PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Broad Ripple Brewing Company - Indianapolis, IN
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 23, 2014 @ 07:36 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > IN > Indianapolis > Broad Ripple Brewing Company
Broad Ripple Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Broad Ripple Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 72.9 / 100
840 East 65th Street
Indianapolis, IN 46220
United States
(317) 253-2739
Last Updated: November 1998
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Indianapolis, IN
Beer Guide for Indiana

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Broad Ripple Brewing Company
120 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(12 within 5 miles)
1) Union Jack Pub
(0 mile)

2) Brugge Brasserie
(0 mile)

3) Brugge Brasserie
(0 mile)

4) Pawn Shop Pub
(1 mile)

5) Claddagh Irish Pub
(3 miles)

6) The Hop Shop
(3 miles)

7) Ale Emporium
(3 miles)

8) Loon Lake Lodge
(3 miles)

9) Beer Sellar
(3 miles)

10) Fox and Hound English Pub and Grille
(3 miles)

11) Chalkies
(3 miles)

12) Granite City Food and Brewery
(6 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Tranquil Cherub B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERISUITES KEYSTONE
2) BEST WESTERN CASTLETON INN
3) BUDGET INN EAST
4) CASTLETON HOTEL
5) COMFORT INN EAST
6) COURTYARD IND CARMEL
7) DAYS INN INDIANAPOLIS EAST
8) DAYS INN INDIANOPLIS IN
9) EXTENDEDSTAY CASTLETON
10) EXTENDEDSTAY INDIANAPOLIS NORTH
11) HAMPTON INN INDY EAST
12) HAMPTON INN NORTHEAST CASTLETO
13) HILTON GARDEN INN DOWNTOWN
14) HOMEWOOD STE INDIANAPOLIS
15) INDIANAPOLIS MARRIOTT NORTH
16) KNIGHTS INN INDIANAPOLIS EAST
17) LA QUINTA INDIANAPOLIS EAST
18) OMNI INDIANAPOLIS NORTH
19) SHERATON INDIANAPOLIS HOTEL
20) SUPER 8 NE CASTLETON AREA
21) TOWNEPLACE SUITES IND-KEYSTONE
22) WYNDHAM INDIANAPOLIS
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Balmoral Court
2) Broad Ripple Park Carousel
3) Butler Fieldhouse
4) Coburn, Henry P., Public School No. 66
5) Cole, Joseph J., Jr., House and 1925 Cole Brouette No. 70611
6) Coulter Flats
7) Crown Hill National Cemetery
8) Esplanade Apartments
9) Franklin, Benjamin, Public School Number 36
10) Glossbrenner, Alfred M., Mansion
11) Haverstick, Hiram A., Farmstead
12) Johnson-Denny House
13) Jordan, Arthur, Memorial Hall
14) Levey, Louis, Mansion
15) Marott Hotel
16) Meier, George Philip, House
17) Saint James Court
18) Schnull-Rauch House
19) The Buckingham
20) Thompson, William N., House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) All Stars Sports & Daquiri Bar
2) Alley Cat Lounge
3) Arby's
4) Average Joe's Sports Pub
5) Bamboo House
6) Barbeque Heaven
7) Barton's Cafe
8) Ben & Jerry's
9) Birdy's
10) Blimpie Subs & Salads
11) Blimpie Subs & Salads
12) Broad Ripple Ice Cream Co
13) Broad Ripple Seafood Shack
14) Brugge LLC
15) Burger King
16) Burger King
17) Cafe Patachou
18) California Connection Gourmet
19) Canal Point Enterprises LLC
20) Cancun Mexican Restaurants
21) Capri Restaurant
22) Casba
23) Chinese Ruby Restaurant
24) Chumley's Beer House
25) Circle City Pizza
26) Claude & Annie's
27) Connor's Pub
28) Cornerstone Coffee & Espresso
29) Crackers Comedy Club
30) Dairy Queen
31) Dick's Bodacious BBQ
32) Domino's Pizza
33) Domino's Pizza
34) Donatos Pizza
35) Enrico's Italian Restaurant
36) Fazoli's
37) First Wok
38) Forbidden City
39) Glendale Roly Poly
40) Great Steak & Potato Co
41) H2o Sushi
42) Hardee's
43) Hilltop North
44) House Of Cheung
45) Indianapolis Polo Pub
46) Jack Pub Union
47) Jerusalem Restaurant
48) Jimmy John's Gourmet Sandwich
49) Joivistia Floral & Catering
50) Jug's Catering Svc
51) Just Judy's
52) Keystone Deli
53) Keystone Sports Review
54) Kfc
55) Khoury's Restaurant
56) Knobby's Restaurant
57) LA Hacienda Mexican Restaurant
58) LA Piedad
59) Landsharks
60) Long John Silver's
61) Manchu Wok
62) Manchu Wok
63) Marco's Restaurant & Lounge
64) Mc Donald's
65) Mc Donald's
66) Mcl Cafeteria
67) Mcl Cafeterias
68) Mexicana Rose Restaurant
69) Mississippi Belle Restaurant
70) Moe & Johnny's
71) Monon Coffee Co
72) Mousetrap Bar & Grill
73) Ms Stine's Fine & Famous Deli
74) Naked Tchopstix
75) North Pole
76) Ocharlies
77) Old Pro's Table
78) Papa John's Pizza
79) Papa John's Pizza
80) Papa Murphy's Take 'N' Bake
81) Pat Flynn's
82) Patio Nightclub
83) Patties Of Jamaica
84) Pizza Di Roma Glendale
85) Pizza Express
86) Pizza Hut
87) Pizza Magia
88) Pizza Magia
89) Pizzi Enterprises Inc
90) Qdoba Mexican Grill
91) Recetas
92) Red Room
93) Rookie's Pub & Grill
94) Sahm's Place
95) Sakura Japanese Restaurant
96) Sakura Mart
97) Sam 's Gyros
98) Scholar's Inn Bakehouse
99) Shaffers'
100) Sharks Fish & Chicken
101) Shrimp Hut
102) Some Guys Pizza Pasta Grill
103) Sonny's Pizza & Milano Pasta
104) Starbucks
105) Steak 'n Shake
106) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
107) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
108) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
109) Taco Bell
110) Taco Bell
111) Taco Express
112) Thai One On
113) Tin Star Restaurant
114) Vogue Nightclub
115) W B Pizza LLC
116) Wendy's
117) Whistle Stop
118) Z's Pub
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Great Great
My bro lives there and we usually stop.Stopped in today.Been there a hundred times.Always good service,decent food.Always get the cheese crock and bread appetizer.scottish eggs are pretty good.Most of the beers are good.No wheat beer.Darn!Whats with having to have a hostess seat you now.You cant walk in and just go to the bar which was empty,you have to wait outside for a hostess.Thumbs down.And whats up with that oder in there.I think its that hundred year old carpet.Smells like a dirty old wet sour unbathed hound dog.will be back soon!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from mike p mike p, south chicago heights, IL
(08/23/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
So, I finally got to check this place out. Nice place, interesting and intimate layout. They focus heavily on English style beers which limits their repertoire; but they do English-style beers very well. I tried 8 different beers and they ranged from acceptable to excellent representations of the style. And seeing how I wasn't behaving like a drunken lout, I had no issues whatsoever with the service. Since I'm not a big fan of English beers, I don't know that I'd spend a whole lot of time here if I lived in Indy, but it's a nice place to hit up during one of my occasional visits to town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Crafton, PA
(05/16/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So So So
Just saw my name referenced to a review from a couple of years back, and thought I would respond. 1) I am indeed a real person, and not a shill for some disgruntled "ax to grind" complainer. 2) The BRBP USED to have shoddy service serving cold, miss-assembled food. 3) I have been in there twice (at least) in the last 12 months, expecting the worst, and came away at least "satisfied" -- things were busy so I'm not about to bust the wait staff for the infrequent visits to the table and the fact that I twice had to get my own beer from the bar. My opinion is definitely open to further change.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom McGinnis Tom McGinnis, Indianapolis, IN
(05/12/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A So So Good
I stopped in here while in town for the brew fest in July (which is a great time and you should try to come to this—it’s worth the trip). Inside is very dark and no table service in the bar. When I looked at the menu the first thing I saw was “basket o’ smelt.” Luckily things got better. On tap that day was: lawn mower pale, black heart lager, IPA, wheat, Pilsner, ESP, (can’t read my notes—maybe amarillo?) lager, and Rubic Ale. They had a wide variety of bottled beer too; about 20-30 so there should be something there to please anyone. The IPA was a British IPA so it wasn’t bitter by any stretch of the imagination. The Wheat was cloudy with a nice clove flavor with a hint of banana. The ESB was amazingly hoppy for and ESP. The only reason I gave the service a 'so so' is that there really wasn't any, you had to go to the bar for each drink. I realize that is the British style but...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, Hornell, NY
(04/12/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
This is in a great location to wait for the gates to open at the Indiana Microbrewer's Festival--which is exactly what I did. On tap the day I was there were: lawn mower pale, black heartlager, IPA, wheat, pilsner, ESB, cask lager, replic ale. All the beers lean toward the British style--which is a little mild for me--but the quality of their beer was very good nonetheless. The IPA was indeed a British IPA--not as hoppy as I would like but a nice flavor and very refreshing after the 'hotter than hell' weather Indy had that weekend. The wheat was very nice--mostly a clove flavor with just a hint of banana. The ESB was amazingly hoppy for an ESB, I thought. The bar is small--only seats 8. There are a few small tables in the bar area but these have traditional 'british syle' service--meaning no table service. There are signs up--but they are really small so be forewarned.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, Hornell, NY
(07/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
The beer was great, loved the Kolsch.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Curt Curt, LaPorte, IN
(08/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
A stop in Indy wouldn't be the same without some Broad Ripple brews. Tried both casks and found them to be excellent. Best Bitter had just enough hops to keep it interesting for the long run while Monon Porter is just a great cask porter. Amarillo Red Lager sure tasted like an ale to me, but a malty one. Great! Had my yearly allotment of scotch eggs to help wash the beer down. Always a great stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/30/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Great place to visit. Had food and drinks. Everyone in the place from staff to customers where very nice to talk with and get info on the establishment and their beers. I will return!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from james Horton james Horton, cambridge spirngs, PA
(01/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Still my favorite in Indy whether you're talking about their beer, food or atmosphere. All true beer lovers should come here at least once. Scotch eggs (my personal fave) are always dead on, especially with their excellent IPA. Cask beers are usually great as well. Barman Ryan was helpful--even tipped me off to a new place just a few blocks away. Should definitely make a "best of" list.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
What a great place. They could use a larger bar, but I hope they don't lose the small friendly feel to the place. The beers are brewed right on. The staff is is great and loves to talk about beer. This is the best place in the Indianapolis area

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Rob, romeoville, IL
(03/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A So So Great
I visited on Saturday night, and loved the IPA. I also tried the Wee Alec and Big Boy, neither of which were impressive. But the Ankle Biter was great. I've had their IPA and their porter in the past, and they are consistently excellent. The service was friendly, but a bit slow on Saturday even though I went when the place wasn't very busy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TJ TJ, Cincinnati, OH
(02/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
I have visited brew pubs all over the US, and the Broad Ripple Brew Pub, right here in my own back yard, is still my favorite. I say this as a 15+ year, national award-winning homebrewer that loves the craft brewing industry, so trust me on this one. The beer is always great, I honestly have never had a problem with the service, the food is always good, and the atmosphere suits my taste (it has the feel of a small English pub). The ESB is awesome, as well as anything on the hand pull (if I was choosing my last beer ever, it would be the Porter on the hand pull). Although the BRBP has the feel of a small English pub, it is located in the bohemian / Greenwich Village-ish section of Indianapolis (Broad Ripple), and the wait staff fits that description. They do a good job, but don't expect a super efficient and highly-polished staff (if that is what you are looking for, try one of the brew pub chains downtown). The BRBP is a laid back place to enjoy some of the best beer you will ever have. Locals have voted it the best brew pub in Indianapolis every year for well over a decade, so that says a lot. For parking, look for a spot along the Monon trail just to the East of the pub. Enjoy your trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ron Smith Ron Smith, Indianapolis, IN
(01/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
I visited this brewpub on 11/22/04 and had the following; Wheat, Lawnmower, IPA, Traveling John's Best Bitter, Red Bird Mild, ESB, Big Boy Beer and Fineen's Auld Sod Stout. While I enjoyed all of the beers in the sample, they did not fit my benchmark for the style that they were described as. In my personal notes I had to mark points down because of that. The English pub fare was great, especially the exploding Scotch Egg. Apparently there was steam pocket in the egg that exploded upon cutting a quarter slice of egg. Three of my party ended up with yolk on there faces. A good time was had by all.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. L. Averill G. L. Averill, Lakeway, TX
(11/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Great
I agree with an earlier review that the IPA is overly bitter. It's not balanced well with the additional body a good IPA needs. It had mostly early addition bittering hops with little or no late addition aroma hops. Reminded me of a poor pale ale. The ESB was good and the strong old ale that they had was very good. Malty sweet but not too sweet. I was there the night before Thanksgiving after dinner rush and while the place seemed three quarters full, I did not experience slow/poor service. I liked the fact that they carried a good selection of bottled micro/regional brew since most brew pubs only serve what they make.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul S Paul S, Eau Claire, MI
(11/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
Service could have been better.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Beus Rick Beus, Salina, KS
(11/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
In anticipation of a trip to Indy, I read the litany of reviews, good and bad. It shouldn't be a surprise that the truth is in between. English style beers, some better than others. While the waitstaff didn't check on us often (I got myself my condiments), This wasn't outside of the expected range. Paranoia and partisanship aside, the best response by those who admire this establishment would be to encourage increased attentiveness by the staff, not point fingers, and for those who feel slighted to drink elsewhere and not wage campaigns. A pleasant pub in a lively area, not a mecca.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ben s. ben s., louisville, KY
(11/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A So So Good
Service on in the bar on Sunday evening seemed to be non existant. Business looked good but it was hard to distiguish who were patrons and who were employees that just got off shift. IPA seemed overly bitter on this visit but ESB held it's own. My friend seemed to think his Stout was pretty good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(08/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Lousy So So
The expanded outdoor seating that the Brewpub has recently added is really nice. It's a great place to sit on a warm summer's evening. That's part of the problem though: you spend a lot of time sitting, and waiting and waiting but not much time drinking or eating. It would be nice if the Brewpub added new wait staff to go along with their added seats. As it is now, expect to be served an average of one beer per hour long visit. That is, if the waiters decide to serve you at all.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Evan Evan, Indianapolis, IN
(08/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
As far as some of the comments about the food go, BRBP has one of the most extensive vegetarian menus out of the brew pubs I have been to. Their beer is also on par with a great microbrewery. I've been there about 5 times this year and have only had somewhat slow service once. I would recommend it to anyone. I'm actually going there after work tonight.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Vince Vince, West Lafayette, IN
(08/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great So So Good
The beer here is definitely good. Stop, get a beer and some of those Scottish Eggs--they are good! Also, the patrons at the bar, who seemed to be regulars, were some of the nicest people we met during our Pub Crawl.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from P & J P & J, PITTSBURGH, PA
(07/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
Still has the best IPA in town, and the cask stout isn't bad either. I agree that the wait staff semms to make themselves scarce at times. The word must be out about the beer, though. While I was there, someone came in to fetch some growlers to take back to the band Phish before their concert that night. Beer is universal!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Lousy So So
The beer we sampled was flat, and was served slowly. The food was pretty good though and the atmosphere was nice.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Frank Frank, Greenwood, IN
(06/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Awesome!
I went there on Friday evening. They have an excellent IPA and porter. The servers were extremely nice. I've been to Broadripple about 30 times in the past 10 years, and the beer and service have been consistently excellent. My wife and I didn't have food, but the kids loved their pizza.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TJ TJ, Cincinnati, OH
(06/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Lousy So So
This pub has very good brew: some of the best microbrews I've had in a while. For the most part, the food is mediocre: typical, uninspired pub fare. (The exception being their Scotch Eggs, which are excellent and highly recommended!) The decor is ... ok. Not bad, not great. It's basically just a dimly lit restaurant. There is no parking to speak of, so good luck finding a spot in this busy neighborhood.

The focus of complaints against this pub seems to be the service. Well, I can see why. We went there on a weeknight with a party of 3 colleagues and we had to wait a very long time before our server arrived. It was kind of late on a weeknight, and the place wasn't exactly crowded, so I don't know what the problem was. I suppose it's possible we just happened to be there on a bad night. What makes me think that it's a more endemic problem though is the fact that the waiter didn't apologize for the long delay or offer any kind of explanation. Oh well, at least the beer was good.

The next night we were in town we went to a new pub downtown (McNivens) that was fantastic - a huge selection of great beer! Next time we're in Indy, I'll think we'll pass on the Broad ripple Brew Pub and go elsewhere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dale Prater Dale Prater, Columbus, OH
(05/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
"Ballot-stuffing a-holes?"

What??? Is Larry P(isshead) under the misapprehension that a constitutionally-mandated and binding election is being held under the auspices of Pubcrawler.com, with the focus on a small, dank restaurant in an out-of-the-way neighborhood of a Midwestern city? Or has he merely been driven insane by the interminable wait he's encountered at the B.R.B.P.? Perhaps Mr. Pisshead should remove his head from his horse's ass and find a less stressful hobby.

If you love the BRBP, then that's just great - state your opinion as often as you like. If you hate the BRBP, then that's just peachy too - state your opinion as often as you like. The wanks at the Federal Election Commission needn't be involved in these "Earth-shattering" deliberations.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dennis Dennis, Carmel, IN
(05/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Oh, and by the way, dumbass -- it's spelled "craic" not "crack." If you're going to wax cooler-than-thou by dropping a buzzword you think nobody knows but you, at least spell it correctly.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Larry P Larry P, Geneva, IL
(05/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
*sigh* Why don't you ballot-stuffing a-holes find a new hobby and get a f*cking life. Buncha jags.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Larry P Larry P, Geneva, IL
(05/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Lousy So So
I've been to the Broad Ripple Brew Pub 3 or 4 times. With such great food and decor it's a wonder and frustration that the service is so poor. I don't go there any more because of the staff.

Rick Mahler Lafayette (not West)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Mahler Rick Mahler, Lafayette, IN
(05/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Lousy Lousy
Fact: The Broad Ripple Brew Pub has pompous, high-brow owners

Fact: The BRBP has great atmosphere but populates it with a rude, tattood, and boorish wait staff. At least on my 10 visits.

Fact: If you want to be hip in your yuppie circle, by all means go to the BRBP.

Fact: You can get the same great beer with great atmosphere and great crack (yeah, you yuppie BRBP defendants don't know what crack even means!) at the new Scottish pub downtown on Massachussets. Or even the Rathskeller. On On!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Indianapolis, IN
(05/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
Living as I do in one of the Meccas of MicroBrewing, I am astonished to see that some people don't know good Northern English Ale when they have the opportunity to savour it. i don't know what the Helman is the matter with whomever that one relentless ass is who keeps trying to run down the BRBP, but his puerile efforts merely reveal his own poor taste. Ask the English aficianados who frequent the BrewPub. Ask the microBrewers who go there. Ask those who just love good ale who hug that blessed hand-made bar. And then ignorethe nay-sayers. Even here in the home of Breckenridge and Fat Tire and Bridgeport India Pale Ale, I long for the flavours of that Pub. Take my word. Ignore the critics. They have gone on far too long in lonely opposition.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Denver, CO
(04/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The BRBP has been voted #1 brewpub in Indy for the last 13 years. I think enough said Indianapolis

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Indianapolis, IN
(04/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Great Awesome!
After sorting through four pages of mixed reviews, I decided to throw in my two cents. The BRBP is a wonderful establishment and shows its appreciation of the patrons by making a quality product. I am sorry if you may have had a poor experience there. If there is a place that I do not like, then I do not go there. I do not spend my time trying to start a smear campaign against it. I can't wait to go have and IPA...who's with me!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from evan evan, naptown, IN
(03/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Great
I consider this a place I can walk into and feel comfortable. I brew my own beer so I know good Beers, and this place serve's them. Actually I model my own IPA, after there's. Their is only ONE limiting factor and that IS parking. But that is because of LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION. This Establibshment was NOT ment for the Mega-swiller's, it's low key and enjoyed as such. Don't sweat the review's, they will still be serveing Brew on Premise's: 20 yr's from now.

Baron

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Baron Baron, New Palestine, IN
(03/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Good Good
I'm not quite sure what to make of all this stuff I'm reading...I've been here before, but if I never had been, all this talk is enough to stir my interest in checking it out. So, for those of you who are trying to get people to avoid this place, you're actually probably doing the opposite...

The beer happens to be very good. Any time I'm in Indy, I'll make a trip just for the beer. The food wasn't impressive. Its typical pub-style food. The service, which seems to be the only thing people are talking about, was fine. If the service was nearly as bad as what is being described, I would clearly remember it, even if it was quite a while ago. Last time I went, I sat at the bar, so maybe I got more attentive service there, but it didn't appear that patrons "on the floor" were being poorly treated or ignored.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff K Jeff K, Boca Raton, FL
(03/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Lousy Lousy
"The Enemy" wrote: "Just as I'd never think to walk into a Texas roadhouse and demand they stop all that loud music and stompin' around so I can enjoy my beer in peace, you have no business walking into a sedate neighborhood brewpub and demanding they accomodate drunken revelry."

You are absolutely correct: there is a time and place for everything. And, I strongly support every establishment's right to control the atmosphere of their place of business in any manner that they see fit.

However, your assumption is false: there was no "drunken revelry" or "insipid antics" on the part of the running/cycling group on the occassion in question. That is the salient point either overlooked or intentionally ignored by the apologists for the BRBP. Unfortunately, that lie has been oft repeated by employees of the BRBP to deflect attention away from their egregious service.

An even more important point is the fact that on the half dozen or so occassions in which I patronized the BRBP in the past (not as a member of any "group", but simply as an individual looking for a quiet evening with good food and beverage), the service that I witnessed was just as bad and in some cases much worse.

Ad hominem attacks against the running club's members are the only defense that employees of the Brew Pub are able to muster. It would be preferable if the BRBP's employees devoted as much time to serving as they have to denigrating their customers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Michael, Indianapolis, IN
(03/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Don't you people have something else to do other than see who can out BS the other. It's about the beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Rosebush, OTHER
(03/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
"With over 100 reviews here, it's pretty obvious The Enemy is obsessed with drinking, so it's funny how he should put people down for "power chugging" and just plain having a good time. He's probably one of those people who tosses and turns at night knowing that other people are enjoying themselves."

*Sigh* Look, chucklebum. I'm a live-and-let-live kind of guy. I was college-age once and I had my share of hard-partying days. You can drink and party and carry on like you're a regular at Mos Eisley for all I care. But live-and-let-live cuts both ways. Just as I'd never think to walk into a Texas roadhouse and demand they stop all that loud music and stompin' around so I can enjoy my beer in peace, you have no business walking into a sedate neighborhood brewpub and demanding they accomodate drunken revelry. If said revelry is your thing, go find one of the many places that accomodates this type of behavior and let the rest of us drink our beer in peace.

As for my "obsession," those 100-plus reviews are the work of 7 years worth of posting. That averages out to just over one per month. That's not an obsession, that's a hobby. Spending 3 months posting a dozen or so bad reviews trying to run a business into the ground because they didn't care to accomodate your insipid antics -- now that's an obsession. (I'm not accusing you personally of doing that, but at least one of the ousted "drinking club" members has done so. He really should get over it already.)

That said, I didn't come here to get involved in a prolonged snipe-fest over a place I've never even been to. This is my last post on this place until I have an actual review to post. The rest of you snipe away.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Chicago, IL
(03/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
With over 100 reviews here, it's pretty obvious The Enemy is obsessed with drinking, so it's funny how he should put people down for "power chugging" and just plain having a good time. He's probably one of those people who tosses and turns at night knowing that other people are enjoying themselves.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from stylin' stylin', Indianapolis, IN
(03/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy Lousy
I'll admit, the recent reviews certainly got my attention and made me curious to try the BRBP again. I had been there once before, but it was several years ago, and clearly time for another visit.

We arrived around 6:30 on a week night, and the place was virtually empty. Nevertheless, we had to wait nearly 15 minutes before the waiter took our order. Another half hour wait before our food and drink order arrived. And we didn't see our waiter again until we had finished and were more than ready to leave. I would have liked to have sampled another beer or two, but wasn't going to wait another hour to be served.

I can't say that our waiter was rude or hostile, as some reviewers have complained. However, the employees certainly didn't seem very interested in serving us and "slow" and "indifferent" are very apt descriptions of their manner.

I can see why some people dislike the BRBP. I'm in no hurry to return.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Jeff, Plainfield, IN
(03/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Judging by the crowd, most of Indianapolis had not read the negative reviews. Service was fine this visit, fast and friendly. The crowd seemed happy to be here and no one was complaining about poor service.

I would suggest that anyone reading the negative reviews come in and judge for yourself.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from melissa melissa, Indianapolis, IN
(03/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Well, let's see. The defenders of this place seem to be thoughtful, mature beer afficianados. Whereas the attacking horde imploring us to boycott the place refers us to a website where one is greeted with a picture of fratboy pogues wearing dresses power-chugging beer and a fair warning to buzz off if we don't care for colorful language. Ya know, it's really a tough call as to whose reviews a contemplative, grown-up pubcrawler is going to give more credence.

I haven't been to this place yet, but I now have relatives in the area and I'll get the chance soon enough. I'm with the employee 2 or 3 reviews below -- I now intend to patronize this place simply to defy the boycott of the peurile children trying to run it into the ground. Thanks for drawing my attention to another potential watering hole, fellas...

...though given your preferred attire, I'm not sure "fellas" is entirely applicable.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Chicago, IL
(03/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Lousy Lousy
I was pleasantly surprised to find that some employees of the Brew Pub have actually taken the time to read the comments made by patrons of the pub in this forum - hopefully that's an indication that some employees and/or managers may be interested in changing the egregious behaviour exhibited by most of the wait staff.

Sadly, however, it seems that most of the wait staff and management of the Brew Pub are still in a state of denial and have yet to deal with the fundamental problems caused by their own behavior.

I have been to the Brew Pub on many different occassions, accompanied by myriad individuals: business meetings, family get-togethers, romantic evenings, group of friends, etc. And, I can honestly state that on each occassion the service was bad. Sometimes the service was worse than others, but the consistency of bad service was amazing. I can assure you that at no time is a waiter justified in screaming at a (sober) 50 year old man because he had the temerity to ask a question about his bill.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from MHelman MHelman, Indianapolis, IN
(03/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I decided to check out this forum because of all the negative reviews I have been hearing about. As an employee of the BRBP I would like to thank all those who replied positively, it was a pleasant surprise to find that all the reviews weren't from the members of the party of ten that was asked to leave. As to the negative reviews of our service, I must say that as a server I am by law REQUIRED to refuse service to anyone who is, in my OPINION, already intoxicated. Also, I want to thank those who began this debate with the negative reviews. As many a politician has proven, any press is good press. Just last week I waited on a group of gentlemen from Detroit who came to the pub while in town only because of the reviews they read. I think they left with smiles. So again, thank you for your support.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Indianapolis, IN
(03/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Lousy Lousy
This is the first time I've written a "review" of a bar or restaurant, but I feel compelled to state my dissatisfaction with the Broad Ripple Brew Pub. I'm sure that some people enjoy this place, but the service we experienced recently was extremely poor. In fact, I've never been treated as badly in any pub or restaurant I've ever been in. I will not go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Eric, Carmel, IN
(03/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. Patrick McMurray J. Patrick McMurray, Indianapolis, IN
(03/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Lousy Lousy
If you are among those rare patrons to actually have encountered good service at the Brew Pub, I offer you my heartfelt congratulations! I applaud your tenacity, good fortune, obtuseness and/or Christian fortitude.

I, however, have not been as fortunate when patronizing the Brew Pub and am no longer willing to tolerate the obnoxious and belligerent wait staff for the sake of a few good beers. And believe me, I've tried: their microbrews are good and in some cases excellent. Nevertheless, the "bad service" reputation of the Brew Pub is well earned and nearly universally held. I have been to the Brew Pub approximately half a dozen times in the past several years and in every instance, the service I encountered could only be described as bad.

However, as I stated, their beer is very good, and so I became trapped upon the horns of a dilemma: either give good riddance to the Brew Pub or give them another chance. I erred optimistically, and patronized them one more time. And, as the previous post of Jon Stewart pointed out, on said occasion I went to the Brew Pub as a member of a "drinking club" (gasp!!! horror!!!! people who like beer!!!!). Yes, it's true: a club devoted to the appreciation of good microbrews came to the Brew Pub in order to drink good microbrews. Well, needless to say, the service that day was just as bad as it always has been, if not worse. I won't bore you with the details of the waitron's boorish behavior toward our group. Suffice it to say, his actions were inexcusable.

If you are looking for a quiet evening in a pub with friendly, efficient service, look elsewhere. If, however, you don't enjoy beer or food, by all means, stop by, sit in a booth and read a book for several hours. Have no fear, no waiters will disturb your peace.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from MHelman MHelman, Indianapolis, IN
(03/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Great Great Good Good
The Turkey Reuben is great!! I would recommend it to anyone. I've only been in the place once and it was a Monday night. The magician "Trinity" amazed us after our meal with some mind-altering "magic" tricks!! anyway I didn't try any beer, but the selection seemed great!! overall i give the establishment a (B+)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nicholas Nicholas, Indianapolis, IN
(03/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Wow. Heated discussion. I've been frequenting the brewpub for about five years now and haven't had a problem with the service--but then, i'm one of the respectful and quiet guests who would love to see the waitstaff show a little more attitude to those who disturb the pleasant pub atmosphere. The principle is the same anywhere--show a little respect to the people waiting on you and tip well, and the service will amaze you.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from pete scott pete scott, indianapolis, IN
(03/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
What a bunch of irresponsible a-holes. To reiterate my earlier post, while you may not be the same PERSON, you're the same pathetic GROUP, and you're doing a disservice to pubcrawlers everywhere by trying to run down a quality establishment because of your own immature behavior. Grow up!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jake Mahler Jake Mahler, Perrysburg, OH
(03/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Awesome!
confused by the dueling reviews? Here's what is going on...a certain drinking crew came to the BRBP to get drunk in unison and sing bawdy songs loudly. The BRBP staff cut them off, because they were drunk and singing dirty songs loudly. The drinking club has decided to use this venue to trash an establishment that prefers to cater to a calmer, more adult crowd than is generally found in the Broad Ripple area. If you are an adult looking for a great beer and interesting conversation in Indianapolis, the BRBP can't be beat. If you are a drinking club that gets its jollies by selfishly annoying everybody around you, buy a frat house already!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Stewart Jon Stewart, Indianapolis, IN
(03/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Good Great
I have been a longtime BP patron and have had no problems of any sort with the staff, service, food etc… I typically do not reply to the obvious stream of negative reviews on sites such as this because it lends some sort of credence to the people with the agenda. You cannot expect a server who is responsible to continue to serve (or serve at all) someone who brags about how much they have consumed or how drunk they are. I am all for having a good time, drinking to enjoy the relaxing effects of the libation of your choice, having a spirited (loud) conversation and even singing a song or two. The Pub used to have $2 pint night and discontinued it for just this reason, people over consumed. When you are serving beer that has a high AC caution is warranted. I am sorry if someone has had a bad experience but if you use the loyalty of the clientele as a measurement of a Pub’s worthiness the BRBP is one of the cities best….

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason Crisp Jason Crisp, Earl Park, IN
(03/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Lousy Lousy
OK, I've tried serving. I've rethought my comments. And yeah, the Brew Pub still sucks.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from MHelman MHelman, Indianapolis, IN
(03/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great
I think the Brew Pub is far and away the best brewery in Indy, and I honestly don't understand all the negative reviews concerning the service. I have been there A LOT, too much to admit, and have rarely experienced bad service. I'd like those who call it lousy to try serving sometime and then rethink their comments. Brew Pub IPA rules!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ryan Otten Ryan Otten, indianapolis, IN
(02/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Lousy So So
You are right!! We are all the same people and the one's responsible for JFK's assasination and hiding WMD in IRAQ (INSERT Sarcasm here). Seriously though, its not like I have only been to the BRBP once or even only three. There have been times where I have recieved really good service. Yet, over a period of time, there has been consistently apathetic service. I work too hard for my money to take the chance of getting a bad server or a bad cook. I am not making this review to trash the Brew Pub. On the contrary, I would like the management or (even better) the Owner to take note: Mr. Hill, clean house, please get rid of the bad servers and managers from your Pub. Make it a place where we can go and support a local brew pub while drinking a local brew, without the fear of getting treated like we don't belong there. Unfortunatly, I don't think I will go back after a recent experience I had there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Patrick, Indianapolis, IN
(02/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Lousy Lousy
I have to say that after reading some of the recent reviews, I agree that the service at the Broad Ripple Brew Pub is generally terrible. The quality of their beer is pretty good, but not worth putting up with the nasty waiters. I doubt that I'll go back anytime soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from William William, Indianapolis, IN
(02/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
This is by far the best brew pub in Indy. The IPA is very hoppy and true to the style. The vegan sloppy joe was awsome. Read some of the other reviews about poor service, we had a party of four and it was Friday night and the service was GREAT!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Hughes Tom Hughes, Albuquerque, NM
(02/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Lousy So So
Jake, I am not the same person as Michael Helman, Patrick, Roger Holt, or any of the several other people who have commented about the lousy service at the BRBP. It may be hard to imagine but several people have had issues with the service at BRBP on several different occasions. Too bad for the BRBP since the food and beer are generally good to very good. One friend of mine continues to go to BRBP but only goes to the bar for service. I recommend that a person seeking good service at the BRBP do the same. If going, have a scotch ale, by far my favorite. As for me, I would rather head downtown Indy to the Ram Breweries on Illinois, south of Maryland and have a Total Disorder Porter as its servers are vey hospitable and the food and beer are good to very good, as well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kristen Gentry Kristen Gentry, Indianapolis, IN
(02/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Lousy Lousy
The service at the Broad Ripple Brew Pub is abominable. If you find yourself in Broad Ripple, and are considering patronizing this establishment, I strongly advise you to ask any resident of Broad Ripple or even random passers-by on the street for their honest assessment of the Brew Pub. Sadly, their response will more than likely be negative: "Decent Beer, unbelievably bad service. Don't bother."

The previous "reviewer" takes exception to the fact that more than one person has written negative reviews of the Brew Pub. He seems unable to contemplate a universe in which multiple people have been treated so poorly by an establishment that they feel compelled to express their dissatisfaction in this forum. I like the Pubcrawler site precisely because it doesn't exercise the sort of censorship that tiresome bores such as the last reviewer seem to advocate. Instead, Pubcrawler is open minded enough to tolerate even the semi-literate paranoia of the Jake Mahlers of the world.

I love Pubcrawler.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Helman Michael Helman, Indianapolis, IN
(02/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Michael Helman, Roger Holt, "Patrick", Sofa King, Kristen Gentry, Amanda Zimmerman, and Tom McGinnis. All first-time reviewers on Pubcrawler who have never reviewed another establishment. All posting the same lame review about the wait staff at Broad Ripple. All obviously the SAME PERSON with an axe to grind for some reason.

This is one of the things that I hate about pubcrawler - the spineless ballot stuffing. My recommendation to anyone inclined to visit Broad Ripple for the first time - trust the opinions of those who have posted numerous reviews at establishments around the country, instead of reading the mindless trash that's been numbingly posted by the same guy for the last month or two.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jake Mahler Jake Mahler, Perrysburg, OH
(02/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Lousy So So
I, like many others who have posted, have found the service at the BRBP deplorable, the food menu shrinking, and the beer quality inconsistent. I have been around the world to many Brew Pubs, and the BRBP ranks at the bottom on the Long List of Great Brew Pubs. The BRBP will serve you a flat beer, cold food, and scowl at you for demanding better service. I don't make excuses for waitrons about bad service, having done the job myself. No matter how many people are in attendance at the bar, it is the establishments RESPONSIBILITY to ensure the patrons are well served. Not the other way around. I know I would rather spend my money at the RAM, Rock Bottom or the Oaken Barrell! Those who defend bad service obviuosly haven't been outside of the village of Broad Ripple!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Patrick, Indianapolis, IN
(02/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Lousy Lousy
I have been to the Brew Pub a more than a few times since it opened (it's in a *great* spot for socializing) and the overall experienc has been consistently "so-so", but what really puts the shine on -- and just pushes it to plain "lousy" has been the waitstaff. As someone else commented, the human interface makes or breaks it, and, unlike Jennifer, I have found the attitude -- over many servers and years -- to be "it's your pleasure to be here, and OK, I'll serve you, maybe." Dang shame, too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom McGinnis Tom McGinnis, Indy, IN
(02/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Lousy Lousy
For those who've never been to the Broad Ripple area of Indianapolis, there are numerous bars and/or restaurants virtually every few feet. Some are great, some are mediocre, some are lousy - as one would expect.

The Brewpub is lousy. The servers, hostess, and managers all have the attitude that the customer is the enemy. It's one of those places that has potential, but is being managed so badly that it's impossible for the customer to have an enjoyable time.

Don't waste your time on this place. If you find yourself in Indy, choose one of the many other bars in the area. There are several really good brewpubs and many excellent restaurants in Indianapolis. Wherever you choose to go, stay away from the Broad Ripple Brew Pub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Helman Michael Helman, Indianapolis, IN
(01/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So Good
Euphoria probably isn't the correct word to use, and there isn't much atmosphere there. I've been to the place a few times. The service is "hit or miss". I've been in the restaurant biz before, if anyone knows what the industry is like, you'll know that its too tough to be hit or miss and a restaurant is only as good as the people that represent it. The server is the most crucial part of the operation-not the chef, cooks, manager. They are the customers only real contact (unless you include hostess) and they can set the tone for the entire dining experience. On many occasions, I've had lousy service and, despite having a good meal, didn't enjoy the experience because of the quality of service. I'm sure many of you have felt the same way. That being said, last time I was there, the service was better than the time before. The food is fair. Its typical pub food. Next time I'm in town, I'll go back. I probably won't eat though.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff K Jeff K, Boca Raton, FL
(01/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Swept up in the atmosphere? Out-of-Town euphoria? Hmm...we must be talking about New York, London, Madrid, or maybe even Amsterdam? Wait...you're talking about Indianapolis? Indiana?

Look, I've never been to Broad Ripple, so I can't comment on the polarized reviews of late, but I have been to Indy several times in recent years. A fine midwestern town, but a far cry from a place that would bring an "out-of-towner" euphoria. That had to be one of the funniest things I've read in a while...Give me a break guys!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Walbeck Tim Walbeck, Easton, PA
(01/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Great Lousy So So
Dear TJ: If you read the previous review you would notice that Sofa King speaks of the out-of-towner euphoria that may mask the over all quality of an establishment. Sure, I believe that you did indeed have a good experience. Congratulations. However, those of us who frequented that place frequently have become fed up with the hostile, unfriendly, rude servers who bring us our flat beer. Let me be clear: The Broad Ripple Brew Pub of Indianapolis has great potential but aweful service and thus terrible management. You out-of-towners are merely swept up in the atmosphere. That's good for you but bad for me. I'm on my way to Rock Bottom! Roger Holt, Indianapolis

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roger Holt Roger Holt, Indianapolis, IN
(01/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I've visited Broadripple about twice a year for many years now, and it's always been excellent. I was shocked to read previous comments about a "rude" staff, because I've never had any problem there. I went there again on 1/17/04 to check it out. As usual, Broadripple was excellent. I had the IPA, the barleywine (2003 & 2004 versions), and the old ale (just tapped on 1/17). They were all excellent. The service was also excellent. No rude people anywhere to be found. I've been to all of the brewpubs in Indianapolis, and the beer at Broadripple is the best.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TJ TJ, Cincinnati, OH
(01/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Lousy Lousy
It is interesting to me to read the reviews of the Broad Ripple Brew Pub so far. Some are right on and others are way off base. It's easy for an out of towner to be excited about trying a new brew pub and under that euphoria being charmed by the atmosphere. But let us be honest, those of us who frequent bars in Indianapolis know that the Broad Ripple Brew Pub has the most arrogant and pompous wait staff, period. This establishment has been on its high horse for too long. I say, join the boycott of the Broad Ripple Brew Pub. Visit indyhhh.com for more info.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sofa King Sofa King, Indianapolis, IN
(01/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy Lousy
Although I respect the opinion of the previous reviewer and her defense of the Brew Pub (and don't doubt her sincerity), I feel compelled to respond and give a more detailed analysis of the egregious behavior of the wait staff. I preface my comments by noting that I am well aware of the difficulties faced by waiters in serving large groups of people in a busy establishment and am extremely appreciative of good service. I have never felt compelled to complain, either publicly or privately, about service at any establishment before. And although I had heard numerous (and serious) complaints about the wait staff from other patrons of the Brew Pub over the last several years, I hadn't personally experienced such behavior, and so was willing to keep an open mind and try the pub again.

The service I encountered last week was, quite simply, unbelievable. Our waiter was openly hostile to the entire table; refused to provide service; mocked our requests; and left us with no alternative but to leave. There is no valid excuse for that behavior. Furthermore, a competent manager would have fired such an employee on the spot. I don't know how long that waiter has been employed by the Brew Pub, and it's possible that the previous reviewer simply hasn't had the misfortune of being "served" by him yet, hence her postive impression of the staff. Nevertheless, taken in conjunction with other complaints leveled against other Brew Pub waiters, it's obviously indicative of a wider problem in the treatment of the patrons of the pub.

Perhaps I'm mistaken. Perhaps the Brew Pub has a "live", audience participatory dinner theatre on Saturday nights, and the waiters are simply actors, playing roles. Then again, probably not.

I will not return to the Brew Pub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Helman Michael Helman, Indianapolis, IN
(01/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
After reading the most recent reviews that had been posted, I couldn't help but come to the defense of the Broad Ripple Brew Pub. I have been a frequent patron of the establishment for five years now, and in that time I have come to know the majority of the waitstaff on a first name basis. Unfortunately there are several people in the world that have no idea what it takes to provide decent service to a large crowd. Usually it will be found that it is the exact same group of people that are hindering a server from providing that decent service that are complaining about the service and the servers. Standing in the way, overcrowding the bar, and other annoying forms of behavior prevent the servers from being able to perform their jobs to the best of their ability. These are only a few examples of behavior that makes a server's job harder than it needs to be. You, as a customer, have every right to behave as you see fit in the establishment, but try to be realistic when expecting a server to magically fly over you with a tray of food or drinks when you wont get out of the way after being asked nicely two or three times. Further, terms such as "nasty", "hostile", "obnoxious", "rude", and "lazy" could not be more inappropriate when describing the employees of the Brew Pub. The typical Brew Pub employee is a very hard working and POLITE person that is simply trying to make some money to pay the rent the best way they know how. Though I respect the opinions that were offered from the previous entries, I hold that they are simply not accurate descriptions of the establishment or its employees. The Brew Pub is a great place to enjoy a pint of delicious beer after work, in the evening, over lunch, or for any occasion. The beer is the best Indianapolis has to offer, and the atmosphere is extremely laid back, enjoyable, and cozy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jennifer Kiefaber Jennifer Kiefaber, Indianapolis, IN
(01/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Lousy So So
There was a time when I loved this establishment for not only it's genuine pub atmosphere, but also the revolving menu and tasty assortment of beers. However, over the past two years, each time I have frequented this establishment the service has been horrible. I thought that it was that I was truly unlucky in the draw and I should keep trying but I have now resolved that I will not go back. Although the beer is decent to outright great, esp. the Scotch Ale which is a seasonal beer only available in the winter, I cannot put up with the horrible service and apathetic management anymore. It is truly a disappointment.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kristen Gentry Kristen Gentry, Indianapolis, IN
(01/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy Lousy
Unbelievably bad service and an openly hostile wait staff make this establishment one of the worst brew pubs in the nation. Although the selection and quality of their beer is acceptable (and in some cases excellent), the obnoxious, rude and lazy waiters have turned this pub into a veritable hell on Earth.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Helman Michael Helman, Indianapolis, IN
(01/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Lousy Lousy
I have been going to the Broadripple BrewPub off and on for years. The only thing that brings me back is the beer. However, as much as I love a good pint, no beer in the world is good enough to make it worth enduring the poor and downright NASTY service that one continually experiences. I gave them one last try this weekend with my beerdrinking club (Indyscent Hash House Harriers) and was treated worse than usual. The owner would do the beerdrinkers of Central Indiana a big favor if he changed the attitude of the staff to a more customer friendly style than the openly hostile style they currently use.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Amanda Zimmerman Amanda Zimmerman, Indianapolis, IN
(01/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
My first impression of Broad Ripple was certainly positive. As it turned out, however, the building had more character than the beer. Not to be negative though, the beer was for the most part pretty good. I thought they were overall, rather weak and light-bodied. The IPA was great. It was fresh, hoppy and the best brew present. The porter and dunkel had decent flavor, but they were thin. I did enjoy myself, the food was good, and I will go back. It is about 2 miles away from Kahn's Wine and Beer Store, a fabulous place to buy fine wines and beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Madigan Tom Madigan, Kettering, OH
(10/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great So So Great
A little gem in a modest residential neighborhood on the north side of Indianapolis. Nothing fancy in terms of decor, but this is what a brewpub should be. Tried the IPA which was excellent (lightly carbonated, full bodied and well-hopped). The ESB and Porter were also very good. Never thought there was much reason to go to Indianapolis, but now I know there's at least one.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from WLR WLR, Brookfield, CT
(10/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Awesome!
What a fantastic place to sit and enjoy a good beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ben Black Ben Black, Indianapolis, IN
(08/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
Beers were exceptional, Food was not. Though decent, I was disappointed with the food. Very generic-no creativity at all. Kind of like eating at any sports bar. The atmosphere was nice; friendly customers and staff, kind of dark inside, definetely not fancy. Its located off the beaten path in Broadripple which is a funky section on the northeast side of Indy. Its their Greenwich Village. I'll go back for beer, not so sure if I'll eat....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff K Jeff K, Boca Raton, FL
(07/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I agree that from years ago, the quality of the beer has slipped, but not to the point of some of the other reviews. My favorite was the IPA, hoppy and fresh. One of the only places where I've ever seen Scotch Eggs on the menu--they were yummy!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(06/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
The ambiance and decor was relaxed and condusive to a true brewpub. I didn't feel like I was in a chain restaurant...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Jeff K, Boca Raton, FL
(05/15/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So So So So So
My reviews below, esp. the one from Jan. 2000, are now officially retracted. Stopped in about two weeks ago Sat. 5:30 p.m. Although not real crowded, was about 10-15 min before we got first beers. All the beers, esp. the Porter, were way too thin (maybe what Paul Pesa means by "flat" as opposed to carbonated) and bland, the food we were served, the Jenny-style pasta in peanut "sauce" came in a soup. Before we even said anything, the waiter apologized and said he would take it back if we wanted--why, so the chef could spit in it? It should never have been brought out of the kitchen in the first place. All in all, I would say this is now more of a yuppie-infested restaurant (complete with obnoxious screaming kids) than a serious beer destination.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Moondoggie, Ogden Dunes, IN
(04/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good So So Great
Most of the beers were excellent, and the rest were very good. The simpler items on the menu are the best; I particularly liked the spinach club. The pizza was disappointing as were the healty eating options. Thanks to the previous reviewers who recommended the Scotch Eggs - they were excellent. But I go here for the beer and I have never been disappointed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review ct, Elgin, IL
(03/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Bud Light drinkers, you won't enjoy it...the rest of us do enjoy it, frequently, with space to move around and have a conversation below 110 decibels...so keep drinking your Bud Light and I'll keep drinking the IPA

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Josh Couts Josh Couts, Indianapolis, IN
(01/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good So So
Not sure what beer's these other people have been drinking....this place is very overrated. I have been there 3 times and each time the beer is flat and tasteless. My wife and I have been to a ton of brew pubs in our travels...and honestly this one is the most overrated. Not worth a trip. Go to another bar in the Broad Ripple area rather than spend your money here!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Pesa Paul Pesa, Fishers, IN
(01/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Brewpub is a must see. I like the ESB so much I haven't tried many of the others, so mixed with scotch eggs or a ploughman's platter and you're in for a real treat. It's of the beaten path in Broadripple which is a fun "village".

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Towner Rob Towner, Fishers, IN
(01/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
This place made me feel like I had never left Scotland ! Outstanding beers, in particular the stout and a generally nice, relaxed atmosphere. I'll definitely be back here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Kelly David Kelly, Glassford, Scotland, UK
(10/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
IPA and ESB were excellant. Service on Sunday evening was attentive. Building has feel of old style English Pub or dockside bar; really warm. There is outside seating for the pleasant evenings or afternoons. Only tried the Cream of Tomato soup which was tastey but the onions were undercooked. Broad Ripple area seemed like a great place; too bad i didn't have the time to explore

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(08/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(08/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
I'm a big fan of wheat beers, and their White River Wheat Ale is the best I've ever had. I try to get to the brew pub at least once a year. The atmosphere can't be beat. Highly recommended!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Noragon Dan Noragon, Hamilton, IN
(07/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good
A cool area to walk around in (Broad Ripple) Right next to the Monon Trail. Definitely a break from the hokey Yuppie places downtown. They had ESB,wheat,porter,and Kolsch as a rotating seasonal. The place is a small pub atmosphere and the staff was great and attentive.The ESB was pretty good- not great, but interesting. They were out of the IPA for some reason, which was very disappointing. I'm not much on wheat beer so I can't say much on it. The porter was really sad-thin and watery with no head at all. The Kolsch was really good and refreshing. The food was excellent- scottish eggs for appetizers and Shepards pie for the main. The sheppards pie was't much to look at and I was taken aback by the topping of american cheese, but once I dug in it was one of the best I've ever had. Go to this place for the laid back atmosphere and the cool neighborhood. We walked to Union Jack's from there for some single malt scotch and deep dish pizza.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Williams Kevin Williams, Tell City, IN
(07/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Visited on Sunday May 12th. Found them closed?? With Art Fest going on across street seemed surprising. Definitely disappointed. Call first?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, ogden, UT
(05/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Great So So Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from texjets texjets, Robbinsville, NJ
(03/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
Without question some of the best samples of microbrewry beer that I have tasted. This includes "brews" from the West and Midwest! Their summer seasonal wheat beer satisfies my tastes all year round. The menu is varied but I would comment that the food is good but not exceptional. The "BrewPub" is a must when visiting Broad Ripple.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Rick, Indianapolis, IN
(10/10/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
If you are in Indi just for one night, just go there ! I was lucky to visit for a few week in summer, and sitting in one of the outside tables sipping my ESB will be my best memory.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Omaha, GH
(08/25/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Great Good Good
I have visited here twice, and their beer is OK, but nothing great. The food is very good. What sets this off is their great selection of guest beers--an excellent selection of really good beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Russ Hobaugh Russ Hobaugh, Birdsboro, PA
(07/29/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Really nifty decor all old wood brought in to decorate the place looked a little like an english pub at the bar. The brews were ok but nothin' to write home about. I did like those Scotch Eggs for my appetizer...gotta try em!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Albrecht Steve Albrecht, Pickerington, OH
(06/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
The brown ale was a bit light for my tast. The porter was great lightly sweet with a good chocolate flavor and good roasty finish.The wheat had very little nose but was a good refreshing drink. The menue was great,lots of vegitairian choices. Even soup with out animal juce. this place was very busy and I can see why.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from michigan travaler michigan travaler, Port Huron, MI
(05/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great
Sampled three types of beers, they were all very tasty, but the fun went out the door when I locked on the ESB. My friend and I went elsewhere to lunch to save money, but had to come back and downed three more pints of ESB. By far the best ESB microbrew I have tasted. I want to go back, just to have a few more pints, but maybe I'll try the others too and have lunch there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ricochet Ricochet, Jeffersonville, IN
(04/30/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
A must stop for anyone visiting Indinapolis. Try the beer cheese croc and the scotch eggs.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Stott Dave Stott, Muncie, IN
(10/24/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A So So Great Good Good
After reading the glowing reviews of this place, I was looking forward to sampling the beer when I came to town for a visit. Is this the same beer everyone else was drinking? The beers were watery, thin and tasteless. The only beer I liked was a "brewer's special" a nut brown ale. Food was very good, great selection, and reasonably priced. Maybe I was there on a bad night, but was very disappointed. This is hardly the best in the country as one reviewer implied. I might try it again in the future, but would not make a special trip to go here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review chicago, IL
(08/13/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great
This is my neighborhood pub. I have the good fortune of living within a few blocks of it.

The quality of the beers brewed here is outstanding. Their ESB (Gold Medal, Great America Beer Fest, 1992?) is the best beer that is regularly brewed in the city. It may be one of the best beers available on a daily basis in America.

But the other usual and speciality brews are equally wonderful. If you like a hoppy pale ale, their IPA is a superb example. If you're there during the winter when they're serving the Wee Alec Heavy, don't pass it up.

There's also a wonderful selection of bottled beers from microbreweries.

This is a great place for a beer lover

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Perry Kea Perry Kea, Indianapolis, IN
(06/06/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
This is a great, unpretentious, comfortable place to have a good beer. The menu is a pleasant surprise -- plenty of vegetarian friendly choices. This establishment totally changed my mind about the unavailability of good places to kick back and have a beer in Indianapolis.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kelli Back Kelli Back, Alexandria, VA
(04/21/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Easily one of the best brewpubs I have ever visited. The beer is tops,, my favorite being the IPA followed by their Porter. To top things off the menu is one of the most interesting that I have ever seen in a bar. It was the first time I have had a pizza with walnuts on it,,fantastic. And as long as you are not a cardiologist you have to try the Scotch Eggs. All in all a very fun place,,the service was the best,, very freindly and knowlegable. This place calls for a return trip to Indianaplois for me.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Teeter Don Teeter, Springfield, OH
(04/16/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Awesome!
Visited shortly before Christmas for the first time in about a year. They have expanded the seating area by adding a glassed-in porch, but this is still the coziest BP I've ever been to.

The beer quality here is first-rate: the other reviewers here don't sing Broad Ripple's praises highly enough. Of the approx. 100-125 brewpubs I've been to, this easily makes the top ten. Outstanding IPA, the beer I use for a benchmark. They had a firkin of Scottish Ale sitiing on the shelf that knocked my socks off--literally. You need to be careful at Broad Ripple--all of their beers tend to be high gravity, and Scottish Ales are, of course, even higher than the norm.

Several non-standard items on the menu. For example, I had pasta in a spicy Indonesian-type peanut sauce that was great.

As far as "being off the beaten path," Broad Ripple Village has been the "bohemian" area in Indianapolis for as long as I can remember (which is now back to the early 70's), and is a great place to stroll around. If you get good directions, you can be there in ten minutes from downtown or the NE or NW sides of town.

Bottom line: this is a must-visit BP if you're in Indiana and love beer. If you're visiting town, don't waste time at the others before coming here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Moondoggie Moondoggie, Ogden Dunes, IN
(01/06/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Great
Easily the best brewpub in Indy, the ESB was the best of the bunch. I also tried a bottle of stout from a brewery in Michigan which was excellent. The atmosphere of this place is great, I will visit when I am back in town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matthew J. Reid Matthew J. Reid, Santa Rosa, CA
(11/24/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great
A relaxing neighborhood pub with a limited selection of great beer. Stout was very good and darker ales were terrific.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roy Gosselin Roy Gosselin, Suffield, CT
(08/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great
Atmosphere is key. A fun non-corporate setting to enjoy some of Indiana's best microbeers. Off the beaten path and worth the look.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phil West Phil West, Muncie, IN
(02/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great
Great ESB, great IPA, great place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jerry Montgomery Jerry Montgomery, Indpls, IN
(12/09/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Good
If you visit one microbrewery in Indy, go to Broad Ripple's. The beer is great. I tried the scotch eggs a year ago and I can still feel them in my digestive tract.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Indianapolis, IN
(11/13/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
In the Broad Ripple area nestled away from the main drag. Worth going to. IPA (Indiana Pale Ale) and their Stout are pretty tasty. Appeared to be a very cozy neighborhood place. Enjoyed it!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Davis John Davis, Bloomington, IL
(11/12/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great
Often crowded in the evenings. The ESB is the best I have had in the states. Ride your bycycle along the Monon Trail in the morning and stop here for lunch. The Scotch Eggs are an experience.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Zierdt Mike Zierdt, Indianapolis, IN
(08/12/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
This is a required stop for all visitors to the area. Excellent atmosphere, good food and great beer! The wheat beer is excellent -- the best weizen I've had this side of Bavaria (it tastes JUST LIKE this stuff they brew in Aschaffenburg), and all the offerings are at least passable.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rex Bennett Rex Bennett, Knoxville, TN
(06/29/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Daryl Poprave Daryl Poprave, Big Rapids, MI
(06/22/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Daryl Poprave Daryl Poprave, Big Rapids, MI
(06/22/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
A fun place to relax and enjoy some excellent beer. The IPA and cask conditioned porter were very good. This was my second trip and I will be back. Be sure to try the Scotch eggs appetizer, but be sure your cholesterol count is okay first, because it won't be afterwards.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Bernardi Jon Bernardi, Hudson, OH
(05/26/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
The best part of a trip to this cozy pub is the wonderful Broad Ripple neighborhood. Stop by the pub for a good fish sandwich and a weizen, then go enjoy the vibrant, very un-Indiana neighborhood. Plan plenty of time; service is friendly but consistently veeery slow.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ethan Castleton Ethan Castleton, Champaign, IL
(05/11/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So Good
From what I've been able to tell, this place is out of the way enough to not draw too many way-out-of-towners. That's good because there doesn't seem to be that ever-present Indianapolis corporate sheen. Just decent beer here in a nice cozy barroom ( which is very small). The ESB tasted just right, the porter was too thin, and the seasonal was a steam beer. It was ok, not excellent. Maybe next time I'll get to try all of their offerings. Oh well...Pizza was no big deal and rather expensive. I'll go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bert Pass Bert Pass, Highland, IN
(04/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Arv Jasmantas Arv Jasmantas, Lake Cicott, IN
(04/18/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So Lousy Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Swayzee, IN
(12/03/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great
This was the first brew pub in town and it remains the standard by which all other Indy pubs are measured. A must visit when you are town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Marchal Jeff Marchal, Indianapolis, IN
(11/28/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Good Good Great
A lot is to be said about atmosphere and outside beer selection. House brews are fun but not usually the best. This renovated house can get crowded but it is interesting enough to draw you back more than once. A must see in Indianapolis.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Gibson John Gibson, Zionsville, IN
(11/14/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Awesome! Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Conklin Jeff Conklin, Grand Rapids, MI
(11/05/1997)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.382 seconds) 19:36:08 23.20.43.165, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS