PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Holmes and Watson Limited - Troy, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 20, 2014 @ 04:42 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Troy > Holmes and Watson Limited
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: Beer Bar
Holmes and Watson Limited
Overall: Great    Score: 73.3 / 100
450 Broadway
Troy, NY 12180
United States
(518) 273-8526
Last Updated: January 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Troy, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
12 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Brown's Brewing Company was Troy Pub and Brewery
(0 mile)

2) Ryan's Wake
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Pinewoods House
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bussey, Esek, Firehouse
2) Garfield School
3) Glenwood
4) Koon, Henry, House
5) Lansingburgh Academy
6) Powers Home
7) Trinity Church Lansingburgh
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Alibaba
2) Anselmo's Restaurants
3) Anthony's Pizzeria
4) Arnet's
5) Artie's Riverstreet Stage
6) Barna's Superette-Delicatessen
7) Bradley's Tavern
8) Cafe Deli-Icious
9) Caribbean First Choice
10) Carol's Place For Pizza & Subs
11) Chubby's Sub East Side
12) Closet Corys
13) Deli & Brew
14) Domino's Pizza
15) Duncan's Dairy Bar
16) Dunkin Donuts
17) East West Gourmet Foods
18) Eatery
19) Eldorado Bar
20) Epicurean
21) Erin's Pub
22) Flavor Cafe & Lounge
23) Francesca's
24) Fresno's Restaurant & Bar
25) Gino's Pizzeria
26) Goomba's
27) Hao Wei
28) Happiness Garden
29) Hire Bean
30) Hudson Duster
31) I Love Ny Pizza
32) I Love Ny Pizza Of Troy Inc
33) Inferno Pizzeria
34) Jefferson Deli & Grocery
35) Jose Malone's Mexican Irish
36) Kennedy's Tavern
37) Little Red School House
38) Luis Deli
39) Mahr's Place
40) Man O War Pub
41) Mario's Banquet House
42) Maselli's Delicatessen
43) Mickey Doyle's Irish Pub Inc
44) Miele's Cafe
45) Miss Troy Diner
46) Mo's Bar-B-Q
47) Nold's Tavern Inc
48) O'Learys Tavern
49) Old Mill Street Pizza
50) Park Place II
51) Patricelli's Deli & Catering
52) Pizza Bella
53) Polish American Club Inc
54) Positivly 4th Street
55) Quiznos Sub
56) Red Front Restaurant & Tavern
57) Ruck
58) Sandra Maries Pizza
59) Silver Lunch Box
60) Stella's Pizzeria
61) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
62) Terminal Tavern
63) Tony's Sycaway Submarine
64) Troy Fried Chicken
65) Valenti's Pizzeria & Pub
66) Wendy's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good So So
minimum credit card requirements are bullCaCa! Call them out on that and report it to your credit card bank. Follow up on it!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from teej teej, troy, NY
(08/05/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Lousy Lousy Lousy
WORST Meal Ever!!! We tried going to Holmes and Watson a year ago, but after sitting at the table for over 20 minutes after the waitress took our order, with no drinks or anything being brought to us, we decided to leave. I should add that the waitress also told us when she took our order that she wasn't sure she could bring out the salad that came with our meal, as they were OUT and needed to make more! This should have been a clear sign never to return again. However, we decided to give it one more try. BIG MISTAKE. The sodas were all flat, so I told the waitress and she never took it off of the check! Both of our meals were AWFUL. I ordered the chicken and biscuits and it tasted like Elmer's paste, no lie. My boyfriend ordered the fish special, which was equally awful. I am not usually one to EVER complain or write terrible reviews, but I just feel THAT strongly about how terrible this restaurant is. The fact that the place was DEAD on a Friday night should have been a clear sign!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andrea Andrea, brunswick, NY
(06/20/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
Had been here more than a few years ago and wanted to stop as I was in the area. 20+ taps, 60 or so bottles to choose from--some respectable choices. I had a Lagunitas Censored which was pretty good. The place is worn, almost beaten up. Most old and worn places I've visited give me a comfortable vibe, but this one did not. It was just after the opening bell, so things were a bit confused, but the service was average. Will stop again if in the area, if only to check out the tap selection.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Freaking awesome all over, nice wait staff, they had like 30 beers on tap and they were fresh! Food was cheap generous and delicious, if I every roam the streets of Troy I am heading here again

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phil Phil, Mahwah, NJ
(12/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Great place, excellent beer selection, superb staff & cool patrons.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob D Bob D, Springfield, VT
(02/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A So So So So
Face lift? Changed what?? I lived in this place when I worked around the corner 20+ years ago. I've seen every owner come and go, and nothing's changed. Same old, same old (emphasis on OLD).

There's 24 taps and five were outright empty with another one or two capped with a plastic cup. I waited five minutes for the bartender to show up (I was already warned about this), and tried their Holmes and Watson Red Ale (made by Davidson’s). It was apparently left over from the previous owners and was stale. I then flipped a coin between the Kronebourg 1664 and the Dos XX. Not recalling seeing it on tap much I opted for the latter. It was a good choice as it was very fresh, especially for a lager.

They had a sign that Newcastle and Lowenbrau bottles were $2.00. Not bad, but please give me a draft happy-hour. There were eight people in the bar area and all were drinking Bud bottles. The bartender was doing everything but bartending. If your short on staff, fine. But you’ll soon be short on customers. I want a full-time bartender. I don’t think that’s too much to ask.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(06/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Holmes & Watson Ltd. - Troy, NY has new owners!!! The menu has been improved (desserts are out of this world!), the place has a new face-lift and best of all the attitude is VERY positive and friendly!!! We'll definietly return!! Carol and Harvey Simmons

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Carol Simmons Carol Simmons, Rochester, NY
(06/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great
Stopped in after not being there for a while, and wow the place sure has changed. There is a new owner and they are in the process of making some renovations. Great beer & food remain number one.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Valatie, NY
(06/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Has been better. Actually stopped going for awhile because we were thrown out when my nephew went in with a tank top on. It was 90 degrees out in July. They said it was a health law.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Schenectady, NY
(12/02/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Excellent menu here too. Good steaks and salads. Good burgers. They have several beer tours as well; win a tee-shirt and/or mug! In addition to hundreds of bottles of beer from around the world they also always have a good selection of draft beers on tap. Many are from microbreweries.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bowden Wise Bowden Wise, Albany, NY
(05/22/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A N/A So So
Mark, the guy from Passaic, hit the nail on the head. What happened to this place was yet another ownership change. The current owner runs another bar in Troy, a wings/bud place, and that's what he's turned Holmes into. What a shame. But, us locals can't complain......it had a great run. Mark, next time you're in Troy, try the Troy Brewpub on River Street. They seem to be getting more consistent with their beers, and they always have some good guest beers on hand, too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Ouderkirk Paul Ouderkirk, Albany, NY
(03/23/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy Good Good So So
What happened to this place? Went from being one of the finest bars in the Northeast to a wings/bud joint.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Passaic, NJ
(02/25/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.668 seconds) 16:42:42 54.87.15.219, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS