PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Mahar's - Albany, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 03, 2014 @ 02:51 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Albany > Mahar's
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: Beer Bar
Mahar's
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 81 / 100
1110 Madison Avenue
Albany, NY 12208
United States
(518) 459-7868
Listed Since: April 1996
Last Updated: August 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Albany, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Mahar's
54 Reviews / 11 Photos
hours of operation
Sun CLOSED
Mon 04:00PM - 12:00AM
Tue 04:00PM - 12:00AM
Wed 04:00PM - 12:00AM
Thu 04:00PM - 12:00AM
Fri 04:00PM - 12:00AM
Sat 04:00PM - 12:00AM

alternatives
(11 within 5 miles)
1) Pauly's Hotel
(2 miles)

2) Lionheart Blues Cafe
(3 miles)

3) 61 Local
(3 miles)

4) McGeary's Pub
(3 miles)

5) C.H. Evans Brewing - The Albany Pump Station
(3 miles)

6) Wolff's Biergarten
(3 miles)

7) Bayou Cafe
(3 miles)

8) Big House Grill
(5 miles)

9) Firkin and Fox Pub
(5 miles)

10) Old Chicago
(5 miles)

11) German-American Club of Albany
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Holiday Inn
2) Mansion Hill Inn
3) Pine Haven Bed & Breakfast
4) State House
5) State Street Mansion B & B
6) The Northway Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ALBANY MARRIOTT
2) BEST WESTERN ALBANY AIRPRT INN
3) COMFORT INN AND SUITES ALBANY
4) COURTYARD ALBANY THRUWAY
5) CRESTHILL SUITES ALBANY
6) DAYS INN ALBANY
7) ECONO LODGE DOWNTOWN
8) ECONO LODGE GLENMONT
9) EXTENDEDSTAY ALBANY CAPITAL
10) FAIRFIELD INN ALBANY
11) HILTON GARDEN INN ALBANY ARPT
12) HOWARD JOHNSON ALBANY CENTRAL
13) MORGAN STATE HOUSE THE
14) QUALITY INN ALBANY
15) QUALITY INN GLENMONT
16) QUALITY INN HOTEL ALBANY
17) RAMADA ALBANY LIMITED
18) RAMADA INN
19) RAMADA REGENCY INN AND SUITES
20) RED CARPET INN ALBANY
21) RED ROOF ALBANY
22) THE NORTHWAY INN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Abrams Building
2) Aiken House
3) Albany Academy
4) Albany City Hall
5) Albany Institute of History and Art
6) Albany Union Station
7) Bacon--Stickney House
8) Bryan's Store
9) Buildings at 744, 746, 748, 750 Broadway
10) Byrne, Senator William T., House
11) Cathedral of All Saints
12) Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception
13) Chapel House
14) Cherry Hill
15) Church of the Holy Innocents
16) Cramer, Frederick, House
17) D. D. T. Moore Farmhouse
18) Delaware and Hudson Railroad Company Building
19) First Reformed Church
20) First Trust Company Building
21) Fort Crailo
22) Fort Orange Archeological Site
23) Fuller, Royal K., House
24) Gorham House
25) Hall, James, Office
26) Henry--Remsen House
27) Hook and Ladder No. 4
28) Hughson Mansion
29) Humphrey, Friend, House
30) Lil's Diner
31) Merchant, Walter, House
32) New York Executive Mansion
33) New York State Court of Appeals Building
34) New York State Department of Education Building
35) Newtonville Post Office
36) Newtonville School
37) Nut Grove
38) Old Post Office
39) Palace Theatre
40) Patroon Agent's House and Office
41) Patterson Farmhouse
42) Quackenbush House
43) Quackenbush Pumping Station, Albany Water Works
44) Schuyler, Philip, Mansion
45) Slingerlands, Albert, House
46) Springwood Manor
47) St. Mary's Church
48) St. Peter's Church
49) Ten Broeck Mansion
50) United Traction Company Building
51) US Post Office--Delmar
52) USS Slater (Destroyer Escort)
53) Van Derheyden House
54) Washington Avenue (Tenth Battalion) Armory
55) Wheeler Home
56) Whipple Cast and Wrought Iron Bowstring Truss Bridge
57) Whitney Mansion
58) Young Men's Christian Association Building
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 333 Cafe
2) Across The Street Pub
3) Alteri's Restaurant
4) Andy & Sons Importing Co
5) Andy's Place
6) Bagel Bite
7) Barcelona Inc
8) Barefoot Gypsy
9) Beff's
10) Beff's Delmar
11) Boston Market
12) Boston Market
13) Bumpers Cafe
14) Caffe Italia
15) Canape Connection
16) Carmine's Restaurant
17) Cavaleri Restaurant Inc
18) Changs Garden
19) China Wok
20) Conway's On Yates Street
21) Curry House Inc
22) Dallas Tap Room
23) Debbie's Kitchen
24) Domino's Pizza
25) Dragon City
26) Fountain Restaurant
27) Four Corners Luncheonette
28) Friendly's Restaurant
29) Friendly's Restaurant
30) Friendly's Restaurant
31) Gallos Deli & Pizzeria
32) Ginger Man
33) Gold Key Chinese Restaurant
34) Howard Johnson
35) I Love New York Of Madison
36) Indian Palace Restaurant
37) Jack's Diner
38) Jim's Lunchette
39) Legs De Russo Iron Horse Pub
40) Linda's Blue Bayou
41) Lou-Bea's Pizza
42) Madison Wok
43) Madison's End Cafe
44) Madison's Subs & Wings
45) Maggie's Cafe
46) Maria's Diner Restaurant
47) Martel's Restaurant
48) Mc Caffrey's
49) Mc Donald's
50) Mendel's Catering
51) Mercato's Restaurant
52) Miyako Japanese Steak House
53) Mr Subb
54) Mr Subb Inc
55) Mr Subb Inc
56) My Linh
57) My Place & Co
58) Nicole's Restaurant
59) Number 1 Chinese Restaurant
60) Ocean Palace
61) Pantry Of Albany
62) Papa Gallo's Pizzeria
63) Papa John's Pizza
64) Papa John's Pizza
65) Pasquales Pizza Restaurant
66) Peking
67) Pizza Hut
68) Ralph's Tavern
69) Rooter's Restaurant & Sports
70) Sadie Klutz
71) Sam's Italian & Amer Rstrnt
72) Seattle Sub & Pita Co
73) Shea's Restaurant
74) Signature Picnics
75) Silo Steakhouse
76) Spinners Pizza & Subs
77) Starting Gate Restaurant
78) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
79) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
80) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
81) Sunny's Deli
82) Sushi House
83) Sutters Mill & Mining Co
84) Taco Pronto
85) Tastee Freez
86) Tool's Restaurant
87) Uachtar Tira Inc
88) Valentines
89) Valentino's
90) Variety Deli Pizza Bakery
91) Wings & Things
92) Xinlong Chinese Restaurant
93) Yan's Chinese Buffet
94) Ye Olde Lamp Post Restaurant
95) Yono's Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Lousy So So
I've been coming here for ten years and am pretty close to getting the t-shirt. Tonight I brought 3 distinguished visitors, men in their 60s, who ordered higher-priced items.

After we were mostly through our first round the bartender came over, gave one of my companions a shove, and said "you have a whole f*cking bar and you have to stand here?". The place was moderately full; it was not obvious where else we could or should stand. Ten minutes later the scene was repeated. Pretty embarrassing for me. I won't be returning anytime soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Albany, NY
(08/06/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Excellent bar! One of a kind actually...Huge selection of beer (imported and domestic) and amazing toasted sandwiches.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Latham, NY
(07/09/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Awesome!
Here's the deal! I've been visiting Mahars' on and off since 1989...Get over who is bar tending! There is no other bar like Mahars near Albany for miles! If you like beer, and want to expand your palate, visit Mahars! And, by the way, they have great sandwiches and the occasional stew pies that are great, with your favorite beer! Ladies, this is your bar! All kinds of beer, and lots of good men! Give it a try! Eva

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eva Eva, Albany, NY
(06/14/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So Good Awesome!
What Mahar's lacks in pub food, they more than make up with beer variety. Mahar's key feature is their beer inventory that intends to take the average beer drinker on, what they call, a World Tour of beers. This is an excellent place to develop taste for world renown beer culture.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Mor Rob Mor, Albany, NY
(12/17/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!
Mahar's, my second home. The beer selection's great, from the six cask beer engines to the 30 odd taps to the hundreds of bottles. And more impressively, their menues are up to date (which is more than I can say for some of the biggest beer bars, where you might have to order three things before you hit on one they actually have). And for those that complain about the food, they haven't tried it. There's not a lot of selection, just whatever toasties (pressed sandwiches), meat pies and cheeses they happen to have that night but I've never tried anything I haven't loved and just the smell of the sandwiches or the pies getting warmed up is enough to make my mouth water. So come in, make your way to the back, print your list, make your selection, step up a service area, wait your turn, order your beer with a please and a thank you and settle back for a quaff. You'll be glad you did.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mirdreams Mirdreams, Latham, NY
(10/21/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Lousy Awesome! Awesome!
Best Beer selection in Albany, Awesome atmosphere, terrible terrible food, because they don't care, if you want food go next door to juniors for awesome wings and nachos!! I would highly recommend their sort of sister bar Man of Kent out on route 7. For all the Whiners who are complaining about Bill its because they aren't regulars, Bill is the man, He likes to make fun and if you don't find him funny please go somewhere else so there is more room for the rest of us having a great time. lol. You probably stand at the bar after you order or go up to the bar without knowing what you want... I extend no sympathy. If you can stick it out long enough to get the Tshirt then I am sure you will come around. But seriously, if your not having a good time leave more room for me...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from D Nasty D Nasty, Loudonville, NY
(09/28/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
One of the highlights on a recent beer tour with friends. Lots of great Middle Ages beers on hand pull: Duke, Dragonslayer, ImPaled, Imperial Porter; all were excellent and well kept. After a while we couldn't get enough of the Youngs Double Chocolate Stout so we just stuck with that. Vibe a lot less stifling than in previous visits and as described in previous posts, perhaps an anomaly or a good sign. Wrap it up by grabbing some great Thai food a few doors down and you've got yourself a great evening!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/13/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Lousy Good
So the place has a million beers and beer nerds can appreciate the place. What far outweighs that for me is the lousy personality of the service. The people behind the bar the several times I've been there have been uniformly unpleasant, rude, and even combative with me, as I order.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Albany, NY
(06/16/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Lousy Lousy
Uh, the owner has been told a hundred times. His answer is, "Find somewhere else to drink."

OK. Will do.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Wally Karpinsky Wally Karpinsky, Albany, NY
(06/04/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Lousy So So
Great bar when Bill isn't there. I never knew that having such a POS bartender could ruin an otherwise enjoyable experience.

Someone should really tell the owner (if bill really isn't such) to read these reviews and fire bill

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike , slingerlands, NY
(06/01/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Lousy Lousy
The Hickster Dufus is not the owner of the bar as much as he likes to tell you. Check for your self:

http://abc.state.ny.us/

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Albany, NY
(10/21/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Bill (The grumpy bartender) is the owner of the bar, he's actually a funny and outgoing guy once he decides you're not there to kick rattlesnakes in his bar.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeremy Jeremy, Albany, NY
(09/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A So So Great
Best Beer Bar in Albany, bar none, in this (Texas) barman's humble opinion. Despite the guy who seems to hate the place in the previous review, this remains a great bar, with an amazing selection of beer, priced well and fairly, by the way. Another visit last trip to Albany showed the place still in fine form.

If you want bland fizzy lager and super-discount beer specials like some damn college bar, find one. There are a couple of dozen within a few miles and they probably have more pleasant bartenders. If you want food, find a restaurant--there's one next door in fact. If you want several cask conditioned ales, great draft beer and a wide variety of hard to find bottles, try Mahar's

This place has a guy who knows beer, likes beer and serves good beer. He doesn't seem to like people who come in looking for Miller Lite, nor people who belly up to a busy bar packed with people and don't have any idea what they want. I feel his pain. The customer is NOT always right--sometimes the customer is a pain in the ass who should find another bar.

Me, I'll ask his advice on new beers, and quaff old favorites every time I'm in Albany.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve B. (Irish Pub Guy) Steve B. (Irish Pub Guy), Austin, TX
(08/18/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Lousy Lousy
The latest issue of "All About Beer" magazine has an article, "What are the Secrets of a Great Beer Bar." Sure enough theres the Brickskeller at number one. Then they go on to mention the Horse Brass Pub (Portland OR), The Ginger Man (multiple locations), Flying Saucer Draught Emporium (all great places), Capital Ale House (Richmond). One and on. What, no Mahar's? I guess looking down your nose at your patrons, posting The Rooooools, overpricing your beers, and not paying your distributors doesn't qualify you. Oh dear. The Drool Brothers are going to be so upset. Isn't this the Best Bar in America?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from T. Wayne Lucas III T. Wayne Lucas III, Albany, NY
(08/02/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Catching up on some old trips; and my last visit to Mahar's. I've always tried the casks when here, in fact this was the first time I had a regular draft as well. Middle Ages was well represented on cask and there wasn't a bum in the lot. Wizard's Winter was malty, with slight apple notes, while Kilt Tilter had a great caramel nose and whiskey/prune hints throughout. Dragonslayer on cask was very appealing--for as big as it is, it's very drinkable; hops noticable too! Captain Lawrence Imperial IPA was super, one of the best beers I've had in a while. A big beer that doesn't let the balance suffer. I'm hoping that I was the patron Bob Monroe referred to in the last review. A great drinking partner to be sure. That's the wonderful thing about beer; it gets people from all places together with a common goal!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(02/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
Last night was my first Mahar's experience...and it won't be my last.

The beer list was overwhelming but a friendly patron steered me toward the cask brews. I spent the next few hours experiencing good drink, good conversation and some decent food. The staff was great and not at all what I had been led to expect from some reviews I have read and comments from some people who had been there.

Mahar's is definitely my go-to spot for now on!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Monroe Robert Monroe, Schenectady, NY
(12/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
People really need to stop whining about "licensed beer" and the attitude of the beer purveyor. As far as the beer is concerned, that is like calling the cops on someone who smoked a cuban cigar. Get a life person. As for the bartender, if you don't go to mahar's with that cheap beer looking, booty-bar wanting type mentality then the bartenders will like you just fine. I go to mahar's weekly every week possible. Excellent beer, excellent bar. And the bartender will nicely make fun of you occasionally once he gets to know your foibles. If you want something about as close as you are going to get to a good ol' Irish pub with conversation and celebration, head to Mahar's!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kieran Kieran, Delmar, NY
(12/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Ya the bartender can come off as kind of a snob but I love Mahar's I go there every Wed. night with my buddies. I live right around the corner so its an easy walk home. The beer is excelent and the print out makes it so easy. Stop complaining about the bartender and go with your beer loving group to throw back some good beers and talk about good memories.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James Vize James Vize, Lake Placid, NY
(10/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Lousy Good
I have been to Mahar's 3 times. I would go more probably except I live an hour north. This place could be so much better if the bartender was like normal bartenders and would like a tip. He is very knowledgeable but provides poor service and is the grumpiest bartender I've ever seen. He should change professions. You do not feel as if you are welcome because of the awful attitude of the bartender. I don't understand it because it is such a unique bar and a bartender should be able to make terrific money with the amount of knowledge about beer he has. I have a hard time giving him a tip because he comes across as a jerk. If you are looking to taste a huge variety of beers from all over the world and can put up with the attitude, it is a place worth visiting.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Foster Craig Foster, Warrensburg, NY
(09/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
While living in The Capital District in the mid 90's, I discovered beer heaven here. Their Monday night music events with local jazz guitar master Chuck Deloia and CD3 mates were the stuff of legend. So was their owner's drive to get beer that NO ONE on the east coast had at that time. Couple that with their "incentives" of free cases of beer once you had tried two or three hundred of their offerings and their ingenious database that kept track of what you had consumed, man, it just didn't get any better than that. So the owner got older and couldn't manage the place with the same eagle-eye so he found a new partner who likes to dish biker-attitude with the same passion he has for the beer. If you ever got to know the owner, you'd surely get attitude that rivals his assistant, so the bloodline continues... Bottom line: I rank this among the 5 BEST BARS IN THE U.S. A bar without attitude? Leave those joints for the non-initiated!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Redwood City, CA
(08/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
After getting to Mahar's for the first time just last year, there was no way I'd miss a follow-up visit when in Albany again. And just like last time, I stuck pretty much to the casks (AND wasn't disappointed!). Brooklyn IPA on cask was a new treat for me, as were the British and Middle Ages casks I also tried. Owner was on the stick for the first hour or so, serving a gathering crowd of beer fans. Certainly not as annoying as the ponytailed felolow I experienced last time. Still up there in my "Best of" list for beer bars anywhere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! So So Good Awesome!
I'd disregard the disgruntled reviewer spouting laws and ordinances. Jeesh! Life is too short to grumble about a bar's potential non-compliance with some picayune regulation. What is Mahar's? A great little bar with great beers.

This place has an incredible beer selection, a great atmosphere and a barman or two that know beer, even if they don't "suffer fools gladly." If I wanted a restaurant I'd go to one. I don't expect Jack's Oyster House to serve up 3 or 4 different IPAs either. I had a great and friendly chat with one of the guys about life, beer, the universe and everything all the while quaffing some delightful beers and Christmas ales with family. It is a must visit destination for me whenever I visit from Texas--I used to live 2 blocks from the place. If it was open then I might have never left NY.

Oh by the way, I manage an Irish pub now in TX, so I KNOW about bullshit rules and regulations put in place by state and local authoritites. Surely there are more significant things for law enforcement to pursue than an "unregistered" beer? GROW UP. Enjoy a great beer in a great little bar and take comfort in the fact that there are no dry counties in NY!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Basile Steve Basile, Austin, TX
(06/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good So So Awesome!
Can crawl home from this beer paradise. It's on top of some national lists. Nowhere I've been in USA (including NYC) compares, and I've been on hunt for many years. You will find huge constantly changing selection - about 25 fresh beers of all ilks with some guaranteed gems and many hundreds in glass. Bartenders can provide good beer info when they're in the mood. I agree with previous reviews on the moodiness of the owners/crew. Be prepared for cranky or even rude treatment. However, conversation with other customers is highly recommended - this place always has interesting visiters. I say DO NOT MISS MAHAR'S if you're the vicinity.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Albany, NY
(04/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great
Too bad the person before was such a sour apple, if its so bad then don't come back.

Anyway, on to the bar itself, yes, it is hit or miss with service, but who doen't have good and bad days? The beer selection itself, legal or illegal is awesome! I'm a newbie, closing in on 50 beers myself, but I'm looking to get to the 3 and 4 digit range one day as well.

If you want some nice food for free, go on a Saturday, that's when locals and non-locals bring all sorts of goodies and just leave them for anyone to munch on. there have been some incredible things there and its always different. But its always worth it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill McIntyre Bill McIntyre, Coxsackie, NY
(04/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Lousy N/A
You’ve all been to Mahar’s right – the place with the “rules”. They sure like to make the rules, too bad they don’t know how follow the rules. There are a few little nuggets that the NY State Liquor Authority requires bar owners to follow, like 9 NYCRR 84, and subdivision 3-b of section 102 of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Law that says all licensees must purchase alcoholic beverages for resale from a person duly licensed to sell same for retail. And (to quote), “Every brand of beer sold in NY State MUST be registered with the NY State Liquor Authority”. But seeing as they owe so much money to local distributors, driving across state lines to acquire beer might be the only way they can re-stock.

Mahar’s has a “RW” License, meaning Restaurant Wine. By definition, “License for on-premises consumption of wine and beer in a place where food is prepared in such quantities that the sale of wine and beer is not the prime source of revenue.” The last time I was in the place I recall seeing a sign that said something along the lines of, “This is a BEER BAR. Do not come here looking to eat. There will be food if and when we feel like making it.” There’s a surprise.

This is the same place that pissed and moaned about the smoking regulations, but themselves banned cigars and clove cigarettes long before the smoking ban went into effect. This is the typical hypocrisy you can expect there. “We don’t care about you – just us,” is their motto.

Mahar’s was a great place years ago with great people working there. Then they brought in the Hickster Dufus behind the bar to look down his nose at you, drop names and pretend he has a clue. Eight people with the bar growing out of the elbow are still whining about Richard Nixon and lamenting the fact the Mario Cuomo was the greatest Governor since Alfred E. Smith was in diapers (uh, if you’re not from New York, Mario Cuomo destroyed this state). Another has to pontificate on her pronunciation of “Dubya” in every other sentence. Don’t come into this place unless you tow the hard Liberal line, but if you’re brave enough ask how many NY Assembly members (all Democrats) have been thrown in jail (along with their top Counsel) in the past couple of years.

Let’s see, $150 fine for every beer not registered with the State Liquor Authority. Cha-ching! I’m sure the investigators left with one of those nifty computerized beer printouts they’re so proud of - sure will make it easy to tally up the damages. Gee, the Drool Brothers on the other beer site are going to be so disappointed when the “Best Bar in America” is no more.

SLAinte!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eflee Bailey Eflee Bailey, Albany, NY
(03/08/2006)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.382 seconds) 02:51:15 107.22.78.233, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS