PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Canterbury Ales - Huntington, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 22, 2014 @ 11:20 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Huntington > Canterbury Ales
Canterbury Ales Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Canterbury Ales
Overall: Great    Score: 70.9 / 100
314 New York Avenue
Huntington, NY 11743
United States
(613) 549-4404
Last Updated: December 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Huntington, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Canterbury Ales
12 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(3 within 5 miles)
1) Conrad's Bar and Grill
(0 mile)

2) Finley`s
(0 mile)

3) The Blind Bat Brewery
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Centerport Harbor B & B
2) Swan View Manor
3) Whitman Motor Lodge
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) OHEKA CASTLE
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Beaux Arts Park Historic District
2) Bethel AME Church and Manse
3) Bowes House
4) Brush Farmstead
5) Brush Farmstead
6) Buffett, Eliphas, House
7) Buffett, Joseph, House
8) Bumpstead, John, House
9) Carll House
10) Carll, Ezra, Homestead
11) Cold Spring Harbor Library
12) Conklin, David, House
13) Delamater-Bevin Mansion
14) Donnell, Harry E., House
15) Dowden Tannery
16) Fort Golgotha and the Old Burial Hill Cemetery
17) Geoghegan, Charles, House
18) Gilsey Mansion
19) Green, John, House
20) Harned, John, House
21) Hewlett House
22) House at 200 Bay Avenue
23) House at 244 Park Avenue
24) Jarvis--Fleet House
25) Kane, John P., Mansion
26) Kennan, A. P. W., House
27) LITTLE JENNIE (Chesapeake Bay bugeye)
28) Lloyd Harbor Lighthouse
29) Lloyd, Joseph, House
30) Losee, Isaac, House
31) Main Street Historic District
32) O'Donohue, C. A., House
33) Old First Church
34) Old Town Hall Historic District
35) Potter--Williams House
36) Prime House
37) Prime--Octagon House
38) Rogers House
39) Sammis, Silas, House
40) Smith, Daniel, House
41) Smith, Henry, Farmstead
42) Suydam House
43) Swan, Edward H., House
44) Titus--Bunce House
45) Townsend, Henry, House
46) Van Wyck-Lefferts Tide Mill
47) Weeks, Charles M., House
48) West Neck Road Historic District
49) Wiggins--Rolph House
50) Williams, Henry, House
51) Wood, Harry, House
52) Wood, John, House
53) Wood, William Wooden, House
54) Woodhull, Charles, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 69 Wall Street
2) A & S Pork Store
3) Abel Conklin's
4) Aix Enprovence
5) American Burger Co
6) Ariana Restaurant
7) Artful Dodger Pub Inc
8) Baskin-Robbins
9) Bay Delicatessen
10) Beans & Greens
11) Blimpie Subs & Salads
12) Blue Honu
13) Bonbori Japanese Restaurant
14) Bone Yard
15) Brasserie 345 Virgo Restaurant
16) Bravo Nader
17) Brothers Deli
18) Burger King
19) Candlelight Caterers
20) Canterbury Ales
21) Carvel Ice Cream Bakery
22) Carvel Ice Cream Bakery
23) Cassis
24) Chesterfields
25) Christopher's
26) Class Food Svc & Catering
27) Coco's Water Cafe
28) Cold Stone Creamery
29) Collage
30) Cosi Sandwich Bar Inc
31) Critics Choice Deli
32) Cup O Joe
33) Di Raimo Pizzeria
34) Dragon Gate
35) Duck Pond Deli Inc
36) Empire Szechuan Gourmet
37) Fabio's Restaurant
38) Family Affair Restaurant
39) Faz's Tex Mex Grill
40) Fiddleheads New York
41) Finley's Of Greene Street
42) Finnegans Restaurant
43) Fisher's Catering
44) Foodworx
45) Friend Food Grocery
46) G I Antonio's Pizzeria Rstrnt
47) Gerard's Luncheonette
48) Golden Dolphin Restaurant
49) Greek Grill
50) Haagen-Dazs Ice Cream
51) Halesite Harbour Delicatessen
52) Harbor Club
53) Harbor Delicatessen
54) Healthy Gano Coffee
55) House Of India
56) Huntington Village Diner
57) Iavarone Brothers
58) Imperial Hunan Szechuan
59) Indigo American Grille
60) International House-Pancakes
61) J T Carrington's
62) Joanina Restaurant
63) Jolt
64) Jonathan's
65) Juice Box
66) Junior's Family Pizza
67) Juniors Roasted Pepper
68) Kang's Main Street Deli Cater
69) Kebabi Alem
70) Kozy Kettle
71) La Cucina
72) LA Madonna Cafe
73) LA Nola
74) LA Parma II
75) Lila's Santa Fe Kitchen
76) Little Vincent's Pizza
77) Lola Restaurant
78) Mac's Steakhouse
79) Madeline's Carry-Out Cafe
80) Mama Sophia's Pizza & Pasta
81) Margarita Grille
82) Mediterranean Snack Bar Inc
83) Meehan's Of Huntington
84) Mr Sausage Of Huntington
85) Munday's
86) Nag's Head Ale House
87) New Hunan Chinese Restaurant
88) New Yorker
89) North Country Village Deli
90) Oaxaca Mexican Food Treasure
91) Oheka Castle Caterers
92) On The Go Cafe
93) Osaka Japanese Restaurant
94) Osteria Da Nino
95) Pancho Villa's
96) Papassini's
97) Park Avenue Delicatessen
98) Park Avenue Pizza Restaurant
99) Petite On Main
100) Piccola Bussola Restaurant
101) Piccolo Restaurant-Huntington
102) Pomodoro Cantina
103) Post Plaza Deli Inc
104) Potato Republic
105) Quiznos Sub
106) Randazzo's Pizzeria
107) Rare Olive Inc
108) Red Bar & Restaurant
109) Roasted Pepper Cafe
110) Rosa's Pizza
111) Rose & Thistle
112) Sal D's
113) Scorpios Restaurant
114) Shamrock
115) Si Yuang Kitchen
116) Sofia Place Deli & Grocery
117) Southdown Deli
118) Southdown Pizza
119) Spartacus Restaurant Inc
120) Starbucks
121) Stevie Pizza
122) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
123) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
124) Sun Ming Restaurant
125) Sunshine Restaurant
126) Surfside Deli
127) T K's Galley
128) Taco Bell
129) Taxi's Philly Cheese Steak
130) TCBY
131) Tea&Tiques
132) Tello
133) Teresa's
134) Tex Mex Grill
135) Thai-Usa
136) Thirty Four New
137) Thunders
138) Tomo Hibachi Inc
139) Tortilla Grill Inc
140) Trattoria Grasso Iii
141) Tutto Pazzo
142) Twin Deli
143) Videira Brazilian Restaurant
144) Village Creperie Cafe
145) Xando/Cosi
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy Lousy Lousy
My husband and I just got back from Canterbury Ales and felt compelled to warn others...$70 for 4 beers, an omelette, and a puff pastry with a spoonful of ground beef inside. We are not "complainer" types. We are not easily upset. We don't think the world revolves around us, have unreasonable expectations or make demands. We are laid back people that recognize everything in life comes at a price and everyone can have an "off-night." That said, $70 is a lot for us and this was THE WORST experience. It took 20 minutes before someone took our drink order, then another 30 before someone took our dinner order. Then another 30 minutes before our food arrived.

I will say that the beer selection and quality is excellent. But here's the rub: prices aren't listed. We thought it was safe to assume that drafts were $5-$6 each, and bottles $4-$5. Well, when we got the check we were surprised to learn that they ranged from $7.25-$8 each. OUTRAGEOUS! Come on, $7.50 for a Sierra Nevada? $7.25 for a Brooklyn IPA? I've been to the Brooklyn Brewery and they don't charge $7.25 for a draft freshly brewed on the premises! Please, Canterbury Ales, you are not a swanky hotel bar.

Now, we'll admit it's our fault for not asking for prices. Maybe we're naive. But perhaps the innocuous neighborhood pub feel lulled us out of our skepticism. There were none of the usual signs you'd associate with price-gouging: like tablecloths, fresh orchids, hipsters, or bad jazz piping through the speakers. For the love of God there were children shouting and eating chicken fingers just four feet from us. Funny, all signs pointed to the fact that we were in Huntington, Long Island, not the West Village or the Upper West Side. It's reprehensible.

Some other things we didn't expect to accompany $8 beers, and that seemed out-of-place in a down-home English-style pub: cold, waxy frozen vegetables; cold sweet potato fries doused in cheap cooking oil; Shepherd's Pies that have hardly any meat in them.

I ordered an omelette that was supposed to have avocado in it. When it arrived with a bowl of diced avocado on the side I inquired as to why it hadn't been included WITHIN the omelette. Rather than remake my omelette, they lazily put it in the bowl and threw it down on top of my frozen vegetables. When I inquired about the positioning of the avocado, my waitress was incredulous, replying that "People usually like their avocado on the side." Oh really, is that so? Because I don't. Much like how the contents of a sandwich come betwixt bread, I expect what I order in an omelette to be folded within the confines of eggs. But I guess I didn't receive the avocado memo.

We were rudely thrown our check; not even asked how things were, or if we wanted anything else. However, our waitress was of course very solicitous of our bar order during the interminable wait for our diner. Someone was hovering near our table toward the end of our meal waiting for us to get us and leave "already" so they could seat another couple of suckers at our table.

I read the Canterbury Tales in college, and I remember the theme of fraud or what they termed in the text "malpractice"--the failure of characters to meet the standards of their profession or professed identity. Fitting name, indeed, for such a pub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Sea Cliff, NY
(04/12/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
Just moved to Huntingon and having grown up in the UK and Ireland am delighted to find a place with a great beer selection not only from England but some great beers from Belgium and around the continent. Only place in Long Island I've found serving (real) Scotch Eggs - nice one lads. Fish & Chips (kind of a benchmark) not so good - if you like that go to Clancys on 3rd Ave & 51st in Midtown NYC - much better. Hats off though for the Bridies / Meat Pies. Cornish Pasty was a bit of a let down too - didn't really remsemble one. Draft beer pretty good - you know they pay attention to cleaning the lines regularly thought the pint of Boddingtons hadn't much head so keep an eye on those gas levels boys. No good having a nice cool fresh pint if it's flat. Overall great place - recommend it. D

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan O'D. Dan O'D., Huntington, NY
(09/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Beware reviews that sound like ads...Al is obviously a member of the owner's family. This is NOT worth a trip out from the city...if you happen to be in downtown Huntington it's not bad, but don't fly in to try it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Chicago, IL
(10/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Canterbury Ales is kinda like the Cheers of Long Island. It is a favorite among Huntington locals, but is also worth the trip whether you're traveling in from the East End or out from the City. If you're looking for a place to drink, dine and have a great time, Canterbury Ales is it. Oh yeah, forget what Mr. Kevin from Chicago said in his review. It does get quite crowded, especially on Friday and Saturday nights, but that's because the place is so good. Most of us understand that table's should be first for those choosing to dine. And finally, check out the artwork on the side of the building. It's unbelievable!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Al  Klier Al Klier, Odenton, MD
(11/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! N/A Great Good
We went there on a Saturday night and it was quite busy yet the service was very prompt. I was rather amazed at the number of varieties of beer available on tap. I should have tried a Brit brew but I opted on the Brooklyn Brown Ale. It was quite delicious. The look and feel of the pub reminded me of a pub I went to in Scotland. I would definately go back to this joint!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review steven, fayetteville, ga
(05/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Lousy Lousy
What good is a "pub" that doesn't have any place to sit down? We went there to enjoy a beer and were told we had to order dinner.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Kevin, Chicago, IL
(11/27/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Lousy Lousy
What good is a "pub" that doesn't have any place to sit down? We went there to enjoy a beer and were told we had to order dinner.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Chicago, IL
(11/27/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
One of our favorites. Great food and beer. Only complaint, Drinks and Beer very expensive. We rarely go there without a bar bill double the food bill.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sean D. Sean D., Huntington, NY
(07/21/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Great

Canterbury feels English. Best Fish & Chips outside of England herself.

Beer is perfect temperature and fresh. Good Brit selection of beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike R. Mike R., Huntington, NY
(04/13/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great
Their beer tasting dinners are great. You get a four course meal and seven beers selected to go along with your meal for a fixed price. If you want more beer it's never a problem. Their first superbowl party was a great event and well worth the money

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Peter Olivieri Peter Olivieri, Lindenhurst, NY
(11/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Molloy John Molloy, St. James, NY
(11/05/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Best Fullers ESB on tap!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bruce Daniels Bruce Daniels, East Hampton, NY
(04/14/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.281 seconds) 23:20:50 54.161.143.22, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS