PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Deschutes Brewery - Bend, OR
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 27, 2014 @ 06:12 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > OR > Bend > Deschutes Brewery
Deschutes Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Deschutes Brewery
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 81.9 / 100
901 Southwest Simpson Street
Bend, OR 97702
United States
(541) 385-8606
Last Updated: July 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Bend, OR
Beer Guide for Oregon

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
51 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

Recent News
Deschutes Brewery raises $80,000 for charity

Non-tasting notes: Deschutes Black Butte XXI

Deschutes Brewery gets its fresh (hop) on

Deschutes celebrates 21st bday with special beer


alternatives
(4 within 5 miles)
1) Cascade West Grub and Ale House
(0 mile)

2) Southside Pub
(0 mile)

3) Cascade Lakes Lodge
(0 mile)

4) Kayo's Sports Bar and Grill
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Country Inn the City
2) Lara House
3) Mill Inn
4) Sather House
5) Soul Spa Bed & Breakfast
6) Villa Genovese B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) LA QUINTA INN BEND
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bend Amateur Atheletic Club Gymnasium
2) Bend High School
3) Boyd, Charles, Homestead Group
4) Byberg, Peter, House
5) Congress Apartments
6) Deschutes County Library
7) McCann, Thomas, House
8) Moore, Robert D., House
9) New Taggart Hotel
10) O'Kane Building
11) Old US Post Office
12) Putnam, George Palmer and Dorothy Binney House
13) Reid School
14) Sather, Evan Andreas, House
15) Smith, N. P., Pioneer Hardware Store
16) Stover, B. A. and Ruth, House
17) Trinity Episcopal Church
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Baldy's Barbeque
2) Baskin-Robbins
3) Ben & Jerry's
4) Blue Sparrow Baking
5) Caffe Bellisimo
6) Checkers Deli
7) Chefs To Go
8) Cold Stone Creamery
9) Country Catering & Deli Co
10) El Rodeo
11) Hong Kong Lounge-Bamboo Room
12) KFC
13) Little Caesars Pizza
14) Mc Donald's
15) Old Mill Market
16) Pizzeria Ponte Vecchio LLC
17) Pizzicato
18) Quiznos Sub
19) Quiznos Sub
20) Red Robin Gourmet Burgers
21) Reed Pub Co
22) Southside Pub Inc
23) Starbucks
24) Starbucks
25) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
26) Szechuan South
27) Zydeco Kitchen & Cocktails
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Lousy So So
Went in with a group of 15+ this afternoon and the staff at Deschutes was rude and refused to help us! Horrible service to a large group of Bend residents goes a LONG way - needless to say we won't be returning! We left and went to the Bend Brewery where we enjoyed a great food and drinks as well as great service!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from N. Nanford N. Nanford, Bend, OR
(04/26/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Lousy So So
Went in with a group of 15+ this afternoon and the staff at Deschutes was rude and refused to help us! Horrible service to a large group of Bend residents goes a LONG way - needless to say we won't be returning! We left and went to the Bend Brewery where we enjoyed a great food and drinks as well as great service!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from N. Nanford N. Nanford, Bend, OR
(04/26/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great So So
I was recently was in Bend and was asking the bartender where some local "hotspots" were. Soon after I heard him getting yelled at by a man with long hair,whom I later found out was the manager. I also found out he was being repremanded for talking to me. I thought that talking to customers was part of customer service but I was obviously mistaken.This manager proved himself to be quite rude and unprofessional constantly reaching in between customers to get to the bar and making his patrons feel very uncomfortable. The beer is some of the best I have had but the management left a bad taste in my mouth.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Portland, OR
(02/26/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great
I don't think the atmosphere is as good as at Bend Brewing, and the staff was unusually (for Oregon) unhelpful and not very knowledgeable. Still, having Obsidian Stout from the cask, chased by Black Butte Porter, goes a very long way to eliminate any complaints. The beer here is definitely some of the very best I have ever had, but the brewpub experience leaves something to be desired.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from M. John Way M. John Way, Wheaton, IL
(02/21/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great
The brewery was very laid back and dark and quiet. I'm usually into something a little more happening, but I am such a fan of Deschutes Beer, it was a thrill to actually visit where it comes from.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Suzanne Beer Suzanne Beer, The Dalles, OR
(01/24/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So Lousy So So
VERY DISAPPOINTED IN MY SERVICE, WAITED 25 MINUTES FOR A CHECK THAT I FINALLY HAD TO GO GET AND I NEVER GOT THE LAST BEER I ORDERED. THE BEER IS AS ALWAYS GOOD BUT THE ATMOSPHERE AND SERVICE COULD USE SOME HELP

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from STEVE STEVE, FULTON, NY
(01/05/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
Stopped here in Oct. '98- had been waiting more than a month after first trying the Black Butte Porter and Obsidian Stout in Mizzoula, MT. Somewhat disappointed in the pub itself, but not the beer. It's not the only game in town- make sure you try Bend Brewing Co. as well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Peter Del  Vaglio Peter Del Vaglio, Thomaston, CT
(08/20/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ZAM ZAM, Lakewood, CO
(08/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
The beer was everything you would expect from deschutes. the pilsner and the cask conditioned esb were great, especially since they are very hard to come by here in washington. i would not make a trip here especially for the food, but definitely again for the beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tyler H Tyler H, Seattle, WA
(08/15/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
I had heard great stories about this place and was not disappointed at all!! I am a huge fan of cask conditioned ales and they were pulling two of them. Obsidian Stout is amazing enough but out of the cask was incredible. The food menu was also out of this world. I need to spend a week in Bend just so I can eat here twice a day! There are a number of great reasons to visit Bend (rafting, skiing, hiking, golf, etc.) and you can add visiting Deschutes to the list!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from S. David McKinstry S. David McKinstry, Renton, WA
(08/13/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So Good
Maybe we hit this place on a bad day or something, but I found the beer to be way overrated, especially for Oregon brew. (Of course, that's still very good by normal beer standards...) Both the bitter and the porter were blander than I had expected them to be, though still quite enjoyable.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from M Raye M Raye, Iowa City, IA
(07/14/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good So So Great
Was in Bend this week. Tried most of their bier menu. Wait staff was a little distracted on Thursday and not very quick to respond. Rather a light evening, mostly locals. But the bier as always was Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Bartlett Dan Bartlett, Milwaukie, OR
(06/05/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Always fantastic service, watch for the special brews they hold for locals only. Sometimes dark beers ranging to 11% alcohol called barley wine. only for locals unless you tip big!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Dallas, OR
(05/27/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
Black Butte Porter is my favorite anywhere. When ever I head home to Oregon, my first priority is Black Butte and Bend.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Tyler Tom Tyler, Springfield, IL
(01/30/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Easily Oregon's best brewpub and brewery. Porter, Pale, ESB and seasonals all are a cut above everything else in the state. Don't miss the food here either. This beer is so good, I always bring some back to Texas with me.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tomlinson Tim Tomlinson, Austin, TX
(12/20/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
The golden ale, while lightly hopped, had great body. The pale ale was malty and brightly hopped with Cascade, but was thinner in texture than the Golden (both were delicious). The Porter was as a porter ought, deep malt and very lightly hopped. They had the porter and the golden available in cask condition. I thought the porter yeasty, but the golden deliciously smooth. The bartender was very knowledgable and helpful, serving samples without my having to ask. Simply inquire on a variety, and POW!, a sample lies before you. The food was good, better than some brew pubs, but not particulary imaginative. I'd go back in a second!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin W. Caldwell Kevin W. Caldwell, Seattle, WA
(11/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
This place hands down has the best beer in Oregon. I have been there several times and just love there Mirror pond pale ale and Obsidian stout. Also great pub food.....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Josh Brewer Josh Brewer, Chicago, IL
(11/23/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
THis place makes you wish they made all the brews year-round. BB Porter is great, Mirror Pond Pale too. Not a bad beer in the bunch, great food, great prices, great staff, commercially available in the NW. Skip the others if you have to - this place is the best in the state, at least outside Portland.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Scott, Charleston, SC
(11/04/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A
Deschutes Black Butte Porter is commonly found in restaurants in Eugene. A tasty brew, rich and full like a porter should be.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nancy McAdams Nancy McAdams, Pittsburgh, PA
(09/12/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
Go for the Beer. Deschutes Black Butte Porter is my favorite beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Jim, Springfield, OR
(07/01/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Awesome!
very nice atmosphere

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Arnold Paul Arnold, Klamayh Falls, OR
(04/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Good Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review E, OR
(02/10/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
The best brewpub of 18 I tried in Oregon. A very nice atmosphere, and styling beer. Mirror Pond Pale is tops!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from P Bentley P Bentley, Bozeman, MT
(01/20/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Awesome!
The Deschutes Brewery is by far the best micro brewery in the state of Oregon. Their beer is fantastic and should be enjoyed by all.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Cale Doney Cale Doney, Bend, OR
(01/14/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great
Excellent porter

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kent Kent, Folsom, CA
(11/21/1997)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.313 seconds) 06:12:56 54.197.205.40, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS