PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Old Toad - Rochester, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 24, 2014 @ 06:21 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Rochester > Old Toad
Old Toad Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Old Toad
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 82.3 / 100
277 Alexander Street
Rochester, NY 14607
United States
(585) 232-2626
Listed Since: April 1996
Last Updated: May 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Rochester, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
17 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun 05:00PM - 02:00AM
Mon 11:30AM - 02:00AM
Tue 11:30AM - 02:00AM
Wed 11:30AM - 02:00AM
Thu 11:30AM - 02:00AM
Fri 11:30AM - 02:00AM
Sat 12:00PM - 02:00AM

alternatives
(22 within 5 miles)
1) California Rollin' Sushi Bar
(0 mile)

2) Acme Bar and Pizza
(0 mile)

3) Monty's Korner
(1 mile)

4) Salinger's Bar and Grill
(1 mile)

5) Abilene Bar and Lounge
(1 mile)

6) Monty's Korner
(1 mile)

7) Shea's Brewery
(1 mile)

8) High Falls Brewing Company
(1 mile)

9) Distillery
(2 miles)

10) Elmwood Inn
(2 miles)

11) Tap and Mallet
(2 miles)

12) Monty's Krown
(2 miles)

13) Jeremiah's Tavern
(2 miles)

14) Rohrbach's Railroad Street Brewery
(2 miles)

15) Johnny's Irish Pub
(2 miles)

16) Otter Lodge Pub and Grill
(3 miles)

17) Flour City Brewing, Incorporated
(5 miles)

18) J. B. Quimby's Public House
(5 miles)

19) MacGregor's Grill and Tap Room
(5 miles)

20) The Distillery
(5 miles)

21) California Brew Haus
(5 miles)

22) The Distillery
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) A Bed & Breakfast At Dartmouth
2) Bed & Breakfast-428 MT Vernon
3) Edward Harris House B & B Inn
4) Executive Manor
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) CLARION RIVERSIDE HOTEL
2) COURTYARD ROCHESTER BRIGHTON
3) DAYS INN ROCHESTER DOWNTOWN
4) EXTENDEDSTAY HENRIETTA
5) HAMPTON INN ROCHESTER SOUTH
6) HYATT REGENCY ROCHESTER
7) INN ON BROADWAY
8) WELLESLEY INN ROCHESTER SOUTH
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Andrews Street Bridge
2) Anthony, Susan B., House
3) Bevier Memorial Building
4) Brick Presbyterian Church Complex
5) Brown, Adam, Block
6) Building at 551--555 North Goodman Street
7) Campbell-Whittlesey House
8) Chamber of Commerce
9) Child, Jonathan, House & Brewster-Burke House Historic District
10) City Hall Historic District
11) Cohen, H. C., Company Building--Andrews Building
12) Court Exchange Building--National Casket Company
13) Court Street Bridge
14) Cox Building
15) Dewey, Chester, School No. 14
16) East High School
17) Eastman Dental Dispensary
18) Edwards Building
19) Ely, Hervey, House
20) Emmanuel Presbyterian Church
21) English Evangelical Church of the Reformation and Parish House
22) Erie Canal: Second Genesee Aqueduct
23) Federal Building
24) First National Bank of Rochester--Old Monroe County Savings Bank Building
25) First Presbyterian Church
26) First Universalist Church
27) Gannett Building
28) German United Evangelical Church Complex
29) Granite Building
30) Grove Place Historic District
31) Hagaman, David, House
32) House at 235--237 Reynolds Street
33) Immaculate Conception Roman Catholic Church Complex
34) Immanuel Baptist Church
35) Jewish Young Men's and Women's Association
36) Kirstein Building
37) Lehigh Valley Railroad Station
38) Leopold Street Shule
39) Little Theatre
40) Lomb, Adolph, House
41) Main Street Bridge
42) Michaels--Stern Building
43) National Company Building
44) Naval Armory--Convention Hall
45) Nazareth House
46) O'Kane Market and O'Kane Building
47) O'Kane Market and O'Kane Building
48) Old Stone Warehouse
49) Our Lady of Victory Roman Catholic Church
50) Powers Building
51) Pulaski Library
52) Reynolds Arcade
53) Rochester City School #24
54) Rochester Fire Department Headquarters and Shops
55) Rochester Fire Department Headquarters and Shops
56) Rochester Savings Bank
57) Rundel Memorial Library
58) Sibley Triangle Building
59) Spring House
60) St. Joseph Roman Catholic Church and Rectory
61) St. Mary's Roman Catholic Church and Rectory
62) St. Paul-North Water Streets Historic District
63) State Street Historic District
64) Stone-Tolan House
65) United Congregational Church of Irondequoit
66) University Club
67) Vanderbeck House
68) Wallace, Timothy, House
69) Warner, H. H., Building
70) Washington Street Rowhouses
71) Watts, Ebenezer, House
72) Wilder Building
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 2 Vine
2) A Little Twist Of Soul
3) Abbott's Frozen Custard
4) Abbott's Frozen Custard
5) Abyssnia Restaurant
6) Acme Bar & Pizza
7) Afro American Club
8) Al's Green Tavern
9) Aladdins Natural Eatery
10) Alex's Cafe
11) Alexander Street Pub
12) Alexandria's Mediterranean Csn
13) All City
14) Angermayr's
15) Arby's
16) Arby's
17) Aria By Portobello
18) Atlanta Bread Co
19) Atomic Eggplant
20) Auditorium Center
21) Avenue Pub
22) Avenue.Net Cafe & Deli
23) B & C Deli
24) Baba Emad
25) Bacco's Ristorante
26) Bachelor Forum
27) Bagel Bin
28) Bangkok Restaurant
29) Barrister's Pub & Meeting Pl
30) Basha
31) Basta Pasta
32) Bay & Goodman Pizza
33) Bay Tree Restaurant
34) Beale Street Cafe
35) Bee Licious Foods
36) Bennigan's Grill & Tavern
37) Big Apple Cafe
38) Bill Gray's
39) Bill Gray's
40) Binky's
41) Blue Room
42) Boom
43) Brownsteins Deli & Bakery
44) Bug Jar
45) Buon Giorno Cafe
46) Burger King
47) Busy Bee Restaurant
48) C J's Soups
49) Cafe Cibon
50) Caffe Della Arti
51) California Rollin
52) Canopy's
53) Carl's Catering
54) Caroll's Restaurant
55) Casava Jamaican Restaurant
56) Cathay Pagoda Restaurant
57) Center At High Falls
58) Center Stage Cafe
59) Central Park Family Diner
60) Chang Lung Chinese Restaurant
61) Charlie Brown's Restaurant
62) Charlie Riedel's Fast Food
63) Charlie's Frog Pond
64) Chasers
65) Cheryl's Catering
66) Chester Cab Pizza
67) Chet's Main Event
68) Chicken Tom's
69) Christopher's Time Square
70) Chu's Kitchen
71) Classic Fare Catering
72) Classy Cookie & Delicatessen
73) Cny Blimpie Developement Co
74) Cobbs Hill Pizza & Pasta
75) Corn Hill Cookery Ltd
76) Country Sweet Chicken & Ribs
77) Crocodile Rock Cafe
78) Cutler's Restaurant
79) Dac Hoa Restaurant
80) Daily Perks
81) Damian's
82) Danny's East End Cafe
83) Darlene's Pantry
84) Dashen Restaurant
85) Dew E Sub
86) Dicky's Restaurant
87) Dinosaur Bar-B-Que
88) Dodie's Jump Cafe
89) Domino's Pizza
90) Domino's Pizza
91) Drinks By Marydawn
92) Eastman Lounge
93) Edibles
94) Edwards Restaurant
95) El Conquistador Restaurant
96) Elixir
97) Enigma Bar
98) Enright's Thirst Parlor
99) Esan Thai Restaurant
100) Esan Thai Restaurant
101) Executive Deli
102) Fast Chinese Restaurant
103) Fast Eddie's Bar & Grill
104) First Taste Grill
105) Fitz & Hugh Deli
106) Five Pac Inc
107) Five50pub
108) Formula One Caterers
109) Fruit & Salad Co
110) Fruit & Salad Co
111) Fuzhou China Restaurant
112) G & G Steak Out
113) G Q
114) Galleria Pizza
115) Garden Restaurant
116) Gatherings At The Inn Broadway
117) German House
118) Gina's Old Fashioned Subs
119) Golden Dynasty Restaurant
120) Golden Fox Restaurant
121) Golden Port Dim Sun
122) Gregorio's Mobile Food Svc
123) Grill & Greens
124) Grill At Water Street
125) Grinnell's Restaurant
126) He's Chinese & Japanese Rstrnt
127) Heritage House Of Rochester
128) High Falls Deli & Cafe
129) Highland Park Diner
130) Hitchcock's
131) Hogans Hideaway
132) Hunan Wok
133) India Cafe
134) India House
135) India House
136) India House Store
137) India Palace
138) J D Oxford's
139) J W Prepp & Co LTD
140) James Brown's Place
141) Java Joe's Coffee Experience
142) Java's Cafe
143) Jeremiah's Tavern
144) Jerry's Family Restaurant
145) Jillian's
146) Jines Restaurant
147) Jing Li Chinese Food
148) Joey's
149) Juan & Maria's Chuckwagon
150) Julienne
151) Karma
152) KCT Noodles Restaurant
153) Keys Piano Bar
154) Kfc
155) Kim's Asia
156) Kim's Carnival Creams
157) Kobay Japanese Restaurant
158) L J's II Jamaican Cuisine
159) La Delfa's Olde Tavern
160) LA Parada
161) La Tinaja
162) Lacagnina Italian Deli
163) Lamartina's
164) Le Lemon Grass
165) Leave It To Us Catering
166) Legal Lunches
167) Lin's Garden
168) Little Venice Pizza
169) Lloyd's Bar & Grille
170) Lola Bistro
171) Long & Sons Inc
172) Loop Lounge & Kitchens
173) Lorraine's Catering
174) Lorraine's Lunch Basket
175) Lorraines Lunch Basket Express
176) Luca Pizza
177) Lux Lounge
178) Lylou Food Express
179) Mac Gregor's Grill & Tap Room
180) Magnolia's Market & Deli Inc
181) Mamasan Restaurant
182) Mark's Pizzeria
183) Mark's Texas Hots
184) Martini Grille
185) Matteson Avenue
186) Matthew's East End Grill
187) Max Of Eastman Place
188) Mc Curdy & Co Inc
189) Mc Donald's
190) Mc Donald's
191) Mc Donald's
192) Mc Fadden's
193) Mc Gillicuty's Cafe
194) Metro Ultra Lounge
195) Mex Restaurant
196) Milestones Restaurant & Music
197) Ming's II
198) Ming's Take Out
199) Mitch's Restaurant
200) Model Lunch
201) Monroe Gitsis Texas Hots
202) Monroe Hots
203) Monroe's Restaurant
204) Monty's Korner
205) Monty's Krown
206) Mr Shoes Pizza
207) Muther's 40 Union
208) Mykonos
209) Mykonos Express
210) Nasty D's
211) Nathan's Old Fashion Soups
212) Net Effect
213) Oasis Mediterranean Bistro
214) Old Toad
215) Olive Tree
216) On The Rock Ny Grill
217) Open Face
218) Opus 25 Restaurant & Bar
219) Otter Lodge
220) Our Dining Place
221) Palladio Restaurant
222) Palladio Restaurant
223) Paola's Burrito Place
224) Paradise Alley
225) Park & Oxford Cafe & Deli
226) Park 54
227) Park Avenue Pub
228) Park Bench Back Alley Bar
229) Pat's Coffee Mug
230) Pearl
231) Pelligrino's Deli Cafe
232) Penguin Restaurant
233) Pepsi-Cola Bottling Co
234) Pita Pit
235) Pizza Gourmet & Regular Pizza
236) Pizza Hut
237) Pizza Hut
238) Pizza Stop
239) Plaza Coffee Shop
240) Plum House Japanese
241) Pomodoro Grill
242) Pontillo's Pizza & Pasta
243) Pontillo's Pizza & Pasta
244) R Pizzeria
245) Raj Mahal
246) Red Front
247) Richmonds
248) Rio Bamba
249) Roc Ny Market Deli
250) Rochester Club Ballroom
251) Rocky Mountain Pizza Kitchen
252) Rogers House Restaurant
253) Rooney's Restaurant
254) Rosey's Italian Cafe
255) Rubino's Imported Italian Food
256) Rubino's Imported Italian Food
257) Rund's The Catering Div
258) S & T Lounge
259) Sal's New York Pizzeria
260) Salena's
261) Salena's Mexican Taqueria
262) Salinger's Bar & Grill
263) Savory Thyme Catering Svc
264) Sesame Garden
265) Shiki Japanese Restaurant
266) Sienna Grill & Bar
267) Sinbad's Mediterranean Cuisine
268) Skippy's Vegeterian Restaurant
269) Slice Of Life Cafe
270) Snuffy Magees Sports Emporium
271) Soho East
272) Southwedge Diner
273) Special Events Catering
274) Spike's
275) Spin Caffe
276) Spin Caffe
277) Spin Caffe
278) Sports Page Restaurant & Bar
279) Spot Coffee Rochester Cafe
280) Stan's Coffee Break Restaurant
281) Stan's Coffee Break Restaurant
282) Starbucks Coffee Co
283) Starbucks Coffee Co
284) Starry Nites Cafe LLC
285) Starz Cafe
286) Steak World
287) Stock Exchange Restaurant
288) Streppa's Bistro
289) Stromboli Express
290) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
291) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
292) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
293) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
294) Sue's Place
295) Superb Catering
296) Supper Program
297) Sweet Dawn
298) Sweet Dawn
299) Swillburg Bar & Grill Rest
300) Tapas One Seventy Seven
301) Tara Cocktail Lounge
302) Tavern 26
303) Theatre Confections Inc
304) Tiki Bob's Cantina
305) Toasted Head Bar & Grill
306) Tonic
307) Triphammer Grill
308) TU Casa Restaurant
309) Two Paisans Pizza
310) Uncle Li's Chinese Restaurant
311) Uptown Pizza Cafe
312) Veneto Woodfired Pizza & Pasta
313) Vertex Club Of Rochester
314) Vesuvio Restaurant
315) Village Hut & Restaurant
316) Wang's
317) Warfield's Restaurant
318) Water Street Music Hall
319) Wendy's
320) Wendy's
321) Win Wah Chinese Restrnt
322) Women's Coffee Connection
323) Woody's
324) Yangtze Chinese Restaurant
325) Yangtze Chinese Restaurant
326) Yangtze Chinese Restaurant
327) Yumbo's
328) Zebb's Deluxe Grill & Bar
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great
Well, whether this place conforms to a true British pub or not, it does have a lot of little seating areas that can be individual (1 to 2 people) or put together to form a long table of 10-15 people. I came here for the beer selection and it definitely fits the bill for that. There are a number of local/craft beers plus imported beers on tap, not to mention the large number of beer available in the bottle. Be careful when ordering a Caesar salad, it didn't resemble that at all with the spinach leaves and onions. The place was packed for a Monday night, but that was probably due to the Quiz/Trivia Night. Definitely a must do if in Rochester.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matthew J. Reid Matthew J. Reid, Vancouver, WA
(09/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Hi Beav -- I don't want to use this site as a personal communication vehicle but how about letting me know when you're coming to Rochester again. I'd enjoy having a couple pints with you and comparing notes on pubs and beers. You can reach me at stevetut@hotmail.com. Maybe Bill Laubert could join us too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Tuttle Steve Tuttle, Geneseo, NY
(03/22/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Points well taken, Steve--I'll defer to your knowledge of the true British pub vibe. I probably made my comments by way of comparison to the "pubs in a kit" that seem to spring up just about everywhere. I do believe it is a whole lot better than those others, and obviously much better (if only for the real ales) than 90% of the rest. I'll be in Rochester again soon and will take a better look (feel?) around as I enjoy the brews! Cheers!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(03/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Some further thoughts on the "authenticity" of the Old Toad - don't get me wrong, I like the pub and it has some great beers - particularly the real ales. Having English staff is a cool feature but the place definitely lacks the essential character of the real thing. Beav and Bill are obviously very knowledgable beer fans, but have you guys ever spent any significant time in a cross section of rural and urban British pubs? If not, what are you basing your your statements on? If so, you should understand my point. Others I've talked with who have traveled in Britain agree with my "issues" with the Toad's claim of being an authentic pub. It's kind of like an "American Diner" I ran into in Vienna a few years ago. It had all the cliche props and trappings, etc. but totally missed the real character of a diner and had a weird, unnatural feel to it. I let it off the hook though because it didn't proclaim itself to be authentic. The Toad does, and hence my gripe. Great real ale though!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Tuttle Steve Tuttle, Geneseo, NY
(03/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
First time visit was for lunch on 12/26. Hard to describe as I've never been to a place quite like this. Was not very busy when I visited, Just a few tables of seniors who all seemed to be complaining about their meals. I found my meal of Shepherd's Pie to be satisfactory but thought that it could use a better side than frozen peas and undercooked fries. Ruth the server was efficient but seemed to lack personality or friendliness. Decent beer selection with Sierra Nevada IPA being my choice of draft. Doubt that I would ever become a regular here but would be receptive to future visits. Probably would opt for bar seating rather than the dining area the next time. Worth a stop to check out. ADD a bonus point for having a good supply of Great Lakes Brewing News for their customers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim S. Jim S., Wayland, NY
(01/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
If you enjoy a good hand pulled beer, be sure to stop by the Old Toad, and hope it's your lucky day. I say that because sometimes they're down to one (or on one of my stops there--none!). But if the gods are smiling upon you, all the engines are running and you're in for some treats. No English casks my last stop, but they did have Phin & Matt's from S. Tier, Flying Bison Oatmeal Stout, and Middle Ages Pale. Yum! Did my part for the cause and turned some folks onto casks who were looking for a stout, they seemed to enjoy it! One convert at a time...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(09/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Awesome!
I used to go to The Old Toad when I was in college, but I didn't know it was brand new at the time. I've been gone from Western New York for eight years and recently returned to the Old Toad for a visit. I loved it as much as ever. I thoroughly enjoyed my Old Speckled Hen, John Courage, and Strongbow. I had a sampler of the cask conditioned ales as well, which was educational. Aside from the novelty of being British, the servers are also great in a professional capacity (Go Laura!). I remembered the food being okay, and it still is. . . okay.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Rindge, NH
(06/29/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
It is an authentic English pub, right down to the staff. Native Brits travel here to do internships as part of their studies at home. Talked to some of the students who had been here less than a week and they already commented how great their experience was going to be. There are 14 taps and 3-4 casks usually operating. I agree with Bill about the DeRanke XX Bitter. Here's a good bar bet--get an English Ale lover one, and ask him where this beer comes from. Unless he's wise to it, Belgium would not be his answer. But also be sure to try the cask beers--Middle Ages Beast Bitter on the hand pump, yummmmm! A great place, even with the hassles to park when it's busy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Great Great
The Old Toad is as close to an 'authentic British pub' as your going to get in the US--and still get Americans to go to it. I was there yesterday (8/6/04) for the first time. Parking is a "royal" pain but once I found a spot and got in the pub I forgot all about the parking. The service is very friendly. On tap: XX Bitter, Dogfish Head 60 min, Custom Brewhouse Raspberry, Old Thumper, Wolavers Witt, Strongbow, Custom Brewhouse Ale, CB Nut Brown, Old Specled Hen, Guiness, Heiniken (how ever that is spelled). Hand pumped--Flying Bison aviator red and pale ale as well as CB Cream Porter. There were a few others on the other side of the bar that I couldn't see. There seemed to be a variety of bottled beer available but I didn't see a list or a beer menu. When you go, you must try the XX Bitter. It is from Belgium and very hoppy by Eurpean standards. It has a really nice combo of the traditional Belgian style but loaded with hops. It's a bit pricey for western NY ($6 glass) but well worth it. The only thing that disapointed was the food. I ordered a sandwich--roast beef--they're named after subway stops in London and I don't remember what mine was called. Anyway, It came with chips. There was a layer of chips on the plate with a sandwich that had one thin piece of roast beef. I wasn't too impressed. I will certainly go back for the beer, service and atmosphere, but I'll dine elsewhere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(08/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Not long after my last review, I stopped by the Old Toad with a friend who wanted to check it out. I was pleasantly surprised to find the beer selection much improved since my last visit.There are more micro's on tap and a good selection of bottles.To be fair, I felt I needed to revise that aspect of my previous review.However,I stand by my comments re: the authenticity of the place.There's much more to a real pub atmosphere than imported plates, dart boards, and mass produced posters on the walls.It doesn't have the feel of a real British pub.Go there for some good beer, but don't think it's a transplanted piece of England.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Steve Tuttle, Geneseo, NY
(05/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
The best local in town by far. Ever changing beers that are always fresh and cater to a lot of tastes. Great English pub atmosphere with British servers thrown in. Almost all of the fixtures and fittings have been directly imported from the UK. The real ale are great. Alot of fresh local casks are usually on offer with some imports thrown in. Do yourself a favour and check this place out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review John Matthews, Rochester, NY
(05/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Good
First let me say that I stop at the Toad periodically and have enjoyed their mini-British real ale fests over the years.However, those on this site who rave about this place being an "authentic" British pub have obviously never been to England to experience the real thing.I have many times and there are few things in life I enjoy more than a pint in a real pub.The Toad is kind of a cartoon version of a British pub,employing every possible cliche and prop.In short, it tries too hard to be what it isn't.Except for the real ales, the beer choices are unexciting,unless you're one of those who think Boddingtons and Guinness are world class beers.They do always have a few I enjoy, but the selection could be much better(and cheaper).The British staff are usually great and the manager,Joe,tends the real ales very well.One thing I've never gotten used to is the ever present background smell of disinfectant.It's worth a visit but the beer is better down the street at Monty's Korner.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Steve Tuttle, Geneseo, NY
(05/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Great selection of quality beers and cask conditioned ales. Food is great with generous portions at very reasonable prices. Staff are very friendly. If you haven't been to The Old Toad, you are missing a great place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Rawson Jim Rawson, Rochester, NY
(12/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
The Toad has been a mainstay beer bar in Rochester for 10+ years and for good reason. Good selection of quality draughts and several engines for real ales. A recent visit finds an oak firkin atop the bar dispensing (by gravity) a fine, fresh real ale. Authentic English pub atmosphere. Highly recommended.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Rochester, NY
(05/03/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A Great Great Great
Very informed staff, this coming from a newcomer to the English ales.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Adam Lynch Adam Lynch, Rochester, NY
(05/07/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Cripps Tim Cripps, Rochester, NY
(03/13/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
English pub, 3 beers on hand pump, all English staff

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Buffalo, NY
(12/25/1997)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.534 seconds) 06:21:55 50.16.112.199, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS