Domino's Pizza
62) Doogies Inc
63) Dr Philgoods
64) Eben Ezer Bakery
65) Empire Food Fine Beverage Inc
66) Feijao C-Arroz
67) Fifth Avenue Grill Inc
68) Flanigan's Seafood Bar & Grill
69) Fuji Restaurant
70) George's Place A Family Rstrnt
71) Hilton
72) Hole In The Wall Bagel Co
73) Hops Restaurant & Brewery
74) Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs
75) Jack's New York Pizza
76) Japanese Restaurant Masamune
77) Jaxons Of Deerfield Beach
78) John Pierre's Place
79) Kahuna Bar & Grill
80) Kelly's Ocean Grill
81) Kfc
82) Kfc
83) Kyoto Japanese Restaurant
84) Le Bistro
85) Le Val De Loire
86) Leo's Salty Sea Inc
87) Lewis & Bowe Jamerican Take
88) Lighthouse Grille-Broward Inc
89) Little Havana Restaurant
90) Lunch Box
91) Marcello Ristorante
92) Maria's Garden Cafe
93) Maryland Fried Chicken
94) Mc Donald's
95) Mc Donald's
96) Mc Donald's
97) Miami Subs
98) Montego Restaurant
99) Mouthful
100) Notredame Restaurant
101) Olympia Flame Diner Inc
102) Original Pancake House
103) Pal's Charley's Crab
104) Pellegrino's Ristorante
105) Piccadilly Cafeteria
106) Pier 21 Restaurant
107) Pizza Hut
108) Pizza Hut
109) Pizza Mia
110) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
111) Prosnel's Bistro
112) Q Kitchen Restaurant
113) R P Mc Murphy's Bar & Grill
114) Ranch House Restaurant
115) Rattlesnake Jakes
116) Red Fox Restaurant
117) Red's Backwoods Bbq
118) Remy's Italian Connection
119) Rik Kin Bing Cafe
120) Ristorante Del'sole
121) Ristorante Luna Rosa
122) Roadhouse Grill
123) Rosa's & Pasquale's Pizza
124) Royal Cracow
125) Royal Fiesta Caterers Inc
126) Royal King Buffet
127) Ruby's Pizza Pasta & Subs
128) Rum Runner Grill
129) Sabor Brazil
130) Salad Bistro & Co
131) Seafood World Market & Rstrnt
132) Second Avenue Market & Deli
133) Segundo Mexico Restaurant
134) Siam Cuisine Ii
135) Sir Winston Jamaican Take Out
136) Skipper's Ice Cream Cafe
137) Snack Stop
138) Sonny's Pizza Pasta & Subs
139) Starbucks
140) Steak Shop & Deli
141) Steve's Deli & Beverage
142) Steve's Family Restaurant
143) Stubbest Catering
144) Sub Talk
145) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
146) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
147) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
148) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
149) Sullivan's John L Sports Bar
150) Sun House Chinese Restaurant
151) Super Sub
152) Taco Bell
153) Tamarind Asian Grill & Sushi
154) Thai Sushi Express
155) Tijuana Flats
156) Tipperary Pub
157) Tokyo Delite
158) Town Tavern
159) Tropic Deli
160) Turkish American Deli
161) Tutti Fratelli Italian Rstrnt
162) Uai Store & Restaurant Inc
163) Unique Park Restaurant
164) Waffle Works Restaurant
165) Waffleworks
166) Wendy's
167) Wendy's
168) Whales Rib Inc
169) Wings & More
170) Wong China House
171) Xpress Carryout
172) Yogurt Cafe
173) Yucatan Mexican Grill
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Lousy So So
The food was fine, our server (Matt) was excellent, but the manager was MOST unwelcoming, refusing to seat us so we could order drinks and appetizers while we waited for people that were joining us. Understandable in a crowded restaurant - but ridiculous in a nearly empty restaurant, especially since we wanted to order right away. In spite of the fact that my husband and I have driven an hour to dine at Olney Ale House on many occasions over many decades, it is unlikely we'll ever do so or recommend the place again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Margaret Margaret, Crofton, MD
(12/07/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I'm an old timer at the Olney Ale House - been going there since the late 60's. I have very fond memories of the place from the old days. It seems that while they've tried to keep the place moving along, they have come up short in my opinion on the famous beef stew there. Something changed, I have no idea what...but I was disappointed the last two times I've driven down there. If you ask for a bowl of beef stew, you get a bowl - a small bowl. Whatever happened to the big ol bowl of beef stew and fresh bread? You can still get this, but if you're looking for a hearty meal, you need to find a better place. The people are somewhat friendly, but it's no longer the Ale House that I once knew. The employees seem to be there because they NEED to earn money, and it shows in how you're greeted, or not, and it shows when you have to wait 15 minutes after being seated, on a NON busy day, or at a non busy time...no smile, no warm friendly greeting - strictly..."I'm here to make my money and go home." Accompanied by dirty eating utensils. It's not been one time that this happened to me and the group I've entertained there - and it's embarassing to build up a place, only to arrive and feel this way. -- What a shame...it's a small operation there, in a little neck of the woods, and it should shine as such. I wonder...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Val Val, Ft Eustis, VA
(02/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
I just moved to the area and finely got to visit this place. I liked everything about it! Great beer selection, the waiter was knowledgeable and let us taste test a variety of beers, good food and comfortable atmosphere. It's too bad this other review didn't get good service, that may be unusual for this place. We went on a Saturday night and although it was crowded, we sat down to eat within 20 minutes.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jennifer Crawford Jennifer Crawford, Brookeville, MD
(11/29/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy Lousy
Don't ever go to this place when they are busy. The service sucks. We stood and waited to be added to the wait list for 15 minutes and no one ever came. When asking the manager what was wrong. He said Oh well good bye. This place SUCKS. There are plenty of places to eat in Olney skip this one

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David David, Silver Spring, MD
(11/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Bar packed on a Saturday afternoon. 17 good taps and 60+ in the bottled beer selection. House beers (pale ale, golden lager) made by Dominion--I liked the Pale. The place has a friendly vibe and featured a pretty varied crowd. I'd probably check it out again next time I was in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(05/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
This place has a great beer selection and great food. If you are looking for a good bar scene on a large scale I would look elsewhere, but if you want to have a bite to eat and several great beers in the process - I would highly recommend this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Gardner Dan Gardner, Gaithersburg, MD
(02/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
I counted 16 drafts pouring, including a double tap for Warsteiner, and was informed that another ten-tap rig was awaiting installation, for a total of 26+ to be pouring by spring 2005. I could have gained three pounds just from the aroma of grilled steaks, chicken wings, and burgers walking past. The frosted mugs that showed up with my Thomas Hardy's Ale years ago appear to be history, replaced by pint tumblers. The selection ranged from Miller Lite to Guinness to a house ale and lager to Anchor Our Special Ale 2004 to Chimay Tripel, and a selection of local and West Coast premiums. Lovely rustic roadside tavern feel and character, gets a bit crowded with waiting lines at times, but worth the wait or trip--a slice of rural charm about to be devoured by suburban Hades.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alexander D. Mitchell IV Alexander D. Mitchell IV, Baltimore, MD
(01/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Good
19 Taps include, clipper city and anchor christmas beer. Hurray, finally in montgomery co. Awesome selection for montgomery co. Only jackies in sil spg has belgums, youngs and dogfish head on tap.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from pat pat, sil spg, MD
(12/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
A good selection of imports and micros. You can even get Youngs Double Chocolate Stout "a la mode" for $2 extra. Like a rootbeer float, except with beer. Chimay, Clipper City Winter Warmer, Tuppers Hop Pocket also on tap. They're expanding from the 20 something taps to 30 something in a month or so. They really do clean their tap system once a week. The barkeep gave us a brief lesson. Very interesting. Free samples offer without the need to ask. Food is EXCELLENT. Veggie chili was sweet and smokey served with chopped onions, cheese, sour cream and chips. Other good veggie fare included a soy bacon, soy cheese sandwich on home-made honey out bread. Of course, burgers, steaks, fries, and seafood round out the menut to offer the very best of both worlds. Good food and good beer. Well worht the drive from Baltimore on a rainy day off work.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Eric, Baltimore, MD
(12/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The previous review is completely misplaced. Please disregard it as it applies to this location.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gary Gary, Laurel, MD
(05/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
Disregard some of the older comments about the Olney Ale House. I found the service to be absolutely great, and they have added quite a few new beers and ales.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sardoc911 Sardoc911, Rockville, MD
(02/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
We have only lived a few miles away from this ale house for the past year and just visted it this weekend. What a wonderful place! My husband and I are both vegetarians who love beer. It was like this place was designed for us. Two stouts on tap plus vegeterarian chili! It's too good to be true. Of course, we discovered it now that we're moving to Capitol Hill in DC in 2 weeks. Oh well, better late than never. I highly recommend this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brie Brie, silver spring, MD
(07/22/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Awesome! Good
The food was excellent! The bottle beer selection was great but, the TAP selection was horrible. (Red "Budweiser" Hook ESB and Killian's "Coors" Red were horrible.)They need to beef up the TAP selection or give up the "Ale House" part of their name. How about some local beers on tap? LOVED THE FOOD !!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tap Mother Tap Mother, Gaithersburg, MD
(02/19/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good
Closed Mondays. Limited selection of beers, fresh taps, always one good micro draft, Beef stew is wonderful.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Patrick, Wheaton, MD
(08/10/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Great Good Good
The only reason that this place is saved from a "lousy" beer selection is their stashing a supply of Thomas Hardy's Ale at $4.50/bottle--but serving it ice-cold and with a frosted mug?!?? The food was excellent, though, and the place is dripping with atmosphere--outdoor beer garden (with take-out window) for summer; real fireplace for winter. Stop in for a fine meal that happens to have a beer besides Bud as an option, and leave the beer snobbery behind.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alexander D. Mitchell IV Alexander D. Mitchell IV, Baltimore, MD
(02/04/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Good Lousy So So
The beer selection at this place is small, although they do have Guinness and a seasonal microbrew. Tried the stew which was alright, but the service was lousy. Did you ever have a server argue with you about what you wanted to order? What ever happened to customer is always right? Well, after arguing with me about my order she tossed my menu down, served us our food and never really came back. I personally would not visit this establishment again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Silver Spring, MD
(09/14/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Great Great Great
This restaurant, which is in a converted house and is famous throughout Montgomery County for its location across from Olney Theatre and its cozy beergarden, can get quite crowded on weekday evenings and especially non-winter weekends because of its limted but excellent menu, which includes fresh-baked loaves of oatmeal-molasses bread brought to your table with your meal, and an extensive selection of vegetarian dishes, which includes a veg chili to die for. This is a great place to hunker down with a good beer and a big bowl of homemade beef stew. The featured tap selection varies from week-to-week. Not your typical beer bar, and that's not a bad thing

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Adamstown, MD
(03/19/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.437 seconds) 01:31:09 54.242.204.141, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS