PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Broad Ripple Brewing Company - Indianapolis, IN
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 23, 2014 @ 05:53 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > IN > Indianapolis > Broad Ripple Brewing Company
Broad Ripple Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Broad Ripple Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 72.9 / 100
840 East 65th Street
Indianapolis, IN 46220
United States
(317) 253-2739
Last Updated: November 1998
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Indianapolis, IN
Beer Guide for Indiana

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Broad Ripple Brewing Company
120 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(12 within 5 miles)
1) Union Jack Pub
(0 mile)

2) Brugge Brasserie
(0 mile)

3) Brugge Brasserie
(0 mile)

4) Pawn Shop Pub
(1 mile)

5) Claddagh Irish Pub
(3 miles)

6) The Hop Shop
(3 miles)

7) Ale Emporium
(3 miles)

8) Loon Lake Lodge
(3 miles)

9) Beer Sellar
(3 miles)

10) Fox and Hound English Pub and Grille
(3 miles)

11) Chalkies
(3 miles)

12) Granite City Food and Brewery
(6 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Tranquil Cherub B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERISUITES KEYSTONE
2) BEST WESTERN CASTLETON INN
3) BUDGET INN EAST
4) CASTLETON HOTEL
5) COMFORT INN EAST
6) COURTYARD IND CARMEL
7) DAYS INN INDIANAPOLIS EAST
8) DAYS INN INDIANOPLIS IN
9) EXTENDEDSTAY CASTLETON
10) EXTENDEDSTAY INDIANAPOLIS NORTH
11) HAMPTON INN INDY EAST
12) HAMPTON INN NORTHEAST CASTLETO
13) HILTON GARDEN INN DOWNTOWN
14) HOMEWOOD STE INDIANAPOLIS
15) INDIANAPOLIS MARRIOTT NORTH
16) KNIGHTS INN INDIANAPOLIS EAST
17) LA QUINTA INDIANAPOLIS EAST
18) OMNI INDIANAPOLIS NORTH
19) SHERATON INDIANAPOLIS HOTEL
20) SUPER 8 NE CASTLETON AREA
21) TOWNEPLACE SUITES IND-KEYSTONE
22) WYNDHAM INDIANAPOLIS
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Balmoral Court
2) Broad Ripple Park Carousel
3) Butler Fieldhouse
4) Coburn, Henry P., Public School No. 66
5) Cole, Joseph J., Jr., House and 1925 Cole Brouette No. 70611
6) Coulter Flats
7) Crown Hill National Cemetery
8) Esplanade Apartments
9) Franklin, Benjamin, Public School Number 36
10) Glossbrenner, Alfred M., Mansion
11) Haverstick, Hiram A., Farmstead
12) Johnson-Denny House
13) Jordan, Arthur, Memorial Hall
14) Levey, Louis, Mansion
15) Marott Hotel
16) Meier, George Philip, House
17) Saint James Court
18) Schnull-Rauch House
19) The Buckingham
20) Thompson, William N., House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) All Stars Sports & Daquiri Bar
2) Alley Cat Lounge
3) Arby's
4) Average Joe's Sports Pub
5) Bamboo House
6) Barbeque Heaven
7) Barton's Cafe
8) Ben & Jerry's
9) Birdy's
10) Blimpie Subs & Salads
11) Blimpie Subs & Salads
12) Broad Ripple Ice Cream Co
13) Broad Ripple Seafood Shack
14) Brugge LLC
15) Burger King
16) Burger King
17) Cafe Patachou
18) California Connection Gourmet
19) Canal Point Enterprises LLC
20) Cancun Mexican Restaurants
21) Capri Restaurant
22) Casba
23) Chinese Ruby Restaurant
24) Chumley's Beer House
25) Circle City Pizza
26) Claude & Annie's
27) Connor's Pub
28) Cornerstone Coffee & Espresso
29) Crackers Comedy Club
30) Dairy Queen
31) Dick's Bodacious BBQ
32) Domino's Pizza
33) Domino's Pizza
34) Donatos Pizza
35) Enrico's Italian Restaurant
36) Fazoli's
37) First Wok
38) Forbidden City
39) Glendale Roly Poly
40) Great Steak & Potato Co
41) H2o Sushi
42) Hardee's
43) Hilltop North
44) House Of Cheung
45) Indianapolis Polo Pub
46) Jack Pub Union
47) Jerusalem Restaurant
48) Jimmy John's Gourmet Sandwich
49) Joivistia Floral & Catering
50) Jug's Catering Svc
51) Just Judy's
52) Keystone Deli
53) Keystone Sports Review
54) Kfc
55) Khoury's Restaurant
56) Knobby's Restaurant
57) LA Hacienda Mexican Restaurant
58) LA Piedad
59) Landsharks
60) Long John Silver's
61) Manchu Wok
62) Manchu Wok
63) Marco's Restaurant & Lounge
64) Mc Donald's
65) Mc Donald's
66) Mcl Cafeteria
67) Mcl Cafeterias
68) Mexicana Rose Restaurant
69) Mississippi Belle Restaurant
70) Moe & Johnny's
71) Monon Coffee Co
72) Mousetrap Bar & Grill
73) Ms Stine's Fine & Famous Deli
74) Naked Tchopstix
75) North Pole
76) Ocharlies
77) Old Pro's Table
78) Papa John's Pizza
79) Papa John's Pizza
80) Papa Murphy's Take 'N' Bake
81) Pat Flynn's
82) Patio Nightclub
83) Patties Of Jamaica
84) Pizza Di Roma Glendale
85) Pizza Express
86) Pizza Hut
87) Pizza Magia
88) Pizza Magia
89) Pizzi Enterprises Inc
90) Qdoba Mexican Grill
91) Recetas
92) Red Room
93) Rookie's Pub & Grill
94) Sahm's Place
95) Sakura Japanese Restaurant
96) Sakura Mart
97) Sam 's Gyros
98) Scholar's Inn Bakehouse
99) Shaffers'
100) Sharks Fish & Chicken
101) Shrimp Hut
102) Some Guys Pizza Pasta Grill
103) Sonny's Pizza & Milano Pasta
104) Starbucks
105) Steak 'n Shake
106) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
107) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
108) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
109) Taco Bell
110) Taco Bell
111) Taco Express
112) Thai One On
113) Tin Star Restaurant
114) Vogue Nightclub
115) W B Pizza LLC
116) Wendy's
117) Whistle Stop
118) Z's Pub
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
Beers were exceptional, Food was not. Though decent, I was disappointed with the food. Very generic-no creativity at all. Kind of like eating at any sports bar. The atmosphere was nice; friendly customers and staff, kind of dark inside, definetely not fancy. Its located off the beaten path in Broadripple which is a funky section on the northeast side of Indy. Its their Greenwich Village. I'll go back for beer, not so sure if I'll eat....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff K Jeff K, Boca Raton, FL
(07/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I agree that from years ago, the quality of the beer has slipped, but not to the point of some of the other reviews. My favorite was the IPA, hoppy and fresh. One of the only places where I've ever seen Scotch Eggs on the menu--they were yummy!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(06/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
The ambiance and decor was relaxed and condusive to a true brewpub. I didn't feel like I was in a chain restaurant...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Jeff K, Boca Raton, FL
(05/15/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So So So So So
My reviews below, esp. the one from Jan. 2000, are now officially retracted. Stopped in about two weeks ago Sat. 5:30 p.m. Although not real crowded, was about 10-15 min before we got first beers. All the beers, esp. the Porter, were way too thin (maybe what Paul Pesa means by "flat" as opposed to carbonated) and bland, the food we were served, the Jenny-style pasta in peanut "sauce" came in a soup. Before we even said anything, the waiter apologized and said he would take it back if we wanted--why, so the chef could spit in it? It should never have been brought out of the kitchen in the first place. All in all, I would say this is now more of a yuppie-infested restaurant (complete with obnoxious screaming kids) than a serious beer destination.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Moondoggie, Ogden Dunes, IN
(04/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good So So Great
Most of the beers were excellent, and the rest were very good. The simpler items on the menu are the best; I particularly liked the spinach club. The pizza was disappointing as were the healty eating options. Thanks to the previous reviewers who recommended the Scotch Eggs - they were excellent. But I go here for the beer and I have never been disappointed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review ct, Elgin, IL
(03/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Bud Light drinkers, you won't enjoy it...the rest of us do enjoy it, frequently, with space to move around and have a conversation below 110 decibels...so keep drinking your Bud Light and I'll keep drinking the IPA

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Josh Couts Josh Couts, Indianapolis, IN
(01/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good So So
Not sure what beer's these other people have been drinking....this place is very overrated. I have been there 3 times and each time the beer is flat and tasteless. My wife and I have been to a ton of brew pubs in our travels...and honestly this one is the most overrated. Not worth a trip. Go to another bar in the Broad Ripple area rather than spend your money here!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Pesa Paul Pesa, Fishers, IN
(01/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Brewpub is a must see. I like the ESB so much I haven't tried many of the others, so mixed with scotch eggs or a ploughman's platter and you're in for a real treat. It's of the beaten path in Broadripple which is a fun "village".

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Towner Rob Towner, Fishers, IN
(01/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
This place made me feel like I had never left Scotland ! Outstanding beers, in particular the stout and a generally nice, relaxed atmosphere. I'll definitely be back here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Kelly David Kelly, Glassford, Scotland, UK
(10/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
IPA and ESB were excellant. Service on Sunday evening was attentive. Building has feel of old style English Pub or dockside bar; really warm. There is outside seating for the pleasant evenings or afternoons. Only tried the Cream of Tomato soup which was tastey but the onions were undercooked. Broad Ripple area seemed like a great place; too bad i didn't have the time to explore

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(08/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(08/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
I'm a big fan of wheat beers, and their White River Wheat Ale is the best I've ever had. I try to get to the brew pub at least once a year. The atmosphere can't be beat. Highly recommended!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Noragon Dan Noragon, Hamilton, IN
(07/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good
A cool area to walk around in (Broad Ripple) Right next to the Monon Trail. Definitely a break from the hokey Yuppie places downtown. They had ESB,wheat,porter,and Kolsch as a rotating seasonal. The place is a small pub atmosphere and the staff was great and attentive.The ESB was pretty good- not great, but interesting. They were out of the IPA for some reason, which was very disappointing. I'm not much on wheat beer so I can't say much on it. The porter was really sad-thin and watery with no head at all. The Kolsch was really good and refreshing. The food was excellent- scottish eggs for appetizers and Shepards pie for the main. The sheppards pie was't much to look at and I was taken aback by the topping of american cheese, but once I dug in it was one of the best I've ever had. Go to this place for the laid back atmosphere and the cool neighborhood. We walked to Union Jack's from there for some single malt scotch and deep dish pizza.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Williams Kevin Williams, Tell City, IN
(07/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Visited on Sunday May 12th. Found them closed?? With Art Fest going on across street seemed surprising. Definitely disappointed. Call first?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, ogden, UT
(05/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Great So So Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from texjets texjets, Robbinsville, NJ
(03/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
Without question some of the best samples of microbrewry beer that I have tasted. This includes "brews" from the West and Midwest! Their summer seasonal wheat beer satisfies my tastes all year round. The menu is varied but I would comment that the food is good but not exceptional. The "BrewPub" is a must when visiting Broad Ripple.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Rick, Indianapolis, IN
(10/10/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
If you are in Indi just for one night, just go there ! I was lucky to visit for a few week in summer, and sitting in one of the outside tables sipping my ESB will be my best memory.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Omaha, GH
(08/25/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Great Good Good
I have visited here twice, and their beer is OK, but nothing great. The food is very good. What sets this off is their great selection of guest beers--an excellent selection of really good beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Russ Hobaugh Russ Hobaugh, Birdsboro, PA
(07/29/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Really nifty decor all old wood brought in to decorate the place looked a little like an english pub at the bar. The brews were ok but nothin' to write home about. I did like those Scotch Eggs for my appetizer...gotta try em!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Albrecht Steve Albrecht, Pickerington, OH
(06/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
The brown ale was a bit light for my tast. The porter was great lightly sweet with a good chocolate flavor and good roasty finish.The wheat had very little nose but was a good refreshing drink. The menue was great,lots of vegitairian choices. Even soup with out animal juce. this place was very busy and I can see why.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from michigan travaler michigan travaler, Port Huron, MI
(05/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great
Sampled three types of beers, they were all very tasty, but the fun went out the door when I locked on the ESB. My friend and I went elsewhere to lunch to save money, but had to come back and downed three more pints of ESB. By far the best ESB microbrew I have tasted. I want to go back, just to have a few more pints, but maybe I'll try the others too and have lunch there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ricochet Ricochet, Jeffersonville, IN
(04/30/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
A must stop for anyone visiting Indinapolis. Try the beer cheese croc and the scotch eggs.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Stott Dave Stott, Muncie, IN
(10/24/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A So So Great Good Good
After reading the glowing reviews of this place, I was looking forward to sampling the beer when I came to town for a visit. Is this the same beer everyone else was drinking? The beers were watery, thin and tasteless. The only beer I liked was a "brewer's special" a nut brown ale. Food was very good, great selection, and reasonably priced. Maybe I was there on a bad night, but was very disappointed. This is hardly the best in the country as one reviewer implied. I might try it again in the future, but would not make a special trip to go here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review chicago, IL
(08/13/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great
This is my neighborhood pub. I have the good fortune of living within a few blocks of it.

The quality of the beers brewed here is outstanding. Their ESB (Gold Medal, Great America Beer Fest, 1992?) is the best beer that is regularly brewed in the city. It may be one of the best beers available on a daily basis in America.

But the other usual and speciality brews are equally wonderful. If you like a hoppy pale ale, their IPA is a superb example. If you're there during the winter when they're serving the Wee Alec Heavy, don't pass it up.

There's also a wonderful selection of bottled beers from microbreweries.

This is a great place for a beer lover

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Perry Kea Perry Kea, Indianapolis, IN
(06/06/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
This is a great, unpretentious, comfortable place to have a good beer. The menu is a pleasant surprise -- plenty of vegetarian friendly choices. This establishment totally changed my mind about the unavailability of good places to kick back and have a beer in Indianapolis.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kelli Back Kelli Back, Alexandria, VA
(04/21/2000)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.311 seconds) 17:53:23 50.17.174.94, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS