PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Bixler's Lodge - Reading, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 24, 2014 @ 05:54 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Reading > Bixler's Lodge
Bixler's Lodge Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Bixler's Lodge
Overall: Great    Score: 76.3 / 100
1456 Friedensburg Road
Reading, PA 19606
United States
(610) 779-9936
Listed Since: April 1996
Last Updated: October 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Reading, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
19 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(6 within 5 miles)
1) Northeast Taproom
(3 miles)

2) Legacy Brewing (was Neversink and was Fancy Pants)
(3 miles)

3) Canal Street Pub and Restaurant
(3 miles)

4) The Brass Lantern
(3 miles)

5) Brewery Inn
(3 miles)

6) Union Jack's on the Manatawny
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Reiff Farm Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BW DUTCH COLONY INN AND SUITES
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Allegheny Aqueduct
2) Bethel A.M.E. Church
3) Bishop, John, House
4) City Hall
5) Cotton and Maple Streets School
6) Grimshaw Silk Mill
7) Hampden Firehouse
8) Lincoln, Mordecai, House
9) Lindbergh Viaduct
10) Lutz, John F., Furniture Co. & Funerary
11) Mill Tract Farm
12) Pagoda
13) Red Men Hall
14) Snyder Mill
15) St. Michael's Protestant Episcopal Church, Parish House and Rectory
16) Wanner, Peter, Mansion
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Alebrije Mexican Restaurant
2) Anthony's Trattoria
3) Antique Airplane Restaurant
4) Argento's Restaurant
5) Bertie's Inn
6) Best China Chef
7) Bistro On The Green
8) Bixler's Lodge
9) Bowl-Grille Restaurant
10) Bruno's Pizza Restaurant
11) C & R Sandwiches-Salads
12) Cafe Stratton
13) Chat-A-While Inn
14) China Penn Restaurant
15) Crystal Catering By Sis Edward
16) D'Acosta Catering
17) Domino's Pizza
18) Esposito's Restaurant & Pizza
19) Exeter Sports Bar & Grille
20) Frank & Diannah's Arbor Inn
21) Franks Pizza
22) Giovanna's Pizza
23) Giulio's Italian Eatery
24) Good Friends Catering
25) Jake's Of Mt Penn
26) Lou Ees
27) Mandarin Wok
28) Mar's Original Charcoal Chef
29) Mount Penn Family Restaurant
30) Mulligan's Bar & Grill
31) Musso's Restaurant
32) O' Malley Family Restaurant
33) Papa John's Pizza
34) Pennside Drive In
35) Pizza Hut
36) Reading Country Club
37) Reiffton Fire Co
38) Rita's Italian Ice
39) Schmeck's Villa
40) Speedies Dinette
41) V & S Sandwich Shop
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy Good So So
I've been a patron of this establishment for over 40 years. My recent dining experience was really poor. They obviously have made substantial changes to their kitchen. Bixler's used to offer the best fried shrimp dish in the area. No longer. The oyster gumbo was undercooked and had very little taste for a gumbo. What a pity.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Schmehl Craig Schmehl, Reading, PA
(11/17/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Been going to Bixler's over 30 years. Present owner, Brian, is the best. Excellent menu selection,reasonable prices, great waitresses (Ms. Cheryl), great bartender (Mr. Andy)along with excellent service and sports commentary and humor at the bar. A rustic place to dine especially in the fall, winter and spring with the fireplace going.

Mr. and Mrs. GR

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. R. G. R., Reading, PA
(09/15/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Been a Bixler's fan for over 25 years. NEVER had a bad meal and NEVER had a problem with service. This place is my home away from home and, in my opinion, one of Berks County's treasures.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Karen Karen, Reading, PA
(09/14/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Lousy Lousy
What can I say about our crummy service? Our waitress seemed only to work the tables of what appeared to be regular customers. She would walk right past our table, past our empty glasses and wing plates (all you can eat night). The three of us drove almost an hour out the way to come and enjoy the wings and some brew. Frankly, my time would have been better spent on the toilet. Several tables arrived after us, yet they were waited and served long before we got our dinners. The waitresses could be seen talking with all the apparently regular customers yet make us feel completely ignored. I wouldn't recommend an alley rat to this place. PS, I have over 25 years of GM experience in the restaurant business. Want quicker and a more memorable dining experience? Go to McDonalds or your nearest fastfood store.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Reading, PA
(09/01/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Lousy Lousy
Never got to try and of the food because they lost or reservation!! Called on Friday 2/12 and talked to a male person and secured a reservation on Saturday night 2/13 at 7:15pm. Showed up just before and was told there was no reservation. Was asked if it was under a different name. Did not realize that I had a different name. How dumb is that? Then was completely ignored by the staff. Waited for 45 minutes then had to ask several times what is going on, and then was told we could have a small table against the wall by this huge white board that no one was using. Who would want to sit next to the large white board in the back! This was suppose to be a romantic night with my husband, but we ended up leaving. I would not recommend this place. People working there are rude, and I was very dissapointed that they ruined my Valentines evening! Will never go back...NEVER!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Christine Christine, Reading, PA
(02/14/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Lousy So So
Food was good but the service was awful. We came as a party of 8. Had a reservation and were immediately seated, and then basically ignored for an hour, while others in smaller parties were seated and served before the waitress returned for our order. Still charged the large party gratuity. The service was so bad that I will never go here again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Oley, PA
(01/10/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
TONIGHT WE ATE AT BIXLERS, WITH OUR RSTURANT .COM COUPON, I'M SO SORRY WE NEVER TRIED YOU BEFORE, WE LIVE HERE 9 YEARS, AND WE SURE MISSED OUT ON EXCELENT FOOD, WE WILL SEE YOU MANY MORE TIMES, NEXT WED. WE WILL BE OVER FOR THE LOBSTER SPECIAL, YOUR FOOD WAS JUST AWESOME FROM START TO FINISH, HATS OFF TO YOUR GREAT COOK, CAROLE & JACK HAFER

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from CAROLE HAFER CAROLE HAFER, reading, PA
(11/06/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great So So Great
i frequent this spot...awesome beer selection - stellar wings! interesting mixture of people - kinda a calm spot. they have open mic nights, too, but it's always super mellow music. deff worth checking out! * and whoever recomended the "bisto" up the street is out of their mind. terrible food, drinks & service - you sir, are out of your mind for recomending beechmees or whatever it's called - i wouldnt send anyone there!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from mikey mike is IT mikey mike is IT, reading, PA
(12/22/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
great atmosphere, food is incredible...everything is homemade from soups to salad dressings, and from gravies to wing sauces, the hot sauces are made from the peppers they grow on premises. the "regular hot" makes me sweat. the interior is a log cabin feel, slate floor, stone fireplace, low ceiling with beams. one of the hidden treasures of Berks.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tom rappaselli tom rappaselli, reading, PA
(05/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So So So Good
The little Bistro up the street that just opened is a better place to try for food. Wish they would learn something about beer there and then Bixlers could disappear when I'm on that end of Reading. I've never understood the following of this place . . subpar food and generally poor service a the bar and in the dining room.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from AJ AJ, pittsburgh, PA
(10/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
A neat place to have a few good beers. It's kind of funky and quirky inside, but comfortable nonetheless. They had a decent selection of brews, something there to please most palates. Only a few miles from downtown Reading, opens at 3 during the week. Get directions and give it a try!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(09/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I live right up the street and make it a point to stop in often. They have corsendonk, what more can i say? Great atmosphere and food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from david david, Reading, PA
(09/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Fleetwood, PA
(09/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
great weekend entertainment

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from chris chris, reading, PA
(07/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The beer selection and food quality has improved significantly over the last couple of years. Also the selection of entrees has increased. Plus, if you go there a lot, they have a 15% discount program for frequent customers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Joel Gaddy, Fleetwood, PA
(04/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Best in Berks, Great Music Too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Reading, PA
(04/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Awesome! Great
Food is great and a very fun place to hang out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Reading, PA
(11/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Lousy Lousy
If you eat here... plan to spend the night in the john.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Reading, PA
(10/27/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
First Rate.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Willow Grove, PA
(02/13/2000)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.337 seconds) 05:54:21 54.83.241.88, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS