PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Murphy's Grand Irish Pub - Alexandria, VA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 31, 2014 @ 03:31 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > VA > Alexandria > Murphy's Grand Irish Pub
Murphy's Grand Irish Pub Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Murphy's Grand Irish Pub
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 88 / 100
713 King Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
United States
(703) 548-1717
Last Updated: January 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Alexandria, VA
Beer Guide for Virginia

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
27 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(26 within 5 miles)
1) Bilbo Baggins
(0 mile)

2) Southside 815
(0 mile)

3) Faccia Luna Trattoria
(0 mile)

4) Pat Troy's Irish Pub
(0 mile)

5) Rick's Wine and Gourmet
(0 mile)

6) Rustico Restaurant and Bar
(0 mile)

7) Union Street Public House
(0 mile)

8) Sutton Place Cafe
(0 mile)

9) Bullfeathers
(0 mile)

10) King Street Blues
(0 mile)

11) Chadwick's Old Town
(0 mile)

12) Hard Times Cafe
(0 mile)

13) Fireflies Restaurant and Coffee Bar
(1 mile)

14) Ramparts Restaurant
(2 miles)

15) Hops Grill and Brewery
(2 miles)

16) Bistro Bistro
(3 miles)

17) Carlyle Grand Cafe
(3 miles)

18) Capitol City Brewing Company - Shirlington
(3 miles)

19) Capitol City Brewing Corporation
(3 miles)

20) Shenandoah Brewing Company
(3 miles)

21) Port City Brewing Company
(3 miles)

22) Sine Irish Pub and Restaurant
(3 miles)

23) Halyards
(4 miles)

24) Rock Bottom Brewery
(6 miles)

25) Slade's American Grill
(6 miles)

26) CarPool
(6 miles)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN CAPITOL SKYLINE
2) BEST WESTERN OLD COLONY INN
3) BEST WESTERN PENTAGON
4) BEST WESTERN POTOMAC VIEW
5) BRIDGESTREET MERIDIAN BALLSTON
6) BRIDGESTREET MERIDIAN CARLYLE
7) CHANNEL INN
8) COMFORT INN PENTAGON
9) COURTYARD ALEXANDRIA
10) COURTYARD CRYSTAL CITY
11) CRYSTAL CITY MARRIOTT
12) DAYS INN ALEXANDRIA SOUTH
13) DAYS INN NATL AIRPORT CRYSTAL
14) DAYS INN PENTAGON
15) DAYS INN WASHINGTON ARLINGTON
16) DOUBLETREE HOTEL CRYSTAL CITY
17) ECONO LODGE NATIONAL AIRPORT
18) EMBASSY SUITES CRYSTAL CITY
19) EXECUTIVE CLUB SUITES ALEXANDRI
20) EXECUTIVE CLUB SUITES ARLINGTON
21) HAMPTON INN OLD TOWN
22) HAMPTON INN STES REAGAN NATL
23) HAWTHORN SUITES LTD ALEXANDRIA
24) HILTON ALEXANDRIA MARK CENTER
25) HILTON CRYSTAL CITY
26) HILTON OLD TOWN ALEXANDRIA
27) HOLIDAY INN & STES ALEXANDRIA
28) HYATT REGENCY CRYSTAL CITY
29) KORMAN COMMUNITIES ARLINGTON
30) MARRIOTT CRYSTAL GATEWAY
31) OAKWOOD EISENHOWER
32) OAKWOOD PENTAGON CITY
33) OXON HILL INN
34) PENTAGON CITY RESIDENCE INN
35) RADISSON OLD TOWN ALEXANDRIA
36) RAMADA LIMITED FALLS CHURCH
37) RED ROOF WASHINGTON ALEXANDRIA
38) RED ROOF WASHINGTON OXON HILL
39) RELAIS CHATEAUX MORRISON HOUSE
40) RESIDENCE INN ALEXANDRIA
41) SHERATON CRYSTAL CITY HOTEL
42) SHERATON NATIONAL
43) SHERATON PENTAGON SOUTH HOTEL
44) SHERATON STES OLD TOWN ALEXANDR
45) TRAVELODGE ALEXANDRIA
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Alexandria City Hall
2) Alexandria National Cemetery
3) Ball-Sellers House
4) Bank of Alexandria
5) Barcroft Community House
6) Bayne--Fowle House
7) Bruin's Slave Jail
8) Carlin Hall
9) Carlyle House
10) Codman-Davis House
11) Commandant's Office, Washington Navy Yard
12) Drew, Charles Richard, House
13) Duncanson-Cranch House
14) Fairfax--Moore House
15) Ford, President Gerald R., Jr., House
16) Franklin and Armfield Office
17) Gadsby's Tavern
18) Hume School
19) Jones Point Lighthouse and District of Columbia South Cornerstone
20) Law, Thomas, House
21) Lee, Robert E., Boyhood Home
22) Lee-Fendall House
23) Lewis, Edward Simon, House
24) Lloyd House
25) Lyndon Baines Johnson Memorial Grove On The Potomac
26) Main Gate, Washington Navy Yard
27) Old Dominion Bank Building
28) Presbyterian Meeting House, Old
29) Protestant Episcopal Theological Seminary
30) Quarters A, Washington Navy Yard
31) Quarters B, Washington Navy Yard
32) Southeast No. 6 Boundary Marker of the Original District of Columbia
33) Southeast No. 7 Boundary Marker of the Original District of Columbia
34) Southeast No. 9 Boundary Marker of the Original District of Columbia
35) Southwest No. 1 Boundary Marker of the Original District of Columbia
36) Southwest No. 2 Boundary Marker of the Original District of Columbia
37) Southwest No. 3 Boundary Marker of the Original District of Columbia
38) Southwest No. 4 Boundary Marker of the Original District of Columbia
39) Southwest No. 5 Boundary Marker of the Original District of Columbia
40) Southwest No. 6 Boundary Marker of the Original District of Columbia
41) St. John's Church
42) St. Paul's Episcopal Church
43) Stabler-Leadbeater Apothecary Shop
44) U.S. Marine Corps Barracks and Commandant's House
45) USS SEQUOIA (yacht)
46) Wheat Row
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 100 King Restaurant
2) 1001 Catering
3) 101 Royal Steak House
4) A LA Luci
5) Afghan Restaurant
6) Alexandria Catering
7) Alexandria Diner
8) Alexandria Times Pub LLC
9) Angela's Restaurant
10) Antioch Church Diner
11) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
12) Atilla's Restuarant
13) Austin Grill
14) Avenue Food Co
15) Baja Fresh Mexican Grill
16) Bangcokok 99
17) Baskin-Robbins
18) Bayoumi' S Cafe
19) Ben & Jerry's
20) Bertucci's Brick Oven Pizzeria
21) Bilbo Baggins Cafe Restaurant
22) Bistrot Lafayette
23) Bittersweet
24) Bland Management Corp
25) Blue & White Carry Out
26) Blue Point Grill
27) Bob Rubin's New York Deli Too
28) Bombay Curry Co
29) Bonitt Builders
30) Boston Market
31) Braddock Cafe
32) Bruscatos Market & Deli
33) Bugsy's Pizza & Sports Bar
34) Bullfeathers
35) Burrito Grill
36) Cafe Aurora
37) Cafe Marianna & Charles
38) Cafe Mocha
39) Cafe Monti
40) Cafe Old Town
41) Cafe Salsa
42) Cajun Bangkok
43) California Pizza Kitchen
44) California Wraps
45) Calvert Grill
46) Cameron Street Cafe
47) Cap Cup Corp
48) Capitol Catering Inc
49) Carlyle Deli Market Inc
50) Casablanca Restaurant
51) Cate's Bistro
52) Catering By Charlene
53) Catering By Mancini
54) Catering By Windows
55) Chadwicks
56) Chart House Restaurant
57) Chequers Restaurant & Lounge
58) Chez Andree Restaurant
59) Chicken Out Rotisserie
60) Chin's Kitchen
61) China House
62) China King Restaurant
63) Chintana Thai Restaurant
64) Chipotle Mexican Grill
65) Chirilagua City
66) Christie's Cafe
67) Chuck E Cheese's
68) Claremont Deli
69) Cold Stone Creamery
70) Cole Bin
71) Colony Caterers
72) Comedor Las Delicias
73) Dandy Restaurant Cruise Ship
74) Del Merei Grill
75) Del Ray Dreamery
76) Dixie Pig Restaurant
77) Domino's Pizza
78) Domino's Pizza
79) Domino's Pizza
80) Don Pablo's Restaurant
81) Dutch Touch
82) E & J Carry Out
83) East Wind Restaurant Ltd
84) Eastern Carryout
85) Eat Good Food LLC
86) Ecco Cafe
87) Edoya Japanese Restaurant
88) El Pugarcito Restaurant
89) Elpollo Ranchero Inc
90) Elysium
91) Empire Buffett
92) Ernie's Original Crab House
93) Esmeralda Restaurant
94) Et Cetera
95) Eve's Place
96) Evening Star Cafe
97) Expresso Cafe
98) Faccia Luna Pizzeria
99) Fairfax Deli & Carry-Out
100) Fairlington Pizza Carry Out
101) Fin & Hoof Bar & Grill
102) Fire Flies
103) Fish Market
104) Five Guys
105) Five Guys
106) Fresh Escape Catering
107) G W Deli
108) Gadsby Tavern Administrative
109) Gadsby's Tavern
110) Ganpati Food
111) Generous George's Positive
112) George King Of Falafel
113) Georgio's Piatsa
114) Geranio Ristorante
115) Ginger Beef Foody Goody
116) Global Cafe
117) Goody's Carryout
118) Great American Steak & Buffet
119) Grill
120) Grind & Brew Kafe
121) Hamburger Hamlet Restaurant
122) Hard Times Cafe
123) Hard Times Cafe
124) Hard Times Catering
125) Ho's Carryout
126) Hoffman Eatery
127) Holiday Inn
128) Holiday Inn
129) Honolulu Restaurant
130) Hops Restaurant & Brewery
131) Huascaran
132) Il Porto Ristorante
133) International Catering Concept
134) International House-Pancakes
135) Jack's Place
136) Jasper P Morgen's Restaurant
137) Jerry's Restaurant
138) Jerry's Subs & Pizza
139) Jerry's Subs & Pizza
140) Joe Theismann's Restaurant
141) John Mosby Inn
142) John's Pizza & Pasta
143) Johnny Mac's
144) June Coffee
145) Kate's Bistro
146) Kenny's Bar-B-Que
147) King Street Blues
148) Kingfish
149) Kings Pizza & Subs
150) Koto Restaurant
151) Krispy Kreme Doughnuts
152) Kyoto Restaurant
153) La Bergerie Restaurant
154) LA Feria Del Pescado
155) La Madeleine French Bakery
156) Landini Brothers Inc
157) Las Tapas
158) Las Vegas Inc
159) Las Vegas Restaurant
160) Laughing Lizzard Lounge
161) Le Bon Cafe
162) Le Gaulois Cafe Restaurant
163) Le Gaulois Cafe Restaurant
164) Le Gualois Restaurant
165) Le Refuge Restaurant
166) Little Dragon Inc
167) Lloyd House
168) Lone Star Steakhouse & Saloon
169) Lonesome Dove Restaurant
170) Los Amigos Restaurant
171) Los Amigos Restaurant
172) Mai Thai
173) Mamma Ilardo's Pizzeria
174) Mancini's Cafe & Bakery
175) Mandarin Inn
176) Marino's Pizza & Subs
177) Masaya Thai Cuisine
178) Mc Donald's
179) Mc Donald's
180) Mc Donald's
181) Mc Donald's
182) Meridian's Restaurant
183) Miguelito Chicken
184) Monroe's An American Trattoria
185) Monterey's Pizza
186) Morrison House Hotel
187) Much Moore Quality Catering
188) Murphy's Grand Irish Pub
189) Nam Viet Restaurant
190) Neighbors Gourmet Delicatessen
191) New China Taste
192) Nickell's & Scheffler
193) Oh's Palace
194) Old Time Cafe
195) Old Town Sandwich Shop
196) Olde Towne Deli
197) Oriental Star Restaurant
198) Paesano Italian Deli Rstrnt
199) Panera Bread
200) Papa Joe's
201) Papa John's Pizza
202) Papa John's Pizza
203) Park Cafe & Catering
204) Pasta Peasant
205) Pat Troy's Restaurant & Pub
206) Perfect Pita
207) Perfect Pita
208) Perk Up Coffe House
209) Perk's Coffee Shops
210) Picca-Deli
211) Pilar's Restaurant
212) Pines Of Florence
213) Pip Cafe
214) Pita House
215) Pizza Boli's
216) Pizza Hut
217) Pizza Hut
218) Pizza Pan
219) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
220) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
221) Pops Old Fashion Ice Cream Co
222) Portner's Restaurant
223) Potowmack Landing
224) Premier Dining Svc
225) Quiznos Sub
226) Quiznos Sub
227) Radio Free Italy
228) Raj Foods Inc
229) Ramparts Restaurant
230) Ranch House Restaurant
231) Red Mei
232) Restaurant Eve
233) Rock It Grill
234) Rocklands Barbeque & Grilling
235) Royal Restaurant & Caterers
236) Ruby Tuesday
237) Ruffino
238) Rustico
239) Santa Fe East Inc
240) Scoop Grill & Homemade Ice
241) Scotland Yard
242) Seagar's Prime Steak & Seafood
243) Second Time Around
244) Senior Chicken
245) Sergeants Restaurant Inc
246) Sgt's Restaurant Inc
247) Siam 815
248) Simply Fish
249) Sizzling Express Vii
250) Skenteris Family Inc 2
251) South China Carry Out Rstrnt
252) Southside 815
253) Speedy's Chicken
254) St Elmo's Coffee Pub
255) Star Catering
256) Starbucks
257) Starbucks
258) Starbucks
259) Starbucks
260) Starbucks
261) Starbucks
262) Starbucks
263) Stardust Restaurant & Lounge
264) Stella's Restaurant
265) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
266) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
267) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
268) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
269) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
270) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
271) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
272) Sue Fischer A Division-Caterng
273) Sun's Cafe
274) Sundae Times
275) Sunrise Carry-Out & Market
276) Table Talk Restaurant Inc
277) Taco Maxi-Pizza Town
278) Taj Palace
279) Taqueria Poblano Inc
280) Taso's Restaurant
281) Taverna Cretekou
282) Tea Cosy
283) Team Washington Inc
284) Tequilla Sunrise Restaurant
285) Thai Old Town Restaurant
286) Thai Peppers
287) Thai Peppers
288) Tiffany Tavern
289) Tippy's Taco House
290) Togo's Eatery
291) Tokyo Japanese Steakhouse
292) Top Wok
293) Torpedo Grill
294) Towngate Deli
295) Trattoria Da Franco
296) Tsim Yung Restaurant
297) Two Nineteen Restaurant
298) Union Street Public House
299) Uptown Cafe
300) Uptowner Cafe
301) Vermilion Restaurant
302) Viet Grill
303) Villa D'este
304) Village Il-Porto Ristorante
305) Virginia Beverage Co
306) Vonne's Catering Svc
307) Warehouse Bar & Grill
308) Waterfront Cafe
309) Waterfront Gourmet
310) Wendy's
311) Wendy's
312) Wharf Restaurant
313) Wing Zone
314) Woodstock Cafe
315) Xando Cosi
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Awesome!
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Some people think I am just being biased when I say Murphy's is the best place to go to and have a great time since my last name is Murphy! I love it there it's deffinetely my favorite place to go to in the D.C./Baltimore area! The beer is great, but the people you will meet there are amazing! Everyone is just there to have a great time! No one seems unapproachable. If your planning on comming to the D.C. area this is a must go to place!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ronald Murphy Ronald Murphy, New Carlisle, OH
(08/06/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great
This is an Alexandria institution. It's an Irish bar best enjoyed in the company of others; not that a solo trip is bad, but a group is much more fun. Harp, Guinness, and Murphy's stout are the order of the day and the food matches the beer: Corned beef is available every night and the fish and chips are pretty good. I've never had a bad meal here. There is entertainment at night and the regulars know the words to the Irish songs. Worth a visit? Of course.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Gezelius John Gezelius, Orange, CA
(02/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
This is the perfect spot for some winter drinking and eating. Big fireplace, live music, and great beer. I've lived in the area for years and just never get tired of going to Murphy's.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Darren Robbins Darren Robbins, Alexandria, VA
(01/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Murphy's has the things you'd expect from an Irish Pub - dark wood, warm fireplace, good food, native music, a smiling server, and Cider.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bilbo Bilbo, Alexandria, VA
(11/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
This is a nice, neighborly pub. Good food and good beer. No canned music, just the rumble of conversation.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David A. Vandenbroucke David A. Vandenbroucke, Alexandria, VA
(10/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I is a great place to go and have some fun. My friends and I really love it

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, dunkirk, MD
(08/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I moved back to the Midwest and REALLY miss seeing everyone at Murphy's. I play my CD's of Double Downs often and remember the great times there. Can't wait to come back and visit!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Donna Donna, Chicago, IL
(08/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
This place is a good time! The musical entertainment is the best! Great sing along atmosphere and of course, the beer rocks!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Rachel, Daytona Beach, FL
(04/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
What a time. I just moved to Virginia and don't know that many people but everyone there treated me like family. Chris Jenkins

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Chris Jenkins, Falls Church, Va
(04/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review alexandria, va
(03/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
The best bar in the DC metro area. Lots of fun, great service!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Dawsonville, GA
(03/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
I go to Washington DC every year for a week with my business and we spend almost every night at the pub. A wonderful time for all, even those from New Jersey.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Indianapolis, IN
(12/16/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Great entertainment, great fish and chips. Hold on to your chair if you get one. I will visit this place on ever trip to the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Vince Greiner Vince Greiner, Lawrenceville, GA
(12/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
My friends and I love Murphy's! It's place for great food, great people, and an awesome night with Pat Carroll!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Altoona, PA
(12/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I love Murphy's! Great food, great people, great fun!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andi Andi, Washington, DC
(12/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I love Murphy's! Great food, great people, great fun!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andi Andi, Washington, DC
(12/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I love Murphy's! Great food, great people, great fun!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andi Andi, Washington, DC
(12/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
I used to go to Murph.s when I was a young pup, and I loved it.Than I went away to the sevice for the last 16 yr.s and I wasn't able to come home. I thought about all the fun I used to have there in many def. places like Panama, and the Persian Gulf. Well I finally got married I used to tell my new bride about the best place in the world to go and relax.So when we were eventually able to take a long over due honeymoon we came back to Alex. and the first place we went to was Murphy's and it was just like comeing home. Now it is my wifes favorite place to go also. She tells all her friends about the wonderful time we had there. We try to go back Up to alex. and Murphy's whenever we can. We just wish it wasn't 10hr.s away. I guess that should say it all right there, we are willing to drive 10hr.s for good food, good drink and GREAT people.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Hernholm Jeff Hernholm, Kingsport, TN
(11/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I read this article on Fortune.com today and am appalled. I would hope that you also would consider dropping Sam Adams beer from your menu. I know it's probably a big seller, but people come to Murphy's because of the atmosphere and not because you offer a certain kind of beer over another.

http://www.fortune.com/indexw.jhtml?channel=artcol.jhtml&doc_id=210210

Article text:

Maybe we expect too much from our business leaders. Certainly they have plenty to worry about -- an edgy economy, a woeful Wall Street, a snooping SEC -- without everybody jumping down their throats whenever they let off a little steam. A guy like Jim Koch, who founded and is chairman of a respectable $200 million business, should be entitled to indulge himself once in a while. What he does to let off steam is nobody's stinking business. So why, then, is the brewer of Samuel Adams Boston Lager suddenly under attack? "I don't think his beer is going to darken this doorstep again," declares Jerry Foley, proprietor of J.J. Foley's, a 92-year-old bar in Boston. "We're only a mom-and-pop store, and he's a multimillionaire, so he's not going to feel it. But I'm trying to make a point here."

And just what is the point that Foley, among other bar owners, hopes to make? It's a subtle one -- and maybe a wee bit old-fashioned -- so pay close attention: He thinks it was misguided of Koch (pronounced "cook") to participate in a New York City radio broadcast in which couples competed for points by fornicating at assorted public locations in the naked city. Actually, that's not quite right; Koch had participated in this form of spectator sport before, after all, and Foley hadn't paid it any heed. What got to him this time -- and, hey, let's allow the man his say -- was that one couple apparently took on the challenge of getting, uh, cozy in the vestibule of Saint Patrick's Cathedral. That would be New York City's most majestic church, the Gothic one with the beautiful spires -- and no shortage of parishioners, given that the stunt happened on a holy day for Catholics, namely the Feast of the Assumption. "That's holy ground, that's where all those firemen were put to rest," Foley notes. "And there was Jim Koch, on the radio, laughing and enjoying the show. This guy ought to be ashamed of himself."

And he very well may be, for all we know. Koch, through spokeswoman Sally Jackson, declined to talk about his in-studio participation in the "Sex for Sam" radio promotion, which aired on the syndicated Opie and Anthony Show in August. "It's the first big mistake we've made," Jackson adds. The offending couple was arrested, and Viacom's Infinity Broadcasting quickly canceled the afternoon drive-time program. Koch eventually issued a public apology for his behavior, characterizing his presence as a "lapse in judgment" and a "serious mistake" but also noting that "we were not in control of the program, and it was never our intention to be part of a radio station promotion that crossed the line."

Tough to believe? In a word -- or two -- yes, sirree. First there's the fact that Koch has shown himself to be unusually savvy at PR, acting as the nasal pitchman for the Boston-based company he started in 1984. By Jackson's estimate, he's appeared on Opie and Anthony alone about a dozen times, not to mention his carousing with countless others of that ilk. Such shows tend to attract in droves just the kind of listeners Koch wants to tap -- twentysomething males. Then there's this: He'd actually been what the hosts termed the grand marshal of the contest last year, and this year's contestants were competing for a free weekend trip to Boston to attend a concert Koch's company was co-sponsoring. Besides the cathedral (25 points), spots on the list included toy store F.A.O. Schwarz (15 points) -- as well as at the feet of Koch himself (30 points), who deemed the competitors "awesome," adding that "the quality gets better every year."

He's entitled to his view (which apparently he appreciated). But as the guardian of the craft brewer's image, he might well have asked himself, What would Colonel Sanders do? After all, those who serve as the human personification of a brand -- relax, nobody's going to mention Martha Stewart here -- simply cannot lose sight of the fact that their behavior reflects on the company they represent and its employees, suppliers, and investors.

"He didn't say, 'Sex in Saint Patrick's? I'm out of here.' It was only afterward that he felt that way," observes marketing guru Al Ries. Of Koch's participation in the broadcast, Ries says, "He shouldn't have been in the whorehouse in the first place, even if he was just there to tune the piano."

Koch's subsequent mea culpas haven't quite hit the right note. Michael Sheehan, who owns Boston bar Jimmy O'Keefe's, says he heard from Koch as soon as he had notified his distributor that he would no longer be carrying the beer. "I asked him for an apology in the newspaper, and he told me he'd have to think about it," Sheehan recalls. "A few days later he realized it would be in his best interest to do it. If I was the only person who had complained, there wouldn't have been any apology at all."

The fact that those apologies appeared in three newspapers about two weeks after the incident didn't help Koch's case. For the record, Koch's appearance was on Aug. 15, while the published apologies began appearing on Aug. 30. "He got forced into it," says Foley. "It was a slick media apology. It didn't mention Saint Patrick's or Sam Adams; it just mentioned Boston Beer. It wasn't even a full-page ad, as he had told me it would be."

Several bar owners say that Koch's calls included invitations for them to come to the company's brewery and settle their differences over a cold microbrew, perhaps in the soothing presence of a few news photographers. "I told him that I was too old to drink now," recalls Jim McGettrick, who has run the Beachcomber in Quincy, Mass., since 1959. "He said, 'You can have a root beer.' He was funny. But that doesn't mean I have to sell his beer. I'm not sure if he's sorry he did what he did or if he's just sorry he got caught."

Then again, maybe it doesn't matter. Like so many bar owners who have heard from Koch -- and Sheehan estimates that 25 have dumped the beer -- Patrick Withers doesn't doubt for a moment the sincerity of Koch's regret. "I could hear it in his voice," attests Withers, a former New York City cop who runs Ireland's 32, a pub in Suffern, N.Y. But while Koch was doing his off-color commentating on the radio, Withers was promoting Sam Adams, giving out polo shirts adorned with the logos of both the company and the pub. That's when he heard about the brew-ha-ha at Saint Patrick's, where the 31-year-old had proposed to his wife.

"I'm not saying Jim Koch is on the level of Enron or any of those, but what happened shows again how cocky these CEOs in America have become," says Withers, whose father started the bar. "They figure, 'I'll do what I want, and the peasants will keep buying it anyway.' You have to draw the line somewhere. I could pack this place every night with wet T-shirt contests, but I don't do it." Nor is he offering Sam Adams among the 38 kinds of beer he sells. Not now, maybe not ever again. Withers says Koch simply "hadn't made enough of an effort for me," and he would like to see the beer brewer "shaking hands and being forgiven by Cardinal Eagan," New York's archbishop.

The entrepreneur who harnessed publicity so effectively to create not just a business but an industry -- the humble but high-quality microbrewery -- is now engaged in a battle to see whether consumers will demand Sam Adams. That's another contest he shouldn't have gotten himself into.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Selina Selina, Arlington, VA
(11/07/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Awesome!
Best Pub I've Been to, and I've been to a few!!! Great entertainment, great service, and food is better than the price's suggest. Well worth the trip!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Elizabeth Elizabeth, Lexington, SC
(11/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I agree with the previous post. I went two times in the one weekend we were in the D.C./Alexandria area. I have NEVER had a better time in my life. Great music, great food, great beer, great people. THE best bar in North America.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rachel Jones Rachel Jones, Omaha, NE
(10/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Awesome!
Murphy's is my favorite pub in North America! Nice selection of beers plus an incredibly festive atmosphere make every night there a true pleasure. The food is great and reasonably priced. No one ever gets out of hand there. Ladies, you don't have to worry about some unwelcome freak hitting on you.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Wakie Wakie, Pittsburgh, PA
(07/18/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Good Great
Beer selection is slightly better than average. The real draw here is the food - traditional Irish, English, and American fare at prices that are a major bargain for Old Town. There's entertainment almost every night (traditional Irish folk singers) with crowd participation. The St. Patrick's Day festivities must be seen to be believed (the line starts at about 9AM). An Old Town standard for a good reason.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, Alexandria, VA
(10/07/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Awesome!
"A working-man's pub. Great atmosphere, good regulars, fun music, and best bloody mary's in town!" Look for Duncan at the end of the bar w/Tom, John, and Jimmy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Duncan L. Brown, Esq. Duncan L. Brown, Esq., Alexandria, VA
(10/25/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Great Awesome!
what a good time to be had if you only walk through the door.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andrew Andrew, falls church, VA
(04/28/1999)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.366 seconds) 03:31:23 54.90.42.156, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS