PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Quarry House Tavern - Silver Spring, MD
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 23, 2014 @ 03:59 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MD > Silver Spring > Quarry House Tavern
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: Beer Bar
Quarry House Tavern
Overall: Great    Score: 76.7 / 100
8401 Georgia Avenue
Silver Spring, MD 20910
United States
(301) 587-9406
Last Updated: November 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Silver Spring, MD
Beer Guide for Maryland

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
15 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(18 within 5 miles)
1) Hook and Ladder Brewing Company
(0 mile)

2) Clyde's of Chevy Chase
(3 miles)

3) Union Jack's British Pub
(3 miles)

4) Chadwick's-Friendship Heights
(3 miles)

5) Barnaby's - A Publick House
(3 miles)

6) Royal Mile Pub
(3 miles)

7) The Barking Dog
(4 miles)

8) Flanagan's Harp and Fiddle
(4 miles)

9) Montgomery's Grill
(4 miles)

10) Rock Bottom Brewery
(4 miles)

11) Ri Ra Irish Pub and Restaurant
(4 miles)

12) Zoo Bar Cafe aka Oxford Tavern
(5 miles)

13) Atomic Billiards
(5 miles)

14) Nanny O'Brien's
(5 miles)

15) Murphy's
(5 miles)

16) Four Green Fields (Former Four Provinces)
(5 miles)

17) Wonderland Ballroom
(5 miles)

18) Colonel Brooks' Tavern
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Bed & Breakfast League
2) Davis Warner Inc
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERICAN INN OF BETHESDA
2) BETHESDA COURT HOTEL
3) Connecticut Avenue Days Inn
4) DAYS INN
5) DAYS INN SILVER SPRING
6) ECONO LODGE TAKOMA PARK
7) EMBASSY SUITES CHEVY CHASE
8) FOUR POINTS BETHESDA
9) HILTON WASHINGTON DC SILVER SPR
10) HYATT REGENCY BETHESDA
11) MARRIOTT BETHESDA
12) OAKWOOD GROSVENOR STATION
13) QUALITY INN SILVER SPRING
14) RAMADA LTD SILVER SPRING MD
15) RESIDENCE INN BETHESDA
16) SAVOY SUITES
17) TRAVELODGE SILVER SPRING
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Adams Memorial
2) Battleground National Cemetery
3) Bethesda Meetinghouse
4) Bethesda Naval Hospital Tower
5) Bethesda Theatre
6) Boulder Bridge and Ross Drive Bridge
7) Boulder Bridge and Ross Drive Bridge
8) Brooks Mansion
9) Building at 3901 Connecticut Ave., NW
10) Buildings at 1644--1666 Park Road NW
11) Bunche, Ralph, House
12) Cady, Lucinda, House
13) Carnegie Institution of Washington, Geophysical Laboratory
14) Carson, Rachel, House
15) Cathedral Mansions Apartment Buildings
16) Chevy Chase Theater
17) Cloverdale
18) Davis--Warner House
19) Eighteen Hundred Block Park Road, NW.
20) Embassy Building No. 10
21) Hampshire Garden Apartment Buildings
22) Highlands, The
23) Ingleside
24) Kennedy--Warren Apartment Building
25) Milimar
26) Milton
27) North Corner Boundary Marker of the Original District of Columbia
28) Northeast No. 2 Boundary Marker of the Original District of Columbia
29) Northeast No. 3 Boundary Marker of the Original District of Columbia
30) Northeast No. 4 Boundary Marker of the Original District of Columbia
31) Northeast No. 5 Boundary Marker of the Original District of Columbia
32) Northwest No. 5 Boundary Marker of the Original District of Columbia
33) Northwest No. 6 Boundary Marker of the Original District of Columbia
34) Northwest No. 7 Boundary Marker of the Original District of Columbia
35) Northwest No. 8 Boundary Marker of the Original District of Columbia
36) Northwest No. 9 Boundary Marker of the Original District of Columbia
37) Pierce Mill
38) Pierce Springhouse and Barn
39) Pierce Springhouse and Barn
40) Pierce Still House
41) Pierce-Klingle Mansion
42) Polychrome Historic District
43) Ponce de Leon Apartment Building
44) Riggs--Tompkins Building
45) Rosedale
46) Salmon--Stohlman House
47) Sears, Roebuck and Company Department Store
48) Silver Spring Baltimore and Ohio Railroad Station
49) Springland
50) St. Paul's Episcopal Church
51) Tenth Precinct Station House
52) Tivoli Theater
53) United States Daughters of 1812, National Headquarters
54) Wiley--Ringland House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A & B Pollo Rico
2) Armand's Chicago Pizzeria
3) Austin Grill
4) Awesome Food Co
5) B & B Washington's Caterers
6) Ba Le Carry Out & Sandwich Shp
7) Baja Fresh Mexican Grill
8) Baskin-Robbins
9) Baskin-Robbins
10) Ben & Jerry's
11) Blair Mansion Inn Restaurant
12) Blimpie Subs & Salads
13) Bombay Gaylord India Rstrnt
14) Brass Hen
15) Braza Roja Restaurant Ii
16) Brookville Eatery
17) Burger King
18) C & G Delights
19) Cafe Express II
20) Cafe Noah Inc
21) Caffe Sullano
22) Captain Hook
23) Captain White Seafood Carry
24) Carolina Kitchen
25) Cater First
26) Cerebral Lounge
27) Charlie's Restaurant & Bar
28) Chick-Fil-A
29) Chicken & Steak
30) China City Express
31) China House
32) China Hut
33) China Restaurant
34) China Sea Carryout
35) Chipotle Mexican Grill
36) Chossan Rest & Carry Out
37) Coconuts Caribean Cuisine
38) Cold Stone Creamery Inc Store
39) Corcoran Caterers Inc
40) Corner Pub
41) Country Kitchen
42) Crisfield Sea Food Restaurant
43) Crisfield Seafood Restaurant
44) Cubanakan Lounge
45) Cubanos
46) Dairy Queen
47) Dancho's Restaurant
48) De-Be's Cafeteria & Carryout
49) Domino's Pizza
50) Domino's Pizza
51) Dragon City Restaurant
52) Eastern Carryout
53) Eddies Carryout
54) El Aguila Restaurant Inc
55) El Aorteao
56) El Norteno Restaurant
57) El Pollo Sabrosa
58) El Tamarindo
59) El Texano Restaurant
60) Flower Deli
61) Forest Glen Country Store
62) Fred & Harry's Seafood
63) Fresh Starts
64) Galaxy Billards Cafe
65) Georgia Express
66) Gist Family Catering Svc
67) Golden China
68) Golden Flame Restaurant
69) Golden House
70) Golden Metropolitan Restaurant
71) Golden Star
72) Grand China Restaurant
73) Guadalajara Restaurant
74) Guardian Coffee Shop
75) Half Moon Barbecue
76) Hanil Restaurant
77) Ho Express Restaurant
78) House Grill
79) Hunan City Restaurant
80) Inkas Chicken & Subs
81) Italia Gourmet Inc
82) Izora Restaurant & Lounge
83) J & J Carry-Out
84) J T Hill Caterer Co
85) Jackie's Restaurant
86) Jerry's Subs & Pizza
87) Jerry's Subs & Pizza
88) Jerry's Subs & Pizza
89) Jimmy's Deli & Bagel Bakery
90) Kefa Cafe
91) Kirsten's Cafe
92) Kirsten's Cafe & Catering
93) La Bamba
94) La Prima Restaurant
95) Langano Ethiopian Restaurant
96) Latin Express
97) Lebanese Taverna Cafe
98) Lord's Caterers
99) Makoto Restaurant
100) Mandalay Restaurant & Cafe
101) Manny's & Olga's Pizza
102) Mark's Kitchen
103) Marlon's Sports Bar & Grill
104) Mayorga Coffee Factory
105) Mc Donald's
106) Mc Donald's
107) Mc Donald's
108) Mc Donald's
109) Metro Sub Shoppe
110) Mi Rancho
111) Millennium Hospitality Inc
112) Mr Chicken
113) Mrs K's Toll House
114) Munch Break
115) My Le Restaurant
116) Negril Bakery
117) Noodles & Co
118) Oh's Cafeteria
119) Omo Bar & Restaurant
120) Oriental East Restaurant
121) Paddy Mac's Irish Restaurant
122) Palais De Lune Chinese
123) Panera Bread
124) Parkway Delicatessen
125) Patty's Place
126) Philly's Steak Express
127) Pho Hiep Hoa Restaurant
128) Pike's Pizza
129) Pizza & Things
130) Pizza Boli's
131) Pizza Hut
132) Pizza Hut
133) Pollo Loco Crazy Chicken Inc
134) Pondwave Cafe
135) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
136) Potbelly Sandwich Works
137) Quality Chef Restaurant
138) Quarry House Tavern
139) Quiznos Sub
140) Rainbow Seafood Carry-Out
141) Red Dog Cafe
142) Red Lobster
143) Rock Creek Catering Co
144) Roger Miller Restaurant
145) Romanos Macaroni Grill
146) Ruby Tuesday
147) Sabor Latino Restaurant
148) Samantha's Restaurant & Carry
149) Santucci's Italian Deli
150) Saratoga Food Group
151) Sergio Ristoranate Italiano
152) Seven Seven Seven Market & Del
153) Shanghai Restaurant
154) Silver Sands Restaurant
155) Silver Spring Carribean Style
156) Silver Spring Cheese & Wine
157) Sligo Delicatessen
158) Soho Cafe & Market
159) Spicy Delight
160) Spring Garden Restaurant
161) Starbucks
162) Starbucks
163) Starbucks
164) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
165) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
166) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
167) Subway Silver Spring
168) Summit Hill Carry Out
169) Sung's Coffee Shop
170) Takoma Station Tavern
171) Tastee Diner
172) TCBY
173) Teddy's Roti Shop
174) Thai Derm Restaurant
175) Tijuna Cafe & Restaurant
176) Vicino Restaurante Italiano
177) Walter Reed Mini Mall Cafe
178) Warren Street Deli
179) Woder Ethiopia Carry Out
180) Woodside Delicatessen
181) Yeni's Dim Sum Plus
182) York Castle Ice Cream
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Silver Spring's Quarry House Tavern is both down-home neighborhood basement dive and highbrow beer and whiskey lovers' heaven. The friendly staff (and outgoing longtime patrons) are knowledgable about every beverage stocked, an impressive feat given they offer a rotating selection of a half dozen microbrew or import drafts on any given night, nearly a hundred beers in can or bottle, and a staggering array of bourbons, whiskeys, and Scotch. The small food menu covers all the basics (meat or veggie burgers and sandwiches, fries, tots, salads, fried pickles, etc) and thanks to QHT's fantastic chef the quality of its offerings are more impressive than restaurants charging twice as much. Rockabilly bands perform a couple times a week in their concert space.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Marie Marie, Silver Spring, MD
(08/27/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Great
Stopped by Tuesday (4/3/07 - it is still open) and found a hipster dungeon in the suburbs of Washington, DC. Even though it is located on a busy intersection on Georgia Avenue, it is somewhat hard to find - just look for a ratty doorway with a small sign; it is a neighbor to a Chinese restaurant (if this helps). Go down the dingy stairs and walk in: you enter a dark, wood-paneled, windowless room that appears to be a rec-room with a bar. This is the "lounge," a small bar with tables scattered around. Pass the bar and you find another area, where I did not dare to venture. Did someone say "dive/" Now the good part, QHT boasts an excellent selection of bottles, with at least two dozen consisting of Belgian (some very pricey, though); the others range from Germany (with the major brewers being represented), several from the UK, and plenty of well-chosen bottles from the USA, such as Avery, Troeg, Dogfish Head, Brooklyn, Victory and Rogue - to name a few. I enjoyed a Brooklyn Lager, which recently won Washington Post's infamous "Beer Madness' contest and Troeg's Hopback Amber.

Add to this equation, a delicious burger, one that is available is many variations - and accompanied by tater tots, then you have a rather interesting place to visit should you fing yourself in Silver Spring, in its' self, a pleasant prospect.

While I don't forsee making a special trip, it is still worth reinvestigating. --

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jerry Boesen Jerry Boesen, Gaithersburg, MD
(04/05/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
No other reviews in a whole year ? This place is in the process of being sold to "Jackies". "Jackies" At georgia at sligo. Which should be listed here. This will bring changes to the menu. Hopefully they will still serve Local Micro brews. I had a "hook and ladder" some kind of dry, hoppy, wheat beer thats supposed to be a fredrick brewing item from a local firemans recipe.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pat Pat, Silver Spring, MD
(09/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good
Snowgoose winter ale is now on tap as of 11/16.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from pat pat, sil spg, MD
(11/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Awesome!
Smoke or no smoke the neighborhood bar is on it's way out thanks to the post yuppie population moving into the neighborhood who would rather sip Cosmos in Bethesda. Viva las Quarry!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Milke Milke, Silver Spring, MD
(04/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Maybe Tyrone should go back to Texas. Smoking in restaurants isn't permitted in Montgomery County and there is no reason for him to take his frustration out on the staff at the Quarry House. Many of us even prefer to have our meals or drinks without cigarette smoke in our faces.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Rockville, MD
(01/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Lousy Lousy
For starters I just moved to Silver Spring and this is one of the first places I stopped because it is in a prime location. I was not aware of the smoke free law recently passed, because I come from the NON-communist state of TX where smoke and enjoying good drink go hand in hand. The staff acted as if my group and myself were circus folk when we asked for ashtrays with our beers. They were rude and intolerable. Maybe they were mad that they could not smoke on the job anymore. My suggestion is head over to the Dancing Crab in Bethesda. They are still all American over that way.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tyrone tyrone, silver spring, MD
(12/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Good Great
Can't go wrong coming here for lunch/dinner or happy hour. Almost everyone comes for the burgers. Try the Grotto Grill and wash it down with any of the selections on tap. You'll get friendly help (Sarah will take care of ya) and excellent prices. Can't go wrong here!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from LBoughie LBoughie, Woodbridge, VA
(11/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Unfortunitly it's a fact that more smokers drink than non-smokers. When bars that I have been involved with have changed to non-smoking, they have lost more customers than they have gained. How about a non-smoking area with great ventalation?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Baltimore, MD
(07/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I liked this place but for the cigarette smoke - a major turn-off that has kept me, most of my friends and who knows others out of bars - at least up to this point. But now that Montgomery County has wisely passed the Smoking Ban, I can now really enjoy a good bar or pub. I live in Prince George's County now, but smokefree bars are WORTH the trip over to Montgomery. I'm sure the tobacco industry has been implementing its trademark brainwashing and fake "grassroots" pressure groups. I strongly suggest that the bars of Montgomery County celebrate this progress, and promote to everyone the concept of the Smokefree Bar. You might be surprised at how many new patrons will come out at last, to enjoy good drink and company. For my part, I'm pretty sure I can get a lot of my friends to go out to bars and pubs now. Smokefree bars are a wave of the future. Cheers, and bottoms up! D.E. McFadden Greenbelt, MD

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from D.E. McFadden D.E. McFadden, Greenbelt, MD
(07/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good Good
the snow goose is gone for the year, get it at max's. The esb red is my fav, they have it alot

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Patrick, Wheaton, MD
(04/27/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
This place shows some promise with consistantly good food, beer and service, but the atmosphere is terrible. Located in a basement with an Indian restaurant above, stale odors of cigarette smoke and curry stay with you until you finally shed your clothes, or burn them.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Silver Spring, MD
(04/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Awesome!
Don't miss the Okterfest specials. The sausages and red cabbage are excellent.The Spaten Okterfest is unsurpassed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Charley Albert Charley Albert, silver spring, MD
(10/22/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Good Good
Features Blue Ridge and Wild goose taps, from fredrick md and cambridge md. They keep up with seasonal offerings my favorite being the winter ale from wild goose 'Snow goose'.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Olexa Patrick Olexa, Silver Spring, MD
(10/21/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Awesome!
The last neighborhood Tavern in Silver Spring. I would have rated it higher but I hate the word 'awesome'.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Dillon Steve Dillon, Silver Spring, MD
(10/17/1997)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.293 seconds) 03:59:57 54.196.215.114, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS